Plot to assassinate PM?!

Re: Plot to assassinate PM?!

Postby pioneer » November 24th, 2011, 9:30 pm

The security presence in POS this morning was amazing and pleasing.

On ID square it was amazing to see so many people going about their business so carefully, people actually obeyed the law...there was little or no jackass driving.

Can't we police ourselves?...why do we need big armed police and army to behave we self?

Postby SR » November 24th, 2011, 9:30 pm

rfari wrote:
SR wrote:which one...........

as for panday every 2 words AM AM

The valsayn comment. Panday issa boss. He say that when he was PM he used to geh chitten buh he used to handle it on de lows. Straight badman.

wham to d valsayn comment???

Postby rfari » November 24th, 2011, 9:32 pm

Now seeing that. Oarrr!!

Politics sucks when u don't support any political party. U get foqed on both sides of an election.

Postby pioneer » November 24th, 2011, 9:38 pm

The Army new digital camo kit is wickeddd

Also was that task force new kit?...the grey n black?

Well done, looks professional

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 24th, 2011, 9:38 pm

pioneer wrote:The security presence in POS this morning was amazing and pleasing.

On ID square it was amazing to see so many people going about their business so carefully, people actually obeyed the law...there was little or no jackass driving.

Can't we police ourselves?...why do we need big armed police and army to behave we self?

trinis need to be treated like criminals to behave...

Postby shogun » November 24th, 2011, 9:42 pm

^Or children

Postby rfari » November 24th, 2011, 9:43 pm

SR wrote:
rfari wrote:
SR wrote:which one...........

as for panday every 2 words AM AM

The valsayn comment. Panday issa boss. He say that when he was PM he used to geh chitten buh he used to handle it on de lows. Straight badman.

wham to d valsayn comment???

Honestly I not too sure :/ I shouldn't jink and post.

Postby rfari » November 24th, 2011, 9:58 pm

pioneer wrote:The Army new digital camo kit is wickeddd

Postby K74T » November 24th, 2011, 10:06 pm

Trinidad Guardian wrote:Central Muslims protest ‘branding’

Muslims in central Trinidad say they are being branded as terrorists after reports surfaced that an Islamic organisation in the area is linked to an alleged assassination plot involving Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and other Cabinet Ministers. At the Masjid-ul-Muttaqeen mosque, Munroe Road, Cunupia, Maulana Sheraz Ali said more than 15 Muslim organisations were directly affected by the report.

“Since 9/11 the Muslim community has faced a lot of pressure and now we have become immune to the stigma,” Ali said. Saying he was not disputing the validity of the assassination plot, Ali explained: “I really feel the authorities could have narrowed it down a little more. “They leave everybody, who is Muslim, open for all kinds of suspicion. They should have been more precise instead of labelling everybody. There are so much Muslim groups in Central who are affected by this.”

Ali added that while filling fuel at a service station yesterday, the pump attendant told him that Muslims were being treated unfairly. He added: “Everybody is looking at us as criminals but we have nothing to do with the threat on the Prime Minister. I am sure they would not have treated other religious groups like that.” Meanwhile, head of the Montrose Muslim Association, Imam Hamza Mohammad, said he too experienced stereotyping yesterday. He said: “This will leave people to wonder if we are involved. Muslims will become targets now and fingers will be pointed at us. It is a bad image for Muslims.

“While driving through the streets people were saying ‘all you want to assassinate the Prime Minister, boy.’ It really is unfortunate.” Mohammad also said he believed the plot was a hoax, geared at continuing the state of emergency. The imam added he already had bought goods for a night- time flea market for Christmas and if the state of emergency continued, then his business would be affected.

