DSL Question

Postby pete » October 13th, 2010, 1:53 pm

Last week my internet connection got noticably slower than normal.

2MBit Package

I have a network meter and the highest continuos speed I have noticed on it is around 33kB/sec. After checking to make sure my bill was up to date I started to think it was a line problem. On the Zhone modem under ADSL statistics I noticed my SNR was about 5.5 on the download and 10 on the upload. (in speed tests downloads are about 256kbps and uploads up to 550kbps)

I called the provider and they sent technicians twice to check at the house and said there's nothing wrong on their end but instead the problem is the ethernet cable between my modem and my wireless router. I used a separate ethernet cable and connected directly to the modem and still have the same speed issues.

Would this be a problem with the incoming phone line (as I believe) or do y'all think its a problem downstream of the Zhone modem?

Should I keep calling the provider to tell them to come sort this out?

Swisha

Re: DSL Question

Postby Swisha » October 13th, 2010, 2:00 pm

Where u located? Cos I started having a similar problem last week where the connection will drop a few times everyday and I dont get my full 4mbps. it even gets as low as 1.5mbps

Located in Orangefield

Postby pete » October 13th, 2010, 2:05 pm

Kelly Village. Mine stuck at 256k right thru

Postby wagonrunner » October 13th, 2010, 2:15 pm

if yuh think is a router issue, borrow one and check.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » October 13th, 2010, 2:23 pm

pete wrote:Kelly Village. Mine stuck at 256k right thru

From the screen shot you have a high attainable downstream rate of 23860Kbps, that's very good. You also have a good SNR. Do you like close to an exchange or is their a cream cabinet nearby?

Please do a speed test here and post the results -
http://www.blinkbroadband.tt/index.cfm/1,102,0,0,html/BLINK-Speed-Test

Thanks.

honda_soldier

Postby honda_soldier » October 13th, 2010, 2:28 pm

wagonrunner wrote:if yuh think is a router issue, borrow one and check.

pete wrote:. I used a separate ethernet cable and connected directly to the modem and still have the same speed issues.

Postby pete » October 13th, 2010, 2:29 pm

Download 233kbps
Upload 92kpbs (altho when the green status indicator was actually moving it was reading about 550)
and Ping 32ms

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » October 13th, 2010, 2:41 pm

pete wrote:Download 233kbps
Upload 92kpbs (altho when the green status indicator was actually moving it was reading about 550)
and Ping 32ms

On a 2m package you should be downloading at max. 256Kbps.
Try downloading this file not using the wireless router for a minute to see the average speed your getting -
http://www.mediafire.com/?v8mjkrsqk8v

I get dls greater than 300Kbps from mediafire on firefox.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » October 13th, 2010, 2:53 pm

Test your router at a different site.
Vice versa.

zando

Postby zando » October 13th, 2010, 2:53 pm

dude..do a speedtest on www.speedtest.net forget using blink site, use a foreign server, remem they give u results in Megabits per second, u can change this setting if u want, you should expect results around 2.1 mbps for download and .5 for up, not sure what blink givin for upload these days...also remember, just because you have the bandwidth doesn't mean you will be dling at the max speeds, the server you are connected too also has to decide that factor incase they are bandwidth throttling...

zando

Postby zando » October 13th, 2010, 3:00 pm

BTW, capatainzaak, that your car in uh display? the Kia? if so, hows it holding up? any issues? it fast? i know it has the most powerful engine in trini in the 1.4 to 1.6 class non Turbo, was thinkin bout checkin out the coupe version...

Postby wagonrunner » October 13th, 2010, 3:02 pm

pete wrote:Would this be a problem with the incoming phone line (as I believe) or do y'all think its a problem downstream of the Zhone modem?
honda_soldier wrote:

pete wrote:. I used a separate ethernet cable and connected directly to the modem and still have the same speed issues.

do you understand now?
why would a router issue, be interpreted as the ethernet cable?

honda_soldier

Postby honda_soldier » October 13th, 2010, 3:46 pm

pete wrote:Would this be a problem with the incoming phone line (as I believe) or do y'all think its a problem downstream of the Zhone modem?
honda_soldier wrote:

do you understand now?
why would a router issue, be interpreted as the ethernet cable?

He said he connected directly to the modem, therefore, bypassing the router and experiencing the same speeds.
This means, it's not a router issue. So why would use suggest him trying another router?

Do you understand now?

Postby wagonrunner » October 13th, 2010, 4:43 pm

i think i now gotcha.

The DSL "Modem" IS a router, which is what i'm recommending he eliminates as the problem by trying another.

honda_soldier

Postby honda_soldier » October 13th, 2010, 5:02 pm

wagonrunner wrote:i think i now gotcha.

The DSL "Modem" IS a router, which is what i'm recommending he eliminates as the problem by trying another.

