Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby M_2NR » May 10th, 2011, 2:33 pm

better yet get this for your iPad:
viewtopic.php?p=5305092#p5305092

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 10th, 2011, 2:35 pm

no problem, I've had absolutely no problems with the gevey pro so far, I'm glad I waited for the pro to come out to fix whatever problems the original had, full bars in Trincity all the way down to westmall side. I'll do an in-depth review of it sometime in the next couple days and post the video link for it on here. btw my iPhone 4 isn't jailbroken nor has the baseband preserved, I got tired of that crap.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 10th, 2011, 2:41 pm

Chiney wrote:send link

cuz i seeing so much things for them....lol ..cant choose

http://www.otterbox.com/iPad-2-Defender-Series-Case/APL2-IPAD2,default,pd.html?dwvar_APL2-IPAD2_color=D9&start=1&cgid=ipad-2-cases

don't worry about the price on the actual site, amazon generally has all otterbox products at least 30 -50% off. it will be released any day now so for the time being keep your baby safe .

it comes with a screen shield but i recommend SGP's screen protectors, I use otterbox products and sgp screen protectors on my phones and ipad and I couldn't be happier.

A little pricey but it's worth it to protect your investment.
http://www.sgpstore.com/tablets/apple/ipad-2/sgp-ipad-2-3g-wifi-screen-protector-steinheil-series.html

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » May 10th, 2011, 2:56 pm

Chiney wrote:gettin my ipad thursday :d

what date did you order it ? ...

Postby Chimera » May 10th, 2011, 3:21 pm

kk, used snowbreeze,created the custom ipsw and restored via itunes

still "laggy" tho

could it be the screen? :S

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 10th, 2011, 3:26 pm

@ABA Trading LTD, do you have a screen protector on it?

Postby Chimera » May 10th, 2011, 3:28 pm

nope i removed the screen protector to see if that was the prob

Postby Chimera » May 10th, 2011, 4:07 pm

iz nuh rly a prob for me to try a new lcd & digitizer as i have a few but in the same breath i doh rly wanna open the phone and its not the lcd lol

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 10th, 2011, 4:49 pm

that's weird man hope that's not the case either but if it is the digitizer my advise is to hold out and wait for the next iPhone

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 10th, 2011, 6:03 pm

Chiney, collected mine last week...works really sweet...cant wait for the jailbreak...

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 10th, 2011, 6:54 pm

▀▀▀▀▀ iDynamic ▀▀▀▀▀ wrote:

ordered it from apple like friday b4 last.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » May 10th, 2011, 8:17 pm

Chiney wrote:
▀▀▀▀▀ iDynamic ▀▀▀▀▀ wrote:

ordered it from apple like friday b4 last.

ok thnx

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » May 11th, 2011, 10:00 am

Not sure if this is a repost , was searching and didnt seem to find this video in the thread.....

3D Display and Head tracking

that video is rell thief head thing

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 11th, 2011, 11:34 am

saw that already a while back on gizmodo or macrumors not sure what it was, it's just an illusion

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 11th, 2011, 12:00 pm

^ not really an illusion - it uses face tracking to change the angle images on the screen to appear as though they have dimension

no more of an illusion than 3D in cinema

I've seen demos of it done with a Wii sensor bar as well

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 11th, 2011, 5:21 pm

Apple has just pushed out a software update to the Apple TV and it’s version 4.2.2 build number 8F305. The update is likely bug fix related.

Update: Here are the updates:

Apple TV Software Update 4.2.2 features

Jailbreakers might want to hold off.

------

What you guys think about what he had to say?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 11th, 2011, 6:39 pm

Chris Pirillo is strange, ever since TechTV - but there is truth in what he is saying here.

I had an unlocked and jailbroken 2G and later an unlocked and jailbroken 3GS - now I have a factory unlocked iPhone 4 and I have no interest in jailbreaking it - right now it just works and it works well.

Yes I see great promise in Android, but he's right, there's a new great one every week - there might be a thing such as "too open" for a platform.

