Whats in the Xtrail?

InDeForest

Whats in the Xtrail?

Postby InDeForest » June 25th, 2004, 11:19 pm

pardner of mine was thinking about getting a new Xtrail, I was wondering what engine/power is in it. I know the ultimate version of it is SR20VET, but im looking at a japanese site that says all other models are QR20DE NEO.
What the hell is a QR20DE as compared to a SR20DE

dragzster

Postby dragzster » June 25th, 2004, 11:30 pm

i went N&M tuesday and I asked the rep what engine was inside (although i already knew, I wanted confirmation that the sr20vet are not in local xtrails) so he said u have a choice of the QR20DE(148HP) and the QR25DE(175HP) engines. Some folks say that the QR is the replacement for the SR because those SR engines were out for more than a decade already so they old in design and technology. For their age however, they are still pretty advanced to me considering the latest format of the SR series, that is, the SR20VE and VET versions. I seriously don't know who has the better cams but maybe one of thos mods would tell u.

slim-unit

Postby slim-unit » June 26th, 2004, 12:35 am

i konw someone wit a X TRAIL wit a red GT emblem on d trunk (local ) fancy order ting na. It ha a SR20DET. ( AWD 2.0 turbo intercooled ) It noly has about 3 in Trinidad. A black ,silver and a pearl white

dragzster

Postby dragzster » June 26th, 2004, 2:41 am

konw someone wit a X TRAIL wit a red GT emblem on d trunk (local ) fancy order ting na. It ha a SR20DET. ( AWD 2.0 turbo intercooled ) It noly has about 3 in Trinidad. A black ,silver and a pearl white

interesting. i goin back monday 4 dem :?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 26th, 2004, 3:25 am

look at he^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^posting drawings of my fadder car!!! steups. doh kill it nah. BTW i shock that u don't know xtrail gt comes with a sr20vet!!!! boy dragz wha i go tell yuh eh boy? the ting have 276hp wit neo vvl. so take that and change ur sig 4 me pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee :twisted:

thanx 4 lending me d wagon. i top it out 2day at 140 (police was around) buh doh worry, ah go have it cleaned and shiney 4 when u come back.

sr18de

Postby sr18de » June 27th, 2004, 3:18 pm

JWT

Postby JWT » June 27th, 2004, 3:37 pm

pallies the Xrail is sweet eh but between that and the toyota rav 4 buy the rav 4

i find the interior of the xtrail to be a lil washed out

as for power it is a QR 20de that is nissan's new lines of engines.
if u have the money palie buy a subaru forrester

dragzster

Postby dragzster » June 27th, 2004, 6:30 pm

^^^^^^^yea i did some research and the xtrail gt does come with a 276HP sr20vet engine. the normal ones have the qr20de(148HP) and qr25de(180HP).

Concerning a RAV4, do not compare a more luxurious, larger and better offroader Xtrail to a small RAV4. I agree the Xtrail's dash is very ugly but it doesn't really warrant saying you should choose a RAV4 over an Xtrail. Then again, the only thing that would make me buy the RAV is the superb price it sells for at TTTL. :mrgreen:

mememe

Postby mememe » June 29th, 2004, 10:57 am

when yuh checkin out d xtrail jus pull any of d front fenders,
doh pull too hard it go come out in your hand. it reeel soft sah.

W2J

Postby W2J » June 29th, 2004, 11:48 am

when yuh checkin out d xtrail jus pull any of d front fenders,
doh pull too hard it go come out in your hand. it reeel soft sah.

that is because it make out of plastic not metal

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » June 29th, 2004, 3:04 pm

if its made of plastic then no worries of it rusting haha

W2J

Postby W2J » June 29th, 2004, 3:26 pm

do you guy know that Renault cars are painted using water based paints too

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » June 29th, 2004, 3:48 pm

^^^Is that wy they can't go in the car wash in Peake's????

dragzster

Postby dragzster » June 29th, 2004, 6:32 pm

^^^^^yes

btw, the renault scenic also has plastic fenders like the xtrail. they're bendable!!

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » June 29th, 2004, 6:34 pm

I wonder how many renaults went through there before they figured it out :mrgreen:

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » June 29th, 2004, 6:34 pm

Actually water based lacquers and polyurethanes are a big growing thing in industry now, they making progress in the quality of it, and of course its much better on the worker and environmental conditions and concerns.
Man i dunno what to think about these plastic body panels now nah, one one hand is good cause they using such freaking thin steel anyway you just cant touch anything anywhere without getting a dent you cant press out, bad because its just around the corner that the whole bloody car gonna be made of plastic.
Gimme thick steel and bigger engines please, i cringe everytime i see a writeup on some new version of a sports car that is faster becuase they made it 30lbs lighter, and everybody so happy and think it so mad, well yeah but makesure not to bounce it.
Oh yeah.. where were we, i gonna tell the man try and get the 2.5L yes, i tell the man buy a forester already, but what do i know..

dragzster

Postby dragzster » June 29th, 2004, 6:46 pm

^^^lol....valid info passin here! well, it seems plastic, alluminium alloy and carbon fibre are taking over the conventional steel parts now. Lets hope those car companies know what they're doing.

i prefer the subie over the xtrail any day. the subie may not be as powerfull (available in 165HP and 210HP only) but still, the AWD system is the subie has been tried and tested to be in a class of its own. I really ent know nah, just toss a coin. If your friend will most likely use his/her suv to go to the cinema and mall, then choose the xtrail. If offroading is a common passtime then take the subie.

scientist

Postby scientist » July 1st, 2004, 1:24 am

dragzster wrote:Concerning a RAV4, do not compare a more luxurious, larger and better offroader Xtrail to a small RAV4.

