Kamla *FINALLY* Admits to Increasing Murder Rate!

Postby RASC » July 23rd, 2010, 2:37 am

PM: 550 murders by year's end
By Julien Neaves
Story Created: Jul 23, 2010 at 1:09 AM ECT

WITH 300 murders in 199 days, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar has predicted that this country could face 550 murders at the end of this year.

"If we continue at that rate we should by the end of the year, if it continues, we see us looking at 550 at the end of the year."

She was speaking yesterday at the post-Cabinet press conference at the Office of the Prime Minister, St Clair.

She reported there were 398 murders in 2007, 525 in 2008 and about 515 in 2009. But tallies compiled by the Express for the three years records 395, 550 and 509 murders respectively.

"We (the new Government) have inherited a bullet train and we are taking steps to stop that train and to make that train go in a different direction and take a different course."

She said media reports of the gruesome discovery, possibly the remains of a woman and boy found in Claxton Bay dump on Wednesday "was very traumatic for all of us."

"In the fight against crime...our sympathies and condolences go out to the murder victims."

She said the battle against crime was a holistic three-way fight with preventive, detection and conviction, and rehabilitation, noting there were a lot of crimes committed by repeat offenders.

"We will have to attack it on all three levels and we are taking those steps but it is not a short term. There's no short term remedy. As I said it was a bullet train we inherited and there is a lot to be fixed." She said the "good news" was that Government was in the process of taking those steps legislatively with respect to officers and were also looking at the issue of recruitment.

"They (the PNM) never had recruited officers for a couple years. So the force was down by 1,500 officers. How can they do the job?"

It was unclear for what time period the Prime Minister was referring.

Persad-Bissessar said the police were not given the tools, pointing out that the People's National Movement (PNM) promised the police 120 vehicles but gave them 60 from the Fifth Summit of the Americas and the Commonwealth Heads of Government meetings in 2009, while giving two of the vehicles to Prime Minister Tillman Thomas in Grenada.

"So we have to give them the tools, we have to give them the training, we have to beef up that force and those are some of the steps we are taking."

On the low detection rate, she said, there needed to be training of more officers and providing them with the equipment.

She said on the legislative front they have about six anti-crime bills laid in the Parliament in the last week including the Bail Amendment Bill and the Evidence Amendment Bill. On the administrative front Persad-Bissessar noted that the justice system this Government inherited was "totally bogged down", with 472,000 cases pending in Magistrates Courts with 40 magistrates.

"Is a tangled web that we have to unweave."

eyephone

Re: Kamla *FINALLY* Admits to Increasing Murder Rate!

Postby eyephone » July 23rd, 2010, 2:40 am

"We heard you, now shut up".... I'm jus sayin .

Postby RASC » July 23rd, 2010, 2:41 am

When I was saying this all along...the cry was:

"RASC yuh toting, stop toting"
"RASC=Sour Grapes"

Now what they going an say?

"Kamla yuh toting, stop toting" ???

Can't even laugh about this one. "I TOLD YOU SO" won't do this any justice.

eyephone

Postby eyephone » July 23rd, 2010, 2:44 am

1yay for rasc. pull out the puncheon.

Postby RASC » July 23rd, 2010, 2:54 am

Some Quotations from the Express:

What about the campaign promise to IMMEDIATELY have an impact on crime????The murder rate has actually gone up, this defeatist attitude, calmly stating an expected figure of 550, is a total slap in the face to those who voted on your crime promise, shame on you PM shame on your AG, shame on your government, clearly living in the palace and feteing all over the Caribbean is of more importance than innocents being murdered daily.

Kamla knew she was inheriting a "bullet train" but she said that she and her government were going to stop the proverbial "bullet train." Kamla, the country in in dire straits and you should have hit the ground running the day you were sworn in! The very people who voted for you are now regretting what we did on May 24th. You and your government obviously have no idea how to govern a small country such as ours. Your first plan of action should have been curbing the crime situation in T&T. Instead you are modeling and dancing, and some of your ministers, including Jack, have not realised that you and the government work for US! Not the other way around. With Anand, Therese and Jack et al, acting like hogs...I say, fool me once, shame on you...fool me twice...well there will be no other time as I will not be voting for you bobolies again. I will stay home.

that's the way kams! dazzle the people with broad statements, buzz words and catchy phrases like "bullet train"...a slight adjustment to the word bullet would be a better description of the ride this government is taking us on. good PR, the people will swallow it. the truth is beginning to tell that you guys had no idea of what to do about crime going in, simply pledging to do different to the pnm was enough to get you there so now that you are...what you gonna do? and don't say the old pnm crime plans that you all voted against when in opposition when you were sucking on those sourest of grapes that many claim the pnm now tasting. the flash and fluff got you into government and may get you the local gov't as well, lack of direction on all fronts....

