Re: Inception > The Dark Knight.

Postby goalpost » July 8th, 2010, 3:55 pm

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » July 8th, 2010, 9:09 pm

Just watched this movie for the third time with some friends. Damn, I agree with that review above.

Postby A172 » July 17th, 2010, 3:20 pm

went to see it last night.....place was ram :?

definitely epic business

Postby goalpost » July 17th, 2010, 3:47 pm

I simply don't understand how a man like Leonardo DiCaprio hasn't won an Oscar by now. And how it is he only has 3 nominations in total? I really hope he doh turn out to be one of those actors who they pity when he's 70 years old and give him a lifetime achievement award.

Gordon Levitt is a next one who could become big when he starts to act in (good) movies which people actually see. He has real talent. Anyone who ever saw (500) Days of Summer or Mysterious Skin will understand what I talking about.

These fellas are actors, not no damn Zack Effron and Twilight fellas....

I jus saying nah....

Postby De Dragon » July 17th, 2010, 4:25 pm

goalpost wrote:I simply don't understand how a man like Leonardo DiCaprio hasn't won an Oscar by now. And how it is he only has 3 nominations in total? I really hope he doh turn out to be one of those actors who they pity when he's 70 years old and give him a lifetime achievement award.

Gordon Levitt is a next one who could become big when he starts to act in (good) movies which people actually see. He has real talent. Anyone who ever saw (500) Days of Summer or Mysterious Skin will understand what I talking about.

These fellas are actors, not no damn Zack Effron and Twilight fellas....

I jus saying nah....

Ah feel yuh have ah crush on dem men dem!

Postby DFC » July 21st, 2010, 8:52 pm

i just saw inception at movietowne...and it totally blew my mind.

its a mindphuck on so many levels! wow.

anybody who has seen it yet...the last part of the movie..after airport when he came back to his father an kids...was that a dream or reality?...because he spun the totem and ....movie end rite there...leaving you in a state of WTF.

Postby shogun » July 21st, 2010, 10:31 pm

Can't wait to see it.

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » July 21st, 2010, 11:21 pm

I will probably be the only one to say this but I thought it was just "good". CN definitely has his own style...they all have that dark feel. It was a well directed film...just felt like you saw everything that was cool already in the trailers...by the time you watch the film it's only to piece them together....i.e. nothing new visually. From a plot perspective it was a good film. Shutter island is an underrated film....the more you watch it the more you appreciate all the details Scorsese put there for you to enjoy. Haven't seen a film for 2010 that has blown me away yet.

Postby Sinister_Audio » July 23rd, 2010, 2:07 am

lol was gonna make a ched but thank god i didnt...

honestly one of the best movies i've ever seen, if not THE best...

acting was SPECTACULAR, script was DEEP, critics would have a field day though...

*slightly predictable for those who "GOT" shutter island the FIRST TIME long before the movie gave the angle away.

must go see it again :)

Postby X2 » July 23rd, 2010, 5:04 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
DevilZ wrote:is it more tief head than shutter island?

Shutter island was not a teef head, unless you are pretty dull to start with.

Doh pretend like yuh all smart...

... ah mean you sell the hatch... you can't be all that sharp.

Postby tr1ad » July 23rd, 2010, 5:15 pm

R. Mutt wrote:I will probably be the only one to say this but I thought it was just "good". CN definitely has his own style...they all have that dark feel. It was a well directed film...just felt like you saw everything that was cool already in the trailers...by the time you watch the film it's only to piece them together....i.e. nothing new visually. From a plot perspective it was a good film. Shutter island is an underrated film....the more you watch it the more you appreciate all the details Scorsese put there for you to enjoy. Haven't seen a film for 2010 that has blown me away yet.

agree with you there, it is a good movie, but that's just it

vimal_vs

Postby vimal_vs » July 23rd, 2010, 9:30 pm

Memento was easily one of the best movies i have ever seen, will check out Inception! thanks for the heads up!

