Another Sigma Build (lots of pics)

sigma-turbo

Postby sigma-turbo » May 7th, 2010, 4:31 am

nigie wrote:a 9 inch ...is very hard to get here..what vehicle is the BTR from....

BTR (formerly borg warner)

BTR cast diffs can be found in Holden VL onwards Commodores, 1990 onwards Ford Falcons and Aussie R31 Skylines, im sure theres other cars that have them

sigma-turbo

Re: Another Sigma Build (lots of pics)

Postby sigma-turbo » May 29th, 2010, 9:18 am

well engine and trans are in, had to give the trans tunnel a slight tap

No mods to the sump or to the cross member to fit engine but i did cut the std mounts off the cross member and hat to add a 60mm plate to the gearbox cross member to line up with the mount

Engine is mounted via an engine plate

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 3rd, 2010, 7:35 am

very good going man!!!

nigie

Postby nigie » June 3rd, 2010, 1:48 pm

great...progress..seems we will soon have a race track here in trinidad so im preping my sigma also and a ford cortina build ill share pics

sigma-turbo

Postby sigma-turbo » June 6th, 2010, 1:16 am

sounds good nigie

I have a corty here too

nigie

Postby nigie » June 6th, 2010, 4:06 pm

hey do u have pics of the cortina if its v8 powered...

sigma-turbo

Postby sigma-turbo » June 6th, 2010, 5:29 pm

nigie wrote:hey do u have pics of the cortina if its v8 powered...

nah corty has a 4.1 L inline 6 with n2o

nigie

Postby nigie » June 6th, 2010, 6:34 pm

well hook us up with some pics...we never had the six cylinder corty on the market here ours came with 1.6 and 2.0 engines anything else was a drop in....

sigma-turbo

Postby sigma-turbo » June 12th, 2010, 4:01 am

nigie wrote:well hook us up with some pics...we never had the six cylinder corty on the market here ours came with 1.6 and 2.0 engines anything else was a drop in....

I wont post pics of the corty in here though I think theres some already on TT

have made some progress on the Sigma though not as much as I would like due to the rain

I swapped the factory Sigma brake booster for a smaller unit from a 1981 Datsun Stanza this give me more room to fit tall rocker covers to clear my roller rockers

Made some tube headers, well I modified a set I had they're not the best design but will do for now, I'll make some 4 into 1's later or I may even fit this GT4202 turbo I have sitting here

A few pics of the finished engine mount plate/alternator bracket not the cut and shut water pump, I had to do this to get enough room to fit a 50mm radiator shroud and electric fans, I will be using a Davies Craig EWP 80 to pump engine coolant

Just need to pull the engine down and put a gasket kit through it and put it back in the car

nigie

Postby nigie » June 13th, 2010, 2:40 am

Great...i had the same problem with the booster whereby i have less tha .5 inch clearance with the chevy tall covers ...i guess if i had used the short it would not have been a problem im using a master cylinder from a nissan wingroad. yeah headers were also a very tight fit have less that .5 inch clearance there also.

nigie

Postby nigie » August 9th, 2010, 11:32 am

Aye sigma any progress?

besides 81 nissan stanza u know of any other small workable booster..

fatts

Postby fatts » August 9th, 2010, 12:34 pm

nigie daz not too much heat from the headders?

nigie

Postby nigie » August 9th, 2010, 5:49 pm

yes thats why a smaller booster is needed

droppa

Postby droppa » August 10th, 2010, 12:57 pm

nigie that booster changed alredy, looks like a b14 or so....try using a jimny turbo one, small and effective...

nigie

Postby nigie » August 11th, 2010, 10:04 am

Yes its a wing road booster....was the smallest i could get at the time well except for 1 jimny which was $800...ill keep looking..anybody knows whos has jimny boosters...

droppa

Postby droppa » August 13th, 2010, 6:57 am

yeah nigie i may be able to link a booster for u, ill check if they hav and the price, i have a EP82 Starlet one, its kinda small and slim, was keeping for a project but will let it for a $150. its more than than in the bamboo, oh and i have galant parts if yuh intrested, not best fu parts but some ok stuff....i kinda scrap my project galant, 4 round lights, was aiming for a VG30DETT and box......

nigie

Postby nigie » August 13th, 2010, 9:21 am

droppa wrote:yeah nigie i may be able to link a booster for u, ill check if they hav and the price, i have a EP82 Starlet one, its kinda small and slim, was keeping for a project but will let it for a $150. its more than than in the bamboo, oh and i have galant parts if yuh intrested, not best fu parts but some ok stuff....i kinda scrap my project galant, 4 round lights, was aiming for a VG30DETT and box......

Scrap galant project!!!!!!
u going mad!!!!!!!

Thanks ill pm u next week for the info.. :mrgreen:

sigma-turbo

Postby sigma-turbo » August 16th, 2010, 6:37 am

nigie wrote:Aye sigma any progress?

besides 81 nissan stanza u know of any other small workable booster..

yeah its 99% done i'll be firing it up tomorrow then i just need to make a hand brake cable then off to be engineered and registered

droppa

Postby droppa » August 16th, 2010, 8:24 am

Front still sits pretty high, the S13 coilover is a common upgrade, that would have suit u fine, but i gues u can go up on tire size and raise the back a bit...........i see ur front wheel will be off the ground....heheheh

sigma-turbo

Postby sigma-turbo » August 16th, 2010, 9:08 am

droppa wrote:Front still sits pretty high, the S13 coilover is a common upgrade, that would have suit u fine, but i gues u can go up on tire size and raise the back a bit...........i see ur front wheel will be off the ground....heheheh

It sits better than that now as the rear has been raised

S13 coil overs aren't really an option many have no ADR (Australian design rules) approval then theres the problem of getting the correct rate springs and shocks to cope with the weight

If i want it lower i can just get off the shelf Chrysler Centura springs

nigie

Postby nigie » August 16th, 2010, 8:49 pm

what are u doing for cooling?

sigma-turbo

Postby sigma-turbo » August 17th, 2010, 10:36 am

Well i fired it up today and have taken it on its shake down run, drives well

Cooling is taken care of by a 3 core Holden V8 VK commodore radiator and a davies craig EWP 115 thats mounted under the battery tray theres also two 10" davies craig electric fans, fans and pump are controlled by a digital controller

http://www.daviescraig.com.au

you can see the alloy pipe that goes from the engine to the water pump

Vid of 2nd start (it started first attempt) still needs a tune
Last edited by sigma-turbo on August 17th, 2010, 10:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

nigie

Postby nigie » August 17th, 2010, 10:48 am

GREATTTTT :D :new-bday: V8 sigma

droppa

Postby droppa » August 18th, 2010, 12:23 pm

i like the EWP and Digital controller device, thats real sweet, wats the retail in us$...

sigma-turbo

Postby sigma-turbo » August 19th, 2010, 6:58 am

droppa wrote:i like the EWP and Digital controller device, thats real sweet, wats the retail in us$...

I have no idea

http://shop.ebay.com/?_from=R40&_trksid ... Categories

sigma-turbo

Postby sigma-turbo » October 20th, 2010, 8:56 am

well its all engineered and ready for rego

I have an EFI set up that will be going on once its registered and then i'll look at fitting a GT45

nigie

Postby nigie » October 20th, 2010, 9:38 am

Way to go sigma....thumbs up....now we really need to ship the car to Trinidad & Tobago and deal with the turbo fellas here... :mrgreen: .

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » October 20th, 2010, 10:07 am

This is a brilliant build...

nigie

Postby nigie » December 20th, 2010, 11:24 am

whats the 411 on the car sigma???

sigma-turbo