offshore ppl ........your views.

biggz1985

Re: offshore ppl ........your views.

Postby biggz1985 » October 27th, 2010, 10:54 am

Whats d procedure to get ah work out dey boi?

Postby bushwakka » October 27th, 2010, 11:16 am

biggz1985 wrote:Whats d procedure to get ah work out dey boi?

go UTT

GReddy23

Postby GReddy23 » October 27th, 2010, 12:44 pm

bushwakka wrote:work offshore for abt 5-8 yrs to get sum experience, then move to another company where u can work on land....

this is what everyone does, there don't work offshore then retire

stop being a baby back 3itch

Postby tr1ad » October 27th, 2010, 12:48 pm

rainman wrote:
tr1ad wrote:in the end dude... it ain't worth it, trust me i gave up that life 28 / 14

+ don't go work for the same company as rainman

You still work here mofo!!

Tell people the truth, you gave up offshore because they send yuh to look for a pipe stretcher.

hoss dem still waiting on the spider deck fuh d 2 bucket ah steam and d appa dappa valve.... yuh order it yet

Postby AllTrac » October 27th, 2010, 12:51 pm

it have any company that hiring for offshore jobs with government ministry culture?

Postby Damien » October 27th, 2010, 12:55 pm

i worked offshore a couple of years and got sick of it after a while until i could not take it anymore mentally, i left my job an took the first job that came to me a lesser position with possible room for growth. right now i ketching my mc the salary is nice but one person running a plant is not nice and real stress. think it through make the years experience it will be easier to get a job elsewhere

Postby janfar » October 27th, 2010, 1:05 pm

OP... relax yuh skunt and enjoy the scenery... you have plenty time that you could make up... i doing this same thing 4 yrs now and i aint sick of it...

1. You will soon get the opportunity to work in ops land based (im assuming you work in the D&E/MWD)
2. After 30 you can kick back and enjoy your spoils. When plenty people will still be working hard to make ends meet at age 40 and even 50... your friends complaining, you will then realise how much it was worth the sacrfice...

Cheers.

Not disgruntled career expat.

Postby 16 cycles » October 27th, 2010, 1:37 pm

offshore can be very hard on your personal life - but don;t wait on everything to be 'perfect' to start one....

if you don;t make the time, no one else will make it for you.

learned some invaluable life lessons at sea

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » October 27th, 2010, 2:50 pm

It's a personal choice and a decision you have to make, i did @ 23 after 4 years offshore.. my first job @ 17 was land based in petrotrin

now my life has nothing to do with oil and gas... all about working towards the life you wanna lead...

things are good for me right now, while my co workers are batteling 12 foot seas after a 6 day tow to Surinam as i type this.

geodude

Postby geodude » October 27th, 2010, 6:30 pm

Rallyfignis wrote:Skipper, if you there that long and that valued to be in brazil, there comes a time that you have to tell them that 6 weeks on=6 weeks off.
Sound like you working for a service company - how long you in Brazil now?

yep i work for a service company and i have been working in Brazil for 1 year 10 months, but even in Trinidad my rotation sucked,

i know i am valued maybe too much so , within 1 year of working with i was promoted to Senior Geologist and Unit Manager, i am regarded as a specialist in numerous operating systems, Drilling Operations and Well Site Engineering and also function to train ppl.
The thing is i am sort of bored also as within my division there is no where to go once i get here, most men take like 5-10 years to get where i am, i took 1 year, most of the ppl who where senior to me are now working under me and are not even disgruntled as they just accept that i know my sheit.

Problem is the company doesn't want to transfer me to any new division as they so fricking happy with the work i do, when ever i complain i just get more money,

Currently i am on loan to the Brazil operations and the guys here are so happy that they are offering me a Brazilian contract, which again is more money but the question arises do i take a new contact for the same thing or is it time to say good bye.

Do i continue living the oil field life or what,

or maybe i should just STFU be thankful for what i have and stop bitching that i miss my mammie

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » October 27th, 2010, 6:38 pm

Wok an ded....oo an take horn too.

geodude

Postby geodude » October 27th, 2010, 6:42 pm

janfar wrote:OP... relax yuh skunt and enjoy the scenery... you have plenty time that you could make up... i doing this same thing 4 yrs now and i aint sick of it...

1. You will soon get the opportunity to work in ops land based (im assuming you work in the D&E/MWD)
2. After 30 you can kick back and enjoy your spoils. When plenty people will still be working hard to make ends meet at age 40 and even 50... your friends complaining, you will then realise how much it was worth the sacrfice...

Cheers.

some good point there man but this is my problem After 30 you can kick back and enjoy your spoils. i don't want to wait wake up one day realize that i am 30 or 40 and that most of my best years was spent running all over the world, with the aim to acquire wealth and that i missed out on the livfes of the ppl that mattered the most and have no one meaningful around to share that wealth with

you will then realise how much it was worth the sacrfice...
but this also a very real point.

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » October 27th, 2010, 7:07 pm

as the saying goes "2 weeks gone 2 weeks horn"

Postby RBphoto » October 27th, 2010, 7:45 pm

Had the choice many moons ago to work offshore. I had too many commitments to take an offshore job, and I kinda sorf too. I took the land based opportunity, and spend on average only three days for the month offshore (as I am now). If you are young as you say, bite the bullet and work for the denero. Money you earn while you are young put towards a good investment in a business (the buying land suggestion/ renting appartments sounds good) and annuities will pay off in the long term. Have an exit strategy, save towards your goal, then quit while you are ahead.
If I took the offshore position, I doubt I would have met my wife, so I am glad with my choice.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » October 27th, 2010, 8:02 pm

is the $$ really that good?? Example.....

