Land Grabbing - Robocop too!!!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 16th, 2010, 12:12 am

can anyone explain what the hell going on here and why the government not acting ?

Is it because this government has no teeth?

Why must these ppl get free land while others have to pay hundreds of thousands of dollars?

hmm I wonder what robocop would have those unemployed youths plant here?

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... ba=NWSNews

ROBOCOP GRABS LAND
...lays claim to five acres in Cashew Gardens for agriculture
Carolyn Kissoon South Bureau
Wednesday, June 16th 2010
Enterprise ’businessman’ Selwyn ’Robocop’ Alexis, who has been accused of many crimes but convicted of none, has staked claim to five acres of land in Cashew Gardens, Longdenville.

He has used caution tape to ’fence’ off the land in the area where several squatters have built illegal structures on State lands.

Alexis was charged in the past with three kidnappings, dissuading a State witness from testifying, robbery, larceny and receiving stolen property. He was freed on all charges.

Alexis said yesterday the new ’home owners’ found comfort in Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar’s statements and began looking for lands.

On the land Alexis claimed, a sign was posted reading: ’Agriculture Project’.

BOLD MOVE: Selwyn "Robocop" Alexis gesticulates on the land which he claimed at Cashew Gardens, Longdenville, yesterday. -Photo: KRISHNA MAHARAJ

Alexis said, ’The Prime Minister said she intends to clean up and beautify, so I am just following what she said. I brought in some youths from Enterprise to clean the land. I am not building on the land,’ he said.

Alexis said he intends to get youths involved in agriculture, which would ultimately reduce criminal activity. Alexis said he was not the first to begin moving in on the area.

’I came in and saw a big parcel of land, so I decided to beautify the land and use it for agriculture. I never approached anyone to acquire the State land legally, so I have since stopped and I intend to seek permission now,’ he said.

Minister of Housing Dr Roodal Moonilal said yesterday that eviction notices were being served on squatters who moved in and began building shacks on State lands at Cashew Gardens.

And those who refused to abide by the law, he said, would be dealt with.

He did not say what action would be taken.

But Moonilal’s call not to build on State lands was ignored, with single-room shacks being constructed overnight.

The land grab has followed Persad-Bissessar’s election campaign statement that the Government would move to assist in the regularisation process of people squatting on State lands.

However, yesterday Chaguanas East MP Stephen Cadiz said that what the Prime Minister said should not be misinterpreted and used as an excuse by persons who want to land grab.

Speaking to reporters after a Rotary Club Port of Spain meeting at Fitzblackman Drive yesterday, he said: ’On the campaign trail we talked about regularising land tenure, but this is not about going on State lands or private lands and just squatting. We are talking about people who live in established squatting communities. This is not about people taking advantage of a situation. It (land grabbing ) is illegal. This illegal occupation of lands right now is is not what we meant.’

Moonilal also said the Commissioner of State Lands began handing out eviction notices on Monday, following reports that people had started building houses on the State property. ’The Commissioner of State Lands has started to act on the issue. She continued to serve the notices this morning for squatters to remove themselves from the lands. And if they do not abide by this, the Commissioner has the authority to deal with them in accordance with the law,’ he said.

Moonilal said anyone who is found squatting on State land illegally would be assessed and dealt with accordingly. The Land and Settlement Agency (LSA) is authorised to demolish the illegally constructed houses, and LSA officials spent yesterday at Cashew Gardens. According to the 1998 Act, the squatters would be given a 30-day eviction notice, then a 15-day notice, followed by a seven-day notice before action is taken.

Despite the notices, people were seen moving furniture and appliances into makeshift houses at Cashew Gardens yesterday. And trucks were hired to transport building material to the sites, where giant cashew trees were cut down to make room for the new houses. The tree trunks were used as pillars for the houses.

The new homeowners set free chickens and ducks on their ’acquired’ property.

There were no uniformed police officers at the scene, where people were heard arguing over who had more rights over the land.

Re: Land Grabbing - Robocop too!!!