Ah. I see.
Gotcha.
Didn't know that. Thanks.

zando

Postby zando » October 13th, 2010, 6:01 pm

Aren't those ' dsl modems' tied to your phone no.? as in if you use another or carry yours by someone else it won't work? correct me if i'm wrong.

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » October 13th, 2010, 8:20 pm

pete wrote:Last week my internet connection got noticably slower than normal.

2MBit Package

I have a network meter and the highest continuos speed I have noticed on it is around 33kB/sec. After checking to make sure my bill was up to date I started to think it was a line problem. On the Zhone modem under ADSL statistics I noticed my SNR was about 5.5 on the download and 10 on the upload. (in speed tests downloads are about 256kbps and uploads up to 550kbps)

I called the provider and they sent technicians twice to check at the house and said there's nothing wrong on their end but instead the problem is the ethernet cable between my modem and my wireless router. I used a separate ethernet cable and connected directly to the modem and still have the same speed issues.

Would this be a problem with the incoming phone line (as I believe) or do y'all think its a problem downstream of the Zhone modem?

Should I keep calling the provider to tell them to come sort this out?

SO AM I!!!!!!!! I living santa cru and supposed to be getting 4mb but the blink speed test bearly makes it to 256kbps

Postby wagonrunner » October 13th, 2010, 9:28 pm

zando wrote:Aren't those ' dsl modems' tied to your phone no.? as in if you use another or carry yours by someone else it won't work? correct me if i'm wrong.

you're wrong. small thing

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 13th, 2010, 10:49 pm

blink was fackin up dey pete....I myself had serious speed issues.

Postby pete » October 13th, 2010, 11:11 pm

So after about half an hour on the phone they ran me thru the advanced settings on the modem and it seems that the username and password had defaulted to user: tstt it's supposed to be user: DSL(Phone number)

HOWEVER, when we tried that the internet stopped completely and they said they have to send someone to check it. In the interim I have done another reset on the modem and at least have 256k.

gtiracer

Postby gtiracer » October 13th, 2010, 11:13 pm

Fyzabad: 1Mb package, straining to reach 256K dl,same timefraame around a week ago.

Impossible to stream anything. Indians say technician to visit soon..

Anybody know what really going on?

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » October 13th, 2010, 11:44 pm

pete wrote:So after about half an hour on the phone they ran me thru the advanced settings on the modem and it seems that the username and password had defaulted to user: tstt it's supposed to be user: DSL(Phone number)

HOWEVER, when we tried that the internet stopped completely and they said they have to send someone to check it. In the interim I have done another reset on the modem and at least have 256k.

jed..you so fixed my problem! I didnt even bother to check that! Im gettin 3.83 mbps! All i did was change it back to my username and pw and VIOLA! Anyways good luck.

trinitachi

Postby trinitachi » October 13th, 2010, 11:47 pm

Thanks btw.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 14th, 2010, 2:30 am

pete wrote:Kelly Village. Mine stuck at 256k right thru

Dog you from Kelly?

Word I from around that that area to Piarco.

Only problem I have is youtube gives problem for me.

Postby crazybalhead » October 14th, 2010, 6:50 am

pete wrote:So after about half an hour on the phone they ran me thru the advanced settings on the modem and it seems that the username and password had defaulted to user: tstt it's supposed to be user: DSL(Phone number)

Having been through this a million times, if they set back your number and passowrd and you have no internet, then they have fvcked up your account. The guy will come to your house, call tech support and tell them re-activate it.

avinashr

Postby avinashr » October 14th, 2010, 8:09 am

HEC errors means ur line has some probs meng

Postby pete » October 14th, 2010, 9:07 am

Glad I helped whoever I could. :lol:

crazybalhead wrote:

Having been through this a million times, if they set back your number and passowrd and you have no internet, then they have fvcked up your account. The guy will come to your house, call tech support and tell them re-activate it.

Well, they allegedly set the password back to 123456 but after putting that in THREE times while on the phone (the woman kept insisting that I had made a mistake :roll:) still no success. Hopefully the tech comes some time this week.

Postby crazybalhead » October 14th, 2010, 9:52 am

Try 12345. That's 12345DOT Most of the techs use that as the password.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » October 14th, 2010, 9:55 am

zando wrote:BTW, capatainzaak, that your car in uh display? the Kia? if so, hows it holding up? any issues? it fast? i know it has the most powerful engine in trini in the 1.4 to 1.6 class non Turbo, was thinkin bout checkin out the coupe version...

To prevent from spamming d man ched, i sent u a PM.

Postby pete » October 14th, 2010, 10:14 am

crazybalhead wrote:Try 12345. That's 12345DOT Most of the techs use that as the password.

I'll try that when I go home.

Thanks