RASC and he sour grapes reporting.

eyephone

Postby eyephone » July 23rd, 2010, 3:01 am

me sees that this excites you

brickman

Postby brickman » July 23rd, 2010, 3:07 am

At least she admits it unlike some others who skinned & grinned & said it was under control.

eyephone

Postby eyephone » July 23rd, 2010, 3:17 am

Partnership's days in office = <100 days
Pnm's day's in office = 2,555 days

Cost of magic wand to fix the sheit that patos and rowley created and left us with? - Hopefully less that what Calder Hart, Rowley wife ,Rahael's family and the pnm's community leaders and cepep contractors stole from our pockets.

Great is the pnm.

brickman

Postby brickman » July 23rd, 2010, 3:25 am

Don't say that eyephone!They will accuse you of talking about the past or being a lemming.We all know the past gov't was the greatest this country ever had(wipes tear from eye),We can still reach 2020.
Cuddles balliser pillow.

Postby RASC » July 23rd, 2010, 3:30 am

News Report on the Mutilated corpses found.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 23rd, 2010, 5:16 am

Post Cabinet media briefing yesterday "we inherited a bullet train"- phrase was used about 10 times to try to evade answering questions,kudos to the reporters who were persistent in their qestioning

doc123

Postby doc123 » July 23rd, 2010, 5:26 am

rasc, baytah,

Where were you when all these atrocious murders started up, bloomed and fluorished under the pnm? yuh was happy when patrick went foreign and say crime is not an issue in Trinidad and there was no kidnapping problem? that was good for the country ent?

Maybe yuh family was part of the shindig up inna de crown plaza with patos or wah?

Yuh used to take offence and make all kinda excuse for the pnm, now yuh grow ah conscience and have morality?

Doh worry is not your fault is those who upbring yuh than install such prejudice and hate in yuh...imagine if you used to live in Trinidad during all those oppresive years under the pnm, then you would not be trying to score political points on all the murder victims...you mighta have a heart instead of now trying to prove something.

Why you doh make another "rascist rasc" thread and give us a break from your attempts to shove your beloved pnm down our throats....the majority of people had enough of pnm and their inept, corrupt and tribal politics...tribalism have no place in the world anymore...people starting to actually get mature in Trini, and the pnm needs to realize this if they want to survive.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » July 23rd, 2010, 7:35 am

RASC wrote:Can't even laugh about this one. "I TOLD YOU SO" won't do this any justice.

I have to agree with you on this one! You are quite right, I too expected that Kamla would wave her magic wand and say the magic words "A La Peanut Butter Sandwiches" (perhaps even adding "and Jelly" after "Peanut Butter" to increase the Mana even further), as per the teachings of the Amazing Mumford, and all would be well with sweet T&T. But alas, such are the dreams of little children.

To those of us capable of independant thought we expect this process to take several years... after all the PNM gov't 'raped and pillaged' this twin island republic for years... so much so that it became the 'norm'. And doing the 'right and proper thing' seems strange to many and abhorable to the 'die-hard' PNMites!

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » July 23rd, 2010, 7:37 am

:) :)
Last edited by evo-STI-k on January 31st, 2011, 1:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » July 23rd, 2010, 7:43 am

RASC do you even live in Trinidad that you always bumping your gum bout Trinidad business?

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 23rd, 2010, 8:29 am

At least Kamla admitted it.
Patos and Martin 'Learie' Joseph was blind to it for 7 years.

Postby eliteauto » July 23rd, 2010, 8:30 am

Skanky wrote:RASC do you even live in Trinidad that you always bumping your gum bout Trinidad business?

^^^you don't need to live in Trinidad to be a Trinidadian, that's a stupid and oft repeated question on this forum

Postby Greypatch » July 23rd, 2010, 8:32 am

finally ?

Postby Damien » July 23rd, 2010, 8:33 am

If the pnmites out of power and don't have money then they resort to criminal activities to support themselves

Postby eliteauto » July 23rd, 2010, 8:36 am

Damien wrote:If the pnmites out of power and don't have money then they resort to criminal activities to support themselves

so you're saying for the last 7 years we had UNC criminals?