Never knew the X-trail could do offroading? either dat or my friends with X-trails afraid to try

also the X-trail, CRV, Rav4, Freelander and forester are all in the same category

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » July 1st, 2004, 3:41 am

Except the Xtrail, CRV, Rav4, lets add some more Grand Vitara, X5, Tribute, are all NOT offroad vehicles, the Forester and im sure the freelander are offroad capable

dragzster

Postby dragzster » July 1st, 2004, 8:48 am

Grand Vitara, X5, Tribute, are all NOT offroad vehicles, the Forester and im sure the freelander are offroad capable

btw grand vitara, tribute and x5 are offroad vehicles just like the subie. forester is no exception. the vitara, tribute and x5 have v6 engines :twisted:

scientist

Postby scientist » July 1st, 2004, 2:05 pm

the rav is only capable of lil off roading

the CRV No offroading

i used to have a comparism between all of them
i'll post it up when i get home from work

irishbadlad

Postby irishbadlad » April 29th, 2008, 8:55 am

I have had my xtrail for about five years now and it has leather seats,QR20DE engine,All chrome Finishers.

I work in the Media and it has been every where with me all in the bush and mud of trinidad and up and down pavements and so far no probs.
The dash board is real cool and it is a change from the norm so dont knock it.

All accessories for xtrail are readily available on the net it all depends where you want to shop via credit card etc.

The vehicle has power,look and dependability like all 4x4s and I preferred it for space over a rav4 and if you look on www.nissanforums.com you can see what those guys have done too it thus far.

Happy running fellas.

turbonator

Postby turbonator » April 29th, 2008, 8:18 pm

I doh think that the forester and the X-trail in the same category. I think that the forester is more of a wagon where the X-trail is like a crossover from the larger SUV's. I don't think that any X-trail ever came with a SR20DET :? the only turbo powerplant that came in the X-trail was the SR20VET which is mated to the hypertronic CVT M6 transmission, mind u this SR20VET is based on the newer SR20VE that came in the 20v P12 premera ie. the one with the drive by wire and coilpacks. As far as I know the local X-trails does come with either a QR20DE or QR25DE, i'm not sure if the diesel version is offered down here. Correct me if i'm wrong.

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » May 1st, 2008, 7:00 pm

^^ dunno abt anything else - but they come with a regular tranny - not CVT-M6 or CVT for that matter. SR20VET is on the money though.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 1st, 2008, 10:23 pm

dragzster wrote:i went N&M tuesday and I asked the rep what engine was inside (although i already knew, I wanted confirmation that the sr20vet are not in local xtrails) so he said u have a choice of the QR20DE(148HP) and the QR25DE(175HP) engines. Some folks say that the QR is the replacement for the SR because those SR engines were out for more than a decade already so they old in design and technology. For their age however, they are still pretty advanced to me considering the latest format of the SR series, that is, the SR20VE and VET versions. I seriously don't know who has the better cams but maybe one of thos mods would tell u.

Our Nissan Fleet rep told us the 2008/9 XTrail was only available in 2.5L. $310K for cloth, $330K leather. He said the 2.0L was discontinued.

I guess if you're right I'll have to quiz him again.

I hear a next man say the dash ugly? The old model yes, but have you'll seen the new one. Observe ---

ImageImage

They finally put the instrument cluster back where it belongs. :)

turbonator

Postby turbonator » May 1st, 2008, 11:53 pm

^^ dunno abt anything else - but they come with a regular tranny - not CVT-M6 or CVT for that matter. SR20VET is on the money though.

U sure, I always thought that they came with the CVT M6 transmission :oops: . Anyways i getting old yes :lol:

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » May 2nd, 2008, 12:13 am

yup very - SRtwennyVET with a regular tranny.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 2nd, 2008, 9:35 am

norstar2k dragzster made that comment on friday june 25th, 2004 :wink:

wrt dashboards.......sit in the new RAV4, CRV, Forester, Tucson, Sportage and Captiva and look @ their dashboards and you'll feel the 08' Xrail own is already 3 years old. Start with your own Grand Vitara........I not knocking it eh but I find overall the vehicle seems to be on steroids and thus looks ugly and by bringing only the 2.5L, MVT propels it to a price where it never be as popular as it was before. Same thing happening to the Tiida, Bluebird Sylphy and Navarra. Sales are nothing compared to the Almera, Xtrail and Frontiers of yore.

QG

Postby QG » May 3rd, 2008, 11:32 pm

x2floor wrote:look at he^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^posting drawings of my fadder car!!! steups. doh kill it nah. BTW i shock that u don't know xtrail gt comes with a sr20vet!!!! boy dragz wha i go tell yuh eh boy? the ting have 276hp wit neo vvl. so take that and change ur sig 4 me pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee :twisted:

thanx 4 lending me d wagon. i top it out 2day at 140 (police was around) buh doh worry, ah go have it cleaned and shiney 4 when u come back.

And that's just post, i'm pretty sure the SR20VET is putting out more than 276HP.

QG

Postby QG » May 3rd, 2008, 11:55 pm

I'd love to get my hands on the new QR25DE 2007 model engine (200HP) that comes in the Sentra. It is better than the newer 2001 Sr20VE engine and alot more strnger too.

QR20 has strong cams as well, a replacement for the SR motor. To modify a QR is very costly, that's why it isn't much of a project engine, but it has lots of torque though.