Health Recipies for the XMAS Season

Kish

Health Recipies for the XMAS Season

Postby Kish » September 18th, 2010, 3:56 pm

so all these talk about fry chicken and doubles and all those death foods. lewwe talk about some healthy local recipies.

i sure someone gonna make somme stupid comment here but to the other pple share your thoughts and ideas here.

i'm mainly trying to make a great punch for after a workout, but for days when i fasting from meat i also looking for budget protein meals.
Last edited by Kish on December 20th, 2010, 9:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Health Recipies for the budget conscious

Postby De Dragon » September 18th, 2010, 4:54 pm

Channa and more channa. Any kinda peas/beans are very good too

Kish

Postby Kish » September 18th, 2010, 5:54 pm

thing is too much beans is endless farting.. lol. but i wondering if i could boil some beans for the punch. blend it up busy busy

Postby De Dragon » September 18th, 2010, 6:26 pm

geekezone wrote:thing is too much beans is endless farting.. lol. but i wondering if i could boil some beans for the punch. blend it up busy busy

Channa punch FTW!

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 18th, 2010, 6:36 pm

punch combos rock
peanut/cashew
channa/beetroot
pumpkin/linseed
soursop/seamoss
barbadine/seamoss

Kish

Postby Kish » September 18th, 2010, 7:35 pm

right now i do peanut butter, skimmed milk, bananas and tryin some gelatin for flavour. will try some channa in it

Postby teems1 » September 19th, 2010, 10:41 am

eating healthy is expensive.

life is weird like that

Postby SR » September 19th, 2010, 10:50 am

croaker oats for breakfast instead of doubles
a healthy salad from linda's is around 28-30
junk food can range from 15 upwards
dont eat chicken leg and thighs more fat in them
bake (on a rack so the fat can drip off) or grill your meats instead of frying or stewing
stick to a 2000 calorie diet a day

Kish

Postby Kish » September 19th, 2010, 12:15 pm

I've always thought that eating healthy is expensive. But the truth is buying healthy food is expensive. There are many home recipies which if u take an hour a day you can eat healthy and save that extra money. Currently I'm experimenting on training hard and eating simple cheap foods. So far the stomach is flat and I feel good. Green tea instead of coffee. Cranberry juice or fruit juice instead of soft drink. Gizzard and liver if u can't afford chicken breast. That's what I'm hoping to accomplish with this thread. Food out there too expensive and have too many unnecessary calories

Piece...

Kish

Postby Kish » September 19th, 2010, 12:29 pm

Good info there SR. Keep the ideas coming

Skanky

Postby Skanky » September 19th, 2010, 12:35 pm

Eating healthy is more expensive than unhealthy is a myth.
If you plan from the week ahead what your meals will be for the week and go to the market on weekend for one person would run you from 100-200 a week and that's overload of veggies,fruit and some meat and eggs.
Whatever you can't get in the market you hit the supermart and spend bout 100-200 again and you have food for 1-2 weeks.
The problem then becomes cooking this food.If you're serious on a Sunday make a fair amount of rice and cook an assortment of beans and freeze them.
When you hungry now you just stir fry/steam etc some veggies while you do up some meat in the oven,grill etc and you have a full healthy meal if you add some 'greens' or salad straight from the fridge.
It helps if you season all your meat on a weekend so when you ready jus pop it in the oven,stove etc.
In between meals when you hungry is level fruit,nuts,granola and post gym is peanut,fig,channa punch etc.
And there you have healthy,price conscious meals for the week.
For the gf and myself it runs us about 150-200 in market and 150-200 in grocery per week and we cook three meals a day and eat out maybe once per week and both hit the gym 4-5 times a week.

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » September 19th, 2010, 1:29 pm

you forgettin the cheapest ....canned tuna in water ....i think its about 15grams of protein...thats close to a scoop of whey protein and the price is dirt dirt cheap

Kish

Postby Kish » September 19th, 2010, 2:31 pm

BlueIce yea i eat a can of tuna ever day. but there are the smaller cans that come in lime, tomato and chili flavours. those have more protein content than the larger cans (up to 18g) and the cost is about $6.50 or so per can. normally handle one of that with some crix for a meal there, breakfast is oats and skimmed milk and well gizzard and pasta for lunch and other stuff.

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » September 20th, 2010, 8:39 am

i does buy em by the packs in pricesmart, quick and ready to eat.

Postby crazybalhead » September 20th, 2010, 8:48 am

Dhal is a great budget low fat food.

Toast about a table spoon of geera, then add a little oil, A LITTLE.
Chunkay garlic, about five cloves.
Add about a half a pack of dhal, black beans, any beans.
add water and boil away. Add a little salt and pepper at the end.