Postby UML » June 16th, 2010, 12:27 am

i believe it is politically motivated...especially from the "characters" we seeing........dey wud never do that under PNM rule!!!

still suffering from cut arse syndrome...bold face want tuh show them that injun cah do dem nuttin!!!

if it was injun doing that under PNM rule....you wud of seen the nice work by the riot squad!!

just bold face because they loss and want tuh show dem!!

they say dey poor...but they well have money tuh buy plyy...1bulldozer

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 16th, 2010, 12:36 am

Seriously they are overdoing it.....The govt needs to step in cause they are ruining the communitiy...I am so sorry for the people who legally live in this area.........Its real scary how these ppl just movin in and no one can do anything about it..........

Seems like this government playing goody goody two shoes......dont want to speak out......

Kamla should speak out and say listen ---

1.Leave Jack Warner alone.....end of story
2.You ent pay for the land so get out....end of story.....

Why she behaving so dumb? Is not like the ppl who want Jack Warner gone vote for she and is not like these enterprise ppl who grabbing land vote for her either.......

Trini_Reddz

Postby Trini_Reddz » June 16th, 2010, 12:48 am

Yes but when you make broad statements and big promises during the campaign in order to attract votes, you end up with varying interpretations of said statements and promises.
I do not condone what is taking place however the people were promised that squatters will be regularised, to my knowledge specific terms and conditions were not made clear at that time. Was it expressly stated that the promise only applied to existing squatters? What gives long time squatters more rights to regularisation than new ones?

Solution: If the gov't don't know what to do or are afraid to act then they should let the people decide the outcome by means of a referendum.

Trini_Reddz

Postby Trini_Reddz » June 16th, 2010, 12:52 am

Nigson wrote:Seriously they are overdoing it.....The govt needs to step in cause they are ruining the communitiy...I am so sorry for the people who legally live in this area.........Its real scary how these ppl just movin in and no one can do anything about it..........

Seems like this government playing goody goody two shoes......dont want to speak out......

Kamla should speak out and say listen ---

1.Leave Jack Warner alone.....end of story
2.You ent pay for the land so get out....end of story.....

Why she behaving so dumb? Is not like the ppl who want Jack Warner gone vote for she and is not like these enterprise ppl who grabbing land vote for her either.......

^^^ Why should citizens be treated differently based on which party they voted for?

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » June 16th, 2010, 12:57 am

haha ohhhemgeee! Guys! this one y'all will not figure out by y'all selfs. If yuh ears iz rel close to d streets y'all woulda know. What u reap is what you sow! And the person to blame is on in the government fyi. money talks. Guard ya heads! take care

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 16th, 2010, 1:05 am

Share the info nah eurotuner?

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » June 16th, 2010, 1:15 am

But alyuh talkin like robo don't like injun. This is the pm promise and he aint do nothing wrong yet. Tomatoes is still 13$ lb? So what agri have no money in it. I'm not defending his character but still wtf a man can't try make legit $ too

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 16th, 2010, 1:22 am

bigga514 wrote:But alyuh talkin like robo don't like injun. This is the pm promise and he aint do nothing wrong yet.

Say what?

brickman

Postby brickman » June 16th, 2010, 1:31 am

bigga514 wrote:But alyuh talkin like robo don't like injun. This is the pm promise and he aint do nothing wrong yet. Tomatoes is still 13$ lb? So what agri have no money in it. I'm not defending his character but still wtf a man can't try make legit $ too

Robocop trying make a legit $??!!You for facking real??!!Man is a criminal trying to play 'community leader',there isnt an honest bone in his body!Man dreaming about being the trini 'nino brown' & those people who have gotten no help from anybody now looking to him.If you were poor,got no help from govt but a so called 'community leader' helped you,you would sing his praises too!Hope this govt deals with this incident before it gets out of hand!

