ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 30th, 2010, 6:32 pm

DrunkenMaster16, ok kool...thanks

proton17

Postby proton17 » April 30th, 2010, 8:17 pm

ryan99tt galfa is a real best spot boy. wat u catch dey. I know a fella who living down dey and he always catching shark to 40 pounds and huge cavalli from d beach.

In february a big cavalli take my line and I couldn't stop him. But I does always reach days after d fish and dem bite though.

You hafta cast out a live cro cro from about 2 hours after d low tide to reach over d bar where d fish does be normally passing.

I want to go soon but I could do with some company.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 30th, 2010, 11:10 pm

proton17, well wn yuh organisin let me no an i guh organise...i ketch sum big lippie, shark, cavali, grouper....

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » May 2nd, 2010, 6:02 pm

Went banking saturday and caught eel's, crappo's, 2 cavali (one 4-5 lb other 1 lb) some 1 lb butter fish and red fish. No carite biting as i was told, afew king fish maybe but its a bad moon.

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » May 2nd, 2010, 7:35 pm

BiG Reelers.....

today was a surf fishing competition in manzan. Did anyone go? got any pics?

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » May 2nd, 2010, 8:29 pm

hear the water was discolored and very warm . one set of small fish and choof choof :x :x :x :x :x

audioangel

Postby audioangel » May 2nd, 2010, 9:17 pm

yea water was real brown, we were there on sat ....whole day
didn catch anything, except for a few rays and 2 catfish

Postby Razkal » May 3rd, 2010, 9:11 am

the north east corner seemed buss this weekend too :?

headed up friday night, with every bait imaginable...spent most time fishing the lighthouse, matelot depot, shark river and sans souci....not one damn fish....maybe its just bad luck or immense failure in the technique department :lol:

willing to go again if anyone is interested for the next good period or moon or whatever we need to wait on..

kl122

Postby kl122 » May 3rd, 2010, 3:38 pm

fellas i love fishing, ever since i was a kid i use to cry down the place to go with my dad and his frens on fishing trips, they wud ketch buckets of fish all types.....then as i got older my passion for fishing grew....however it has become quite apparent to me that fishing is becoming more n more difficult, i wud like to think due to over fishing and no conservation efforts and basically our trini mentality that a catch is a catch no matter the size...in florida there are game wardens who will charge you for taking home a fish under or over the specified size...i know it is kind of hard to do that down here right now...

am i wrong to say that our waters are being over fished? or do you guys feel the same way?

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » May 3rd, 2010, 9:40 pm

kl122, alot of the fishermen/ big reelers whom i talk to are fishermen like myself.... Fishes like tarpon that are too small we let it back into the water.. Other fishes that are under 10 inches i let it back go to grow......

SphinxHybrid

Postby SphinxHybrid » May 3rd, 2010, 10:31 pm

Could anyone direct me to where and how I can be part of dragon boat racing.I'm intrested it this. 0X

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » May 4th, 2010, 1:25 pm

was looking for results from the surf comp sun gone and found L S Hosein on facebook, dey hav some 2007 pics ... who knows they might update soon.....

http://www.facebook.com/pages/LS-Hosein ... 8?v=photos

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Re:

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » May 12th, 2010, 1:43 am

lancer3 wrote:was looking for results from the surf comp sun gone and found L S Hosein on facebook, dey hav some 2007 pics ... who knows they might update soon.....

http://www.facebook.com/pages/LS-Hosein ... 8?v=photos

the updated the site..

nothing to impressive... Guess no-one fished with live bait and far out.. They woulda catch more than just a cat-fish..

DrunkenMaster16

Re:

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » May 12th, 2010, 4:24 am

SphinxHybrid wrote:Could anyone direct me to where and how I can be part of dragon boat racing.I'm intrested it this. 0X

Kayak Center Chagaramus I've seen them saturday's and sunday's. Just pass in and see if you can join a team.

deadfish13

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby deadfish13 » May 12th, 2010, 4:55 am

water in manzan is much better. any one heading up this weekend ?

jsali

Postby jsali » May 12th, 2010, 10:05 am

was at the coast guard base in Chaguaramas last week Friday night.....a friend knew somebody who know somebody who uncle cousin in coast guard tra la la......i was just lucky to get the opportunity to go lol

in the beginning between 7:30pm and 10:30pm was rel salts....only caught a few small grunt..

but for the next hour after that, cavali was biting like crazy. not very big but pretty decent size....we had fresh bait that was caught with a net that same night, as well as some old shrimps that was a few months old.....but the cavali was taking the shrimp more than anything....

padna took pics i will try to get them and post it.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 13th, 2010, 11:06 pm

yea hoss, dat jetty hav sum gd fish...already caught quite ah few gd size groupers, barracudas and cavali on it...i headin down claxton bay side for ah lil tarpon trip, will let u guys no wat i ketch...oh an pics will be nice...

