offshore ppl ........your views.

JD......

Re: offshore ppl ........your views.

Postby JD...... » November 27th, 2010, 6:18 pm

Be happy u have a job and a good income, some qualified people out there catching their tail to find work.
I you think u have it bad there is someone who has it worst, i did a 70 run in Brazil, left there went home for 20 hours to do a full medical exam, and now wrapping up a 35day run on a Land job in the middle of the Sahara in Mauritania. Basically working almost everyday for the last 100+ days,

Geodude, i dont know bout you but i had a great time in Brasil, yeh u miss yah family etc etc, but comes with the line of work, hence the good pay.
Its all shiet, but for me its good being paid to travel the world, stay in bess hotels one day and sleep on a matress hard like the floor the nex its all part of the adventure
Make yah money and get out

13''strong

Postby 13''strong » November 27th, 2010, 7:16 pm

good day fellow tuners..like some of the posts i've seen asking for job vacancies i myself
i'm trying to get into the field i have completed a HSE /Roustabout and Roughneck courses
at National Energy Skills Centre ''NESC'', i also completed my ''BOSIET'' training after my
studies at NESC there they entitled us to a job placement programme but it has almost been
a year now an have'nt heard from any i've applied to many firms throughout Trinidad but no reply
as yet i am literally trying everything i can to get a job in the industry any help i can get will be appreciated fellow tuners just send me a message in my inbox ....thanks

Postby janfar » November 27th, 2010, 11:45 pm

I think the business for drilling in Trinidad is slow right about now and will be till about carnival where I see BP will pick up with one rig and the one to 2 about June-July. After this (at least for our company) their will be activity for drilling on 4 rigs. I dont know how the other service companies wrt to drilling as I dont know much about any other drilling programs. You need to work your way in. Forget about ending up straigh on a rig as a roughneck... you may be one of the lucky ones but for the most part. Ppl start of with small service companies doing valves, and general maintenance before moving up to better jobs... Try to get you foot in the door first... most important key.

13''strong

Postby 13''strong » November 28th, 2010, 7:16 am

well basically i'm not implying that i want one of those positions like u said i just want to get my foot in the door ..i just no stating wat i have might assist a lil bit more but thanks...

Postby janfar » November 28th, 2010, 8:46 am

Keep firing to the likes of Hydrotech, Carl King, Lennox, Score Valves and the whole bunch of other companies that work in the service industry. Also petro companies like Baker Hughes, Schlumberger, Halliburton, Smith and the rest. Dont give up. And dont stop educating yourself. You wont get any job this rounds without a skill and no... Roustabout is not a skill. Go do your MEEET/ EEET. The more educated you are the better chance you have. Is only long time dunce like me coulda get wuk.

13''strong

Postby 13''strong » November 28th, 2010, 12:34 pm

i most definitely intend to further my studies ...but like i said i want to have my foot in the door to at least have experience even if is visually'' jus lokking on'' .i wanna be in ..i also want to try a crane operators course hopefully in time to come..so basically i taking anyway i can get in to at least have a start...

geodude

Postby geodude » November 28th, 2010, 7:27 pm

sadly i can't provide any links for the type of jobs you guys looking for, but the guys are right, rig work will pick up very soon in trinidad.
EOG has a rig in trini now and they intend to start a 12 well program and expect to start the first well on Xmas day, trinmar will also start to drill with the 110 in Feb but with them you never know, and other rigs will arrive later on in 2011.
So many opportunities should present themselves in the near future, keep you eyes and ears open and call up who ever you might know and i hope you guys get through, also you can upload your resume and create a profile on the web sites of the major rig companies like Transocean, Pride, Nobel, Mearsk, etc and you never know what might happen. Applying online is notoriously a waste of time but try your luck guys

13''strong

Postby 13''strong » November 29th, 2010, 7:57 pm

well i 'm still open to any help i can get...they really say is not what u know is who u know.....thats why i'm asking for help in any way i can .....but thanks geodude i'll do dat'' again'' ...:-)

Postby janfar » November 30th, 2010, 2:09 am

...and further to that, its not who you know but who know you... I will check in the locals i know and see if i get some info for u.