Postby Cjruckus » July 24th, 2010, 12:53 am

It was pretty good.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » July 24th, 2010, 2:07 am

i don't see how both movies can even be compared.
they are different by nature.

It was very good though.

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » July 24th, 2010, 2:58 pm

R. Mutt wrote:I will probably be the only one to say this but I thought it was just "good". CN definitely has his own style...they all have that dark feel. It was a well directed film...just felt like you saw everything that was cool already in the trailers...by the time you watch the film it's only to piece them together....i.e. nothing new visually. From a plot perspective it was a good film. Shutter island is an underrated film....the more you watch it the more you appreciate all the details Scorsese put there for you to enjoy. Haven't seen a film for 2010 that has blown me away yet.

Nah you didn't understand the unerlying details and everything was NOT easy to piece together. Here are two examples of how things take diverging paths:

1) After Cobb took the super sedative from the indian dude and went in the room with all the dreamers to test the sedative out, you see him "waking up" in the washroom area but right before he was able to spin the totem, he was stopped. So for all we know, everything from there was just a dream.

Another possibility:

2) In the beginning when he talked to his kids on the phone, his daughter sounded pretty old...like a teenager. But in the end of the movie when he made it back to his kids, the daughter didn't age. This opens the possibility that he ended up being stuck in limbo and never made it out.

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » July 24th, 2010, 5:09 pm

I don't want to fight you down as I've only seen the film once, but I'm pretty sure he came out of the 3 layer dream in the end on the plane and got to see his kids in reality. The key is his wedding ring. Nolan put the wedding ring as a totem for the audience to distinguish what is a dream and what is reality. Next time you watch the film take note when he's wearing it....only the scenes where he's dreaming. Moreover, note in the end...when he actually sees his children they are also a little older than the ones we see in the dreams...they have indeed aged. If you look at the credits this is confirmed by the fact that the children were played by seperate actors....1 set is younger and the other older.

On a side note, if you want to see a film that will confuse the sheit out of you, look at Mulhollan Dr. If you can decipher that film, I'll buy you a beer. Probably the hardest film to understand I've ever seen. Nolan lays it out on a plate for you compared to David Lynch.

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » July 24th, 2010, 11:03 pm

R. Mutt wrote:I don't want to fight you down as I've only seen the film once, but I'm pretty sure he came out of the 3 layer dream in the end on the plane and got to see his kids in reality. The key is his wedding ring. Nolan put the wedding ring as a totem for the audience to distinguish what is a dream and what is reality.

No, that is just an assumption. Nolan never released any statement saying that. Plus you can't see his ring in most of the crucial scenes so this tidbit is irrelevant.

Next time you watch the film take note when he's wearing it....only the scenes where he's dreaming.

Again, I have the movie here and there are many times you can't see his hand.

Moreover, note in the end...when he actually sees his children they are also a little older than the ones we see in the dreams...they have indeed aged.

Nah. When you look at the kids they are wearing the same clothes as they wore when he sees them in his subconscious They look way too similar to how he always pictures them. Nolan left the movie up to interpretation, it isn't as clear cut as you make it out to be...otherwise there wouldn't be nearly as much debate as there is now

Postby cinco » July 25th, 2010, 2:20 am

tr1ad wrote:

agree with you there, it is a good movie, but that's just it

agreed i dont even think it was that great a movie. it wasnt a mind fcuk it was just tedious to watch and 2hrs too long when in the first 15 mins you realise the movie was really about cobb and not fischer

R. Mutt

Postby R. Mutt » July 25th, 2010, 3:30 am

N3M3SIS wrote:
R. Mutt wrote:I don't want to fight you down as I've only seen the film once, but I'm pretty sure he came out of the 3 layer dream in the end on the plane and got to see his kids in reality. The key is his wedding ring. Nolan put the wedding ring as a totem for the audience to distinguish what is a dream and what is reality.

