Maxi Shutdown

Re: Maxi Shutdown

Postby redmanjp » January 7th, 2011, 9:35 am

^^ actually the PSA strike might have been successful after all I heard they are now being offered 9%

xVJx

Postby xVJx » January 7th, 2011, 3:45 pm

Every1 doesnt understand!! We strike because of injustice being done to us! Since the beginning of maxi taxis the government has never done anything to help us! Only promises but nothing delivered! Up to this day we have begged for a meeting with transport minister but haven't gotten it! I do agree some drivers on Route 2 have been unfair but why should the other routes be punished also?! The way i see it everyone biggest problem is the 'short drop' issue! We are working on that problem but everyone is determined to see maxi fall! We are living people with families too!!!

BTW we do pay tax every year!!! We hav BIR numbers. Besides tht abt half of the weeks earnings are spent back on the vehicle. We pay alot for insurance. Route 2 drivers pay to use the bus route!

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » January 7th, 2011, 5:15 pm

xVJx wrote:Every1 doesnt understand!! We strike because of injustice being done to us! Since the beginning of maxi taxis the government has never done anything to help us!
you serious ? what government needs to help maxi/taxi drivers with?
Only promises but nothing delivered!
back in the 90's allyuh could have gotten control of city gate but it had alot of selfishness in the association where the late victor george is concerned eg. bus route men feel they were bigger than main road men because they paying to use the bus route so main road men could not speak at meetings or wasn't taken seriously if they did, on top of that when coming to critical negotiations with government, instead allyuh hire a proper lawyer or a consultant to do business on behalf of the organization, allyuh up dey with allyuh dunce self whilst government sending the best they have to negotiate ,it is the maxi men that mash up the maxi business you all could have had your buses repaired at ptsc with allyuh in control if you guys,( well victor) did play his cards right . but that time has past, now ptsc is recovering
and you guys stand to loose because allyuh missed the opportunity while fighting down one another
Up to this day we have begged for a meeting with transport minister but haven't gotten it! I do agree some drivers on Route 2 have been unfair but why should the other routes be punished also?! The way i see it everyone biggest problem is the 'short drop' issue! We are working on that problem but everyone is determined to see maxi fall! We are living people with families too!!!
the only thing left for you guys to do is to be generous to the public,
not punish them, you all are not in control anymore

BTW we do pay tax every year!!! We hav BIR numbers. Besides tht abt half of the weeks earnings are spent back on the vehicle.drive properly
We pay alot for insurance. Route 2 drivers pay to use the bus route!
some called it business

Postby sMASH » January 7th, 2011, 5:49 pm

wuh ah go say, if iz too much hassle, shift profession. mega, sum it up pretty nicely dere.

was considering buying a maxi after we finish the house, because that is our only major expense, but since jackose may bolster ptsc to tackle the transport system, maxi system may become saturated.
might just settle for the taxi and lil garden wuk, and live in peace.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 7th, 2011, 9:08 pm

there is already a figure that gov't is willing to settle at......they are just offering to see whether psa would settle for less than what they would go to.....

zcarz

Postby zcarz » January 7th, 2011, 11:57 pm

Maxis need to be reclassified

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » January 8th, 2011, 10:26 am

maxi association playing big and bad the wrong way
they should have had their own parts supply , a foreign used lot for maxi taxi parts,
and their own fueling station just to name some. is thirty years they "big in the dance"
yet they getting on like is URP and bawling "government eh doing nottin for we"
them is one set ah posers.
when yuh big is when yuh have things under lock but no, they fight down the "better" thinking maxi drivers who could have move the business forward, only to end up begging while the smarter ones eventually moved on starting bigger successful businesses.
when Eric William bring this maxi thing most of them was ph drivers,now check them attitude, it is a shame now, because they lower themselves to be competing with ph drivers and that's right back where it all started.

commonsense01

Postby commonsense01 » January 8th, 2011, 5:56 pm

nismoid wrote:lmao take win :lol:
it doh make sense :agrue:
continue driving yuh maxi :lol:

btw, in your opinion was the strike a success?
did you maxi men achieve your goals?
what were you guys hoping to achieve by the strike anyway?

