License Plate Location

Death-Row

Re: License Plate Location

Postby Death-Row » October 26th, 2011, 10:01 am

thnx for ur input a1. i downloaded the law last night in pdf format (link above) and it states that the identification mark (not classified as license plate in the document) should be fixed to the front of the vehicle where it will be viewable from the front. it never said anything as being centered, it also said the identification mark could have been painted onto the vehicle but must still abide by the legal sizing and background color, which i did. the police also told me last night that it should be to the center but the law just says to the front.

just wanted to get some input from some guys that went through the process b4 to know if im wasting my time. i know our cars already have a bad image in the eyes of the law, even if they have everything legal.

i had a regular number plate in the middle space where the intercooler was and my engine temps were a little bit higher with it there when i ran the car, also (due to the design of the bumper) police still said that they were not seeing it due to the angle it was at. this is why i put it there cause the space in the middle (top of intercooler) was not large enough also to fit the sticker with legal size numbers so i had to carry it at the side where i had more flat surface to work with.

the bumper is an original Dmax that was imported, anyone who knows these bumpers, the fiberglass is really thin, so i dont wanna go drilling any holes just so and have the plate breaking off often.

i dont get it, evos come into the country with the plate holder to the side, it is registered legal with this. what is the problem really?

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 26th, 2011, 4:48 pm

Once the law says front, the popo cyah doh nothing if it on the side lol.

Go in court and when the law states to the front, thats the end of the case. Make some ignorant officers feel shame.

Postby SUPAstarr » October 26th, 2011, 6:23 pm

Death-Row wrote:censored the plates a bit but you get the picture.

so what u guys think?

This is exactly how my plate was on my hatch, when i went to transfer it an officer tried to challenge me over it at the pit, i pulled out my MVRT and read the relevant sections, the officer conceded and asked if i ever considered going into the legal profession. A second time in Independence square a police officer pulled me over, asked me where are my front plates, i told him there it is. I again pulled out the MVRT an read the part where it says "it may be painted on or otherwise affixed", he conceded but still tried to tell me to get a proper plate, he say a plate must be metal or plastic, i told him show me where in my copy of the law does it state that, he got silent.

Just find the relevant sections in the MVRT and read it in court, your plate is black background and white letters, 85mm x 15mm. In the wording it says "any reference to a plate describes the letters and numbers only" or something like that and also it mus be affixed to the front, also pointed that some vehicles are sold from dealership with plates affixed to the side. Should be an easy win in court.

Postby Morpheus » October 26th, 2011, 7:07 pm

I need a copy of that MVRT yes. Good BUMP here.

Postby Morpheus » October 26th, 2011, 7:13 pm

A-1 Superior Tech wrote:Once the law says front, the popo cyah doh nothing if it on the side lol.

Go in court and when the law states to the front, thats the end of the case. Make some ignorant officers feel shame.

^^Of course they can. Front and Side is 2 different thing! :pokes:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 26th, 2011, 10:44 pm

yea, thanks again for the input fellaz. gave me some reassurance to my thought on the matter also. will let you guys know how it goes.

A1, sell meh de skyline nah boy lmao see it everyday, well when u drive it that is. lookin bess bro.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 26th, 2011, 11:59 pm

yea some officers just want to play they more bigger than citizens.

lol thanks, the skyline for sale :( gotta sort out business now for my new family coming soon.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 27th, 2011, 12:24 am

i woulda take it eh but hadda sell the 14 first and still wont get enough. guess now is not skyline time for me as yet lol. in time tho. glws.

no offence to anyone here but if you want it sold, put it on the express or something lol

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 27th, 2011, 8:07 am

^^yea i supposed to do that a while now, is just time boy :(

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 27th, 2011, 9:33 am

hmmmm, i know how it is. hope u get it sold soon bro. best of luck

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » October 27th, 2011, 3:13 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:People say that we swing on vines in this third world country of ours. Little do they know it is Kevlar vines we swinging on.

