pioneer wrote:BANzai Rastafarai wrote:i say do like what Evo_STi-K was recommending back in the day...builda wall around the flood prone areas...to keep them IN!!....
Build the WALL!!!
!!!!!
This is a WONDERFUL idea...that way no water gets in...none gets out
problem solved!!
KACFAST!
pioneer wrote:on another note...what if the beetham had get these same "devastating floods" and PNM was in power and they decide to give them money...
de mounta ched we woulda see here eh...
isn't this just the next side of the same coin?
Time to industrialize T&T and leave the weak behind.
pioneer wrote:Terran wrote:Pios, I get some of the points you're making, particularly about taxpayers' money being used to bail out squatters. However, you don't have the facts to present a strong enough argument here. It's valid, but there are no facts to back up your point.
And yes, it is nature in some people to take advantage of "relief", abuse it and misappropriate the real purpose behind it. Some money will end up in hands that don't need it or deserve it. The government seemingly acted in haste to provide relief, unlike the response by the US government when New Orleans was hit by perhaps the most devastating hurricane in its history.
In New Orleans, water rose high enough to cover houses. People sought refuge on their rooftops. There was no control over that, they could not save their children's school books. I think you're being ridiculous to chastise people who could not secure their homes from 3-4 feet of rising, raging water. Yes, what happened in New Orleans was the fury of nature, and to some extent was the flooding experienced this week at home. However, don't dismiss the years of neglect the people of this country have experienced by the people they elected to serve them. The flooding situation has worsened year after year, while the country flourished with billions of dollars from oil and gas revenues. Indeed, people should be accountable for the environment around them, but how far can they maintain this when their tax dollars are abused and wasted and not being used to support the regional corporations to remove garbage, provide pest control services, and the provision of basic amenities like water, electricity, health care and security? TSTT and Digicel do a better job at connecting people and providing service than any other in the essential service industry.
And yes, we think and believe that adults can fend for themselves, but you don't know their circumstances, do you? What about the man who was paralysed in an accident caused by street racers - can't work, is confined to a wheelchair? The mother who was severely raped and drugged by her kidnappers that her brain is damaged for which medical help is out of her reach? Thankfully, most of us were brought up and trained with survival instincts, but some people never experienced that type of upbringing. Is it their fault?
I really think you should revisit your perspective on the people who are receiving assistance - you're just speculating about their backgrounds, when your argument is sorely lacking the facts.
How we dunno de man who was paralyzed was ah bandit?...or was de same person who rape and drug de woman?
Karma?...
What goes around comes right back around?
Same instance you say i don't know their circumstances, do YOU know their circumstances to negate my opinion and make it invalid?
It's also my point of view to not help vagrants - cuz they all would have made some decision at some point in life and now they end up on the street. Not my fault, not yours either.
What if one of de people house who geh wash-wey and chiren suffering - is de person who really kill Sean Luke?
De way i see it, everything happens for a reason, yes innocents might be caught up - but it's collateral damage to me.
Move on with life, secure yuh own property - cuz people are expendable and humans multiply every damn second.
evo-STI-k wrote:BANzai Rastafarai wrote:i say do like what Evo_STi-K was recommending back in the day...builda wall around the flood prone areas...to keep them IN!!....
Build the WALL!!!
Pullease dont requote my stupid previous statements out of context !
that gets me so faking EMO!
pioneer wrote:nismoid wrote:pioneer wrote:Terran wrote:Pios, I get some of the points you're making, particularly about taxpayers' money being used to bail out squatters. However, you don't have the facts to present a strong enough argument here. It's valid, but there are no facts to back up your point.
And yes, it is nature in some people to take advantage of "relief", abuse it and misappropriate the real purpose behind it. Some money will end up in hands that don't need it or deserve it. The government seemingly acted in haste to provide relief, unlike the response by the US government when New Orleans was hit by perhaps the most devastating hurricane in its history.
In New Orleans, water rose high enough to cover houses. People sought refuge on their rooftops. There was no control over that, they could not save their children's school books. I think you're being ridiculous to chastise people who could not secure their homes from 3-4 feet of rising, raging water. Yes, what happened in New Orleans was the fury of nature, and to some extent was the flooding experienced this week at home. However, don't dismiss the years of neglect the people of this country have experienced by the people they elected to serve them. The flooding situation has worsened year after year, while the country flourished with billions of dollars from oil and gas revenues. Indeed, people should be accountable for the environment around them, but how far can they maintain this when their tax dollars are abused and wasted and not being used to support the regional corporations to remove garbage, provide pest control services, and the provision of basic amenities like water, electricity, health care and security? TSTT and Digicel do a better job at connecting people and providing service than any other in the essential service industry.
And yes, we think and believe that adults can fend for themselves, but you don't know their circumstances, do you? What about the man who was paralysed in an accident caused by street racers - can't work, is confined to a wheelchair? The mother who was severely raped and drugged by her kidnappers that her brain is damaged for which medical help is out of her reach? Thankfully, most of us were brought up and trained with survival instincts, but some people never experienced that type of upbringing. Is it their fault?
I really think you should revisit your perspective on the people who are receiving assistance - you're just speculating about their backgrounds, when your argument is sorely lacking the facts.
How we dunno de man who was paralyzed was ah bandit?...or was de same person who rape and drug de woman?
Karma?...
Same instance you say i don't know their circumstances, do YOU know their circumstances to negate my opinion and make it invalid?
It's also my point of view to not help vagrants - cuz they all would have made some decision at some point in life and now they end up on the street. Not my fault, not yours either.
What if one of de people house who geh wash-wey and chiren suffering - is de person who really kill Sean Luke?
De way i see it, everything happens for a reason, yes innocents might be caught up - but it's collateral damage to me.
Move on with life, secure yuh own property - cuz people are expendable and humans multiply every damn second.
why dont you preach that to your 'friends' and come to the realization that the pnm lost.
there's nothing you and your 'friends' can do about it for the next 5 years.
so get over it.
Sorry but guyanese nationals not entitled to an opinion in our politics.
pioneer wrote:nismoid wrote:pioneer wrote:Terran wrote:Pios, I get some of the points you're making, particularly about taxpayers' money being used to bail out squatters. However, you don't have the facts to present a strong enough argument here. It's valid, but there are no facts to back up your point.
Karma?...
why dont you preach that to your 'friends' and come to the realization that the pnm lost.
there's nothing you and your 'friends' can do about it for the next 5 years.
so get over it.
Sorry but guyanese nationals not entitled to an opinion in our politics.