13''strong

Postby 13''strong » November 30th, 2010, 11:18 am

dat will be greatly appreciated man thanks ....

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » July 25th, 2011, 10:33 am

Animal Pak wrote:personally i fine offshore on a platform is prison.....

yea d food bess 'at times'

d money nice and they wash ur clothes

buh how much direc tv yuh could watch? how much cards yuh could play

and how much bs yuh could talk with the same ppl over and over again

I must agree with you dude.

Postby nervewrecker » July 25th, 2011, 10:48 am

well lets exchange places nah guys?

Oleander

Postby Oleander » July 25th, 2011, 10:58 am

Well I don't work offshore but I grew up with my dad working offshore. He's been working on a platform even before I could remember.
Yes you do miss out on a lot in terms of family life I mean last year was the first year in 6 years that my dad was home on Christmas day and then he went out to work a couple days after so I have to wait a year again I believe to see him on a new year's eve. (Unless for some reason his shift changes)

Countless birthdays and all my school graduations were missed... but that's life.
After a while it becomes a way of life if you choose to embrace it... my mom would actually map out the year in advancen as much as she could based on his shift.
No amount of money can replace the time lost and you'll always keep early retirement in mind but it's not the end of the world.
It's either you can do it or you find another job that may or may not sustain your standard of living. It all depends on what is most important to you and how you choose to manage your life.

Good luck with your decision.

keeshan

Postby keeshan » July 25th, 2011, 10:58 am

i would do it because the pay rawkz ....but..i rather work for a enough $ and still have a family life

Oleander

Postby Oleander » July 25th, 2011, 11:10 am

^^^ Not all people working offshore does make plenty $$ eh...
For a lot the free coverall and boots is just flams.

Then again, I guess the determination of what is plenty money depends on the individual. :/

Postby nervewrecker » July 25th, 2011, 11:11 am

family I could do without.

Postby nervewrecker » July 25th, 2011, 11:54 am

donno what you all complaining bout nah, at least you are well paid for the sacrifices you made.

hardly ever saw my father too, hardly saw much of my family when I started working as soon as I finished school & started doing what ever lil small courses I could find with my $$$.
x-mas, birthdays? whats that? I work through all birthdays even my own, birthday comes like nuttin to me now & x-mas was a day to get myself in order & do some homework or some studies sometimes.
family? whats that, they dont even see me, all I get sometimes is a plate of food on the table when I get home. I now leave home early at mornings & come home late at evnings. by the time I get home is to do some studies. For years I havent seen a sunrise from home, people forget I even exist. People thought I abroad or something.
Relationship? whats that? that went on a strain long time & has since ended. Whatever connections I have since had with whatever girls have been long extinguished as nobody sees me or I dont have time for anything besides work & school.
Years after when I stop & take a look around, the world as I knew it has moved on without me & I still dont have a fat bank account like the people who complaining in here.

Funny thing is that same girl now going through all what I went through, her realtionship is now on a strain & she is feeling what it is like out here to start from the bottom, nobody cares what school you went to or what you came out with, they always on your case, belittle you, insult your intelligence & bring down your self esteem. got that in a message from her recently (after how long).

TEMPO

Postby TEMPO » July 26th, 2011, 8:40 am

nervewrecker, i know wat yur talkin bout....my 1st job for 3yrs i survived on $50 a 10hr work day.....lol.....goin out early in the mornin an comin back in d nite while still makin time to study an go to school part time......then finally gettin a next job for 2 other yrs payin minimum wage :) but still goin to school part time an studying (sacrificed a 6yr relationship).....after that i took a chance an left my job to do a course that was only offered full time, believe me i struggled for dat period wit no $$ then 2yrs after that i was still jobless..lol. it feels like all yur sacrifices is for nothin, i know. Still continued goin to school after that but part time, then when i least expected it im offshore now :) .......yur time will come pal......