Sabot

Postby Sabot » May 17th, 2010, 12:02 pm

8-) 8-)
Last edited by Sabot on June 30th, 2014, 2:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Razkal » May 17th, 2010, 3:07 pm

^same here...last two times i tried my luck o that side it was frustrating to say the least...i was well prepared as well...nothing that might have worked was left behind :lol:

still no luck...manualmx...whenever you headin up that side holla, won't mind learning from the experienced so i don't waste time or bait ever :/

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 17th, 2010, 4:13 pm

i went claxton bay side but nothing at all, other than sum eels and small reds...sum ppl caught ah small tarpon but i cudnt convince dem to release it :(

deadfish13

Postby deadfish13 » May 18th, 2010, 6:41 am

Manzanilla's water was a little dirty but i still caught some fish. Meet some guys who caught a "crazy" Jack Crevalle. Thing was +10 lbs and took a small piece of big eye fish . i never imagined you can use those little critters as bait !!! Or maybe that jack was really a little crazy :)

Sabot

Postby Sabot » May 18th, 2010, 7:36 am

Razkal wrote:^same here...last two times i tried my luck o that side it was frustrating to say the least...i was well prepared as well...nothing that might have worked was left behind :lol:

still no luck...manualmx...whenever you headin up that side holla, won't mind learning from the experienced so i don't waste time or bait ever :/

Will head out next week on a morning, need to be in Toco by 4:30 AM by the way :lol:

Will give you a heads up when properly planned, I estimate the fish may be closer inshore by late next week given the size of the baitfish around the area.

Postby Razkal » May 18th, 2010, 9:53 am

manualmx wrote:
Razkal wrote:^same here...last two times i tried my luck o that side it was frustrating to say the least...i was well prepared as well...nothing that might have worked was left behind :lol:

Will head out next week on a morning, need to be in Toco by 4:30 AM by the way :lol:

Will give you a heads up when properly planned, I estimate the fish may be closer inshore by late next week given the size of the baitfish around the area.

sounds great, don't worry, i'm accustomed to seeing toco before 5am...surf sessions nah :P

looking forward to hearing from you with yuh plan 8-)

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » May 18th, 2010, 11:11 am

ryan99tt wrote:i went claxton bay side but nothing at all, other than sum eels and small reds...sum ppl caught ah small tarpon but i cudnt convince dem to release it :(

yea them fellas on that side brutal :lol:

where exactly did they catch the tarpon? by cement?

proton17

Postby proton17 » May 18th, 2010, 3:42 pm

deadfish where dem fellas catch that cavalli, in the river or the surf by the stonewall. I always wanted to try one of dem big eye fish for bait u know...

deadfish13

Postby deadfish13 » May 19th, 2010, 5:42 am

proton they caught it at the "breakaway" , gravel parking area where they sell the water melon . i dont know if this is the stone wall area.
you have been fishing manzan for a long time , i would like to know how the fishing goes when the rain starts to fall and dirty the water ? thanks

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » May 19th, 2010, 5:56 pm

Guys as soon as the rain start to fall the water in mazanilla river get really fresh but with the correct bait you sure to catch some nice size bushe.. But i guess you cant go in the estate no more because they block it up with a 3ft wall of sand and coconut tree.. Only bet is a 4x4 drive out on the beach and head down the river mount.

Gaijjin

Postby Gaijjin » May 19th, 2010, 6:33 pm

Fellas ah hear meh padna & them talk about d "table" down galeota! Is ah big rock out on the point not sure if it's by NGC station if alyuh have friends in "high places" y'all could check it out!! :idea: :mrgreen:

Sabot

Postby Sabot » May 20th, 2010, 7:44 am

Gaijjin wrote:Fellas ah hear meh padna & them talk about d "table" down galeota! Is ah big rock out on the point not sure if it's by NGC station if alyuh have friends in "high places" y'all could check it out!! :idea: :mrgreen:

You don't need friends in high places to go there, BP lets people pass without any issues.
Again, you walk along the northern perimeter of their wirewall fence and get to the beach, walk south on the beach until you reach the flames then climb the hill and follow the road. You will reach a cliff about 300' high. Strap the rods and gaff to your back and climb down the cliff using the ropes/wire/cable which is tied to a tree. You need to rappel down about three of these cliffs. Oh yes, don't fall cuz its instant blue fly :lol:

The fishing there is worth the climb sometimes though but its a little unpredictable at times.
Best bet is in the late evening around 5- 6 on a rising tide for cavali and tarpon. Low tides there are a bummer since the water goes too low and the fish don't come within casting range.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 22nd, 2010, 11:29 am

manualmx wrote:
Gaijjin wrote:Fellas ah hear meh padna & them talk about d "table" down galeota! Is ah big rock out on the point not sure if it's by NGC station if alyuh have friends in "high places" y'all could check it out!! :idea: :mrgreen:

You don't need friends in high places to go there, BP lets people pass without any issues.
Again, you walk along the northern perimeter of their wirewall fence and get to the beach, walk south on the beach until you reach the flames then climb the hill and follow the road. You will reach a cliff about 300' high. Strap the rods and gaff to your back and climb down the cliff using the ropes/wire/cable which is tied to a tree. You need to rappel down about three of these cliffs. Oh yes, don't fall cuz its instant blue fly :lol:

The fishing there is worth the climb sometimes though but its a little unpredictable at times.
Best bet is in the late evening around 5- 6 on a rising tide for cavali and tarpon. Low tides there are a bummer since the water goes too low and the fish don't come within casting range.

all tru but wen tide low u can fish for sharks wit d rite bait...i goin an do ah lil evening fishing, will let u guys no how it gone...