Postby M_2NR » April 8th, 2010, 2:04 pm

Bezman wrote:
corolla_2nr wrote:ulyuh stop mc arguing. :x

no, i bad

blasted south people again eh :roll:

*duck flying cutlass*

[quote]End users will get these features this Summer, and will be iPhone 3GS and iPod touch 3rd generation compatible. They will run everything. The iPhone 3G and iPod touch 2nd generation–will run “many thingsâ€

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 8th, 2010, 2:07 pm

iPhone/iPod touch (2G, 3G) - Summer

iPad - Fall

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 8th, 2010, 2:08 pm

corolla_2nr wrote:blasted south people again eh :roll:

*duck flying cutlass*

now i vex, how dare you call me a south boy?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 8th, 2010, 2:08 pm

Bezman wrote:
mitch wrote:and btw Bezman, i had an iphone and i have an ipod touch.

however i'm not a fanboy so i can be critical if i'm not impressed by something...

i dont really care what you have, you are just bussin your nut trying to shoot down everything apple iphone/ipad related.. like a wining little child

we get that it's not for everyone, get over it

the device/os has only been around for 3~ years, others like symbian, wm6 or whatever, palm and bb have been around for almost a decade.. it would obviously take apple a while to get everything (function wise) into apples device...

and i dont really care that u have a problem with me being critical :roll:

so Apple take 3 years to get multitasking to work on the iPhone?

how long Android around now?

*jeopardy theme plays*

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 8th, 2010, 2:11 pm

mitch wrote:
Bezman wrote:

however i'm not a fanboy so i can be critical if i'm not impressed by something...

i dont really care what you have, you are just bussin your nut trying to shoot down everything apple iphone/ipad related.. like a wining little child

the device/os has only been around for 3~ years, others like symbian, wm6 or whatever, palm and bb have been around for almost a decade.. it would obviously take apple a while to get everything (function wise) into apples device...

*jeopardy theme plays*

what is ~3 years

"The unveiling of the Android distribution on November 5, 2007"
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Android_(operating_system)

what i getting for that??
Last edited by Bezman on April 8th, 2010, 2:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 8th, 2010, 2:11 pm

corolla_2nr wrote:
hard luck iPhone 2G.

and thought so.. NOTHING on HD :lol:

I had a feeling that Apple was eventually going to phase out support for the older devices based on history with iPod classics I've owned.

As far as the next iPhone it'll be like last year. Steve's "One More Thing"... blah blah blah... new iPhone & 4.0 launches today.
Last edited by SRASC on April 8th, 2010, 2:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby honda hoe » April 8th, 2010, 2:12 pm

mitch wrote:
Bezman wrote:

*jeopardy theme plays*

Lmao

IPhone fanboys :lol:

Android ftw
Last edited by honda hoe on April 8th, 2010, 2:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 8th, 2010, 2:13 pm

ahhh fanboys. their heads are so far up Jobs' arse, they cant see sheit. oh wait, all they see is sheit :lol: :lol: :lol:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 8th, 2010, 2:13 pm

SRASC wrote:
corolla_2nr wrote:
hard luck iPhone 2G.

and thought so.. NOTHING on HD :lol:

I had a feeling that Apple was eventually going to phase out support for the older devices based on history with iPod classics I've owned.

As far as the next iPhone it'll be like year. Steve's "One More Thing"... blah blah blah... new iPhone & 4.0 launches today.

those 2G's would be 3+ years old now, remember them saying the battery would only last three years?? i would imagine all those 2g's would get no batttery life now and the new OS would kill it..

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 8th, 2010, 2:17 pm

mitch wrote::rofl:

ahhh fanboys. their heads are so far up Jobs' arse, they cant see sheit. oh wait, all they see is sheit :lol: :lol: :lol:

sooooo anyone that has an iPhone is a Fanboy??

check my posts history, i have been talking about andriod and praising it and saying i wanted a HTC desire when they are out for a long time now...

i jsut think you are being childish.. nuff said.. onto the next one ;)

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 8th, 2010, 2:18 pm

and in typical Apple fashion trying to get fanboys to buy new products all the time so they can boast about sales figures

[quote]The iPhone 3G and iPod touch 2nd generation–will run “many thingsâ€

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 8th, 2010, 2:22 pm

Bezman wrote:

check my posts history, i have been talking about andriod and praising it and saying i wanted a HTC desire when they are out for a long time now...

hoss...

