70 years without eating?

jumpkickjoe

70 years without eating?

Postby jumpkickjoe » May 15th, 2010, 3:11 pm

Dunno if this is a repost but it's quite interesting..........

http://bodyodd.msnbc.msn.com/archive/2010/05/10/2299480.aspx?GT1=43001

Prahlad Jani, an 82-year-old Indian yogi, is making headlines by claims that for the past
70 years he has had nothing -- not one calorie -- to eat and not one drop of liquid to drink. To test his claims, Indian military doctors put him under round-the-clock observation during a two-week hospital stay that ended last week, news reports say. During that time he didn’t ingest any food or water – and remained perfectly healthy, the researchers said.

But that’s simply impossible, said Dr. Michael Van Rooyen an emergency physician at Harvard’s Brigham and Women’s Hospital, an associate professor at the medical school, and the director of the Harvard Humanitarian Initiative – which focuses on aid to displaced populations who lack food and water.

Van Rooyen says that depending on climate conditions like temperature and humidity, a human could survive five or six days without water, maybe a day or two longer in extraordinary circumstances. We can go much longer without food – even up to three months if that person is taking liquids fortified with vitamins and electrolytes.

Bobby Sands, an Irish Republican convicted of firearms possession and imprisoned by the British, died in 1981 on the 66th day of his hunger strike. Gandhi was also known to go long stretches without food, including a 21-day hunger strike in 1932.

Jani, dubbed "the starving yogi" by some, did have limited contact with water while gargling and periodically bathing, reported the news wire service AFP. While researchers said they measured what he spit out, Van Rooyen said he's clearly getting fluid somehow.

"You can hold a lot of water in those yogi beards. A sneaky yogi for certain," he said. "He MUST take in water. The human body cannot survive without it." The effects of food and water deprivation are profound, Van Rooyen explained. “Ultimately, instead of metabolizing sugar and glycogen [the body’s energy sources] you start to metabolize fat and then cause muscle breakdown. Without food, your body chemistry changes. Profoundly malnourished people autodigest, they consume their own body’s resources. You get liver failure, tachycardia, heart strain. You fall apart.”

The yogi, though, would already be dead from lack of hydration. If he really went without any liquids at all, his cardiovascular system would have collapsed. “You lose about a liter or two of water per day just by breathing,” Van Rooyen said. You don’t have to sweat, which the yogi claims he never does. That water loss results in thicker blood and a drop in blood pressure.

“You go from being a grape to a raisin,” Van Rooyen said and if you didn’t have a heart attack first, you’d die of kidney failure.

Re: 70 years without eating?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 15th, 2010, 3:19 pm

im not buying it ...

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » May 15th, 2010, 3:20 pm

i say BS a HUGE load of it

Postby Stephon. » May 15th, 2010, 3:25 pm

70 years in Guyanese.

Postby janfar » May 15th, 2010, 3:29 pm

Ah sure he mouth was greasy with KFC when he make he claim!!!

Postby Razkal » May 15th, 2010, 3:33 pm

Stephon. wrote:70 years in Guyanese.

by my calculations...

70 guyanese years = ~3 episodes of House....

:lol::lol:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » May 15th, 2010, 3:35 pm

Somebody remove this BS post or spam it wid hot sexy chicas please

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » May 15th, 2010, 3:45 pm

Midnight_Demon wrote:i say BS a HUGE load of it

Careful eh ,, the hindu fanatics might come and try to burn u at the stake for a bad religious statement against their faith... the the christian fanatics will call u an athiest non-believer and accrue this effort to the power of prayer.. the islamic fundamentalist will call a fatwa on yuh head and you'll disappear by next week

badart

Postby badart » May 15th, 2010, 9:57 pm

impossible is nothin

legoRB

Postby legoRB » May 15th, 2010, 10:05 pm

MIND ova MATTER

zcarz

Postby zcarz » May 15th, 2010, 10:08 pm

Stephon. wrote:70 years in Guyanese.

IBTr1ad

Postby UML » May 15th, 2010, 10:13 pm

REPOST

zcarz

Postby zcarz » May 15th, 2010, 10:16 pm

^ok then IBTr1ad and IBTL

Postby Chimera » May 15th, 2010, 10:23 pm

illumin@ti wrote:

Careful eh ,, the hindu fanatics might come and try to burn u at the stake for a bad religious statement against their faith... the the christian fanatics will call u an athiest non-believer and accrue this effort to the power of prayer.. the islamic fundamentalist will call a fatwa on yuh head and you'll disappear by next week

What the baptist guh do?

zcarz

Postby zcarz » May 15th, 2010, 10:29 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
illumin@ti wrote:

What the baptist guh do?

baptise yuh

Postby UML » May 15th, 2010, 10:46 pm

Postby Trini Hookah » May 15th, 2010, 10:51 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
illumin@ti wrote:

What the baptist guh do?

Shout :|

zcarz

Postby zcarz » May 15th, 2010, 11:43 pm

UML wrote:http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?printertopic=1&t=310071&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&vote=viewresult

I am not allowed to read this forum.. 1emo

Postby Rooki3 » May 16th, 2010, 12:09 am

he have japs in he beard!!

Kittles

Postby Kittles » May 16th, 2010, 12:16 am

steups!! how the hell this gettin so much attenion???? :?

zcarz

Postby zcarz » May 16th, 2010, 12:20 am

^^because de man fackin photosynthesizing

Postby Chimera » May 16th, 2010, 12:50 am

Kittles wrote:steups!! how the hell this gettin so much attenion???? :?

what kind of ape-like response is that to a perfectly civil thread?

Kittles

Postby Kittles » May 16th, 2010, 12:55 am

LOL your issues are showing :lol:

Postby shogun » May 16th, 2010, 1:01 am

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 16th, 2010, 1:22 am

conventional means of deriving energy/sustenance for the body through food and water, but for those who deeply understand that the physical body is but an extension of the elements that pervades everything then nourishing said physical body through those elements eventually becomes an easy and automated task.....

dreadman

Postby dreadman » May 16th, 2010, 4:13 am

allyuh d man drinkin an eating he own fart.....

zcarz

Postby zcarz » May 16th, 2010, 1:15 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:conventional means of deriving energy/sustenance for the body through food and water, but for those who deeply understand that the physical body is but an extension of the elements that pervades everything then nourishing said physical body through those elements eventually becomes an easy and automated task.....

No.. it's impossible.. you'd have to have a huge surface area (with respect to volume) for that to be even remotely possible.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 16th, 2010, 1:30 pm

^^^are you referring to absorption through skin and lungs?

I am referring to the ability to merge the physical body with the elemental properties and energy that exist in and around everything....so that the physical body itself becomes and is that elemental energy....

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » May 16th, 2010, 1:32 pm

My deeply religious and not so educated Hindu neighbor believes this 100%

He also believes Sai Baba is god and claims made by Sai Baba that he can transform his pen!s into a p.u.$.$.y.
Sadly he says he does not believe that Transformers was based on a true story. Even when I have tried every trick in the book to convince him.

Tomorrow I will say transformers was mentioned in the Hindu scriptures and get back to you guys on whats the outcome of his beliefs.
Last edited by RadeonHD on May 16th, 2010, 1:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 16th, 2010, 1:37 pm

roflmao.....do that man!