to the general public, it looked as though the maxi striked for 1 day hoping to achieve whatever, and the minister simply sent out more transportation via ptsc, and the very next day its maxis back to work "normel normel" as if nothin happened the day before LMAO. even late yesterday there were maxis working and "picking up the slack" from the "strikers"

I'll give you guys a hint:- one day strike makes no sense, when allyuh striking, strike for a whole week, allyuh really feel Jack taking allyuh on with allyuh 1 day strike? come on :lol:

here take a look:- http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,133608.html
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/_CO ... 83039.html
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,133606.html
seems to me that the strike failed

on both sides it failed and succeeded 1-maxi men loss a day income, the minsiter lost because he took buses from other routes and left south stranded to a point
My problem is why not inforce the law, the rural areas where no so call taxi works and the ph work and get a good pay, but if the police come and charge them 3times and i am sure that they will go get a taxi badge and convert their car H

Postby Bizzare » January 8th, 2011, 6:45 pm

Jealousy yes..... daz all I could say......

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » January 9th, 2011, 1:12 am

it start

http://www.guardian.co.tt/beta/news/2011/01/09/tax-maxi-men-city-gate

Maxi taxi operators may soon be taxed to use the country’s main public transportation hub at City Gate, Port-of-Spain. And the legal team at the Ministry of Works is ironing out details of the taxes to be imposed, as Works and Transport Minister Jack Warner seems geared for another battle with the operators. The news of the taxes came hot of the heels of last Wednesday’s strike by maxi taxi drivers over the legalising of PH taxis, and in which Warner won out. The hub is used by hundreds of operators daily. Yesterday, Warner said the drivers will have to pay taxes for use of the parking area, security, cleaners and lighting. The car park is our compound which is kept and maintained by us. They (drivers) were paying $1 fee for the cost of this while we paid all the other costs for security and cleaning,” he fumed. “They are parking in our compound (City Gate) and they are paying nothing for it. We charged them $1 to use the facilities and they took us to court.”

Public will get chance to comment

Warner said the $1 user fee imposed in 2001 for every exit trip from City Gate was a token the drivers paid. “And therefore, now that they have won their matter in the Privy Council we are going to reassess the actual cost of maintaining the facility. Our legal team shall see how, of course, this fee shall be shared between them and us.” Last December, the Public Transport Service Corporation (PTSC) was forced to stop charging maxi taxi operators a $1 fee to exit the hub. The Judicial Committee of the Privy Council ordered the Government to stop collecting the fee and ordered a payout of $50 million as a refund for the fee they paid for the past nine years. Warner said he had a legal team looking at the whole issue. Warner said the details of the taxes are yet to be worked out and would eventually go out for public comment. “Let the public comment about it for a two-week period and then we shall implement. The public must comment because this must not be a Jack Warner thing or a ministry thing.” $3.6 million to upkeep facility.

Chairman of PTSC Devant Maharaj said every month the Government injected well in excess of $300,000 to maintain PTSC’s facilities which the drivers use. “This covers the cost of cleaners, security guards and 25 full time workers for the regulation of taxis. It costs us over $3.6 million every year to upkeep the hub.” Maharaj said PTSC was looking at a $3 fee “so we could reduce some of the expenditure.’ He explained, however, “This is a working figure, it may change up or down.” Maharaj said the $1 fee did not contribute significantly to the expenses. Of the $1 paid, Maharaj said PTSC collected 75 cents while $25 cents went into the associations’ coffers. Following the Judgement, Maharaj said the general manager of PTSC wrote the association indicating that they wanted to withdraw all services offered. “The associations met with us immediately asking that we hold our hand because they appreciate the contribution the State had made. In fact, they were supportive of a user fee.” Maharaj said if they had removed the services the association would not have been capable of getting in and out in an orderly fashion. Subsequent to that, Maharaj said Om Lalla, Cindy Bhagwandeen and Jagdeo Singh reviewed the judgement and have given an opinion of how to proceed with the issue of City Gate and the possible introduction of a fee system. Maharaj said he expects the drivers to resist the move.

