Question for speed men

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 20th, 2011, 9:28 am

I would like to know how much does it actually cost to do an entire engine mod,for example sr20 turbo,taking into consideration short term and long term problems,or would it be better to buy a car which you don't have to interfere with,it may not be as fast as using an sr but u get my drift,something like Rx7 or 8, or probably wrx,

thanks for the info.
and please aint want nobody who feel they know everything posting here,cuz real s*** does start.

Re: Question for speed men

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 20th, 2011, 9:45 am

buying speed is cheaper than building in the long run, but building a project is a lot more fun.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 20th, 2011, 10:36 am

makes sense,there

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » May 20th, 2011, 5:27 pm

what would be considered an entire engine mod?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 20th, 2011, 8:22 pm

well id say,moving from stock engine and doing an entire conversion (turbo) the full works,going all out and getting ready for drags, that's what i think.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » May 21st, 2011, 12:45 am

install vtec solenoids and have fun.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 21st, 2011, 7:52 am

avreage cost of doing this??

5forward

Postby 5forward » May 21st, 2011, 9:32 am

wait...you saying that you want track speed?...or street speed?

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » May 21st, 2011, 12:00 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:avreage cost of doing this??

check bamboo :lol:

5forward wrote:wait...you saying that you want track speed?...or street speed?

your question is as vague as his :?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 21st, 2011, 12:17 pm

i was just wondering which is better, doing an actual conversion from stock to whatever,or just buying a fast car,n u have i don't think track speed is such a good idea so im guessing street speed,you know something just for drags.

KevinR

Postby KevinR » May 22nd, 2011, 8:01 pm

the building is always fun..but it depends on who u doin it by. If u kno someone personally or YOU urself know alot about the ticks and tocks of ur ride then go for the build, if not stick to the buy... then it depends on the engine and how much mods u doing on it, cause too much mods can screw up in the short term and if its for street, then that mite be embarassing...... who that doesnt sound like knowing too much bro... Good luck

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 22nd, 2011, 10:44 pm

sounding like buying is lil safer than building so far,thanks for the info ppl.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » May 23rd, 2011, 2:06 am

building it properly and not driving like a clown would keep your car running for a long time.

on the other hand.. you buy a "fast car" and driving like a clown. Wont last long anyways.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 23rd, 2011, 7:59 am

building it properly and not driving like a clown would keep your car running for a long time.

on the other hand.. you buy a "fast car" and driving like a clown. Wont last long anyways.

x10

driving like a clown is not in my portfolio,just looking for a good looking "fast" car show thing nah,hence i asked about the rx7 or the 8. nutting to extravagant.

ivar

Postby ivar » May 24th, 2011, 2:52 pm

jnqaz wrote:install vtec solenoids and have fun.

Elaborate a bit plz.... :drinking:

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » May 25th, 2011, 12:57 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:driving like a clown is not in my portfolio,just looking for a good looking "fast" car show thing nah,hence i asked about the rx7 or the 8. nutting to extravagant.

rx8's are slow. :?

ivar wrote:

go pick up some vtec solenoids from bamboo. Preferably from the h22 motors. Those had the biggest solenoids. Drive to your electrician and ask him to hook it up for you. Any competent electrician can do it.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 25th, 2011, 1:06 am

well i'd imagine ud say rx8 slow cuz fast for you might be like wow, aint looking for nuttin to reach your standards of being fast,lol won't even want to imagine what you all consider fast,id prob say r34 or 35,not so?? the 8 lil faster than the avg vehicle i think,so it could work for me.

Postby bushwakka » May 25th, 2011, 9:31 am

^^u tell him bai

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 25th, 2011, 12:46 pm

what's the sense in having so much of a 'fast' car an no where in trinidad to run it, so id say just the average speed is good enuf.

5forward

Postby 5forward » May 25th, 2011, 3:00 pm

doh start that "no where in trinidad to run it" talk please...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 25th, 2011, 8:25 pm

lmao sry bro,for my general knowledge,what's the issue behind that type of conversation.

wilddog

Postby wilddog » May 26th, 2011, 8:41 am

if u really like cars building is best
......fun........

suzieboy

Postby suzieboy » May 26th, 2011, 11:27 am

wilddog wrote:if u really like cars building is best
......fun........

....An That's if u reallllly like it bec chances are u would run into headaches that are unforeseen so prepare urself if thats the route u taking. but in the end that headache wud all be jus a dream if ur project turnout bess. :)

rossi

Postby rossi » May 26th, 2011, 11:37 am

OP...I see what's going on....buy the rx8 and do some minor mods to it. You will have a bit of fassness at your fingertips.
You don't want to buy an engine and do a whole setta mods to it that will take time.
You want to get on the street! So go ahead with the purchase of the car.

Postby eliteauto » May 26th, 2011, 11:37 am

jnqaz wrote:
ivar wrote:

go pick up some vtec solenoids from bamboo. Preferably from the h22 motors. Those had the biggest solenoids. Drive to your electrician and ask him to hook it up for you. Any competent electrician can do it.

Ryan in the Bamboo installed mine in the Tezza, I used the F20B solenoids cause I intend to go boost and my car has a leather interior, even now as an N/A car I does wet up Banzai's boosted Legacy

Postby TRAE » May 26th, 2011, 11:38 am

when you start building--- you never stop

Postby Sky » May 26th, 2011, 11:50 am

The real question. Panty.

If you buy you get panty.
If you build, its still a grocery getter on the outside, so you hadda fight down panty.
So you hadda rev up stop light to stop light, you hadda rice out the car a lil bit to show it have some speed. You hadda beat she man in a h/way run. All that drama.
So if the ultimate goal is panty, buy.
Men in rx8 does get panty and the girl dunno the rx8 doh have 2 horses to rub together.

Postby eliteauto » May 26th, 2011, 12:03 pm

panty

zcarz

Postby zcarz » May 26th, 2011, 12:04 pm

buy a subaru or an evo, good fun, small engines, you don't need to do a thing to them. key is do research and buy a car that you can pull a lot of power from by simple modding (i.e engines that come with stock turbos, parts easily available, stock internals can handle a lot of power).. it depends on what you want really, i can't say how much modding you want to do, and what you want to change. Simple case, VG30DETT vs RB26DETT. The VG has a bit more torque and stock is slightly more powerful that the RB but simple things like changing the air filter and exhaust will boost you 40hp on the RB, which you won't get from the VG, so if you're gonna build get an engine that's friendly to modding and not a pain to work with. if you know you're not gonna do a lot of mods then buy whatever you want.

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » May 26th, 2011, 12:14 pm

Sky wrote:The real question. Panty.

If you buy you get panty.
If you build, its still a grocery getter on the outside, so you hadda fight down panty.
So you hadda rev up stop light to stop light, you hadda rice out the car a lil bit to show it have some speed. You hadda beat she man in a h/way run. All that drama.
So if the ultimate goal is panty, buy.
Men in rx8 does get panty and the girl dunno the rx8 doh have 2 horses to rub together.

^^^Well said... :evilbat: