xVJx wrote:Every1 doesnt understand!! We strike because of injustice being done to us! Since the beginning of maxi taxis the government has never done anything to help us!
you serious ? what government needs to help maxi/taxi drivers with?
Only promises but nothing delivered!
back in the 90's allyuh could have gotten control of city gate but it had alot of selfishness in the association where the late victor george is concerned eg. bus route men feel they were bigger than main road men because they paying to use the bus route so main road men could not speak at meetings or wasn't taken seriously if they did, on top of that when coming to critical negotiations with government, instead allyuh hire a proper lawyer or a consultant to do business on behalf of the organization, allyuh up dey with allyuh dunce self whilst government sending the best they have to negotiate ,it is the maxi men that mash up the maxi business you all could have had your buses repaired at ptsc with allyuh in control if you guys,( well victor) did play his cards right . but that time has past, now ptsc is recovering
and you guys stand to loose because allyuh missed the opportunity while fighting down one another Up to this day we have begged for a meeting with transport minister but haven't gotten it! I do agree some drivers on Route 2 have been unfair but why should the other routes be punished also?! The way i see it everyone biggest problem is the 'short drop' issue! We are working on that problem but everyone is determined to see maxi fall! We are living people with families too!!!
the only thing left for you guys to do is to be generous to the public,
not punish them, you all are not in control anymore
BTW we do pay tax every year!!! We hav BIR numbers. Besides tht abt half of the weeks earnings are spent back on the vehicle.drive properly
We pay alot for insurance. Route 2 drivers pay to use the bus route!
some called it business
nismoid wrote:lmao take win![]()
it doh make sense![]()
continue driving yuh maxi![]()
btw, in your opinion was the strike a success?
did you maxi men achieve your goals?
what were you guys hoping to achieve by the strike anyway?
to the general public, it looked as though the maxi striked for 1 day hoping to achieve whatever, and the minister simply sent out more transportation via ptsc, and the very next day its maxis back to work "normel normel" as if nothin happened the day before LMAO. even late yesterday there were maxis working and "picking up the slack" from the "strikers"
I'll give you guys a hint:- one day strike makes no sense, when allyuh striking, strike for a whole week, allyuh really feel Jack taking allyuh on with allyuh 1 day strike? come on
here take a look:- http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,133608.html
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/_CO ... 83039.html
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,133606.html
seems to me that the strike failed
Maxi taxi operators may soon be taxed to use the country’s main public transportation hub at City Gate, Port-of-Spain. And the legal team at the Ministry of Works is ironing out details of the taxes to be imposed, as Works and Transport Minister Jack Warner seems geared for another battle with the operators. The news of the taxes came hot of the heels of last Wednesday’s strike by maxi taxi drivers over the legalising of PH taxis, and in which Warner won out. The hub is used by hundreds of operators daily. Yesterday, Warner said the drivers will have to pay taxes for use of the parking area, security, cleaners and lighting. The car park is our compound which is kept and maintained by us. They (drivers) were paying $1 fee for the cost of this while we paid all the other costs for security and cleaning,” he fumed. “They are parking in our compound (City Gate) and they are paying nothing for it. We charged them $1 to use the facilities and they took us to court.”
Public will get chance to comment
Warner said the $1 user fee imposed in 2001 for every exit trip from City Gate was a token the drivers paid. “And therefore, now that they have won their matter in the Privy Council we are going to reassess the actual cost of maintaining the facility. Our legal team shall see how, of course, this fee shall be shared between them and us.” Last December, the Public Transport Service Corporation (PTSC) was forced to stop charging maxi taxi operators a $1 fee to exit the hub. The Judicial Committee of the Privy Council ordered the Government to stop collecting the fee and ordered a payout of $50 million as a refund for the fee they paid for the past nine years. Warner said he had a legal team looking at the whole issue. Warner said the details of the taxes are yet to be worked out and would eventually go out for public comment. “Let the public comment about it for a two-week period and then we shall implement. The public must comment because this must not be a Jack Warner thing or a ministry thing.” $3.6 million to upkeep facility.
Chairman of PTSC Devant Maharaj said every month the Government injected well in excess of $300,000 to maintain PTSC’s facilities which the drivers use. “This covers the cost of cleaners, security guards and 25 full time workers for the regulation of taxis. It costs us over $3.6 million every year to upkeep the hub.” Maharaj said PTSC was looking at a $3 fee “so we could reduce some of the expenditure.’ He explained, however, “This is a working figure, it may change up or down.” Maharaj said the $1 fee did not contribute significantly to the expenses. Of the $1 paid, Maharaj said PTSC collected 75 cents while $25 cents went into the associations’ coffers. Following the Judgement, Maharaj said the general manager of PTSC wrote the association indicating that they wanted to withdraw all services offered. “The associations met with us immediately asking that we hold our hand because they appreciate the contribution the State had made. In fact, they were supportive of a user fee.” Maharaj said if they had removed the services the association would not have been capable of getting in and out in an orderly fashion. Subsequent to that, Maharaj said Om Lalla, Cindy Bhagwandeen and Jagdeo Singh reviewed the judgement and have given an opinion of how to proceed with the issue of City Gate and the possible introduction of a fee system. Maharaj said he expects the drivers to resist the move.
redman10 wrote:tax for maxi men now...good for dem...steups..
http://www.guardian.co.tt/beta/news/2011/01/09/tax-maxi-men-city-gate
zoom rader wrote:redman10 wrote:tax for maxi men now...good for dem...steups..
I support this Tax. These owners live like kings some dont even live in Trini
Bizzare wrote:zoom rader wrote:redman10 wrote:tax for maxi men now...good for dem...steups..
I support this Tax. These owners live like kings some dont even live in Trini
You jus prove my point there...... See why this dude supports tax as those who tryin to impose it...... Nothing positive, jus cuz dey doh have maxi and ah man looking like he living nice, yuh wanna make tings a lil more difficult for him. But when it hits home yuh vex.....