Database men around dat too

Technicians could either work for a company or privately

Help Desk is like 5k a month

Better I lecture yes

Re: Salaries of Professionals in T&T

Postby Habit7 » July 13th, 2011, 1:31 pm

But the things that more affect the cost of living like utilities, taxes, fuel, health care, rent, entertainment,etc. is cheaper in Trinidad. Thats why retirees in the US migrate to developing countries because on their fixed income, there might not be able to cope, but their US dollars here will give them comfortable lives.

West Indians need to move away from this view that the US and UK are paradises just waiting to be taking advantage of. Then they find themselves in a basement apartment with three jobs, working 12hours a day, six days a week, covered in bills, while there trini family on living on 2 lots of land sending them money to buy clothes to send down in a barrel.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 13th, 2011, 1:45 pm

if they smart, tell them come here open their own business offering their specialized skill/service and make 20,30,40,60,100,000+ a month.. trini's love doing business with and believe anyone with an american accent :roll:

Postby pugboy » July 13th, 2011, 3:56 pm

what about malpractice insurance ?
how much do docs pay ?

worksux101 wrote:1st year out of med school you make 10.5-11.5k after tax...depending on the field, you may make more, for example in MHWH you get close to 15k a month because of the extra call sessions...
Dentists in their first year make 5-6k...

After the first year, you can work privately if you wish...how much you make depends on where and how much you work...if you stay within the hospital, again it depends on which field you work..standard is 16-20K after tax...in some fields you'd be forced to take extra call and can earn up to 30k in some cases...
Dentists work privately after their first year...they would average 15-20K for a year or two...some a bit more...depending on which practice and clientelle, it'll steadily go up to 30-40k over a few years, sometimes higher...
A medical registrar (having done your postgraduate) makes 25k or so, but work alot less...
Consultants (higher speicalty) make in the 30k region...and work even less lol...
Because the latter two generally are more experienced, have lower working hours and dont usually stay in the hospital for call days, they are more likely to work privately and thus make more..however i know quite a few house officers who do both as well...

Hope that clears the debate above on medical salaries

Postby Bizzare » July 13th, 2011, 4:06 pm

Bezman wrote:if they smart, tell them come here open their own business offering their specialized skill/service and make 20,30,40,60,100,000+ a month.. trini's love doing business with and believe anyone with an american accent :roll:

I know a guy with an accent bulling dong d place and telling girls he has a modelling agency abroad etc etc and dey all buy it...... No, not the soft piggy guy in d videos :lol: He doh have an accent.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » July 13th, 2011, 4:24 pm

teems1 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:what about IT professionals? i feel we are the lowest paid group of workers locally- ah hear in one place people with MCSE getting only 5k :shock:

IT is such a large umbrella under. People who belong are

Helpdesk
PC Technicians
Operators
Project Leaders, Architects, Programmers, Analysts, Testers, Change Management
System Admins
Network Technicians
Network Admins
Database Admins
etc.

When quoting a salary it's better to be specific about their exact job, instead of just saying IT.

Very true .... I know security specialists who making almost 10 times that .... but these are folks who have years of specialization in just IT security ...... IS auditors and digital forensic specialists also make much more than your typical MCSE ... of course it have many paper MCSEs out there who don't know their elbow from dey arsehole when you put them in the real world.

Postby Chimera » July 13th, 2011, 5:07 pm

worksux101 wrote:Dentists work privately after their first year...they would average 15-20K for a year or two...some a bit more...depending on which practice and clientelle, it'll steadily go up to 30-40k over a few years, sometimes higher...

Some dentists in Trinidad easily clearing 200-300k a month, those who doing work for Trinidad's armed forces though.

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » July 13th, 2011, 5:12 pm

Habit7 wrote:West Indians need to move away from this view that the US and UK are paradises just waiting to be taking advantage of. Then they find themselves in a basement apartment with three jobs, working 12hours a day, six days a week, covered in bills, while there trini family on living on 2 lots of land sending them money to buy clothes to send down in a barrel.

Don't know about the UK but the US is a (physically) large country. And this size has consequences. For example, in Michigan the quality of life varies vastly if you are in downtown Detroit or if you are in Ann Arbor. In downtown Detroit (just as in Laventille) you can't walk on the road. But Ann Arbor is nice and relatively crime free.

This difference between areas in the US is perhaps due to the size of the country. You can't really get this kind of difference (one area has much less crime than the other) in Trinidad because we are a (physically) small country.

