Advice - Immobilizer

Parvin

Advice - Immobilizer

Postby Parvin » November 5th, 2010, 10:03 pm

Looking to get some advice on an Immobilizer.

Car is equipped with one but i was wondering if it would be advisable to take it off as I am going to put in a new alarm soon. Maybe one of those 2 way pager systems.

Reason I'm asking about removing the immobilizer was because I thought about if the key (immobilizer key that is) got lost or broke, I don't have a replacement so i don't want to end up in that situation.

Any advice ?

Re: Advice - Immobilizer

Postby bushwakka » November 11th, 2010, 9:29 pm

I'd get the Mul-t-lock....it works and is a good visual deterrent...thieves normally not prepared for it

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 15th, 2010, 5:37 pm

if the vehicle has an automatic transmission,it easy to disconnect the cable and put the vehicle in drive from the front.....no need to use the shifter for that!

Postby bushwakka » November 16th, 2010, 9:21 am

^how long does that take....and how easy is it?

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 16th, 2010, 6:07 pm

bushwakka wrote:^how long does that take....and how easy is it?

Let me enlighten u bro....when u go to buy an engine for a conversion,u buy the first engine u see in a shop or look around first before u purchase?

When 'shopin' for cars,u literally take one apart and know every pro and con of said vehicle.if u have to mark it for years until u get the right opportunity so be it!

to answer ur question,it does not take long and it is not hard.as long as the hand brake is functioning properly it's a one man job.for fwd vehicles,plastics,if any comes out easy,one bolt holds the shifter cable in place...i don't have to read and spell for u!

NO,I'M NOT A CAR THIEF NOR DO I BE IN ILLEGAL PRACTICES......U HAVE TO WORK SMARTER AND NOT HARDER!!!! :wink:

I built my car from an empty shell and could take it apart and put it back together in no time,so i know all pros and cons about it.get one and put ur multi lock,i'll guarantee u by the time u take to park and go to buy a soft drink in ur favorite parlor............it's gone!!!!!!!!! :|

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » November 17th, 2010, 7:10 am

i have seen problems where the immobilizer malfunctions an the car initially car start at all...its up to u tho...either way all of these things can be bypassed.... thieves usually look for easy pickings so...the more deterrents the better.

Postby bushwakka » November 17th, 2010, 9:13 pm

THE SYNDICATE wrote:
bushwakka wrote:^how long does that take....and how easy is it?

Let me enlighten u bro....when u go to buy an engine for a conversion,u buy the first engine u see in a shop or look around first before u purchase?

When 'shopin' for cars,u literally take one apart and know every pro and con of said vehicle.if u have to mark it for years until u get the right opportunity so be it!

to answer ur question,it does not take long and it is not hard.as long as the hand brake is functioning properly it's a one man job.for fwd vehicles,plastics,if any comes out easy,one bolt holds the shifter cable in place...i don't have to read and spell for u!

NO,I'M NOT A CAR THIEF NOR DO I BE IN ILLEGAL PRACTICES......U HAVE TO WORK SMARTER AND NOT HARDER!!!! :wink:

I built my car from an empty shell and could take it apart and put it back together in no time,so i know all pros and cons about it.get one and put ur multi lock,i'll guarantee u by the time u take to park and go to buy a soft drink in ur favorite parlor............it's gone!!!!!!!!! :|

i am not doubting that it can be done....believe me, i know there is a workaround for almost everything

the point is statistically, how many car thieves wud bring such knowledge?
i've recommended Mul-T-locks to a lot of ppl b4, and they still have their cars (even b14s parking in trincity)

it is a visual deterrent, and the positions that u have to get ur body into to do what u are talkin abt might attract attention

i'm not sayin the mul-t-lock is the be it and end it all....
its just a good start for protecting the avg car

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 19th, 2010, 7:46 pm

bushwakka wrote:
i am not doubting that it can be done....believe me, i know there is a workaround for almost everything

the point is statistically, how many car thieves wud bring such knowledge?
i've recommended Mul-T-locks to a lot of ppl b4, and they still have their cars (even b14s parking in trincity)

it is a visual deterrent, and the positions that u have to get ur body into to do what u are talkin abt might attract attention

i'm not sayin the mul-t-lock is the be it and end it all....
its just a good start for protecting the avg car

understood bro.....a deterrent is always good....

jus to let u know, with all my other stuff...............i still use a club lock! :oops:

Postby bushwakka » November 21st, 2010, 9:48 pm

^lol ent a man was talkin abt pullin off the steering wheel and driving wit 2 vice grip?

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 22nd, 2010, 9:56 am

bushwakka wrote:^lol ent a man was talkin abt pullin off the steering wheel and driving wit 2 vice grip?

vice grip is joke....man walking with they own steering wheel to! :shock:

removing the club lock is easy to eh....as long as u know what ur doing.you can even remove the complete steering with the club lock on as well! :x :wink:

as said above bro....deterrent always better, than nothing! :)

Postby bushwakka » November 22nd, 2010, 10:23 am

^u think if a thief see a b14 wide open wit keys in de ignition he wud tief it? or maybe he might think is a trick? lol

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » November 26th, 2010, 5:25 am

^^^^man runnin far away from that vehicle... lol

Postby nervewrecker » December 7th, 2010, 7:57 am

bushwakka wrote:^u think if a thief see a b14 wide open wit keys in de ignition he wud tief it? or maybe he might think is a trick? lol

I better start doing that then, I have no visual deterrants except for a blue flashing led. chances are that they will bust my glass & try to steal the car but end up leaving it & moving to an easier target.

but the imobiliser aint no kinda deterrant or security device, there is a thread in the ICE forum where riadb was asking bout removing one, the guy that did it for him took less than 5 minutes to remove it.

Postby bushwakka » December 7th, 2010, 9:17 am

^already discussed above

sigma-turbo

Postby sigma-turbo » December 17th, 2010, 9:38 am

I have a Rhino RAM google it

its all you'll ever need