Refer to pages 127 (Clause 7) and 129 (Clause 9) in the pdf file in the link below for information on vehicle (and trailer) identification plate requirements.

http://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/Laws2/Al ... /48.50.pdf
That saves me a run. Much thanks, Rory. :)

Death-Row wrote:... if its legal tho, i know i can give back talk and stand for my rights lol.
i can give back talk... Under the current S.o.E. they can't even get their facts right about their power of arrest during a curfew even if you are on your own property.

You REALLY want to debate with some of these "Brainiacs" (translate please) during a road-block on the highway? :roll:
Good luck with that, my friend!... and God bless you! IMHO take your ticket and do your debating in Court, in front of someone who is something more than just a "budding intellect." (translate please.)
Sanctifier wrote:Oh, btw love your S14.

Death-Row wrote:...what is the problem really?
The usual case of "Mental constipation."

Postby SUPAstarr » October 27th, 2011, 6:23 pm

There it is
PG123
(2) Letters and numbers as prescribed in the Second Schedule
painted on or otherwise fixed to the motor vehicle or trailer, may
be used instead of plates
. Any reference to plates in these
Regulations shall be construed to include a reference to numbers
and letters so painted or fixed
, and any reference to the fixing of
plates to include a reference to the numbers and letters so painted
or fixed or other delineation of the numbers and figures.

9. The plates forming the identification mark shall be fixed,
one on the front and the other on the back of the motor vehicle
or trailer, in an upright position, so that every letter or figure on
the plate is upright and easily distinguishable, in the case of the
plate placed on the front of the motor vehicle or trailer from in
front of the motor vehicle or trailer, and in the case of the plate
placed on the back, from behind the motor vehicle or trailer

But interestingly enough it sounds like a licensing officer can tell you to move it based on

Subject to the provisions of this regulation, the plates forming
the identification mark shall be fixed on the motor vehicle or trailer
in the position indicated in the particulars given in the application
for the registration of the motor vehicle or trailer or subsequently
furnished to the Licensing Authority or if he is not satisfied with the
position so indicated, in such a position as he directs.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 28th, 2011, 12:45 am

Sanctifier, totally agree with the debating in court advice but i dont have time to be going to court that often all the time lmao i hate police officers that take advantage of people, this hate has gotten me in sooo much trouble in the past. it sucks. as you can see, the design of my front bumper kinda makes it hard to put on a plate. also, the fiber glass is REALLY THIN, afraid if i bolt one on to the front, the wind pressure will just rip it off along with a part of the bumper hahahah.

again fellas. thanks for the info. got enough to help me in court i think.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 28th, 2011, 12:46 am

btw, thanks for the compliment sanctifier, it aint no evo3 (damn i miss that car) but it will do for now lol. currently getting a makeover, should be finished for January, should look better when its done lol

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » November 2nd, 2011, 2:31 pm

Hey Row did you ever win the case or is it still going on.. nice 14 tho!

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » November 3rd, 2011, 8:30 am

still waiting on the date. will check back the date on the ticket and post it up here later today.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » December 26th, 2011, 5:18 pm

What was the outcome?

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 29th, 2011, 11:03 pm

cop didnt show up. have to go back some time in jan.

Postby BrotherHood » December 30th, 2011, 1:14 am

^^^Stupid waste of time officers. Probably know he can't win so he just didn't show up. Case will just be thrown out but on the other hand this is wasting your time.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 30th, 2011, 7:30 am

wasting your time... Yup and Death-Row might have to do that at least twice more before they throw out the case.

Thought for today...
Sanctifier wrote:Arrogance + Envy + Vindictiveness = Abuse of power = Same ol' brain dead, so-called law "enforcement." :roll:

Postby SUPAstarr » December 30th, 2011, 8:51 am

see it through

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » January 2nd, 2012, 11:59 am

yup, gotta go back again, if he doesn't show, will have to go for the 3rd time and if he's not there, it will be thrown out on that (3rd time) day.

ive been pulled over twice for the plates since. they asked why dont i have a license plate, i told them its in front, also, dont waste my time with tickets etc, ive been to court and won. Plus, can i get your badge number just in case? lmao, with that they just say carry on lol.

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » August 23rd, 2024, 8:48 am

Is this legal for a number plate locally?