small companies and their scams......

Postby streetbeastINC. » December 22nd, 2010, 12:50 pm

went to a computer /electr. store to purchase a flat screen - all ready to cash when the guy says well you will ''HAVE'' to also purchase this ''ups/regulator'' in order to get the warranty...and if i did not purchase it i would have to bring the one i had home for them to test it.....so i live grande..the place is in el-soc....... i ''laughed and walked out........

Re: small companies and their scams......

Postby foss » December 22nd, 2010, 12:52 pm

mmmmmmmmkay

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 22nd, 2010, 1:07 pm

you did right.
their loss.

They can recommend that you put it on a UPS, but cant force you to buy one....

Postby bluesteel29 » December 22nd, 2010, 1:12 pm

consumer affairs fuh dat

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » December 22nd, 2010, 1:13 pm

pricemart does the same

Postby sharkman121 » December 22nd, 2010, 1:14 pm

is this place perhaps in the zone of circuits?
Last edited by sharkman121 on December 22nd, 2010, 1:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » December 22nd, 2010, 1:15 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:went to a computer /electr. store to purchase a flat screen - all ready to cash when the guy says well you will ''HAVE'' to also purchase this ''ups/regulator'' in order to get the warranty...and if i did not purchase it i would have to bring the one i had home for them to test it.....so i live grande..the place is in el-soc....... i ''laughed and walked out........

nutting wrong with that
u can buy it and forgo their warranty, deal with manufacturer directly.

I agree with the seller.
on such an item, a regulator/conditioner is very necessary

Postby sharkman121 » December 22nd, 2010, 1:17 pm

^ especially if its a samsung, the local agents Luxam are very helpful.

Postby redmanjp » December 22nd, 2010, 2:11 pm

warranties always come with conditions- it had a store that said a simple power outage (note not a power surge) voids the warranty on a computer!

nismoid

Postby nismoid » December 22nd, 2010, 2:34 pm

sharkman121 wrote:is this place perhaps in the zone of circuits?

hehehe went there last week and when I told them i already had a ups that i purchased from them, he then told me that "you have to replace the ups every year" lol

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 22nd, 2010, 2:54 pm

fack dem.....I would have done the same!

Postby hydroep » December 22nd, 2010, 3:09 pm

rodfarva wrote:
streetbeastINC. wrote:went to a computer /electr. store to purchase a flat screen - all ready to cash when the guy says well you will ''HAVE'' to also purchase this ''ups/regulator'' in order to get the warranty...and if i did not purchase it i would have to bring the one i had home for them to test it.....so i live grande..the place is in el-soc....... i ''laughed and walked out........

nutting wrong with that
u can buy it and forgo their warranty, deal with manufacturer directly.

I agree with the seller.
on such an item, a regulator/conditioner is very necessary

I woulda walk out too.

But I also agree with the seller that some type of power protection is necessary, especially of late...I know a number of people that lost LCD TVs to power surges, in both urban and rural areas.

The seller however should have made such a policy known before hand via a notice, sign or whatever, not wait for the customer to reach the stage of cashing before dropping this "condition" on him/her.

Postby streetbeastINC. » December 22nd, 2010, 3:22 pm

u agree with them i must pay for a ups wen my house system is top of the line??? lol....thats bs.....pricemart does not do the saame we bought 3 flats today from them and they never ''advised that''

Postby streetbeastINC. » December 22nd, 2010, 3:24 pm

going to consumer affairs though......

Postby ismithx » December 22nd, 2010, 3:24 pm

these kinda sheit retailers does do... a friend of my dads had a problem with their hp desktop (no-no #1), and they had to take it back to Pricemart (no-no #2, why the hell i buying a coomputer there) to get it fixed/replaced. And they paid 6K for a pc with some reall shitty specs, when you could buy a MUCH better machine from dell..... talk done....

Postby ismithx » December 22nd, 2010, 3:25 pm

orr and DOH buy no electronics at pricemart.... dem is is Sheit....

Postby streetbeastINC. » December 22nd, 2010, 3:28 pm

but its the attitude of the wyt guy or whtever maybe owner....''doh sell him anything'' after i walked out too....ahole

Postby streetbeastINC. » December 22nd, 2010, 3:36 pm

ok pioneer.... whatever you may be.......

Postby streetbeastINC. » December 22nd, 2010, 3:39 pm

ok pioneer....whatever you may be....

