wheelbarrow

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby wheelbarrow » May 13th, 2010, 8:28 pm

Postby M_2NR » May 14th, 2010, 12:32 am

RapToR, and you dont want to jailbreak...
http://www.techtosh.com/ipad/mount-an-e ... oken-ipad/

:lol: don't advise it yet tho :)
bess almera wrote:I carried by a guy to check it out...apparently i only downloadde the software and didnt actually upgrade the software using itunes. after the progress bar on top loaded i didnt go back and click restore in itunes so i'm hoping its still 3.1.2! The puzzling part is the blackra1n geo guy screenie appearing then blankin out after a few secs. I'm thinkin that during the jb process the phone is trying to reboot but there's something internally affecting the boot.
While verifying with apple during the restore to 3.1.2 itunes generates an error "unable to restore.....isn't eligible for this build.."
Did some research where they said to include a string in the host file using notepad but that doesnt wrk. So i'm guessing its because i'm already on 3.1.2.
We tried inserting an AT&T sim in an attempt to jb using Spirit just in case i have d 3.1.3 firmware but the connecting to itunes screenie remains. More evidence that to make me assume that my phone is currently trapped in a pre booting stage. The BOOTRom is probably screwed.
But i'm positive that it can be jbroken sometime if not now in the near future.
I'm also guessing that no one has encountered this problem on tuner as yet. Words of advice to those who made updates using ROCK.....KEEP YUH PHONE CHARGED.

I hope you realized that ROCK is garbage by now. DO NOT use that under any circumstances. Stick to Cydia. Rock Caches tend to GB's and that also takes up space.

Try to do my guide from the part where i say use the 3.1.2 virgin IPSW. BUT make sure you have added the IP's to the host file. That is important.

That error kicking up is most likely because of this. Again read over my guide and add that IP to the host file k. Good luck.

Was your jailbreak tethered? If you are untethered, use the redsn0w as well on that fresh 3.1.2 k?

Good luck buddy.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 14th, 2010, 10:57 am

Apple this week rejected "Wi-Fi Sync," a third-party application that allows the iPhone and iPod touch to sync wirelessly with iTunes.

The developer, Greg Hughes, has instead turned to the unauthorized source for iPhone software, Cydia, which is available only on "jailbroken" devices that can run software not approved by Apple. Wi-Fi Sync is available to purchase through the Cydia Store for $9.99.

Hughes told Engadget that an Apple representative told him over the phone that the application was not specifically in violation of the terms of the iPhone OS developer agreement.

"While he agreed that the app doesn't technically break the rules, he said that it does encroach upon the boundaries of what they can and cannot allow on their store," the developer said. "He also cited security concerns."

Wi-Fi Sync allows an iPhone or iPod touch to wirelessly transfer data such as music to the device without tethering it to a computer via a USB cable. It is not supported on the iPad. The current application works with Mac OS X and requires separate, free software to be installed on the machine running iTunes. Hughes said a Windows version of the desktop application is forthcoming.

The developer first introduced the application in late April.

(I think Apple will release this themselves in perhaps iPhone OS 5.0)

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » May 14th, 2010, 12:53 pm

4g release imminent??

Postby M_2NR » May 14th, 2010, 3:10 pm

June 7th.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 14th, 2010, 5:24 pm

For the AppStore shoppers.....

I'm loving plants vs zombies

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 14th, 2010, 6:47 pm

An Apple response to the Adobe 'We ♥ Apple' ad campaign.

Postby M_2NR » May 15th, 2010, 12:33 am

BAHAHAHAHAHAHAH EPIC!
this is one i made for the SE forum i used to live on...

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 15th, 2010, 7:49 pm

DigiTimes had reported earlier this week that Pegatron Technology, the manufacturing arm of Asustek has bagged the contract for the manufacture of CDMA iPhones. Pegatron is reported to commence production of the new handset from September of this year.

According to their sources, the annual shipment of CDMA iPhones is likely to be close to 10 million units. It is not clear if this is merely a ballpark estimate for future shipments or if Pegatron has been contracted to supply 10 million CDMA iPhones to Apple.

With close to 45% of the market share among American carriers being held between CDMA networks like Verizon and Sprint, Apple can expect to reach a significant number of new customers by launching a CDMA version of their popular smartphone.

Also, Apple is presently in an exclusive partnership with AT&T in USA. The popularity of the iPhone has resulted in a 5000% increase in AT&T's bandwidth consumption in the past three years resulting in a less reliable network. Many iPhone users are likely to move to Verizon if Apple eventually decides to end their exclusive partnership, which is rumored to last until 2012.

A CDMA iPhone is also likely to help Apple in consolidating its position in several foreign markets where CDMA is the dominant cellular technology.