Recently here I've become a Google fanboy - their Google Apps just rock
gmail (mail.trinituner.com runs on gmail), Google docs, Google calendar, Google notes, Google Chrome, DFP Small Business, Google Ad Manager, Google Adsense, Google Adwords, Google Analytics, Youtube - I use it all.

and one would think that is more reason for me to switch to Android - but Google Apps work great on an iPhone, so no reason to switch.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 11th, 2011, 7:19 pm

I agree. I also use a lot of Google products, Gmail, Google Sync, Calendar, Chrome, YouTube, Docs, etc but switching to an Android phone doesn't make sense as of now. The major problem with that platform is fragmentation. In his written article relating to the video I posted, Chris noted the Samsung Galaxy S. I recently suggested that my younger brother get that over the BlackBerry Torch, cause at the time I was thinking that that was Samsung's flagship phone & that they wouldn't let it fall behind on updates. Heh, so much for that thought. I've been told it can now at least run 2.2 in the days when 2.3.4 (or so) is the latest update. Another example of fragmentation is the Motorola Atrix which zcrugby just today sold his iPhone 4 in order to pay for. It comes with 2.2. Why not 2.3 from the get go? (Although I've read that Google plans to closing those gaps, though I doubt it would extend back as far as the Galaxy S when the Galaxy S II is out).

If I was to make the switch it would have to be one of the Google Nexus phones, namely the S. I remember its predecessor the Nexus One which was, on paper, better than the iPhone at the time the iPhone 3G. I expected it to sell well & be the "iPhone killer" that apparently is still being looked for & it didn't. The 3GS ended up being released & all was still well in iPhone land.

I also agree with the fact that there are too many new ones. If you are the person who cares about getting the best of the best in the world of Android you can, for a week (as he said). I remember I used to say when I was on the Nokia bandwagon before I got my 2G that you could walk into a store get the latest Nokia but by the time you left the store it was the 3rd or 4th best.

Yes Android wins if you want to have a customized experience & it would be nice if Apple at least gave their users the option of Flash support.

To end, & again support what he said, a line from a similar discussion that I was having last night.

It could be a quad core, GSM/CDMA phone with a 3D camera but if it running Windows Mobile 6.5 its gonna suck

Postby M_2NR » May 11th, 2011, 7:31 pm

The flash game to be honest is really being beaten down. Lots of sites are adopting HTML5 now. Hell even porn sites using it!
Check my post on the prev. page for this. I talked about it already :) basically, you can have all the hardcore guts once there is a lame user experience... you aint gonna win.

and seriously... Z sold his i4 factory unlocked... :| for an Atrix... he could post it here on tuner. how much he got for it?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 11th, 2011, 7:41 pm

I do agree the whole Flash thing is beating a dead horse these days. By the time Skyfire tried its little thing for iOS it was pretty much pointless. I think at the time they said 54% of noteworthy websites were HTML5 compatible. I also remember the numbers about those 2 things, like Flash used > 50% CPU vs HTML5 which was < 20% & how Flash content wiped out 2 hours of battery life vs not using it at all.

In the end, iOS & the iPhone is the complete package to me. Just a complete smooth running set up & what Android has that iOS doesn't isn't a 'must-have' in my eyes.

As far as his iPhone 4 goes, he did post it here. May still be listed somewhere in the Miscellaneous section. Ended up getting $5500 for it & the Atrix he won on eBay earlier in the week. Hope he enjoys 2.2 (which it comes with instead of 2.3) while I update to 5.0 in June (hopefully).

Postby Chimera » May 11th, 2011, 7:45 pm

got me a 2 week old aria last night for $1000, never had an HTC before, mamoo pagal give me instructions on how to root it (when i get chance i will)

Right now I have a berry 9700, a iphone 3gs and well the htc...i only really need two phones so I trying to figure out which one to get rid of..the 3gs or the HTC aria (need the berry as all my business cards/adds have the bbm pin on them)

One thing i noticed so far (which im pretty sure might be a easy fix/program) is when you load a email on your iphone you will see the images just as if you were on a pc, on the htc..you see the image links which you can click on

that's actually one of the main things for me as I need to quickly see the images that people email by simple scrolling down and seeing them one after the other..not clicking each image to open

Postby M_2NR » May 11th, 2011, 7:59 pm

Well to be honest if images are >1MB they wont download so the link thing will still arise. I am facing a dilemma myself! But i really dont see how i can give up on iOS... I dont see how i would go and relearn an ecosystem that i already know enough in iOS.