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 8th, 2010, 2:25 pm

mitch wrote:
Bezman wrote:

hoss...

hoss

cause your simply an asshat ;)

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 8th, 2010, 2:30 pm

am ok, yay u for the childish comebacks

anyways b4 ignorance gets this thread deleted...

Then we asked about widgets or glanceable information and why it hasn't been implemented on this platform or the iPad. "Apple sort of pioneered the idea of glanceable information like widgets and it seems to me you've gone to great lengths to avoid something like that in this new OS. Can you tell me a little bit about why you've decided that? With something like the iPad, it seems perfect opportunity where you have a lot of real estate." Steve: "We shipped on Saturday, and rested on Sunday." (lots of laughs) We pressed and asked if it was possible. Steve: "Anything is possible."

Steve laughs thinking "yeah check us back in about 3 years for OS 6.0, we'll get it to u by then...

Postby M_2NR » April 8th, 2010, 2:58 pm

TBH, i hope Smartscreen gets an update. That's the only thing i care about. Im suprised they didnt show anything on the the lockscreen enhancement. Because on the board there was call noti's shown...

wrt to multitasking and closing apps:
Q: How do you close applications when multitasking? A: (Scott) You don't have to. The user just uses things and doesn't ever have to worry about it. (Steve) It's like we said on the iPad, if you see a stylus, they blew it. In multitasking, if you see a task manager... they blew it. Users shouldn't ever have to think about it.

:shock: :wtf:

Bezman wrote:now i vex, how dare you call me a south boy?
SRASC wrote:I had a feeling that Apple was eventually going to phase out support for the older devices based on history with iPod classics I've owned.

As far as the next iPhone it'll be like last year. Steve's "One More Thing"... blah blah blah... new iPhone & 4.0 launches today.
I now have a 2G that i'll use as a iTouch now :lol: ohh well. But i was expecting it.

ahh yes i remembered that. :lol:

BTW 3GS prices were like really low last night! i was seeing used ones as low as 430usd :shock:
I wonder if they will drop v3.2 still. hrmm. and what the dev's are doing wrt to 05.12.1 baseband.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 8th, 2010, 3:11 pm

SRASC wrote:I look at it this way... the more things that come stock is the less things I have to go to Cydia to get/do

THANKYOU!

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 8th, 2010, 3:43 pm

iPhone OS 4 will introduce seven major "tentpole" feature and a long list of minor enhancements this summer, Steve Jobs has announced at Apple's release preview event. The top seven features are multitasking, app Folders, Mail improvements, Enterprise features, a Games Center, and Apple's new iAd network.

1)Multitasking

The first major feature is multitasking, profiled separately in greater detail.

2) Folders

The second major feature, Folders, involves dragging apps on top of each other to create a folder with those apps inside it. It names the folder according to its contents, a feature Apple is calling "intelligent naming." iPhone 4.0 supports up to 180 folders for a total of 2160 apps -- 12 apps per folder. The hierarchical organizing of apps into folders will make it easier to work with more apps at once.

3) Improved Mail

A third feature, Unified Inbox, lets users view all of their mail accounts in one inbox just like Mail.app in Mac OS X. The new version of iPhone Mail also offers fast inbox switching, an option to organize messages by thread, and the ability to open attachments with an app from the App Store. iPad debuted this ability, with Apple's iWork apps already able to open Office or iWork attachments within Mail.

4) iBooks for iPhone and iPod touch

A fourth feature brings iPad's iBooks to all iPhone OS devices. The iBook application will work on both iPhone and iPod touch, and all books and page placements will be synced wirelessly across a user's devices. As with the iPad, Apple will be bundling in a free "Winnie the Pooh" book.