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » July 23rd, 2010, 8:42 am

rasc , u pretending or u just plain dotish ?

commonsense01

Postby commonsense01 » July 23rd, 2010, 8:47 am

doc123 wrote:rasc, baytah,

Where were you when all these atrocious murders started up, bloomed and fluorished under the pnm? yuh was happy when patrick went foreign and say crime is not an issue in Trinidad and there was no kidnapping problem? that was good for the country ent?

Maybe yuh family was part of the shindig up inna de crown plaza with patos or wah?

Yuh used to take offence and make all kinda excuse for the pnm, now yuh grow ah conscience and have morality?

Doh worry is not your fault is those who upbring yuh than install such prejudice and hate in yuh...imagine if you used to live in Trinidad during all those oppresive years under the pnm, then you would not be trying to score political points on all the murder victims...you mighta have a heart instead of now trying to prove something.

Why you doh make another "rascist rasc" thread and give us a break from your attempts to shove your beloved pnm down our throats....the majority of people had enough of pnm and their inept, corrupt and tribal politics...tribalism have no place in the world anymore...people starting to actually get mature in Trini, and the pnm needs to realize this if they want to survive.

Doc,
Crime actually started under the UNC regime, maybe you was born the past 7yrs. But I remember that kidnapping begin after a certain criminal was hanged. Do you rememeber when ghost gang in URP began and when URP foreman started getting killed. I gues you can't otherwise you wont be talking such shat. Or do you remember your beloved predesscor wMr Panday was Min of Security he threw up his hands and said he could not do anything about crime

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » July 23rd, 2010, 8:49 am

:mrgreen:
Last edited by evo-STI-k on January 31st, 2011, 1:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

commonsense01

Postby commonsense01 » July 23rd, 2010, 8:49 am

Damien wrote:If the pnmites out of power and don't have money then they resort to criminal activities to support themselves

I guess the fellas who killed the man in Chase village for his car was pnmmites..YEAH RIGHT

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » July 23rd, 2010, 8:52 am

commonsense01 wrote:

I guess the fellas who killed the man in Chase village for his car was pnmmites..YEAH RIGHT

MORE THAN LIKELY! oh wait sorry they were good boys nah? :fist:

nismoid

Postby nismoid » July 23rd, 2010, 9:14 am

commonsense01 wrote:
doc123 wrote:rasc, baytah,

Doc,
Crime actually started under the UNC regime, maybe you was born the past 7yrs. But I remember that kidnapping begin after a certain criminal was hanged. Do you rememeber when ghost gang in URP began and when URP foreman started getting killed. I gues you can't otherwise you wont be talking such shat. Or do you remember your beloved predesscor wMr Panday was Min of Security he threw up his hands and said he could not do anything about crime

dude you for real????
get your facts right and come again!!
oh and btw yuh sure yuh using de right account RA......internet connection dies

Skanky

Postby Skanky » July 23rd, 2010, 9:21 am

eliteauto wrote:
Skanky wrote:RASC do you even live in Trinidad that you always bumping your gum bout Trinidad business?

^^^you don't need to live in Trinidad to be a Trinidadian, that's a stupid and oft repeated question on this forum

You chupid orr?

The people who really care about Trinidad are the ones who are here making a difference or trying to make a difference not running away at the very first chance they get, yet want to look back and talk about local issues with nothing more than a political agenda and mischief making as their motivation.

Saying you care is one thing....doing you care is another!

Samiir_Tuner

Postby Samiir_Tuner » July 23rd, 2010, 9:29 am

so part of the point here is that if pnm was in power this crime wouldnt happen and a lot other crimes wouldnt happen? :roll:

Postby eliteauto » July 23rd, 2010, 9:32 am

Skanky wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

You chupid orr?

The people who really care about Trinidad are the ones who are here making a difference or trying to make a difference not running away at the very first chance they get, yet want to look back and talk about local issues with nothing more than a political agenda and mischief making as their motivation.

Saying you care is one thing....doing you care is another!

I'm not stupid, you are if you believe that you need to be locally based to make a difference or care about your country, tell that to the many foreign based students (like RASC), or the ex-pats who work in multi-nationals abroad or the many other Trinis abroad for whatever reason, your problem is that RASC has a different view from yours so you cling to any stupid reason to dismiss him, but his contributions are no different from the many that existed on the forum pre the last election.

Your feet are made of clay

Postby turbosingh » July 23rd, 2010, 9:32 am

brickman wrote:At least she admits it unlike some others who skinned & grinned & said it was under control.

True True X2