$35 tablet

zahc

$35 tablet

Postby zahc » July 23rd, 2010, 9:22 pm

India on Thursday unveiled a prototype tablet computer that would sell for a mere 1,500 rupees, or $35, with the price possibly dropping even further as R&D efforts continue.

http://news.cnet.com/8301-17938_105-20011536-1.html

MUMBAI, India – It looks like an iPad, only it's 1/14th the cost: India has unveiled the prototype of a $35 basic touchscreen tablet aimed at students, which it hopes to bring into production by 2011.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20100723/ap_ ... p_computer

Re: $35 tablet

Postby sharkman121 » July 23rd, 2010, 9:38 pm

wah brand is dah...... snapple :?

vimal_vs

Postby vimal_vs » July 23rd, 2010, 9:38 pm

lard i thought twas drugs u talkin bout yes.. 35$ is small money for some tablets lol

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » July 23rd, 2010, 9:45 pm

Postby Trini Hookah » July 23rd, 2010, 9:57 pm

sharkman121 wrote:wah brand is dah...... snapple :?

Snapple Lemon Tea FTMFW!!! 0X

Postby rollingstock » July 23rd, 2010, 10:11 pm

Free laptops for all sea students :lol:

guiness

Postby guiness » July 23rd, 2010, 10:25 pm

vimal_vs wrote:lard i thought twas drugs u talkin bout yes.. 35$ is small money for some tablets lol

:lol: me to

Postby Damien » July 23rd, 2010, 10:32 pm

:| :| :|

Postby Trini Hookah » July 23rd, 2010, 10:46 pm

Soundwave wrote:
vrampersad14 wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:wah brand is dah...... snapple :?

Snapple Lemon Tea FTMFW!!! 0X

strangely enough I loved the orangeade in the early 90's, we have that in trini?

Try Peppercorns or Ali's Pharmacy...maybe even Tru Value (Trincity) , only places i could think of.

Most commonly found down here in groceries are Fruit Punch, Lemon Tea, Acai Berry, Various Teas, and the infamous Kiwi-Strawberry.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 23rd, 2010, 11:19 pm

zahc wrote:
India on Thursday unveiled a prototype tablet computer that would sell for a mere 1,500 rupees, or $35, with the price possibly dropping even further as R&D efforts continue.

MUMBAI, India – It looks like an iPad, only it's 1/14th the cost: India has unveiled the prototype of a $35 basic touchscreen tablet aimed at students, which it hopes to bring into production by 2011.

Even more interesting as the wholesale mass-manufacturing cost of individual components for this tablet cost more than $35.

I can only see that happening if Chinese invade the rest of the world, including the aliens visiting Area51 and have us all working day and night making these things with many a sore bamsie for those who want to get 5mins sleep.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 23rd, 2010, 11:20 pm

I can see this happening... Indian 4 $35 tablets mounted inside an Indian $2500 car rolling around Penal on $30000TTD wheels

Postby M_2NR » July 23rd, 2010, 11:28 pm

Strauss wrote:
zahc wrote:

Even more interesting as the wholesale mass-manufacturing cost of individual components for this tablet cost more than $35.

I can only see that happening if Chinese invade the rest of the world, including the aliens visiting Area51 and have us all working day and night making these things with many a sore bamsie for those who want to get 5mins sleep.

What's amazing too.. the actual cost of the iPhone 4 is estimated to be less than $200. I bet that is a subsidized cost though, the $35.00.

CNN was saying they want it to be as low as $10.00

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 23rd, 2010, 11:37 pm

M_2nr wrote:
Strauss wrote:Even more interesting as the wholesale mass-manufacturing cost of individual components for this tablet cost more than $35.

What's amazing too.. the actual cost of the iPhone 4 is estimated to be less than $200. I bet that is a subsidized cost though, the $35.00.

You comparing a phone to a tablet.
You should compare tablet to tablet (screen size, faster processor, RAM/flash et al).

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 23rd, 2010, 11:51 pm

guiness wrote:
vimal_vs wrote:lard i thought twas drugs u talkin bout yes.. 35$ is small money for some tablets lol

:lol: me to

me 3 ! ... :oops: ...... :lol:

DTAC

Postby DTAC » July 24th, 2010, 5:24 am

What a crock.

education expert Zubin Malhotra wrote:"This is just a prototype," "We need to find people who will be able to manufacture these devices at these price points and continue to develop them going forward."

ie. They want manufacturers to provide the components cheaper than dirt cheap in the first place.

No mention of how much the components actually cost in the prototype itself.

Postby M_2NR » July 24th, 2010, 10:25 pm

Strauss wrote:
M_2nr wrote:
Strauss wrote:Even more interesting as the wholesale mass-manufacturing cost of individual components for this tablet cost more than $35.

You comparing a phone to a tablet.
You should compare tablet to tablet (screen size, faster processor, RAM/flash et al).

price and components :|

Postby Trini Hookah » July 24th, 2010, 10:45 pm

ohgaddd i can see this as the standard I.C.E. at all "car shows/soundoff"

your crims dong lansa ain't complete till you gotz your $35 tablet pc in-dash yo 0X

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » July 24th, 2010, 11:43 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:I can see this happening... Indian 4 $35 tablets mounted inside an Indian $2500 car rolling around Penal on $30000TTD wheels

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 25th, 2010, 1:58 am

vrampersad14 wrote:ohgaddd i can see this as the standard I.C.E. at all "car shows/soundoff"

your crims dong lansa ain't complete till you gotz your $35 tablet pc in-dash yo 0X

Actually this is what the Apple iPad is now.

You don't have ICE until you have an iPad in your visors / trunk lid to run your music and videos, maps etc.