5) New Enterprise Features

A fifth major feature relates to enhanced support for Enterprise needs:
Data Protection: Security enhancements in iPhone OS 4 protect email messages and attachments stored on iPhone 3GS by using the device passcode as an encryption key. New data protection APIs can be used for custom and commercial apps so that business-critical information is protected even if a device is compromised.
Mobile Device ManagementDeploying and managing large iPhone fleets will be even easier with iPhone OS 4. New Mobile Device Management APIs can be integrated with third-party solutions to wirelessly configure and update settings, monitor compliance with corporate policies, and even wipe or lock managed iPhone devices.
Wireless App Distribution iPhone OS 4 enables enterprises to securely host and wirelessly distribute in-house apps to employees over Wi-Fi and 3G. Apps can be updated without requiring users to connect to their computers.
Improved Mail & Exchange Support iPhone OS 4 allows users to set up multiple Exchange ActiveSync accounts and now works with Exchange Server 2010. With the new unified inbox feature, users can see messages from all their email accounts conveniently displayed in a single inbox, or they can quickly switch between inboxes to see messages from any single account. If users receive an attachment that they want to save or edit, Mail now lets you open attachments with compatible apps from the App Store.
SSL VPN Support
SSL VPN support in iPhone OS 4 gives users another way to securely access enterprise resources. These new protocols can even be leveraged to connect seamlessly to a corporate network via VPN on Demand. Forthcoming apps from Juniper and Cisco will support SSL VPN on iPhone.

6) Game Center

A sixth major new feature is called Games Center. With over 50,000 gaming titles on the App Store, Apple said it will be forming a social gaming network with features to invite friends, set up matchmaking for multiplayer games, support for leaderboards, and for tracking in game achievements.

7) iAd

The seventh major feature is iAd, profiled separately in greater detail.

Dozens of other features

Other minor features highlighted in a slide of iPhone 4.0 enhancements include:

File & delete Mail search results
Search SMS/MMS messages
Web search suggestions
Choose image size in Mail messages
Bluetooth keyboards
CalDav invitations
Larger fonts for Mail, SMS & alerts
Cell data only setting
Spell check
Persistent Wi-Fi
Gift Apps
Birthday calendar
Recent Web searches
Create Playlists
Top Hit in search
5x digital zoom
Nested Playlists
CardDav
Tap to focus video
Upload workouts to Nike+
Places in Photos
iPod Out
Home screen wallpaper
Search SMS/MMS messages
Wake on wireless

Availability

A developer preview of iPhone 4 is available now, the release will ship sometime this summer. All of the features will be available to last year's iPhone 3GS and the 3G iPod touch.

The 2008 iPhone 3G and 2G iPod touch will get "many things," but will not support multitasking, as their hardware is significantly slower and has less installed RAM.

iPhone OS 4.0 will ship for iPad this fall.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 8th, 2010, 3:44 pm

[quote="mitch"]and in typical Apple fashion trying to get fanboys to buy new products all the time so they can boast about sales figures

[quote]The iPhone 3G and iPod touch 2nd generation–will run “many thingsâ€

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 8th, 2010, 4:07 pm

iPhone OS 4 First Video

http://gizmodo.com/5512782/iphone-os-4-first-video

so if apps dont ever close, what happens if i open 2000 apps? :|

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 8th, 2010, 4:56 pm

100 pages yes.

------

The (to some (unfortunate)) catch of iPhone OS 4.0
-iPhone 3GS & iPod touch 3G owners - full 4.0
-iPhone 3G & iPod touch 2G owners - watered down 4.0
-iPhone 2G & iPod touch 1G owners - no 4.0

------

iPhone OS 4.0 - Multitasking

------

Apple's plans for its forth-generation iPhone, due this summer, appear to include the addition of a camera flash that will improve the quality of snapshots and videos taken in dark scenarios or dimly-lit venues, AppleInsider has learned.

People familiarizing themselves with the first beta of iPhone Software 4.0, released following the conclusion of the company's special media event this morning, say the distribution includes a new framework that will give developers access to a wealth of new camera functions, such as the ability to control white balance and so forth.

Additionally, the framework includes three telling new functions labeled AVCaptureDevice.hasFlash, AVCaptureDevice.flashMode, and AVCaptureDevice.hasTorch. The first function appears as if it will check to see if an iPhone, iPod touch or iPad includes a camera flash while the second will activate flash mode. The third appears to be a reference to a flashlight function powered by the camera flash, or a "torch," as it is commonly referred to in the UK.

Word that Apple planned to include a flash in it's next-generation iPhone stretch back to January, when I reported that the Cupertino-based company was moving to procure such significant quantities of LED camera flash components that they could only be destined for the iPhone or iPod touch.

At the time, people familiar with Apple's initiative said the company was seeking allotments of LED camera flash components in the tens of millions for delivery during the 2010 calendar year, meaning future iPhones. Those same people said that Philips' Lumileds Lighting sector was believed to be the front-runner for Apple's business and may have already secured the design win.

The Amsterdam-based firm is well-regarded for its LUXEON LED camera flash technology, which was the first to combine the brightness of regular lighting with the long life and small footprint of LEDs. The technology is commonly coupled with 5+ megapixel cameras and has seen shipments of over 200 million units worldwide.

A flash isn't the only improvement to the iPhone's camera expected this summer when the new hardware arrives. It's been rumored that OmniVision, the supplier of CMOS image sensors for the iPhone, has secured a deal to supply upwards of 45 million 5-megapixel camera sensors for the next-generation handset.

The lack of camera flash technology has long stood as one of the iPhone's glaring omissions. Although the handset's existing 3.2 megapixel camera produces surprisingly sharp and vibrant images when employed in sun-drenched scenes and aptly lit venues, its lack of flash often leads to disappointing, dark and grainy photographs in more dimly-lit scenarios.

iPhone with flash mockup, source unknown.

In making the jump to the iPhone 3GS last spring, Apple was content in focusing on enhancements to the overall user experience of its mobile phone to maintain its high level of satisfaction amongst consumers. Improvements to the device's camera technology were limited to an updated image sensor capable of capturing 1.1 more megapixels, and software technology to improve the quality of motion photos and those taken in poor lighting.

Despite these changes, clarity in photos taken indoors and at nighttime continue to elude users, often leading to frustrating results or images that are completely blacked out. A move by Apple to build flash technology into future versions of the iPhone makes more sense now than ever, especially given the increasing popularity of the device as an impulse point-and-shoot camera, as well as rising competition from rival handset makers who count camera flash technology and 5-megapixel sensors on their handsets as an advantage over the iPhone.

For example, Palm's Pre, Motorola's Droid and Google's new Nexus One each ship with LED flash technology. And in the case of the the latter two, both include image sensors suited for capturing 5-megapixels compared to the 3.2-megapixel sensor on the iPhone 3GS.

------

Developers can now download the beta of iPhone OS 4.0 from the Apple Developer Connection.

Both the firmware and SDK are available. The SDK is build 10M2236a and the firmware is build 8A230m.

------

In an interview with The Onion's A.V. Club, actor Justin Long said Apple's "Get a Mac" commercials starring himself as "Mac" and John Hodgman as "PC" may be over.

"You know, I think they might be done. In fact, I heard from John, I think they’re going to move on. I can’t say definitively, which is sad, because not only am I going to miss doing them, but also working with John. I’ve become very close with him, and he’s one of my dearest, greatest friends. It was so much fun to go do that job, because there’s not a lot to it for me. A lot of it is just keeping myself entertained between takes, and there’s no one I’d rather do it with than John."

The Get a Mac campaign started in 2006 was created for Apple by TBWA\Media Arts. It December it was awarded campaign of the decade by AdWeek.

------

SpringBoard Rotator has been updated to version 1.2 bringing a slew of fixes and added features.