If you are outside of the big cities, the price of real estate is comparable if not better than trinidad, for example

http://www.reinhartrealtors.com/find_a_home/8956393/3816_SANTA_FE_TRAIL_ANN_ARBOR_MI_48108

Not to mention you can actually get water 24 hours a day :shock:

I don't think I need to tell you about the price of cars as compared to trinidad.

The skybox companies in trinidad make a killing because trinis have realized that they can get basic items (clothes, car parts, tools..) at much more reasonable prices (and better quality) in the states than in trinidad.

Habit7 wrote:while there trini family on living on 2 lots of land sending them money to buy clothes to send down in a barrel.

This is not reality -- a house on 2 lots of land is a luxury that many trinis can't afford.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 13th, 2011, 5:18 pm

Businessmen make lots of money....

Some men who never went to school making more money,,, welding and doing other trades than those of us who went to school and UWI and ketch we tail to get a small job in the system working 8-4...steups.....

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » July 13th, 2011, 5:19 pm

ABA, and there are some dentists that make much more than that, but they own their own practices and have others working for them...

pugboy, malpractice insurance depends on how much experience you've got and what field you work in...it can vary from a few hundred to tens of thousands a year...

Racegod

Postby Racegod » July 13th, 2011, 5:29 pm

Salaries in IT in Trini varies... Oil and Gas, Services/Vendors, gov't, Telco, Financial.. etc...

Starting:
Oil and Gas and Industries (aka Petrotrin, BG, Atlantic, Methanex, etc) - 13k+
Services/Vendors - 4500 to maybe if you holding a managerial post or one of a kind in your field 20k...
Telco - 13k to sky is the limit...

It is very dependent on your skill level too... Windows, Unix, Networking and Security, Database Admin, etc...

The typical problem that exists in Trinidad is they want to hire one IT person that does everything...

Field too big to give a range too... lets just say there is money to be made working in the right sector with the right skill sets... My problem with IT in Trinidad, is universities pumping out graduates like SAM's, SBCS, UWI, CTS with limited usable skills... so graduates need to go get MCITP, CCNA, ITIL, etc.. just to get a decent paying job...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 13th, 2011, 5:43 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Businessmen make lots of money....

Some men who never went to school making more money,,, welding and doing other trades than those of us who went to school and UWI and ketch we tail to get a small job in the system working 8-4...steups.....
yup

sometimes these days A students work for C students

Habit7 wrote:But the things that more affect the cost of living like utilities, taxes, fuel, health care, rent, entertainment,etc. is cheaper in Trinidad. Thats why retirees in the US migrate to developing countries because on their fixed income, there might not be able to cope, but their US dollars here will give them comfortable lives.

West Indians need to move away from this view that the US and UK are paradises just waiting to be taking advantage of. Then they find themselves in a basement apartment with three jobs, working 12hours a day, six days a week, covered in bills, while there trini family on living on 2 lots of land sending them money to buy clothes to send down in a barrel.
ain't that the truth!

Postby gt4tified » July 13th, 2011, 5:48 pm

DVD pirates and doubles men pwn all ah dem.

Postby Chimera » July 13th, 2011, 5:50 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:sometimes these days A students work for C students

doh be on C students eh bigman.

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » July 13th, 2011, 6:09 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Businessmen make lots of money....

yup

sometimes these days A students work for C students

Habit7 wrote:But the things that more affect the cost of living like utilities, taxes, fuel, health care, rent, entertainment,etc. is cheaper in Trinidad. Thats why retirees in the US migrate to developing countries because on their fixed income, there might not be able to cope, but their US dollars here will give them comfortable lives.

ain't that the truth!

It 'ain't' the whole truth

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 13th, 2011, 6:19 pm

^ please share

I'm sure it might not even be the norm, but it is a regular occurrence

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 13th, 2011, 6:20 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:sometimes these days A students work for C students

doh be on C students eh bigman.
I's ah D student dan

crysys

Postby crysys » July 13th, 2011, 6:34 pm

IT services -
WEB designser
programers
Netowrk specialist

BSc and 1 yrs experice

9k - 15k

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » July 13th, 2011, 6:45 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ please share

Habit7 seems to be describing the situation of an illegal immigrant (or unskilled individual) living in Queens. However, IF (and this is a big if) a person can work legally in the States as a professional (which is the topic of this thread) then life isn't that bad --