Having said that, we do want to emphasize on the fact that this is still an unconfirmed rumor. As Fortune points out, the track record of DigiTimes with respect to unraveling rumors has not been too good in the past so needs to be taken with skepticism at this point.

We would also be surprised if Apple ends up releasing a CDMA based iPhone, which it had labeled as a "dead" technology. We expect Apple to launch a Verizon iPhone but only when Verizon has completed deploying its 4G LTE network later this year.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 17th, 2010, 1:25 pm

2 more videos of the Vietnam 4th generation iPhone prototype

------

Starting in June, Foxconn will ship 24 million units of the Apple iPhone 4G which features an improved display, more memory, and a larger battery, according to Digitimes.

Foxconn will ship 4.5 million units in the first half and 19.5 million units for the rest of 2010. Apple is expected to unveil the iPhone 4G on June 7, 2010 during Apple's Worldwide Developers Conference. The new device will adopt IPS (in-plane switching) panels with FFS (fringe-field switching) technology and a 960×640 resolution, Kuo said, noting that LG Display and Prime View International are the panel suppliers.

Digitimes also claims the iPhone 4G will run on the Arm Cortex A8 processor and have a 512MB memory module from Samsung which is double that of the iPhone 3GS.

The iPhone 4G's display panel is said to be 33% thinner to allow for a larger battery module supplied by Simplo Technology and Dynapack International Technology.

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » May 17th, 2010, 2:30 pm

rodfarva wrote:For the AppStore shoppers.....

I'm loving plants vs zombies

Also checkout Fruit Ninja, its pretty cool!

Sully

Postby Sully » May 18th, 2010, 8:12 am

What's a free VPN that I can use to get Pandora working on the iphone? And is the bMobile edge connection good enough so that I can stream music with it?

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » May 18th, 2010, 10:53 am

Had a strange problem yesterday
Currently my phone is on 3.1.2 with blackra1n JB. My phone died and suddenly when I reach home to charge it my phones back to where it was orginally, locked. I see the message slide to unlock and when I do it says only emergency calls only. I have no idea how this happend but I tired restoring it using a 3.1.2 firmware file but when it reaches the end it kinda sticks on the "restoring firmware" part and then after a good while gives an error. Anyways I went on to JB it with blackra1n and when I do, my wifi is disabled or grayed out. If anyone has experienced the same problem i'll appreiciate any help. Thanks

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 18th, 2010, 4:44 pm

A summary of the rumored and leaked iPhone 4G features has been presented in an Apple specifications page format by AppAdvice.

------

MarketWatch is reporting that the dumbest trade ever was made by Steve Jobs and it cost him $10.3 billion.

It's got everything. Fame. Glamour. The exactly wrong trade at exactly the wrong time. Billions of dollars blown. And you won't believe who pulled it.

No, it wasn't some semi-pro hedge fund manager in Greenwich. An obscure European banker. Or a crazy trader in Hong Kong.

You ready?

It was Steve Jobs. Yes, the man who walks on water. The same genius who invented the iPhone, restored balance to the Force, and rescued Morpheus from the Matrix. Steve - Luke - "Neo" - Jobs. "The One."

In March 2003, Steve Jobs canceled all his options in return for $75 million in shares. The shares Jobs received are worth $2.5 billion today. If he had kept the options they would have been worth $12.8 billion.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 18th, 2010, 9:14 pm

Apple had seeded developers of its iPhone Developer Program with the fourth beta version of iPhone OS 4.0 but seems to have pulled it after two hours.

Apple has released a new beta version of iPhone OS 4 every two weeks (Beta 1, Beta 2, Beta 3) since it gave a preview of the next generation iPhone OS at a special event in early April.

iPhone OS 4.0 includes 100 new features for iPhone users such as multitasking, folders etc and more than 1500 new APIs for app developers.

It looks like Apple has made several changes to networking behavior for suspended apps for the multitasking feature, which is relevant to the developer of the iPhone app based on initial reports from developers who were able to download the latest beta version of iPhone OS 4.0 SDK.

As you would expect, the new beta version of the iPhone app includes many bug fixes.

We will let you know if the latest beta version of iPhone OS 4 beta 2 and SDK reveals any interesting new features.

Apple might announce the release date of iPhone OS 4.0 during WWDC 2010 Keynote address.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 19th, 2010, 2:35 pm

A new configuration page for AT&T Internet Tethering has been spotted in the latest iPhone OS 4.0 beta, according to MacRumors.

The page alerts AT&T customers that in order to set up internet tethering, you need to contact AT&T at 611 or visit AT&T's website. The new message seems to indicate that AT&T may finally be ready to deliver tethering to U.S. customers.