The app lets you use your iPhone in every one of the possible 4 orientations automatically when you rotate your device.

What's New In Version 1.2:
â—

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 8th, 2010, 7:15 pm

Apple has updated its iPhone Developer Program License Agreement in the iPhone 4.0 SDK to specifically prohibit the development of apps using "an intermediary translation or compatibility layer or tool," which would include Adobe's Flash, Sun's Java, or Microsoft's Silverlight/Mono.

Apple has always prohibited the use of outside frameworks, runtimes or plugins in iPhone apps, a measure that has prevented Adobe or others from delivering an app with the ability to run content such as Flash or Java or Silverlight.

This restriction prompted Adobe to attempt to salvage its developers' existing Flash content by adding a feature to the upcoming Creative Suite 5 that would allow the Flash Professional application to export existing Flash content into a native iPhone application package that could be legitimately sold in the iTunes App Store because it was no longer Flash, and therefore no longer needed any sort of external runtime to play.

However, in iPhone 4, a clause in the developer license that until now only prohibited the use of private APIs (that is, development features that Apple has not completed, documented, and disclosed as being available for public use) has now been expanded to include prohibitions on developing iPhone apps in other languages or in other development environments that are then translated or cross-compiled into native iPhone apps. The clause, section 3.3.3, now reads:

"Applications may only use Documented APIs in the manner prescribed by Apple and must not use or call any private APIs. Applications must be originally written in Objective-C, C, C++, or JavaScript as executed by the iPhone OS WebKit engine, and only code written in C, C++, and Objective-C may compile and directly link against the Documented APIs (e.g., Applications that link to Documented APIs through an intermediary translation or compatibility layer or tool are prohibited)."

This measure means Flash Professionals won't be able to develop content using Flash's ActiveScript and then port this code to iPhone. It also means that developers won't be able to directly port code written in Microsoft's C# language to its .NET framework into a translated iPhone app.

The prohibition may also be a roadblock for Appcelerator and its Titanium SDK or the similar PhoneGap, both of which are designed to build native mobile apps using web technologies such as HTML and JavaScript. The clause specifically limits JavaScript for use in web apps, and does not allow it to link against the native Cocoa Touch APIs.

The news should come as a crushing blow to Adobe, which has been working furiously to develop its Flash to iPhone cross compiler as the key new feature for Flash Professional in CS5. It also erases Adobe's strategy to push mobile and web development toward Flash while still leveraging compatibility with the iPhone OS.

By insisting that all iPhone apps begin as native development using its own Xcode tools, Apple can prevent third party middleware platforms from muscling into the market it created. This will effectively reserve the value and sales volumes of the App Store to benefit Apple's own development tools, ensuring that all the apps sold in the App Store are being built using the company's own native tools and not just cross-compiled from another source.

Apple's move apparently comes in a defense strike against Flash app shovelware, which threatens to water down the original content in the App Store with lots of existing, poor quality Flash games originally designed for the web or other mobile platforms and rebaked to work on the iPhone.

The new rule also rubs out any hope for Java or Silverlight/Mono as a common denominator for building mobile apps, preventing developers from coding apps using Java or C#/.NET and then just cross-compiling them into iPhone apps using a "translation or compatibility layer."

------

Apple on Thursday announced Game Center, its new social gaming network that will allow gamers on the iPhone, iPod touch and iPad to see what their friends are playing, challenge them to an online match, or compare scores in specific titles.

Accompanying Game Center will be the new GameKit application programming interfaces that will allow developers to integrate their App Store titles into the social network. Apple hopes that developers will make their titles compatible with Game Center to provide a centralized location with an integrated friend system, leaderboards, and unlockable achievements.

Users will be able to see what their friends are up to and even invite them to play games through the Game Center application.

Apple did not go into great detail on the service, which is scheduled to launch later this year, though it does sound similar to Microsoft's Xbox Live online community for the Redmond, Wash., company's home game console. Microsoft even has intentions to integrate Xbox Live features into its forthcoming Windows Phone 7 set to launch later this year. Sony also has a similar online system called PlayStation Network, though there is no mobile phone integration from the company.