1. Crime is less if you are out of the big cities (say in a small city like Austin TX, Ann Arbor MI). I've seen suburbs in small US cities -- houses have little burglarproofing or fences
2. utilities and agencies actually work (compare to WASA)
3. real estate can actually be cheaper than Trinidad
4. we all know about the price of cars in Trinidad versus the US
5. access to much better health and education
6. basic items are cheaper (think about why trinis make extensive use of skyboxes)

Postby Sky » July 13th, 2011, 6:47 pm

Trinidad & Tobago sh!ts milk and honey and I can't fathom how people insist on looking for a better life in 1st world countries. I gonna pay over 200k for my car, pay my $120 to fill it up and go by the parlour and buy my $12.50 bread. Because this is the good life.

Postby S_2NR » July 13th, 2011, 7:11 pm

Corn Bird wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ please share

Habit7 seems to be describing the situation of an illegal immigrant (or unskilled individual) living in Queens. However, IF (and this is a big if) a person can work legally in the States as a professional (which is the topic of this thread) then life isn't that bad --

1. Crime is less if you are out of the big cities (say in a small city like Austin TX, Ann Arbor MI). I've seen suburbs in small US cities -- houses have little burglarproofing or fences
2. utilities and agencies actually work (compare to WASA)
3. real estate can actually be cheaper than Trinidad
4. we all know about the price of cars in Trinidad versus the US
5. access to much better health and education
6. basic items are cheaper (think about why trinis make extensive use of skyboxes)

very true

i think patriotism blinding some ppl in here.
Trinidad is a 3rd world country, US,UK and Canada are first world.
The cost of living in first world countries is less and the standard of living is higher.
Last edited by S_2NR on July 13th, 2011, 7:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby r3iXmann » July 13th, 2011, 7:17 pm

Sky wrote:Trinidad & Tobago sh!ts milk and honey and I can't fathom how people insist on looking for a better life in 1st world countries. I gonna pay over 200k for my car, pay my $120 to fill it up and go by the parlour and buy my $12.50 bread. Because this is the good life.

QFT!

Half the time those that "pack up and gone" catching their arses wherever they are but too shame to come back :lol:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 13th, 2011, 7:24 pm

didn't read all the posts eh but i surprised no one mentioned how much members of national security make.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » July 13th, 2011, 7:45 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
Sky wrote:Trinidad & Tobago sh!ts milk and honey and I can't fathom how people insist on looking for a better life in 1st world countries. I gonna pay over 200k for my car, pay my $120 to fill it up and go by the parlour and buy my $12.50 bread. Because this is the good life.

QFT!

Half the time those that "pack up and gone" catching their arses wherever they are but too shame to come back :lol:

I know a few that sold everything, pack up and left

End up working in Mac donalds

Coming back here with nothing and had to start over

Postby Chimera » July 13th, 2011, 7:47 pm

RapToR wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:

QFT!

I know a few that sold everything, pack up and left

End up working in Mac donalds

Coming back here with nothing and had to start over

doh be making out my scene nah bigman

use to get free lunch in Mc D's as part of the perks.

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 13th, 2011, 8:54 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:But seriously i think mid management professionals earn an average roughly $14-16k

being in HR I can tell you, the average starts around there...
whoever those guys are will cetch their arse to get a job when they come back in trini..

How does HR pay these days on an average for someone fresh outta uwi?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 13th, 2011, 9:03 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
SmokeyGTi wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:But seriously i think mid management professionals earn an average roughly $14-16k

being in HR I can tell you, the average starts around there...
whoever those guys are will cetch their arse to get a job when they come back in trini..

How does HR pay these days on an average for someone fresh outta uwi?[/quotes

it depends on whether you're private sector or public sector,private sector jobs( hr department) usually pay more,I have seen this for myself

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » July 14th, 2011, 3:19 am

hmmmm so much for leaving school and making some nice $$$...should have really take my uncle advice and gone offshore bleh

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 14th, 2011, 3:49 am

lostallos101 wrote:hmmmm so much for leaving school and making some nice $$$...should have really take my uncle advice and gone offshore bleh

yeah bro...we all live the dream while in school.........

Gonna pass get my subjects ....get my degree afterwards.....and then make some real dollars!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

buy the BMW and have that Mansion on the hill..............!!!!!!

yeah Fing right!!!!!!!

geez......life so cruel.....!!!!!!

Postby bluefete » July 14th, 2011, 9:12 am

How much a lecturer does make?