goalpost wrote:I simply don't understand how a man like Leonardo DiCaprio hasn't won an Oscar by now. And how it is he only has 3 nominations in total? I really hope he doh turn out to be one of those actors who they pity when he's 70 years old and give him a lifetime achievement award.
Gordon Levitt is a next one who could become big when he starts to act in (good) movies which people actually see. He has real talent. Anyone who ever saw (500) Days of Summer or Mysterious Skin will understand what I talking about.
These fellas are actors, not no damn Zack Effron and Twilight fellas....
I jus saying nah....
crazybalhead wrote:DevilZ wrote:is it more tief head than shutter island?
Shutter island was not a teef head, unless you are pretty dull to start with.
R. Mutt wrote:I will probably be the only one to say this but I thought it was just "good". CN definitely has his own style...they all have that dark feel. It was a well directed film...just felt like you saw everything that was cool already in the trailers...by the time you watch the film it's only to piece them together....i.e. nothing new visually. From a plot perspective it was a good film. Shutter island is an underrated film....the more you watch it the more you appreciate all the details Scorsese put there for you to enjoy. Haven't seen a film for 2010 that has blown me away yet.
R. Mutt wrote:I don't want to fight you down as I've only seen the film once, but I'm pretty sure he came out of the 3 layer dream in the end on the plane and got to see his kids in reality. The key is his wedding ring. Nolan put the wedding ring as a totem for the audience to distinguish what is a dream and what is reality.
Next time you watch the film take note when he's wearing it....only the scenes where he's dreaming.
Moreover, note in the end...when he actually sees his children they are also a little older than the ones we see in the dreams...they have indeed aged.
tr1ad wrote:R. Mutt wrote:I will probably be the only one to say this but I thought it was just "good". CN definitely has his own style...they all have that dark feel. It was a well directed film...just felt like you saw everything that was cool already in the trailers...by the time you watch the film it's only to piece them together....i.e. nothing new visually. From a plot perspective it was a good film. Shutter island is an underrated film....the more you watch it the more you appreciate all the details Scorsese put there for you to enjoy. Haven't seen a film for 2010 that has blown me away yet.
agree with you there, it is a good movie, but that's just it
N3M3SIS wrote:R. Mutt wrote:I don't want to fight you down as I've only seen the film once, but I'm pretty sure he came out of the 3 layer dream in the end on the plane and got to see his kids in reality. The key is his wedding ring. Nolan put the wedding ring as a totem for the audience to distinguish what is a dream and what is reality.
No, that is just an assumption. Nolan never released any statement saying that. Plus you can't see his ring in most of the crucial scenes so this tidbit is irrelevant.Next time you watch the film take note when he's wearing it....only the scenes where he's dreaming.
Again, I have the movie here and there are many times you can't see his hand.Moreover, note in the end...when he actually sees his children they are also a little older than the ones we see in the dreams...they have indeed aged.
Nah. When you look at the kids they are wearing the same clothes as they wore when he sees them in his subconscious They look way too similar to how he always pictures them. Nolan left the movie up to interpretation, it isn't as clear cut as you make it out to be...otherwise there wouldn't be nearly as much debate as there is now
N3M3SIS wrote:R. Mutt wrote:I will probably be the only one to say this but I thought it was just "good". CN definitely has his own style...they all have that dark feel. It was a well directed film...just felt like you saw everything that was cool already in the trailers...by the time you watch the film it's only to piece them together....i.e. nothing new visually. From a plot perspective it was a good film. Shutter island is an underrated film....the more you watch it the more you appreciate all the details Scorsese put there for you to enjoy. Haven't seen a film for 2010 that has blown me away yet.
Nah you didn't understand the unerlying details and everything was NOT easy to piece together. Here are two examples of how things take diverging paths:
1) After Cobb took the super sedative from the indian dude and went in the room with all the dreamers to test the sedative out, you see him "waking up" in the washroom area but right before he was able to spin the totem, he was stopped. So for all we know, everything from there was just a dream.
Another possibility:
2) In the beginning when he talked to his kids on the phone, his daughter sounded pretty old...like a teenager. But in the end of the movie when he made it back to his kids, the daughter didn't age. This opens the possibility that he ended up being stuck in limbo and never made it out.