This could be great news for US customers who have been waiting for tethering capabilities since Apple announced the feature last year.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 19th, 2010, 2:36 pm

It looks like there might be an option to purchase the iPhone 4G in white, according to images posted by Apple.pro.

The site has posted images of a white front panel for the phone.

Take a look below...

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 19th, 2010, 2:37 pm

Pictures of a new iPod touch sporting a new 2 megapixel camera have surfaced in Vietnam, though it's unknown whether the device was a scrapped 2009 prototype or a forthcoming product release.

Vietnamese site Tinhte once again has the scoop, with photos and video of the hardware running software diagnostics rather than the iPhone OS. The hardware has a camera centered on its back, much like the iPod touch model Apple was expected to announce last September, until the camera addition was quietly scrapped.

A sticker on the back of the device reveals the camera, part OV2665-6s, manufactured by Omnivision. That's the same company that provides the 3.2 megapixel camera for Apple's iPhone 3GS.

The device also sports 64GB of capacity (it reads '64G' and the iPod touch relies on a pair of 32GB Samsung NAND flash modules), and has a serial number identical to the September 2009 model, making it unclear whether the device is a 2009 prototype (some of which previously leaked into the wild), or a new, upcoming product from Apple.

Last year, AppleInsider first reported that technical issues caused Apple to remove the camera from the latest iPod touch revision, even though numerous third-party cases made it clear the product was in Apple's pipeline. A teardown of the third-generation iPod touch post-release revealed that the device contains space for a camera inside its hardware. People familiar with the matter have maintained that a camera-equipped iPod touch remained in Apple's pipeline.

Tinhte has been the source of a number of major Apple-related leaks in recent weeks. A week ago, the website obtained a fourth-generation iPhone prototype, and tore down the hardware to reveal an Apple A4 processor inside. Then, over the weekend, they showed off a refresh of Apple's 13-inch MacBook, complete with retail packaging. That product was formally released on Tuesday.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 19th, 2010, 2:37 pm

Photos of new iPhone third-party protective cases show accessories that were designed to meet the physical form factor of Apple's prototype fourth-generation handset.

As first discovered by HardMac, the cases from China feature the same rounded corners found in two prototype iPhones that leaked to the public. The back of the case features a larger space for both the camera and accompanying flash, and the side features holes for two rounded volume buttons.

The report noted that the cases are ready to ship, even though the next-generation iPhone has not yet been formally announced. Apple is expected to introduce the device at its annual Worldwide Developers Conference, set to kick off on June 7.

The purported design of Apple's forthcoming iPhone has been photographed extensively, thanks to two high-profile leaks of the hardware. Most recently, a Vietnamese website obtained a prototype handset and dismantled it, revealing an A4 microprocessor and 256MB of system RAM powering the device. Prior to that, Gizmodo bought a prototype left at a bar for $5,000 and also disassembled the device to confirm it was made by Apple.

The new hardware features a forward-facing camera, an improved rear camera (believed to be 5 megapixels), a higher resolution display expected to be 960x640 pixels, and a second microphone expected to be used for noise canceling. Like the iPad, it relies on a Micro-SIM card for connectivity with a GSM wireless cellular network.

The new cases from China are designed to fit the shape of the prototype, which has a back that is completely flat, and reportedly made of a new material to improve cell reception. The new hardware also has split buttons for volume, which some have theorized could serve as a physical camera shutter button.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 19th, 2010, 2:39 pm

Apple has included a few new wallpapers in the latest beta of iPhone OS 4.0

Postby M_2NR » May 19th, 2010, 4:32 pm

Those look like dealextreme's. Very nice.

BTW, sorry guys i cant help you all out. After tmrw k, i'm very busy.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 19th, 2010, 10:40 pm

You might finally not have to use some tricks (that might or might not work) to add words to iPhone’s dictionary and get an easier way to teach your iPhone to swear in iPhone OS 4.0.

Gizmodo has just reported that they have discovered a screen in the iPhone OS 4 Beta 4 released yesterday, which suggests that it will get a custom dictionary.

You might have noticed that your iPhone doesn't know the swear words. So every time you try to use one, its auto-correct feature kicks in and gives you some weird alternatives.

It is times like these that you really miss the ability to add a word to iPhone's dictionary.

Gizmodo has discovered an option under Keyboard settings in the iPhone OS 4 Beta 4 released yesterday, which suggests that users will be able to add words to the iPhone dictionary.

iPhone OS 4.0 Beta 4 has already revealed iPhone tethering for AT&T customers, default utilities folder and new iPhone wallpapers and the possibility of camera with LED Flash coming to iPhone, iPad and iPod Touch.

------

The official Twitter client for iPhone is now available in the US App Store.

