Nigson wrote:Just stood and looked on and imagined the hurt that Laptop sellers may be going through right now....It seemed that this move to give each Household a laptop has destroyed the market for laptop sellers....
On top of that the were also given FREE LAPTOP BAGS also.....Amazing ...Totally amazing.......
will load pics soon....
nismoid wrote:^ yeah cuz allyuh doh wanna touch anyting yellow cuz of allyuh yellow tabanca.
so paint it yellow and allyuh aint gonna teef it
Picasso wrote:nismoid wrote:^ yeah cuz allyuh doh wanna touch anyting yellow cuz of allyuh yellow tabanca.
Explain what you mean by "allyuh"
Picasso wrote:nismoid wrote:^ yeah cuz allyuh doh wanna touch anyting yellow cuz of allyuh yellow tabanca.
A172 wrote:Picasso wrote:nismoid wrote:^ yeah cuz allyuh doh wanna touch anyting yellow cuz of allyuh yellow tabanca.
nignogs.
RASC wrote:I not even taking on nismoid, cause he's clearly running out of personalized insults
But the fact remains this has to be one of the most foolish excuses for a security measure ever.
I thought all this GPS, tracking integration was the major deterrent. Now you talking 'bout YELLOW laptops as your major theft measure? She joking right?
Strauss wrote:Clearly she's joking. She's taking a shot at guys like you and the Opposition who had a habit of wearing a balisier for every damn thing, as if it represented T&T.
Also concerning the care of laptops...
You telling me that someone give you a FREE laptop and you can't put in the money or effort to take care of the damn thing? This dotish gimme gimme crap has to stop.
Edit: There are poor people who may not have the resources but in this case allowances should be put in place for parents. Otherwise, as far as I see it, if you can put $1000 shoes on your foot and come to school with your blackberry, you can divert resources.
RASC wrote:I not even taking on nismoid, cause he's clearly running out of personalized insults
But the fact remains this has to be one of the most foolish excuses for a security measure ever.
I thought all this GPS, tracking integration was the major deterrent. Now you talking 'bout YELLOW laptops as your major theft measure? She joking right?
pete wrote:Side note.. who de hell giving their children $1000 shoes to go to school with?
Chinese firm delivers SEA laptops
By RESHMA BAAL Friday, September 16 2011
The first batch of laptops to be distributed to Form one students are scheduled to arrive in the country next Tuesday.
This is according to Minister of Education, Dr Tim Gopeesingh, who spoke with Newsday on Wednesday.
He said 6,000 of the 17,300 laptops will arrive in the first batch. “During the rest of that week the remaining laptops should arrive in the country.”
Gopeesingh also said distribution of the laptops should begin one week subsequent to its arrival and is scheduled to be completed in two-weeks’ time.
This year, the second year of the programme, leading Chinese computer manufacturer, Lenovo, won the contract to provide approximately 17,300 laptops.
In an earlier interview, Gopeesingh said Gov-
ernment spent an estimated $53 million to provide the laptops, which is $30 million less than last year’s sum.
“Each laptop will cost approximately US$460, US$100 less than last year. A digital portal will also be purchased to store information from the curriculum for students’ use,” Gopee-
singh said.
The minister also said the software on the new laptops, which will be painted in the national colours, will be improved from their earlier counterparts.
“These new laptops will have 14 software packages installed, while the previous had only seven. There will also be improved security and monitoring features,” Gopeesingh said.
In 2010, Hewlett Packard (HP), was awarded an $83 million contract to deliver 24,000 fully loaded HP425 laptops, complete with carrying cases. Gopeesingh said each laptop cost the Government approximately $4,000, but had a commercial value of approximately $15,000.
The laptops had features such as Microsoft XP professional 2010, and other microsoft applications have brought up the worth of the laptops significantly, Gopeesingh had said.
The laptops were outfitted with faster processing speeds, improved wireless capability, Bluetooth (wireless) connectivity, larger internal storage, faster hard drive speed, extended battery life, Microsoft Office Home and Student 2007 and Learning Essentials 2.0 for Microsoft Office.
About Lenovo
Lenovo is one of the world’s largest makers of personal computers and manufactures the Thinkpad notebook, as well as products carrying the ThinkCentre, ThinkStation, ThinkServer, IdeaCentre and IdeaPad sub-brands.
Lenovo came about as the result of the merger of two leaders in technology and business: Legend Holdings in China and IBM’s Personal Computing Division in the United States.
As a result, Lenovo allows for the joining of North American and China-based technology players in the creation of a unified global PC leader with growing
market positions in developed and emerging markets alike.
With more than $16 billion in annual revenue, Lenovo’s market strength spans not only market geographies but also the world’s consumer and business PC markets.
Lenovo is a global corporation, operating in more than 60 countries and selling products in 160. We view our differences and diversity as a source of strength in building a collaborative culture.
The company employs more than 23,000 people worldwide, including 1,700 designers, scientists and engineers, representing a broad collection of nationalities and languages but at the same time working with one unified language and vision: to build the world’s most exceptionally engineered personal computers.