No, that is just an assumption. Nolan never released any statement saying that. Plus you can't see his ring in most of the crucial scenes so this tidbit is irrelevant.

Next time you watch the film take note when he's wearing it....only the scenes where he's dreaming.

Again, I have the movie here and there are many times you can't see his hand.

Moreover, note in the end...when he actually sees his children they are also a little older than the ones we see in the dreams...they have indeed aged.

Nah. When you look at the kids they are wearing the same clothes as they wore when he sees them in his subconscious They look way too similar to how he always pictures them. Nolan left the movie up to interpretation, it isn't as clear cut as you make it out to be...otherwise there wouldn't be nearly as much debate as there is now

The shoes are different. Still, why are their two sets of actors for the children in the credits? The ring is a theory...but it's a fact that remains true. Well, I have my views, you have yours...we'll agree to disagree since everyone is entitled to their opinion.

Postby Sinister_Audio » July 25th, 2010, 4:10 am

the one of the most predictable things in the entire movie was knowing that it was gonna end at THAT scene.

another thing for me was that the 'kick' was very critical in the sense that, when ONE was supposed to wake up, everyone heard it, and was synchronized at different times right? so how is it that that was perfectly timed when the effects of each layer wasn't as 'direct' as the sense of SOUND would be? lets say we get the entire cool matrix/0gravity trick right?? cool, so why when the SPECIFIC'S person's subconscious makes the maze the other senses dont affect the deeper layer? hence: 0 gravity?

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » July 31st, 2010, 4:57 pm

http://movies.yahoo.com/feature/inception-comic.html
ah wonder where else ah could get comics like dis^^^^^
Last edited by wheelbarrow on August 1st, 2010, 1:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

triniangie

Postby triniangie » August 1st, 2010, 12:54 am

^lmao

btw - 2 diff set of kids cud be 1 for the actual scene of the movie n the other set for the voices

idk
maybe - i didnt even look at the credits

Postby Mark! » August 1st, 2010, 4:20 pm

yeh yeh the movie was great and all but the score made it so much more epic!!!

Postby A172 » August 1st, 2010, 5:53 pm

Postby Rooki3 » August 3rd, 2010, 10:59 pm

i watched it this evening.....................WOW, easily the best movie i've ever seen!!

the ending was synonymous to that of shutter island

<=xjemler=>

Postby <=xjemler=> » August 4th, 2010, 9:01 am

Totally enjoyed this movie it's nothing less than mind-blowing !!!

Postby crazybalhead » August 5th, 2010, 8:45 am

N3M3SIS wrote:

Nah you didn't understand the unerlying details and everything was NOT easy to piece together. Here are two examples of how things take diverging paths:

1) After Cobb took the super sedative from the indian dude and went in the room with all the dreamers to test the sedative out, you see him "waking up" in the washroom area but right before he was able to spin the totem, he was stopped. So for all we know, everything from there was just a dream.

Another possibility:

2) In the beginning when he talked to his kids on the phone, his daughter sounded pretty old...like a teenager. But in the end of the movie when he made it back to his kids, the daughter didn't age. This opens the possibility that he ended up being stuck in limbo and never made it out.

Also, the movie started in basically the same place, trying to save Watanabe, but was sliggggggggghtly different in the end without his wife there, which leads me to believe he has subconsciously tried to work things out a bit to make his limbo a little more palatable, but is't limbo non the less.

rmlmv

Postby rmlmv » August 5th, 2010, 10:27 am

Inception was original and good. But I don't understand how it's the best movie some of you have ever seen... :? Inception < The Dark Knight IMO.

One of the best parts was when the guy kissed the girl... for no real reason (other than he just wanted to kiss her). :D

...and I respected how if you do that sort of thing, you can actualy f**k things up in your head... Like how his wife kept thinking she was dreaming, even though she was awake.

and... simply beautiful:

Postby AllTrac » August 5th, 2010, 10:54 am

it was iite :-|

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » August 5th, 2010, 4:02 pm