Postby janfar » October 27th, 2010, 8:08 pm

geodude wrote:
janfar wrote:OP... relax yuh skunt and enjoy the scenery... you have plenty time that you could make up... i doing this same thing 4 yrs now and i aint sick of it...

Cheers.

some good point there man but this is my problem After 30 you can kick back and enjoy your spoils. i don't want to wait wake up one day realize that i am 30 or 40 and that most of my best years was spent running all over the world, with the aim to acquire wealth and that i missed out on the livfes of the ppl that mattered the most and have no one meaningful around to share that wealth with

you will then realise how much it was worth the sacrfice...
but this also a very real point.

Trust me... im 27 and i've been doing this 4 years officially. Life only starts when you want it to start... if ppl cant be in your life because of how you work then they were not meant for you... live yuh life... make yuh parents proud... make paper... brush ppl... drink beers... brush more ppl... and laugh your way to the bank... think about your age and how much you have already accomplished as opposed to your friends who have gf's/ wives but still living in they parent house or renting...

BRUSH PPL... ppl does spend all they money to see Rio de Janeiro... u doing in for free...

noobie

Postby noobie » October 27th, 2010, 8:21 pm

Make your money now.

Live your 'years' later.
Those same 'years' that you think you are missing, will always be there.
And all things considered, your parents will be there when you stop your offshore work as well.

Just think that you will have the same problems as everyone else...the difference is you'll be crying and complaining in a BMW or a Benz and a five bedroom house with a pool instead of a Corolla and still living with your parents and your by now miserable nephew.

mindxlabz

Postby mindxlabz » October 27th, 2010, 8:45 pm

Dude, im in my early 20's also and i used to work offshore... and money isnt everything. At some point in time money wouldnt make you happy anymore and you would envy other people who have families. This happened to my cousin, soo now i'm working a land job..lolz

noobie

Postby noobie » October 27th, 2010, 9:12 pm

mindxlabz wrote:and money isnt everything. you would envy other people who have families.

mmm.

THe 'money isn't everything' and 'family' excuse.
*shakes head slowly*
loser.

:mrgreen:

:drinking:

geodude

Postby geodude » October 27th, 2010, 9:45 pm

thanks for all the advise ppl i was just interested in seeing the issue through the eyes of other ppl that live the life, hearing your views have surely put somethings into perspective for me, at least i know that i am not alone with regards to these questions or the feelings, this hitch has been a long one making 35 days already, home soon, on the 5th of nov i hope,

Postby janfar » October 27th, 2010, 9:57 pm

Lol 35days... picnic on the beach... it have men whose rotation are 9/2 and myself that does 3 weeks home followed by unknown time out (not in TT) Right now im on day 40 and will be out till just before christmas...

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » October 27th, 2010, 10:02 pm

personally i fine offshore on a platform is prison.....

yea d food bess 'at times'

d money nice and they wash ur clothes

buh how much direc tv yuh could watch? how much cards yuh could play

and how much bs yuh could talk with the same ppl over and over again

Postby bushwakka » October 27th, 2010, 10:06 pm

GReddy23 wrote:
bushwakka wrote:work offshore for abt 5-8 yrs to get sum experience, then move to another company where u can work on land....

this is what everyone does, there don't work offshore then retire

stop being a baby back 3itch

chy makin sense nah :?

also, u can work here for a 7 yrs, go middle east for a 3-5 yrs after, come back, put ur money in a Ponzi scheme and then die broke :lol:

geodude

Postby geodude » October 27th, 2010, 10:07 pm

well you know how it goes some hitches are harder than others, regardless of the time, i have made 2 months and thing without touching land, no probs, i am sure you know its all a mental thing, its just with all these ideas this hitch has been more difficult than expected, that y i decided to post on tuner because this mental conundrum really gets a man tired.

women are the facking worst thing yes especially when you call and they like "babes i missing you come home nah"

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » October 27th, 2010, 10:13 pm

don't have a wife if u wukkin outside

men does start to give u all kinda stories bout horning back on land and more than likely u will take it on

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 27th, 2010, 10:19 pm

geodude wrote:women are the facking worst thing yes especially when you call and they like "babes i missing you come home nah"

Don't freaking call!

I wish I could get a career offshore.

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » October 27th, 2010, 10:23 pm

Be careful what u wish for

U just might get it

Postby bushwakka » October 27th, 2010, 10:25 pm

Conrad wrote:
geodude wrote:women are the facking worst thing yes especially when you call and they like "babes i missing you come home nah"

Don't freaking call!

I wish I could get a career offshore.

they always in need of painters etc

luke skywalker

Postby luke skywalker » October 28th, 2010, 12:02 am

Final years of my petroleum degree and can't wait to go offshore. Being a 4th generation oil man is all I know and have personally seen the balance between work and family seeing as I won't be here. BTW the men horn not the women. Also the money nice both grandfathers and my dad provided well for their families and I am hopeing to do the same. I have a older partner who works in Saudi and a Audi A4 was his first car, no 8-4 will give you that in one year.
How much Zen and 51 you will go? let people miss you a little bit.
Plus it have skype and bbm better than the old days.

mindxlabz

Postby mindxlabz » October 28th, 2010, 12:21 am

noobie wrote:
mindxlabz wrote:and money isnt everything. you would envy other people who have families.

mmm.

THe 'money isn't everything' and 'family' excuse.
*shakes head slowly*
loser.

noobie, please define YOUR version of being a looser or loser however you want to call it, or what loosing means in your book?

Thank you.