TEMPO

Postby TEMPO » July 26th, 2011, 9:00 am

geodude, when i first went into the offshore ting i loved it.....yuh dont have to spend money on travellin to work everyday or on gas money, yuh dont have to buy groceries, yuh dont have to cook, yuh dont have to wash yuh clothes, yuh dont have to wry bout reachin to work late yuh jus walk down stairs, all the food an snacks yuh could possibly want :) ,oh yea an a nice salary, cud be better though, wat more cud a guy ask for ? but this was when i was single, then i got married an everything changed, its not easy.....it puts a strain on yur relationship an family..all the money in the world cant buy time an memories wit yur family u know......time flies very fast when yur out there missin out on alot of things on land but its a sacrifice when yur young i guess. if yur lookin to settle down or wanna be closer to yur family get a job on "D HARD" family is more important in my book....

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » July 26th, 2011, 11:03 am

TEMPO wrote:geodude, when i first went into the offshore ting i loved it.....yuh dont have to spend money on travellin to work everyday or on gas money, yuh dont have to buy groceries, yuh dont have to cook, yuh dont have to wash yuh clothes, yuh dont have to wry bout reachin to work late yuh jus walk down stairs, all the food an snacks yuh could possibly want :) ,oh yea an a nice salary, cud be better though, wat more cud a guy ask for ? but this was when i was single, then i got married an everything changed, its not easy.....it puts a strain on yur relationship an family..all the money in the world cant buy time an memories wit yur family u know......time flies very fast when yur out there missin out on alot of things on land but its a sacrifice when yur young i guess. if yur lookin to settle down or wanna be closer to yur family get a job on "D HARD" family is more important in my book....

Well said bro...well said

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » July 26th, 2011, 4:21 pm

what are some oil and gas companies??

http://www.energyguidett.com/O-P_oilgas.html

^^This have some but I exhausted this list. If you know some oil and gas companies where I can send my resume to please list them. Thank You much is appreciated.

Or about your job, If I were you i'll cherish it, you know how much ppl would die for that job? The job is an adventure, you meet ppl, see different cultures, talk, eat alot of weird food, it is worth it

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » July 26th, 2011, 4:44 pm

^ What ?? Meet people ? Different cultures ? - Horse its not an air-hostess job ras...

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » July 26th, 2011, 8:38 pm

Plenty ppl does be under the impression that offshore ppl does real make $$.

But the ppl who does really make is the ppl in the office who does send yuh outside on the rig while they go home every day

Postby S_2NR » July 26th, 2011, 8:41 pm

umm..dont people who work offshore get paid in US?
and its a high figure because of risks.

Party rocK

Postby Party rocK » July 28th, 2011, 1:16 pm

I'M 24 AND AT THE MOMENT IS LOOKING FOR AN OFFSHORE JOB ANY ASSISTANCE WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED .FAMILY TO SUPPORT.

devrat

Postby devrat » July 28th, 2011, 1:23 pm

There are jobs out there in the Oil sector that does not require being on a rig....and yes you can meet a lot of different people in different countries....salary range 6k - 18k US per month....but be prepared to spend very little time at home (Trinidad)

Postby S_2NR » July 28th, 2011, 1:31 pm

Party rocK wrote:I'M 24 AND AT THE MOMENT IS LOOKING FOR AN OFFSHORE JOB ANY ASSISTANCE WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED .FAMILY TO SUPPORT.

you have to choose one. :arrow:

Postby janfar » July 28th, 2011, 2:26 pm

devrat wrote:There are jobs out there in the Oil sector that does not require being on a rig....and yes you can meet a lot of different people in different countries....salary range 6k - 18k US per month....but be prepared to spend very little time at home (Trinidad)

:shock: :shock: :shock:

geh smthing fuh meh nah hoss!!!

Postby nervewrecker » July 28th, 2011, 2:41 pm

devrat, what kind of qualifications will one need to land such a job that you mentioned?

13''strong

Postby 13''strong » July 28th, 2011, 2:52 pm

as far as i'm hearing now things really starting to pick up drilling wise .? correct me if i'm wrong .and
as in my earlier posts i have listed my qualifications and i have some more to add....but i'm hoping that some one here lends a hand any help will be greatly appreciated.....