During the follow-up question-and-answer session, it was even admitted that Apple is looking into potentially adding achievement points, much like the gamerscore or trophy collections held by Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 users, respectively.

But game developers will not be forced to make their software a part of the Game Center social network. The service will be opt-in for developers, but Apple executives believe it is a good opportunity for game makers, because the service will allow users to talk with one another about what they are playing, compete or cooperate online, and compare high scores

Apple revealed Thursday that there are currently more than 50,000 games and entertainment titles available for download on the App Store. Games make up the lion's share of more than 185,000 applications now in the digital download destination.

The App Store has turned Apple into a major player in the portable gaming market, with one recent survey finding that the iPhone and iPod touch represent 19 percent of the handheld U.S. video game software market. Games also play a huge role in the just-released iPad, where most titles fall into that category as well.

------

Developers working with the new iPhone Software 4.0 beta report the existence of a new background process named iChatAgent, the same process used by iChat on the Mac. Meanwhile, Note syncing via MobileMe and a handful of other enhancements have been highlighted in a series of screenshots.

The presence of iChatAgent strongly suggests that iPhone 4 could arrive with a feature Apple did not highlight in today's introduction: a bundled Instant Messaging client. Either that, or Apple's using the agent to facilitate some other task or failed to remove it from previously planned support for iChat on the iPad, both of which seem unlikely.

A recent rumor had suggested that a front-facing video camera was amongst a handful of major hardware enhancements destine for fourth-generation iPhones due to ship this summer. Others include the adoption of the same A4 chip found inside the iPad and a new 5-megapixel camera with LED flash, as AppleInsider recently reported. A purported photo of a fourth-gen iPhone prototype can be seen here.

Meanwhile, developers have snapped a handful of screenshots from the first external beta of iPhone Software 4.0 revealing some of the smaller enhancements Apple has planned for the summer's release, such as the addition of Note syncing for subscribers of its MobileMe internet services:

Over in Safari, Apple has added live Web search suggestions, as it briefly noted in a presentation slide earlier in the day that also included dozens of other minor feature additions.

Apple's iPhone camera application is gaining 5x digital zoom in addition to "Tap to focus video," as can bee seen below, while a new preference for MMS messaging offers to display the current character count:

Mail's new unified mailbox has given way to a new Mailboxes dialog, while the app itself will now offer to reduce the size of messages containing image attachments by automatically scaling them down to a smaller size. A view of threaded messages, another new feature, can be seen on the far right:

Users of iPhone 4.0-supported devices will also be able to switch Location Services on and off at the individual app level while support for IPv6 -- the next-generation Internet Protocol version designated as the successor to IPv4 -- makes its first appearance:

Finally, the two shots below show the purplish Location Services arrow indicator in the menu bar that will display when an application is requesting your location, as well as a new feature that lets you create playlists on Apple's handheld devices, without the need for iTunes:

---

Apple has published a standard-definition QuickTime video stream of Thursday morning's iPhone Software 4.0 preview event hosted by Steve Jobs, Scott Forstall, and Phil Schiller.

A high-definition version of the video stream will likely appear after traffic to the company's servers dies down.

The hour-long event at Apple's campus gave way to the first previews of iPhone OS 4.0, which included 7 new 'tent pole' features, including Multitasking, Folders, Improved Mail, iBooks for iPhone and iPod touch, New Enterprise Features, Game Center, and the company's new iAd advertising service for apps.

Due this summer, the release will also include dozens of other feature additions such as File & delete Mail search results; Search SMS/MMS messages; Web search suggestions; Choose image size in Mail messages; Bluetooth keyboards; CalDav invitations; Larger fonts for Mail, SMS & alerts; Cell data only setting; Spell check; Persistent Wi-Fi; Gift Apps; Birthday calendar; Recent Web searches; Create Playlists; Top Hit in search; 5x digital zoom; Nested Playlists; CardDav; Tap to focus video; Upload workouts to Nike+; Places in Photos; iPod Out; Home screen wallpaper; Search SMS/MMS messages; and Wake on wireless.