Postby hydroep » December 22nd, 2010, 3:40 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:u agree with them i must pay for a ups wen my house system is top of the line??? lol....thats bs.....pricemart does not do the saame we bought 3 flats today from them and they never ''advised that''

They do not know that your house system is top of the line...you didn't bring it in for them to check...did you? No...you just laughed and walked out.

In any case, I don't agree with them that you must pay for a UPS when your house system is allegedly top of the line.

What I do agree with is their stipulation that you must have some sort of UPS/regulator protecting the equipment. The problem here is the manner in which the condition was laid down.

As for the Price Smart situation, if they're willing to honour their warranty without ensuring their products are properly protected then woo-hoo. Buy all your stuff from them. That doesn't mean that other sellers can't take whatever steps they deem reasonable to ensure the proper functioning of their product.

Postby streetbeastINC. » December 22nd, 2010, 3:42 pm

its a scam to sell another product........

Postby hydroep » December 22nd, 2010, 3:45 pm

LOL...What a learned response... :lol:

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 22nd, 2010, 3:47 pm

pioneer wrote:You're jus tryin to slander the company, it is not a scam. Go anywhere in the world to buy a TV and they advise the same.

Typical backward trini thinkin yes.

advising is one thing.
This sounds like forcing it down your throat.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » December 22nd, 2010, 3:54 pm

same thing happened to me at the very same store i suppose, u were right to walk away, i told him to haul his arse...

FullStop

Postby FullStop » December 22nd, 2010, 3:59 pm

last year, just around this time, try hard to remember...

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » December 22nd, 2010, 4:01 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:u agree with them i must pay for a ups wen my house system is top of the line??? lol....thats bs.....pricemart does not do the saame we bought 3 flats today from them and they never ''advised that''

they probably changed their policy because it was affecting sales.

I also bought from them and they said that the only way they would honour the guarantee is if you purchase a surge protector with it.

Postby Sky » December 22nd, 2010, 4:15 pm

What does your house wiring have to do with fluctuating/dirty electricity from TTEC? Do you have a capacitor cluster to keep a constant voltage and current level?

Those new TV's can't take much jamming. And the resellers know that. And I bet they're fedup of customers coming back for exchanges. But just the fact that they're making some kind of condition like that means that THEY're honouring the warranty and not the manufacturer. That could also indicate suspect goods. And This is Trinidad, not china/japan/taiwan/. I don't want any unuthorised person fixing my LCD/LED TV.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » December 22nd, 2010, 4:19 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:its a scam to sell another product........

no, its not.

Didnt the seller state that you can bring your own power protection for their approval?

Lots of people do that. Its up to you if you want the sellers warranty or not.

Retailers must protect themselves.
Ive come across many customers who buy, disregard basic precautions and then come back with a damaged/'defective' item, demanding a refund on the spot.

you think Trinidadian retailers are bad and ignorant...you should meet up some Trinidadian Customers they ain't easy.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » December 22nd, 2010, 4:32 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
pioneer wrote:You're jus tryin to slander the company, it is not a scam. Go anywhere in the world to buy a TV and they advise the same.

Typical backward trini thinkin yes.

advising is one thing.
This sounds like forcing it down your throat.

That's exactly what he wants you all to believe.

If it's CZ i can tell you they don't force you to buy anything, they advise you use one. Why didn't he simply carry his regulator and make life easy?

Seems he showed arrogance and ignorance like the typical uninformed trini consumer.

Then in a couple months/days they bring it back bawlin "this tv is sh1t it eh wukkin i wuh back meh morney"

Regulator?...me eh use dat...my house is top of de line :roll:

Lots of electronic stores in trinidad are following this. "You need to purchase a UPS from our store if we are to honor the warranty".
A store in west mall even told me that they can't trust what I have, I need to purchase their 'approved' powercom rubbish.

I was given that same treatment even @ CTC electronics a year ago when I purchased a tv. Albiet the tv was so cheap, paying "$300" extra wasn't much for the warrenty.
Do other retailers throughout the US/ world behave like that? Nope. I actually had an XBOX destroyed back in 2003 and got it replaced free of charge.

There is no way for the store to prove you are using the UPS you bought from them anyway, it's just a money scam and people should wise up and stop supporting that rubbish.
Buy from Raptor instead.
Last edited by crazychinee on December 22nd, 2010, 4:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby streetbeastINC. » December 22nd, 2010, 4:34 pm

bro its not a problem...bought them elsewhere with full warranty......must i go into details of my house wiring?? lol...... anyway.... everyone has thr own views..... imho its a scam in yours its not.... the end....