Other major Muslim organisations operating in central Trinidad are the ASJA Masjid, Longdenville Muslim Group, Enterprise Community Majid, Warrenville Jama Mosque, Tabligh Jamad, Kelly Village Islamic Centre, the Islamic Missionsaries Guild, St Helena, and the Darul Uloom.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2011/11/25/central-muslims-protest-branding

Postby Rooki3 » November 24th, 2011, 10:25 pm

hmmm, the beat up is strong

Postby pioneer » November 24th, 2011, 10:47 pm

K74T wrote:

Muslims in central Trinidad say they are being branded as terrorists after reports surfaced that an Islamic organisation in the area is linked to an alleged assassination plot involving Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and other Cabinet Ministers. At the Masjid-ul-Muttaqeen mosque, Munroe Road, Cunupia, Maulana Sheraz Ali said more than 15 Muslim organisations were directly affected by the report.

“Since 9/11 the Muslim community has faced a lot of pressure and now we have become immune to the stigma,” Ali said. Saying he was not disputing the validity of the assassination plot, Ali explained: “I really feel the authorities could have narrowed it down a little more. “They leave everybody, who is Muslim, open for all kinds of suspicion. They should have been more precise instead of labelling everybody. There are so much Muslim groups in Central who are affected by this.”

Ali added that while filling fuel at a service station yesterday, the pump attendant told him that Muslims were being treated unfairly. He added: “Everybody is looking at us as criminals but we have nothing to do with the threat on the Prime Minister. I am sure they would not have treated other religious groups like that.” Meanwhile, head of the Montrose Muslim Association, Imam Hamza Mohammad, said he too experienced stereotyping yesterday. He said: “This will leave people to wonder if we are involved. Muslims will become targets now and fingers will be pointed at us. It is a bad image for Muslims.

“While driving through the streets people were saying ‘all you want to assassinate the Prime Minister, boy.’ It really is unfortunate.” Mohammad also said he believed the plot was a hoax, geared at continuing the state of emergency. The imam added he already had bought goods for a night- time flea market for Christmas and if the state of emergency continued, then his business would be affected.

Other major Muslim organisations operating in central Trinidad are the ASJA Masjid, Longdenville Muslim Group, Enterprise Community Majid, Warrenville Jama Mosque, Tabligh Jamad, Kelly Village Islamic Centre, the Islamic Missionsaries Guild, St Helena, and the Darul Uloom.

Why it is muslims always get sooooooo offended?

cocoa in de sun?

That same munroe road mosque was raided in 1990 and arms and ammunitions were found

leh dem talk nah?

Ent dey like to portray this "militant" taliban theme?...well took wood morons :roll:

Postby BrotherHood » November 24th, 2011, 11:23 pm

:drama:

Postby K74T » November 25th, 2011, 12:22 am

The Prime Minister's speech

The following is the full text of Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar's statement on the assasination plot:

I want to say, I never expected those who plotted against the security of our nation to congratulate me and my government for curtailing their ability to operate but I did anticipate their extreme displeasure. The State of Emergency has had a major impact on crime reduction and if I may share with you the following information that between August the 21st and November the 23rd thus far 7,269 persons have been arrested of these only 6.4 %( 463 persons) were arrested on gang related charges, the minority. The others were arrested on charges related to

• Drug offences

• Serious offences

• Homicide investigations

• Outstanding warrants

• Ammunition

• Firearms seized

In addition as of this morning 13,183 rounds of ammunition and 34 magazines have been recovered. 1bullet ladies and gentleman 1 life, also seized were 173 firearms I am told that 1 gun can "take out" 20 people.

In this three month period my Government's focus has been on the protection of life and property. We have seized over 1.5 billion dollars in drugs, the largest single "drug bust" worth over 55 million dollars. We are hurting them in their pockets.

The criminal elements have tried to make good on their threats to carry out reprisals. I am grateful to the intelligence resources that uncovered the assassination plot.

As a result of their vigilance they have thwarted what was an evil, devious act of treason against the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago. Their actions have proven that the efforts of the government are having the desired effect. We are flushing them out; we are making it almost impossible to operate as they would have in the past.

These nefarious elements, with support from others whose names will also come to light in time, are finally confronted by a government which possesses the political will, courage and strength of conviction to stoutly defend and protect the citizens of our country. We will not cow to them, nor negotiate with them not give any quarter to them. No quarter to them.

