Solodex 3 Sunday May 16th 2010 (flyer added) course added

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

djaggs

Re: Solodex 3 Sunday May 16th 2010 (flyer added) course adde

Postby djaggs » May 17th, 2010, 3:33 pm

Suzuki Sportsman wrote::twisted: , one shot from dex3

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Looks like a crapau running from a pitbull :D

Seriously tho, Imagine that the Chevette was once the rallying equivalent of the Subaru, look how far we've come.

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » May 17th, 2010, 3:35 pm

i find the flares are quite similar between both cars, strange

Postby wagonrunner » May 17th, 2010, 3:51 pm

dream-carz wrote:i find the flares are quite similar between both cars, strange

not really, once you can accept that not all current designs are new.
some are copied, some are improved upon.

Postby MG Man » May 17th, 2010, 4:37 pm

ROFL @ crapaud breaksing from a pitbull

dream-carz, the body kit was designed in 1979 by GM designer Wayne Cherry, when they were looking to widen the track of the Chevette HS, which already had the traditional excort-style bubble flares. Cherry decided something more distinctive was in order, and penned this flare kit, which was then wind tunnel tested.
At the time, he claimed the design would last 20 years, but clearly 30 years on, it's still being emulated!

More on Wayne Cherry here:
http://archive.cardesignnews.com/news/2 ... index.html

http://wkcherry.blogspot.com/

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » May 17th, 2010, 4:47 pm

yep the three car ting was a lot of fun....i'm still amazed at what ryan peyrau did in my own car, it was almost unreal the speed he was entering some of those corners.....the 600bhp beast couldn't ketch up lol

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 17th, 2010, 5:01 pm

more like the 600whp beast had no boost lol

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » May 17th, 2010, 5:44 pm

actually i was not really being competitive, just testing the car (dccd, suspension, etc) to see what needs to sort out. During the second fun run boost died.

Reyos

Postby Reyos » May 17th, 2010, 5:48 pm

^^ you bringing it back on the 25th of June at the BYCC to more checks and testing?

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » May 17th, 2010, 6:16 pm

Yes please bring it back. I want to see more Project Mu in action!..... :mrgreen:

VIP2Nr

Postby VIP2Nr » May 17th, 2010, 8:48 pm

as a spectator dex was a success. especially the fun runs...

wanna take part in the next bycc, how about the same fun run course layout?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 18th, 2010, 8:48 am

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 18th, 2010, 8:49 am

all funs runs and bycc events will use this course layout

Postby Ignorant Ignis » May 18th, 2010, 8:54 am

lol@devi beating the whole of EPR

Postby pete » May 18th, 2010, 10:12 am

MadCrix wrote:all funs runs and bycc events will use this course layout

Next time I'll try it out for sure.

Postby X2 » May 18th, 2010, 11:52 am

Damn... hope to make the next one.

Honda finally tek win in SS I see !! Congrats !

Postby pete » May 18th, 2010, 1:40 pm

That's because there were no suzukis in SS. :P

Postby X2 » May 18th, 2010, 3:10 pm

pete... shush ya meow...

djaggs

Postby djaggs » May 18th, 2010, 3:14 pm

pete wrote:That's because there were no suzukis in SS. :P

:D :D :D LOL

I wasnt saying nutten nah...

Postby Ignorant Ignis » May 18th, 2010, 4:15 pm

djaggs wrote:
pete wrote:That's because there were no suzukis in SS. :P

:D :D :D LOL

I wasnt saying nutten nah...

lol...... same

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » May 18th, 2010, 6:13 pm

X2 wrote:Damn... hope to make the next one.

Also note 1st and 2nd in ESP as well as 1st in ES all beat the fastest SS car :D :D haha....suzuki all the way boy :wink:

ingalook

Postby ingalook » May 18th, 2010, 10:05 pm

chris1388 wrote:

Also note 1st and 2nd in ESP as well as 1st in ES all beat the fastest SS car :D :D haha....suzuki all the way boy :wink:

Dread... I was all over the place on my last lap... I could not believe that I actually made a faster lap than my 3rd lap

If I was clean (and knew where I was going) on that last lap I have no doubt that I would hit 49 secs easy

I've said it before but - I've got a hell of a car now... Rudi, Reyos and Ruel (aye that's 3 "R"s) all went for a ride in my car and they will tell you that the problem is most definitely NOT the car :oops:

I'm still getting over the fact that I can push the car that hard and it refuses to let go... so different from a few months ago when it would spin out for no apparent reason... call it "nexenphobia"

It really did make me smile... especially for the fun runs when I just keep pushing and it just kept giving :mrgreen:

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » May 18th, 2010, 10:32 pm

^^ I shuda line up a fun run behind ur :twisted: .... we'll see next dex...you have better tires now

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » May 19th, 2010, 1:00 am

Just a few more pics 8-)

:twisted:

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » May 19th, 2010, 7:26 am

Ingalook, the car is definately wucking! SS is in for ah hell of ah time!
Next time however, put some more gas in de car please! Hearing Ruel screeching tyres in your backside as you came to near stall was more excitement than anyone could handle.

Postby pete » May 19th, 2010, 8:45 am

ingalook wrote:I'm still getting over the fact that I can push the car that hard and it refuses to let go... so different from a few months ago when it would spin out for no apparent reason... call it "nexenphobia"

It really did make me smile... especially for the fun runs when I just keep pushing and it just kept giving :mrgreen:

Sumitomos FTW

Postby MG Man » May 19th, 2010, 9:20 am

ingalook wrote:
chris1388 wrote:

Dread... I was all over the place on my last lap... I could not believe that I actually made a faster lap than my 3rd lap

If I was clean (and knew where I was going) on that last lap I have no doubt that I would hit 49 secs easy

I've said it before but - I've got a hell of a car now... Rudi, Reyos and Ruel (aye that's 3 "R"s) all went for a ride in my car and they will tell you that the problem is most definitely NOT the car :oops:

I'm still getting over the fact that I can push the car that hard and it refuses to let go... so different from a few months ago when it would spin out for no apparent reason... call it "nexenphobia"

you jus lucky I was ketchin mihass to navigate the course :twisted:

djaggs

Postby djaggs » May 19th, 2010, 10:04 am

Tires really make the difference in Solodex. I really have to get a good set of tires for DEX.
I was also navigationally challenged, thus the two DNFs.

Postby MG Man » May 19th, 2010, 11:48 am

3 dnfS
I ran 360 tw tyres and I have no complaints............if I had the mental capacity of my fellow competitors, I am sure I would knock off two seconds minimum simply by paying attention to lines, apexes and braking, rather than holding back while trying to figure out where I was going wrong
PS Thanks to Pete for giving me the point of reference I needed to make my last run count!

d spike

Postby d spike » May 20th, 2010, 9:23 pm

I was ketchin mih ass to navigate the course

DNF, eh?
I didn’t have any problems with navigating the course – loved it, actually.
It was a breeze... mainly because it was exactly like the drive down from my latest ex’s house... yeah... Hey! Who it was that “designed” this course again???

GEAR_HEAD

Postby GEAR_HEAD » May 21st, 2010, 8:08 am

Course was fun, especially the 'fun runs' after. Looking forward to the upcoming BYCC. Running 3 laps or more in one go really gives you an opportunity to improve your lines & learn your car's handling traits.
Hopefully future events will be structured this way.

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”