Discover what’s happening right now, anywhere in the world with the official Twitter for iPhone app. Realtime search, Top Tweets, trending topics and maps show whats happening now everywhere and nearby. Tweet, send DMs, share photos, videos and links to your friends and the world.

What's New In This Version:
● Tweetie is now Twitter! We didn’t just do a name change, we’ve added a bunch of new stuff.
● Search has been reorganized, now you can search all tweets and find users in the same spot, view Top Tweets and Browse Suggested users.
● Search results now include Top Tweets, try it with Trends...winner combo!
● You can now use Twitter without an account! Search, Browse uses, view trends and top tweets.
● Sign-up is now available within the application as well, complete with Suggested user list.
● More tab has been re-organized to accomplish all this. Users with one account can add a second account under the Accounts and Settings button here.
● Actions we’ve found people use most, like Retweet have been moved to the main actions bar.
● Minor tweaks were made to tweet rendering so they match Twitter.com tweets

You can download Twitter from the App Store for free.

Image Image

------

If or when Verizon Wireless offers the iPhone it could support simultaneous voice and data using VoRA, according to BGR.

One of our Verizon guys hit us up with some pretty interesting news. We have been told that when the mythical Verizon iPhone materializes, assuming it’s not a LTE unit, it might launch with VoRA; Voice over Rev. A. According to our source, Verizon has been testing VoRA as a precursor to VoLTE, and as long as the network upgrade timeline and iPhone release are aligned, we should see this happen. If it happens.

hummbug

Postby hummbug » May 20th, 2010, 4:53 am

Just joined to share in case anyone needs it. I got the digicel mms to work on a 8g 3g after reading for 3 days. If anyone needs info please post.

Postby M_2NR » May 20th, 2010, 5:15 am

please post a screenshot of your settings :)
and/or details.

hummbug

Postby hummbug » May 20th, 2010, 5:42 am

will do the screen shot but it would cut out the details. So here goes:
Tap in the following order:

settings
general
network
cellular data network

input into the fields: whats' "blank" leave out

APN wap.digiceltt.com
Username
password
MMSC mmc.digiceltt.com/servlets/mms
MMS proxy 172.020.006.012:8080
mms max message size
MMS UA PROF URL http://mmc.digiceltt.com/servlets/mms

step 2
Tap in the following order:

settings
Messages -----switch "MMS messaging" toggle to on

Its possible you may have to do step 2 before and after inputting the settings. I think this would probably cause the settings to take effect.

once done mms works from the native message app on the phone: no swirly required

tap messages and you'll see a camera icon on the keyboard, tap that and you're mms'ing

hummbug

Postby hummbug » May 20th, 2010, 5:55 am

IMG_0137.PNG
IMG_0137.PNG (183.16 KiB) Viewed 3027 times

Trying to post the screen shots to show the mms Ok the first shot is just showing off the G.O.C. theme
IMG_0140.PNG
IMG_0140.PNG (42.04 KiB) Viewed 3027 times
IMG_0139.PNG
IMG_0139.PNG (38.35 KiB) Viewed 3027 times

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 20th, 2010, 9:09 am

Just asking, the settings for bmobile MMS works right?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 20th, 2010, 9:44 am

Apple has ended their no cash policy after a woman on fixed income was prevented from buying an iPad. The woman had saved up for the device for weeks but when she went to the Apple Store she was turned away.

"It took quite a long time for me to just save up this small amount of money to go down and purchase one," she said. "I had my cash in the backpack and I went up proudly to the counter and told them, 'I would like to purchase an iPad.'"

"They said, 'Sorry, we don't take cash.'

After initially standing by its policy, Apple Senior Vice President for Retail, Ron Johnson, has announced that customers will be allowed to pay cash as long as they setup an Apple account at the time of purchase.

About a month ago, we said we'd like you to use a credit card when you buy your iPad, and that was the best way we could think of to make sure that people only brought two per individual," said Johnson. "And then it came to our attention that Diane [Campbell], through your story, was very interested in buying an iPad with cash, and we made a decision today to change that."

Johnson said our story triggered a company-wide policy change. As of today, anyone can pay for an iPad with cash as long as they set up their Apple account at the store. Apple accounts are needed for the iPad anyway, so that is not putting anyone out.
As a gesture of goodwill toward Diane Campbell, the woman whose experience brought the issue considerable publicity, two employees visited her home today to offer her an iPad free of charge.

"I am just so excited," said Campbell. "Words can't explain right now."

Daren 3NE 2NR

Postby Daren 3NE 2NR » May 20th, 2010, 10:46 am

Does anyone know where i can get microfiber cleaning cloth locally. Does not make sense to order online.

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » May 20th, 2010, 11:20 am

Anyone ever get a 1600 error or 16xx related error when trying to restore on a 3G phone ? If so what work around did you use ?