The cowardly plots against me and the people's government serve only to strengthen my resolve and embolden efforts to eradicate this scourge from our society. For far too long these criminals have been allowed to flourish as the untouchables some with their sinister connections of legitimacy. The intense pressure brought to bear by our initiatives will be intensified and I will stop at nothing to return Trinidad and Tobago to the peaceful state we once enjoyed.

I want to remind you of what occurred in 1990. A commission of inquiry was established at that time and reports were produced and nothing was done with the information and that is why we have agreed to have this current Commission of Inquiry to ensure that nothing like this ever happens again.

I have spoken with the Leader of the opposition and have agreed that persons authorized by the Security forces will share with him the intelligence that we have. He has agreed to meet with them.

I wish to assure the nation that the uncovering of this plot and the motives for carrying it out demonstrate the competency and effectiveness of the government's national security resources and initiatives. The Republic is safer than ever. Your personal security and that of the nation is in safe hands. Once again, our protective services and intelligence units have performed admirably. Trinidad and Tobago salutes you.

The Prime Minister's Speech

AN ACT OF TREASON

Team files court action to release Karamath

...Believe it or not there is a plot, says Gibbs

Cops continue search for would-be assassins

Senior intelligence officer: No politics here, threat is real

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » November 25th, 2011, 1:29 am

i wonder who gave them the idea?

Postby Hook » November 25th, 2011, 1:55 am

:lol: de whole speech oui... "lewwe gee dem sumting to analyse and dissect for a few days while we fack dem some more"...classic Trini politics

aspsounds

Postby aspsounds » November 25th, 2011, 3:56 am

Den ah hear rowley wha scalp ah man? Waz up wid dat?

Irfy

Postby Irfy » November 25th, 2011, 5:51 am

Imam get questioned and lock up. Dunno if it is for dis buh I hear it from family (he is meh uncle). This seems to be the only reason he go get lock up.

They really crackin down on muslims :|
If I hear anything else i go inform.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 25th, 2011, 6:19 am

K74T wrote:

Why it is muslims always get sooooooo offended?

cocoa in de sun?

That same munroe road mosque was raided in 1990 and arms and ammunitions were found

leh dem talk nah?

Ent dey like to portray this "militant" taliban theme?...well took wood morons :roll:

agreed......The majority feel good about the 9/11 attacks...they support it....
If u support terrorism then you are worth investigating..they look like taliban, an act big and bad for everybody...so investigate them i say.....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 25th, 2011, 6:22 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Cop ... 76403.html

Cops continue search for would-be assassins
By Akile Simon
Story Created: Nov 24, 2011 at 11:50 PM ECT
Story Updated: Nov 24, 2011 at 11:50 PM ECT
INTELLIGENCE officers, probing an alleged plot to assassinate Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and three members of her Cabinet, are searching for explosives and high-powered firearms which are supposed to be used in the alleged attack.
Security agencies were on Wednesday placed on high alert as officers intensified their searches for persons involved in the alleged plot.
Senior police officers and police stations have been identified as potential targets, and security in and around such buildings have been increased.
Police also conducted several road block exercises throughout the nine policing divisions in the country, particularly in and around all areas leading to Port of Spain. One such exercise took place near the John John Towers in east Port of Spain during rush hour.
Most of the vehicles pulled over and searched were panel vans, station wagons and Nissan Almeras, including delivery and good vehicles.
Deputy Commissioner of Police Jack Ewatski yesterday paid a surprise visit to officers involved in road block exercise in Princes Town.
Officers also resumed their searches for several persons described as extremist Muslims, who belong to a Muslim organisation in central Trinidad. One of the suspects, the Express was reliably informed, has experience in making explosives.
Meanwhile, several persons who were held by intelligence officers earlier this week, in connection with the alleged assassination plot, remained in custody up to late yesterday.
Among them are Selwyn "Robocop" Alexis, one police sergeant, as well as one other man, who is the son of a deceased major contractor from Valsayn. Law enforcement officers also conducted several exercises in the country yesterday, which resulted in the arrest of scores of persons.
Close to 100 police and soldiers swooped down in Sea Lots, Port of Spain, and arrested in excess of 25 suspects, among them a pregnant woman, in connection with marijuana possession, outstanding warrants and enquires in relation to several crimes.
That exercise was supervised by Inspector Sahadeo Singh of the Besson Street Criminal Investigations Department (CID) and involved soldiers and officers from the CID, Inter- Agency Task Force, Guard and Emergency Branch, the Canine Unit and the Divisional Task Force.
The road block exercises caused massive traffic pile-ups as several parts of the Churchill-Roosevelt Highway were cordoned off as police searched persons and vehicles.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 25th, 2011, 6:33 am