I just wished the new iPhone would drop earlier as i dont see myself bagging that i4 for 700usd.

Z got a really good price for that i4 though. I'll give him a week... actually no.. a month. But some people fit in well with the iOS to Android eh.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » May 11th, 2011, 9:00 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:got me a 2 week old aria last night for $1000, never had an HTC before, mamoo pagal give me instructions on how to root it (when i get chance i will)

Right now I have a berry 9700, a iphone 3gs and well the htc...i only really need two phones so I trying to figure out which one to get rid of..the 3gs or the HTC aria (need the berry as all my business cards/adds have the bbm pin on them)

One thing i noticed so far (which im pretty sure might be a easy fix/program) is when you load a email on your iphone you will see the images just as if you were on a pc, on the htc..you see the image links which you can click on

that's actually one of the main things for me as I need to quickly see the images that people email by simple scrolling down and seeing them one after the other..not clicking each image to open

yo check out k9 mail app for android. You can get it from the market for free.........
Has alot of features for email. Makes life alot easier especially if u have multiple accounts. It will also view attachments that r pics. There is alot of flexibility with this app

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 11th, 2011, 10:13 pm

Apple has released iPhoto 9.1.3 to fix a minor bug affecting events.

iPhoto 9.1.3 Update
This update fixes a problem that could cause some events merged in iPhoto to be split back into multiple events on iOS devices after being synced.

The update is recommended for all users of iPhoto '11.

You can download the update by selecting Software Update from the Apple Menu at the top left of your screen.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 11th, 2011, 10:59 pm

The iPhone Dev-Team has released a PwnageTool bundle to jailbreak the new Apple TV 4.3 (4.22) build 8F305 firmware.

Apple released a minor update to iOS 4.3 for AppleTV2G (the IPSW name still says 4.3, but the build version changed from 8F202 to 8F305). @i0n1c was once again able to quickly port his original 4.3.1 untether (the exploit that wouldn’t die!) to this version.

If you do feel like updating to the "new" 4.3, you’ll need to drop this bundle into the correct folder in PwnageTool.app.

That was quick.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 12th, 2011, 1:34 pm

Stampr is a new Cydia tweak that can add customized timestamps to your iPhone photos.

Allows you to have timestamps on photos inside camera.app. You can take a photo with the normal camera app, and will have two photos taken, one, which is the original, and one with the timestamp. (Of slightly lower resolution) Easily customizable from settings, you can adjust the font size. The font color, even have custom text before the time stamp. You can have a 24 hour time if you'd like, and the time stamp also includes the date. Tested and completely works on 4.2+ (including Verizon iPhone).

No new icons are added to your home screen. Tweak options can be configured from Settings.app

You can download Stampr from the Big Boss Cydia repository.

------

When you wake up in the morning, bleary-eyed and still in bed, do you reach for your phone to check Facebook or read an email? If you answered yes, you are not alone. According to a survey conducted by telecommunications hardware manufacturer Ericsson, 35% of respondents grab their iPhone or Android phone and launch a mobile app before getting out of bed.

Checking Facebook and other social networks is the most popular activity with 18% of people reading their news feed while still in the sack. This trend of early morning Facebook-ing may increase in the future as 20% of survey respondents expect to buy a new mobile phone in the near future. One with Facebook, we presume.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 12th, 2011, 3:31 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:

IS PORN YUH WATCHING DEY???

Postby Chimera » May 12th, 2011, 4:19 pm

lol duane is an ass eh, man making me out jus so jus so

but na, does need to see people orders on my email with the image files

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 12th, 2011, 5:29 pm

^ w/e :x

Anyone using Netflix or Crackle on their iOS device can enter the usvideo.org DNS in this format "primary, secondary" in their wifi settings in the DNS field - it works!

so you can be anywhere where is a hotspot and take in your movies on your iOS device.
Great for iPad owners!!!

Postby M_2NR » May 12th, 2011, 8:09 pm

Thankfully he didn't read my post about flash :oops:

Pandora works too D? HSS being a buttom now..