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » June 16th, 2010, 1:40 am

And what does it that about a government that a "community leader" is doing more for the community than the government. Remember Robin hood was a thief and a murderer. Not comparing just saying if malcom x died at 25 he would of been just another dead street hustler. I tend not to judge ppl with out first hand knowledge or evidence.

brickman

Postby brickman » June 16th, 2010, 2:48 am

bigga514 wrote:And what does it that about a government that a "community leader" is doing more for the community than the government. Remember Robin hood was a thief and a murderer. Not comparing just saying if malcom x died at 25 he would of been just another dead street hustler. I tend not to judge ppl with out first hand knowledge or evidence.
facepalm10.jpg

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 16th, 2010, 6:02 am

Ian Alleyne went down and confronted Robocop a couple days ago where he said that he laying claim to the land to do "agriculture". He also claimed that he campaigned for Cadiz during the election. Some of the rats who were interviewed were saying that they heard free land so they come to see what they could get.

New Breed

Postby New Breed » June 16th, 2010, 7:06 am

like nobody wanna say it, buh U N C again!

altec

Postby altec » June 16th, 2010, 7:16 am

squatting was present tense at the time, she did not say for those who going to squatt

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » June 16th, 2010, 7:18 am

you people are missing the point!

IT IS NEVER acceptable to SQUAT!

sure enough for people who have been squatting in particular areas for over 10-20 years then it can be a compromise to legalise their status!

But for anyonbe to simply acquire lands in the name of agriculture and move onto them is DAMN right ILLEGAL and such persons should be JAILED immediately!

You really think robocop cares about agriculture???
Those people who moved there to squat very well know that what they are doing is ILLEGAL.

The ministry needs to brign a backhoe and DESTROY every single illegal shack and the police arrest anyone who protests!

Postby Chimera » June 16th, 2010, 8:46 am

a lot of gangsters and hustlers from Enterprise area did openly campaign and organise votes for Cadiz.

Much of the people were not going to vote (they prefer not vote @ all than vote for the People's Partnership)

But on election day, certain people went house to house and encouraged much of enterprise to come out and vote for Cadiz, even organising transport to and from the polling station

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » June 16th, 2010, 9:05 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:a lot of gangsters and hustlers from Enterprise area did openly campaign and organise votes for Cadiz.

Much of the people were not going to vote (they prefer not vote @ all than vote for the People's Partnership)

But on election day, certain people went house to house and encouraged much of enterprise to come out and vote for Cadiz, even organising transport to and from the polling station

So did their actions ENTITLE them to settle onto whatever lands they want? were they promised squatting rights?

Does this make their actions justified?

Powerslave

Postby Powerslave » June 16th, 2010, 9:27 am

Squatting is considered a criminal offence and therefore must go through the court before any action can be taken by the State to breakdown a house or whatever. However the LSA was suppose to act as the enforcement agency to deal with squatting, like many things though, the establishment of the LSA was rushed and never legally had the power to evict any1. Its our present prime minister who took the state and the lsa to court preventing the lsa from now evicting any1, since there were doing so without the legal backing. The present flood of squatters have been advised to move into lands by a certain ex MP whom i guess is now sours

porshegirl

Postby porshegirl » June 16th, 2010, 9:55 am

Some people really cannot afford to purchase land. This is still no excuse for squatting. The Ministry of Housing and the Environment has given these squatters time to dismantle their homes yet they refuse. Why? Because they only want free ting! On the other hand, some people could definately afford a land purchase, but they rent out their homes and squat on state lands. How then can this problem be solved??

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » June 16th, 2010, 10:34 am

Bunn it to fvck down !! cheap muddacvunt and dem bereft of scruples..... </rant>

Postby Greypatch » June 16th, 2010, 11:12 am

de man is ah big farmer now ?

he helping ppl...

btw is that agricultural land ?

Postby MG Man » June 16th, 2010, 11:14 am

Greypatch wrote:btw is that agricultural land ?

ent cashew tree growin on it?

sparky

Postby sparky » June 16th, 2010, 12:08 pm

For those who are fortunate to own houses and land thank GOD for it. on the other hand their those who are not as fortunate, whether it is their fault or not is not relevant at this time,point being they are Trinidadian and a level of compassion must be shown towards them.these people are our brothers and sisters, they may have made a mistake in what they did but that is no reason for the country as a whole to crucify those who are less fortunate. I BEG THE AUTHORITIES ON BEHALF OF THESE PEOPLE to look through another para dime, if the country would help 2000 unfortunate families to have a sense of dignity an responsibility by allowing them to own a piece of property where they can call home wouldn't that help the crime situation in our country because if we consider the average family is six people it means that by helping 2000 families would by extension help approximately 12,000 people to live better lives. This situation should not be looked at from a PNM UNCOP perspective, but from a caring government dealing holistically with their less fortunate brothers and sisters.