Team files court action to release Karamath
By —DR
A team of attorneys will this morning seek the intervention of the courts to have businessman Khalil Karamath released from police custody.
The attorneys, Ravi Rajcoomar, John Heath, Irshaad Ali and Nalini Bansee, yesterday filed a writ of habeas corpus asking the court to direct the Commissioner of Police to show cause why Karamath "should not be released immediately".
The matter will be heard at 9 a.m. before Justice David Harris.
According to an affidavit filed by Ali on behalf of Karamath, at approximately 11.30 a.m., Karamath was at his Palm Road, North Valsayn, home, in the company of his personal security guards and two other people, when four vans of police officers entered the premises.
"The applicant informed me that police Cpl Bharath identified himself and informed him that they were there to search the premises, in light of guns allegedly being found on the said premises last year, and he had the belief that if a search was conducted, further guns will be found."
The affidavit further states that Karamath did not have any objections and he, along with the bodyguards, were searched.
The house was also searched, and nothing illegal found.
Karamath was then taken to the San Juan Police Station where he has since remained.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 25th, 2011, 6:38 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Pol ... 76393.html

Police tight-lipped on 'threat'
By Jensen LaVende jensen.lavende@trinidadexpress.com
THE Trinidad and Tobago Police Service yesterday confirmed there existed a threat to assassinate Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and other Government ministers but could not say whether Selwyn "Robocop" Alexis was detained as a result of the threat.
"We will confirm that the protective services have unearthed a threat to national security. The threat involves members of the Government, and a number of arrests have been made. All arms of the protective services are collaborating to ensure the preservation of national security and remain on high alert. Of course, I will not want to expose any further details at this time because this could compromise the operation," Public Information officer of the TTPS Sgt Wayne Mystar said.
Fielding questions from members of the media, Mystar said he would not comment on whether the threat will result in the extension of the State of Emergency.
Asked why was Alexis re-arrested on Monday after he was arrested at the exclusive multimillion-dollar One Woodbrook Place on August 30 with images of the homes of Persad-Bissessar and Attorney General Anand Ramlogan, charged with murder and freed for lack of evidence, Mystar said: "You know the investigation is very dynamic, and investigations can lead to any direction.... All I can say is that he is assisting law enforcement agencies with investigations, that is it."
During Alexis' arrest on August 30, police said photos of the Prime Minister and Attorney General's security detail were also discovered. Some of the images, police said, had an "X" over the faces of Persad-Bissessar and Ramlogan.
Mystar said the series of police and regiment joint patrols conducted yesterday were normal exercises under the SoE, saying, "It is an ongoing exercises". He added he could not say if the exercises were related because "I know every day, the protective services is engaged in some form of exercise".
When asked why the media was not made known of the threat during the press briefings weeks ago when the threat was found out, Mystar said he "understood the concern" but could not comment further as the matter was being investigated.
Asked about comments made by security adviser to the PM Gary Griffith during TV6's Morning Edition, which suggested the "major crisis" had been averted with the unearthing of the plot, Mystar said police are willing and ready to take the fight to the criminals but will not confirm or deny that the threat has been averted.
Mystar also denied a statement from Minister of Works and Infrastructure Jack Warner that since the lifting of the curfew on November 7, crime has increased. Mystar said for this month, there has been 13 murders while there were 42 last year. He added that the country has recorded 316 murders so far, and 432 for the same period last year.
On Tuesday, Warner told members of the media that "with the curfew recently lifted, but we have witnessed a proliferation of criminal gangs fuelled by the drug game and other societal ills. This is obvious for all to see".
"Based on our stats, we have not seen an increase," Mystar said yesterday.
Asked why was the Commissioner of Police, Dwayne Gibbs, absent from the briefing yesterday after he said on November 1 he will "certainly be there" whenever an issue arises that needs to be addressed by him, Mystar said: "I know at present the Commissioner is engaged with other high officials at present as we speak...hence his reason for not being here...when I see him today, I will remind him you want to see him."