Postby M_2NR » April 8th, 2010, 10:47 pm

I really hope there will be a way to change that double tap to multitasking. I like to double tap to favs.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 8th, 2010, 10:50 pm

We were pleased to see much of our iPhone OS wishlist checked off today at Apple's iPhone OS 4 event. Finally, we'll have multitasking, folders, improved email, and more. But just to be thorough, we have to look over the common wishlist items that appears to be lacking from the iPhone OS announcement.

Mass storage mode: We would've liked to see an easier way to just drag and drop files from our computer to the iPhone without having to go through a third party app.

Tethering with AT&T: Yes, we know this is already possible with the current OS, but AT&T in the U.S. have not gotten on board with it yet (Tethering is currently available in other countries like Canada and the UK). We were hoping we would hear more about it at the event, but no dice there.

Audio Profiles: It would have been nice if the iPhone had different audio profiles for different environments that you could easily switch between.

Flash support in Safari: Yeah, this was a pie-in-the-sky wish, but we know a lot of you out there wanted it.

FM radio: Another one that was highly unlikely, but again, we know there are some who want it.

Wi-Fi syncing: We would've really liked it if we could sync or backup our information on the iPhone over WiFi instead of having to plug in our USB cable.

Built-in photo editing: We know you can get third-party photo editors on the iPhone but it would be nice to have a built-in one as well.

Printer support: This is a little more relevant to the iPad, but we also wished iPhone OS 4 would provide some printer driver support, which would be very helpful for printing out documents and notes.

Multiple notification bar: On Android, there is a handy pull down area where you can see all of your recent notifications, like for your new messages or new voicemails. It would be nice to see that on the iPhone as well.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 8th, 2010, 10:52 pm

corolla_2nr wrote:I really hope there will be a way to change that double tap to multitasking. I like to double tap to favs.

they'll prob do a triple tap or something or a setting for it to choose between launching your fav or launching the multi task bar

Postby M_2NR » April 8th, 2010, 10:54 pm

Bezman wrote:
corolla_2nr wrote:I really hope there will be a way to change that double tap to multitasking. I like to double tap to favs.

they'll prob do a triple tap or something or a setting for it to choose between launching your fav or launching the multi task bar

I hoping so yes! I want less tweaks running. I think they just eliminate 3/4 of my substrates which im glad for. One they cant is SBSettings tho.

I'll be looking for a iPhone 4.0 theme now :lol:

BTW, aaron, srasc, et al, any of u getting beta and trying it?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 8th, 2010, 11:02 pm

i dont have a phone to put it on... i sold all my old 2G and spare phones etc

I have a 1G touch and my 3G (daily phone) that i cant afford to mess up.. (4.0 cant work properly on the 3G anyway no?) and i aint got no 3gs :)

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 8th, 2010, 11:06 pm

Neither me.

BTW, another unannounced feature of iPhone OS 4.0 (which some people think should have its name changed since it technically is no longer for just iPhones anymore) is that you can search the net using Spotlight.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 8th, 2010, 11:29 pm

I also thought that the GUI of the iPhone OS would have gotten a little refresh like iPhone OS 3.2 showed. Guess not.

Postby M_2NR » April 8th, 2010, 11:32 pm

Only thing i noticed is the Folders option. Nothing major caught my eye besides the dock and the multitasking pane.

Suck none of u all trying it. I myself dont want to test on my s. and well i could on a 3G but it makes no sense cause it wont be full 4.0.

Anyone with a 3.1.3 3GS/iPod 3G :lol:

i cant wait for a 4.0 theme tho, this is mines currently:

i only just tried my own custom carrier logo. It's quite easy i must say compared to Sony's

SRASC

Postby SRASC » April 8th, 2010, 11:45 pm

Looks kinda close to my current setup