worksux101 wrote:1st year out of med school you make 10.5-11.5k after tax...depending on the field, you may make more, for example in MHWH you get close to 15k a month because of the extra call sessions...
Dentists in their first year make 5-6k...
After the first year, you can work privately if you wish...how much you make depends on where and how much you work...if you stay within the hospital, again it depends on which field you work..standard is 16-20K after tax...in some fields you'd be forced to take extra call and can earn up to 30k in some cases...
Dentists work privately after their first year...they would average 15-20K for a year or two...some a bit more...depending on which practice and clientelle, it'll steadily go up to 30-40k over a few years, sometimes higher...
A medical registrar (having done your postgraduate) makes 25k or so, but work alot less...
Consultants (higher speicalty) make in the 30k region...and work even less lol...
Because the latter two generally are more experienced, have lower working hours and dont usually stay in the hospital for call days, they are more likely to work privately and thus make more..however i know quite a few house officers who do both as well...
Hope that clears the debate above on medical salaries
Bezman wrote:if they smart, tell them come here open their own business offering their specialized skill/service and make 20,30,40,60,100,000+ a month.. trini's love doing business with and believe anyone with an american accent
teems1 wrote:redmanjp wrote:what about IT professionals? i feel we are the lowest paid group of workers locally- ah hear in one place people with MCSE getting only 5k
IT is such a large umbrella under. People who belong are
Helpdesk
PC Technicians
Operators
Project Leaders, Architects, Programmers, Analysts, Testers, Change Management
System Admins
Network Technicians
Network Admins
Database Admins
etc.
When quoting a salary it's better to be specific about their exact job, instead of just saying IT.
worksux101 wrote:Dentists work privately after their first year...they would average 15-20K for a year or two...some a bit more...depending on which practice and clientelle, it'll steadily go up to 30-40k over a few years, sometimes higher...
Habit7 wrote:West Indians need to move away from this view that the US and UK are paradises just waiting to be taking advantage of. Then they find themselves in a basement apartment with three jobs, working 12hours a day, six days a week, covered in bills, while there trini family on living on 2 lots of land sending them money to buy clothes to send down in a barrel.
Habit7 wrote:while there trini family on living on 2 lots of land sending them money to buy clothes to send down in a barrel.
yup*$kїđž!™ wrote:Businessmen make lots of money....
Some men who never went to school making more money,,, welding and doing other trades than those of us who went to school and UWI and ketch we tail to get a small job in the system working 8-4...steups.....
ain't that the truth!Habit7 wrote:But the things that more affect the cost of living like utilities, taxes, fuel, health care, rent, entertainment,etc. is cheaper in Trinidad. Thats why retirees in the US migrate to developing countries because on their fixed income, there might not be able to cope, but their US dollars here will give them comfortable lives.
West Indians need to move away from this view that the US and UK are paradises just waiting to be taking advantage of. Then they find themselves in a basement apartment with three jobs, working 12hours a day, six days a week, covered in bills, while there trini family on living on 2 lots of land sending them money to buy clothes to send down in a barrel.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:sometimes these days A students work for C students
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:yup*$kїđž!™ wrote:Businessmen make lots of money....
Some men who never went to school making more money,,, welding and doing other trades than those of us who went to school and UWI and ketch we tail to get a small job in the system working 8-4...steups.....
sometimes these days A students work for C studentsain't that the truth!Habit7 wrote:But the things that more affect the cost of living like utilities, taxes, fuel, health care, rent, entertainment,etc. is cheaper in Trinidad. Thats why retirees in the US migrate to developing countries because on their fixed income, there might not be able to cope, but their US dollars here will give them comfortable lives.
West Indians need to move away from this view that the US and UK are paradises just waiting to be taking advantage of. Then they find themselves in a basement apartment with three jobs, working 12hours a day, six days a week, covered in bills, while there trini family on living on 2 lots of land sending them money to buy clothes to send down in a barrel.
I's ah D student danABA Trading LTD wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:sometimes these days A students work for C students
doh be on C students eh bigman.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ please share
I'm sure it might not even be the norm, but it is a regular occurrence
Habit7 wrote:But the things that more affect the cost of living like utilities, taxes, fuel, health care, rent, entertainment,etc. is cheaper in Trinidad. Thats why retirees in the US migrate to developing countries because on their fixed income, there might not be able to cope, but their US dollars here will give them comfortable lives.
Corn Bird wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ please share
I'm sure it might not even be the norm, but it is a regular occurrence
Habit7 seems to be describing the situation of an illegal immigrant (or unskilled individual) living in Queens. However, IF (and this is a big if) a person can work legally in the States as a professional (which is the topic of this thread) then life isn't that bad --
1. Crime is less if you are out of the big cities (say in a small city like Austin TX, Ann Arbor MI). I've seen suburbs in small US cities -- houses have little burglarproofing or fences
2. utilities and agencies actually work (compare to WASA)
3. real estate can actually be cheaper than Trinidad
4. we all know about the price of cars in Trinidad versus the US
5. access to much better health and education
6. basic items are cheaper (think about why trinis make extensive use of skyboxes)
Sky wrote:Trinidad & Tobago sh!ts milk and honey and I can't fathom how people insist on looking for a better life in 1st world countries. I gonna pay over 200k for my car, pay my $120 to fill it up and go by the parlour and buy my $12.50 bread. Because this is the good life.
r3iXmann wrote:Sky wrote:Trinidad & Tobago sh!ts milk and honey and I can't fathom how people insist on looking for a better life in 1st world countries. I gonna pay over 200k for my car, pay my $120 to fill it up and go by the parlour and buy my $12.50 bread. Because this is the good life.
QFT!
Half the time those that "pack up and gone" catching their arses wherever they are but too shame to come back
RapToR wrote:r3iXmann wrote:Sky wrote:Trinidad & Tobago sh!ts milk and honey and I can't fathom how people insist on looking for a better life in 1st world countries. I gonna pay over 200k for my car, pay my $120 to fill it up and go by the parlour and buy my $12.50 bread. Because this is the good life.
QFT!
Half the time those that "pack up and gone" catching their arses wherever they are but too shame to come back
I know a few that sold everything, pack up and left
End up working in Mac donalds
Coming back here with nothing and had to start over
SmokeyGTi wrote:sharkman121 wrote:But seriously i think mid management professionals earn an average roughly $14-16k
being in HR I can tell you, the average starts around there...
whoever those guys are will cetch their arse to get a job when they come back in trini..
kurpal_v2 wrote:SmokeyGTi wrote:sharkman121 wrote:But seriously i think mid management professionals earn an average roughly $14-16k
being in HR I can tell you, the average starts around there...
whoever those guys are will cetch their arse to get a job when they come back in trini..
lostallos101 wrote:hmmmm so much for leaving school and making some nice $$$...should have really take my uncle advice and gone offshore bleh