Buy whole wheat or whole grain pasta instead of white. It's delicious and more filling with more fibre.

Hmm what else...

Stay away from soft drinks as much as possible.

Treat them as a "snack" instead of something you must have four of every day. Stay away from processed juices, those are just sugar water.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » September 20th, 2010, 9:19 am

^nah nah nah yuh see that dhal ting...dhal has been inextricably linked to rum,rivers,liming under flyovers,thin foot and speakerboxes on top cars....so I would stay away from the dhal :lol: :lol:

Postby crazybalhead » September 20th, 2010, 9:52 am

Skanky wrote:^nah nah nah yuh see that dhal ting...dhal has been inextricably linked to rum,rivers,liming under flyovers,thin foot and speakerboxes on top cars....so I would stay away from the dhal :lol: :lol:

:drinking: :drinking: :drinking: :drinking:

Kish

Postby Kish » September 20th, 2010, 9:58 am

lol. great ideas so far. keep em coming. eating healthy is not so expensive after all. simple remedies and one less clogged artery

btw BlueIce how much u pay in pricesmart and for how many?

Postby crazybalhead » September 20th, 2010, 10:11 am

Forego the rice and white bread too. When we eat in Trinidad, too often it's like four pot spoons of rice AND provision AND macaroni AND beans/ calalloo, AAAAAAAAANNNDDD meat.

Instead look at you portions, litttle rice, more beans/ greens and a small portion of meat. Also, I only use brown rice now, and hardly at that.

Kish

Postby Kish » September 20th, 2010, 10:26 am

^^ yup. i know alot of pple who can't live without roti and rice. they refuse to eat whole wheat and pasta, even if they starving. all dem belly hanging so more for me.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » September 20th, 2010, 12:22 pm

I also think part of eating healthy and remaining sane is 'rewarding' yourself for your good work.So the chicken roti you dying for from ratraj or yuh mother sunday lunch or a couple beers once in a while is okay as long as you enjoy within reason and hit the gym with increased determination to burn it off afterward.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » September 20th, 2010, 12:48 pm

Anybody ever use the george foreman grille to cook healthier food?

Postby pete » September 20th, 2010, 1:20 pm

I cut down to a roughly 13/1400 calorie/day diet eating cereal for breakfast n dinner and kiss wraps wid sliced chicken/turkey/ham and lettuce for lunch with an apple in the morning and afternoon as snacks. Drinking only water.

That coupled with about 20-45 mins of cardio per day as many days a week i can, I'm trying to lose 2-3lbs/week.

Cost per day is maybe about $20-30

Kish

Postby Kish » September 20th, 2010, 2:05 pm

good stuff pete. keep at it. i find the p90x is an excellent program to get ripped if you're a little fit. u don't have to do all the exercises but the yoga, kenpo, plyometrics and ab ripper are excellent workouts

Postby pete » September 20th, 2010, 3:15 pm

A few months ago I downloaded Beach Body Insanity and tried to do that. Half way thru the fitness test ah nearly dead :lol:

I'm slowly building myself up. Maybe by next year I'll give it another try. I have the P90X somewhere as well jus that since my "insanity" experience I decided to take things a little slower. :lol:

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » September 20th, 2010, 3:36 pm

as u get up drink 8 oz glass of warm water with juice of half a lime
or one tablespoon of honey, one tablespoon of pure apple cider vinegar in 8 oz of warm water

breakfast : rolled oats, skimmed milk with raisins and nuts for flavour, NO SUGAR
lunch: steam vege, roast or grilled fish or chick. breast and salad with EVOO/lime salad dressing
dinner: one tin of tuna in water, squeeze some lime juice and pepper sauce in that and 6-8 crix.

this is guaranteed to help u lose weight and if u in the gym, help u get lean.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 21st, 2010, 10:11 am

*subscribes* good thread!

Postby crazybalhead » September 21st, 2010, 10:14 am

Tomatoes chokha, also very healthy, just use extremely little oil to chunkay the garlic. Most people like to use a whole friggin potspoon of oil.

Kish

Postby Kish » September 21st, 2010, 12:40 pm

also use olive oil over the othery types. here's some reading material on fat content:
http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/carmen12.htm

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 22nd, 2010, 8:30 am

crazybalhead wrote:Tomatoes chokha, also very healthy, just use extremely little oil to chunkay the garlic. Most people like to use a whole friggin potspoon of oil.

alternative:
roast the tomatoes
throw everything in the mini chopper ( or whatever you got)
onion
green peppers
hot pepper
garlic
bandania

and instead of chunkaying (sp) use ground roasted geera.

Not exactly the same taste, but it taste damn good with no oil at all.