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » June 16th, 2010, 12:14 pm

sparky wrote:For those who are fortunate to own houses and land thank GOD for it. on the other hand their those who are not as fortunate, whether it is their fault or not is not relevant at this time,point being they are Trinidadian and a level of compassion must be shown towards them.these people are our brothers and sisters, they may have made a mistake in what they did but that is no reason for the country as a whole to crucify those who are less fortunate. I BEG THE AUTHORITIES ON BEHALF OF THESE PEOPLE to look through another para dime, if the country would help 2000 unfortunate families to have a sense of dignity an responsibility by allowing them to own a piece of property where they can call home wouldn't that help the crime situation in our country because if we consider the average family is six people it means that by helping 2000 families would by extension help approximately 12,000 people to live better lives. This situation should not be looked at from a PNM UNCOP perspective, but from a caring government dealing holistically with their less fortunate brothers and sisters.

Say what???
So in other words you wouldn't mind having another shanty town aka beetham/laventille/mova/sealots etc in the country?? Why to add another eyesore to the nation? Boy if I had the powers granted onto me I woulda take all of dem an drop dey ass off in d sea

Postby MG Man » June 16th, 2010, 12:21 pm

great is the PMN

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » June 16th, 2010, 12:22 pm

TriniVdub wrote:
sparky wrote:For those who are fortunate to own houses and land thank GOD for it. on the other hand their those who are not as fortunate, whether it is their fault or not is not relevant at this time,point being they are Trinidadian and a level of compassion must be shown towards them.these people are our brothers and sisters, they may have made a mistake in what they did but that is no reason for the country as a whole to crucify those who are less fortunate. I BEG THE AUTHORITIES ON BEHALF OF THESE PEOPLE to look through another para dime, if the country would help 2000 unfortunate families to have a sense of dignity an responsibility by allowing them to own a piece of property where they can call home wouldn't that help the crime situation in our country because if we consider the average family is six people it means that by helping 2000 families would by extension help approximately 12,000 people to live better lives. This situation should not be looked at from a PNM UNCOP perspective, but from a caring government dealing holistically with their less fortunate brothers and sisters.

Say what???
So in other words you wouldn't mind having another shanty town aka beetham/laventille/mova/sealots etc in the country?? Why to add another eyesore to the nation? Boy if I had the powers granted onto me I woulda take all of dem an drop dey ass off in d sea

Endorses this X 1 biiiilion!

theres a difference between having compassion and breaking the law!
You BREAK the law- you should be put in JAIL!

You have NO compassion and blow up all these squatters- you deserve a medal!

sparky

Postby sparky » June 16th, 2010, 12:59 pm

when ministers of government make mistakes worth millions of dollars it is OK but when the poor try to get, the only way they know to get something, we want to label them.I agree what they did was wrong.It make no sense spending Billions of dollars in national security and bigger prison and the problem still exist. Would it be better and more effective for the Government to set up a loan system to help these people. a lot of land worth 15000.00 dollars multiply by 2000 families is plenty less than the billions spending to stop crime.

Postby UML » June 16th, 2010, 1:27 pm

bigga514 wrote:And what does it that about a government that a "community leader" is doing more for the community than the government. Remember Robin hood was a thief and a murderer. Not comparing just saying if malcom x died at 25 he would of been just another dead street hustler. I tend not to judge ppl with out first hand knowledge or evidence.

and what country do you reside in? :|

easy to defend when your far away from the truth :wink:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 16th, 2010, 1:34 pm

if he could plant and supply tomatoes for much less than $16 per lb then go ahead yeah we!!!

It cheaper to eat meat now right through than extend to vegetables etc....

+1manbreastdue tohormonesfromfknchicken