Postby S_2NR » January 9th, 2011, 6:12 pm

tax for maxi men now...good for dem...steups..

altec

Postby altec » January 9th, 2011, 9:44 pm

Ah just want to know if the maxi business so hard, why so many people in it? If it is so expensive to maintain a maxi, why owners mashing up their suspension with big heavy rims and low profile tyres?
Ah guess it must be hard since maxi drivers can't buy clothes to work in that is line with the law concerning taxi operator dress code.
An ent dem bigass piece ah "gold" that operators wear is fake? It have to be because the work hard ent. Tell me if is true that maxi operators does support the society by creating more jobs since it need ah heap ah police to keep all you operators in line from breaking every fackin road law it have. In spite ah all dat you operators does still try to teach the young school children to read and spell with dem mudass vulgar signs plastered on you maxi(s) ent?
Look, maxi men have had the travelling public gagged, hog-tied and bent over for years. Now maxi men taking shaft you all want us to feel sympathy?

BTW how much does a 24 seater make gross on the arima-pos route monthly?

Ok i've vented so i'm off to have a sip of tea, one lump of sugar and no cream .......tar-tar.

Postby Stephon. » January 10th, 2011, 12:15 am

I go real laugh if they get a 10% offered, then taxed 15% :lol:

Postby sMASH » January 10th, 2011, 7:51 am

when jackos bring down the fleet of buses to bolster the public transport system, i think then i would buy a panel van,,, qd 32, 12 seater, graphics (oh, sry, grafix), 18" low profile crims, tint, dual ac, dvd system, white with green stripe running around, $50 000

Postby zoom rader » January 10th, 2011, 8:05 am

redman10 wrote:tax for maxi men now...good for dem...steups..

I support this Tax. These owners live like kings some dont even live in Trini

Postby 16 cycles » January 10th, 2011, 5:46 pm

been traveling from the arima to pos route many years....

the fares have been pretty good thus far - and is probably the lowest of all the routes...compare to a taxi round QPP @ $4

the short drop prices are insane though on the PBR....

the arima taxi stand is a public urinal - maxi men to blame for that

charging public to reach curepe instead of going to POS

after 7 its almost impossible to get a main road maxi to go further than five rivers

inconsiderate driving, stopping at the corner of the arima health centre on the main rd and blocking everyone else from filtering on to main road...

cutting in the lines by their own fellow maxi drivers - contributing to the dis-order

dropping off passengers is chaos in arima in the afternoon -

after 330pm - your ar$e dark if you aint get a maxi yet - this is a gov't ptsc maxi problem...if the govt aint see any maxis to come for ppl...send a bus....till next maxi show up

nismoid

Postby nismoid » January 10th, 2011, 6:58 pm

^^^ kinda hard to point out the positives ent?

Postby Bizzare » January 10th, 2011, 8:08 pm

You jus prove my point there...... See why this dude supports tax as those who tryin to impose it...... Nothing positive, jus cuz dey doh have maxi and ah man looking like he living nice, yuh wanna make tings a lil more difficult for him. But when it hits home yuh vex.....

Postby zoom rader » January 10th, 2011, 8:33 pm

Bizzare wrote:

You jus prove my point there...... See why this dude supports tax as those who tryin to impose it...... Nothing positive, jus cuz dey doh have maxi and ah man looking like he living nice, yuh wanna make tings a lil more difficult for him. But when it hits home yuh vex.....

Dude I know maxi men that are living the high life.They own a fleet of maxis most of them live in the USA. They pay no income taxes and give nothing back to T&T. They have huge houses. If we expect this country to move forward then we must stop this freeness. We have to many people that pay on income taxes but live lifes better that the normal everyday worker. If these every same maxi men had taxis in the US and UK then they must pay there income tax. What they cant pay a $3 tax .