India on Thursday unveiled a prototype tablet computer that would sell for a mere 1,500 rupees, or $35, with the price possibly dropping even further as R&D efforts continue.
MUMBAI, India – It looks like an iPad, only it's 1/14th the cost: India has unveiled the prototype of a $35 basic touchscreen tablet aimed at students, which it hopes to bring into production by 2011.
sharkman121 wrote:wah brand is dah...... snapple
vimal_vs wrote:lard i thought twas drugs u talkin bout yes.. 35$ is small money for some tablets lol
Soundwave wrote:vrampersad14 wrote:sharkman121 wrote:wah brand is dah...... snapple
Snapple Lemon Tea FTMFW!!!
strangely enough I loved the orangeade in the early 90's, we have that in trini?
zahc wrote:India on Thursday unveiled a prototype tablet computer that would sell for a mere 1,500 rupees, or $35, with the price possibly dropping even further as R&D efforts continue.
http://news.cnet.com/8301-17938_105-20011536-1.htmlMUMBAI, India – It looks like an iPad, only it's 1/14th the cost: India has unveiled the prototype of a $35 basic touchscreen tablet aimed at students, which it hopes to bring into production by 2011.
http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20100723/ap_ ... p_computer
Strauss wrote:zahc wrote:India on Thursday unveiled a prototype tablet computer that would sell for a mere 1,500 rupees, or $35, with the price possibly dropping even further as R&D efforts continue.
http://news.cnet.com/8301-17938_105-20011536-1.htmlMUMBAI, India – It looks like an iPad, only it's 1/14th the cost: India has unveiled the prototype of a $35 basic touchscreen tablet aimed at students, which it hopes to bring into production by 2011.
http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20100723/ap_ ... p_computer
Even more interesting as the wholesale mass-manufacturing cost of individual components for this tablet cost more than $35.
I can only see that happening if Chinese invade the rest of the world, including the aliens visiting Area51 and have us all working day and night making these things with many a sore bamsie for those who want to get 5mins sleep.
M_2nr wrote:Strauss wrote:Even more interesting as the wholesale mass-manufacturing cost of individual components for this tablet cost more than $35.
I can only see that happening if Chinese invade the rest of the world, including the aliens visiting Area51 and have us all working day and night making these things with many a sore bamsie for those who want to get 5mins sleep.
What's amazing too.. the actual cost of the iPhone 4 is estimated to be less than $200. I bet that is a subsidized cost though, the $35.00.
CNN was saying they want it to be as low as $10.00
guiness wrote:vimal_vs wrote:lard i thought twas drugs u talkin bout yes.. 35$ is small money for some tablets lol
me to
education expert Zubin Malhotra wrote:"This is just a prototype," "We need to find people who will be able to manufacture these devices at these price points and continue to develop them going forward."
Strauss wrote:M_2nr wrote:Strauss wrote:Even more interesting as the wholesale mass-manufacturing cost of individual components for this tablet cost more than $35.
What's amazing too.. the actual cost of the iPhone 4 is estimated to be less than $200. I bet that is a subsidized cost though, the $35.00.
CNN was saying they want it to be as low as $10.00
You comparing a phone to a tablet.
You should compare tablet to tablet (screen size, faster processor, RAM/flash et al).
RoTaRyBoYz wrote:I can see this happening... Indian 4 $35 tablets mounted inside an Indian $2500 car rolling around Penal on $30000TTD wheels
vrampersad14 wrote:ohgaddd i can see this as the standard I.C.E. at all "car shows/soundoff"
your crims dong lansa ain't complete till you gotz your $35 tablet pc in-dash yo