pete wrote:Kelly Village. Mine stuck at 256k right thru
wagonrunner wrote:if yuh think is a router issue, borrow one and check.
pete wrote:. I used a separate ethernet cable and connected directly to the modem and still have the same speed issues.
pete wrote:Download 233kbps
Upload 92kpbs (altho when the green status indicator was actually moving it was reading about 550)
and Ping 32ms
pete wrote:Would this be a problem with the incoming phone line (as I believe) or do y'all think its a problem downstream of the Zhone modem?
honda_soldier wrote:wagonrunner wrote:if yuh think is a router issue, borrow one and check.pete wrote:. I used a separate ethernet cable and connected directly to the modem and still have the same speed issues.
wagonrunner wrote:pete wrote:Would this be a problem with the incoming phone line (as I believe) or do y'all think its a problem downstream of the Zhone modem?honda_soldier wrote:wagonrunner wrote:if yuh think is a router issue, borrow one and check.pete wrote:. I used a separate ethernet cable and connected directly to the modem and still have the same speed issues.
do you understand now?
why would a router issue, be interpreted as the ethernet cable?
wagonrunner wrote:i think i now gotcha.
The DSL "Modem" IS a router, which is what i'm recommending he eliminates as the problem by trying another.
pete wrote:Last week my internet connection got noticably slower than normal.
2MBit Package
I have a network meter and the highest continuos speed I have noticed on it is around 33kB/sec. After checking to make sure my bill was up to date I started to think it was a line problem. On the Zhone modem under ADSL statistics I noticed my SNR was about 5.5 on the download and 10 on the upload. (in speed tests downloads are about 256kbps and uploads up to 550kbps)
I called the provider and they sent technicians twice to check at the house and said there's nothing wrong on their end but instead the problem is the ethernet cable between my modem and my wireless router. I used a separate ethernet cable and connected directly to the modem and still have the same speed issues.
Would this be a problem with the incoming phone line (as I believe) or do y'all think its a problem downstream of the Zhone modem?
Should I keep calling the provider to tell them to come sort this out?
zando wrote:Aren't those ' dsl modems' tied to your phone no.? as in if you use another or carry yours by someone else it won't work? correct me if i'm wrong.
pete wrote:So after about half an hour on the phone they ran me thru the advanced settings on the modem and it seems that the username and password had defaulted to user: tstt it's supposed to be user: DSL(Phone number)
HOWEVER, when we tried that the internet stopped completely and they said they have to send someone to check it. In the interim I have done another reset on the modem and at least have 256k.
pete wrote:Kelly Village. Mine stuck at 256k right thru
pete wrote:So after about half an hour on the phone they ran me thru the advanced settings on the modem and it seems that the username and password had defaulted to user: tstt it's supposed to be user: DSL(Phone number)
HOWEVER, when we tried that the internet stopped completely and they said they have to send someone to check it. In the interim I have done another reset on the modem and at least have 256k.
crazybalhead wrote:pete wrote:So after about half an hour on the phone they ran me thru the advanced settings on the modem and it seems that the username and password had defaulted to user: tstt it's supposed to be user: DSL(Phone number)
Having been through this a million times, if they set back your number and passowrd and you have no internet, then they have fvcked up your account. The guy will come to your house, call tech support and tell them re-activate it.
zando wrote:BTW, capatainzaak, that your car in uh display? the Kia? if so, hows it holding up? any issues? it fast? i know it has the most powerful engine in trini in the 1.4 to 1.6 class non Turbo, was thinkin bout checkin out the coupe version...
crazybalhead wrote:Try 12345. That's 12345DOT Most of the techs use that as the password.