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 25th, 2011, 6:48 am

BrotherHood wrote::drama:

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 25th, 2011, 7:16 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Team files court action to release Karamath
By —DR
A team of attorneys will this morning seek the intervention of the courts to have businessman Khalil Karamath released from police custody.
The attorneys, Ravi Rajcoomar, John Heath, Irshaad Ali and Nalini Bansee, yesterday filed a writ of habeas corpus asking the court to direct the Commissioner of Police to show cause why Karamath "should not be released immediately".
The matter will be heard at 9 a.m. before Justice David Harris.
According to an affidavit filed by Ali on behalf of Karamath, at approximately 11.30 a.m., Karamath was at his Palm Road, North Valsayn, home, in the company of his personal security guards and two other people, when four vans of police officers entered the premises.
"The applicant informed me that police Cpl Bharath identified himself and informed him that they were there to search the premises, in light of guns allegedly being found on the said premises last year, and he had the belief that if a search was conducted, further guns will be found."
The affidavit further states that Karamath did not have any objections and he, along with the bodyguards, were searched.
The house was also searched, and nothing illegal found.
Karamath was then taken to the San Juan Police Station where he has since remained.

I wonder if Om Lalla is still part of his legal team

Postby Sky » November 25th, 2011, 7:36 am

For those of you who disagree with elite's statement about complaining if you dont vote. Allyuh realise he eh have allyuh to study. I know I'm a bit late, but lemme explain.

If a friend doh change he oil or do any tune up at all on his car, then he complaining about how it running dead, what yuh go tell him? Stoofoo.
Yuh know a gyul who man hornin she and hittin she. She refuse to leave him because "he love she", yet she wanna complain. What yuh go tell she? Stoofoo.

Yuh have a chance to vote and let your voice be heard on that one day. You have a choice of who runs the country, but yuh stay home, scratch yuh nuts and find a permanent marker for your finger to get the time off. Then you wanna come here and complain about the gov't. I go tell yuh then. Stoofoo!!

Postby dougla_boy » November 25th, 2011, 7:42 am

Sky wrote:For those of you who disagree with elite's statement about complaining if you dont vote. Allyuh realise he eh have allyuh to study. I know I'm a bit late, but lemme explain.

If a friend doh change he oil or do any tune up at all on his car, then he complaining about how it running dead, what yuh go tell him? Stoofoo.
Yuh know a gyul who man hornin she and hittin she. She refuse to leave him because "he love she", yet she wanna complain. What yuh go tell she? Stoofoo.

Yuh have a chance to vote and let your voice be heard on that one day. You have a choice of who runs the country, but yuh stay home, scratch yuh nuts and find a permanent marker for your finger to get the time off. Then you wanna come here and complain about the gov't. I go tell yuh then. Stoofoo!!

agreed x some arbitrary number

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » November 25th, 2011, 8:17 am

Scoobert Bauce wrote:
5onDfloor wrote:A senior Government source said: "This assassination plot, the security forces have stated, is based on the anger of some criminals because of the imposition of the SoE, which was effective. This plot is a well-orchestrted plan to show that the State of Emergency was a dismal failure and an attempt to destabilise the Government."

Can somebody remind me of the effectiveness of this SOE. Why waste time and effort to prove what is already widely considered from all corners that this SOE had lukewarm results if not just short of a complete failure. The only people who has been branding the SOE as a success is Kamla and her supporters :?

and the only ppl complaining are Rowley and his supporters. Point?

You need to take off them blinders son.

Postby Hook » November 25th, 2011, 9:37 am

^^^ horses wear blinders

we talkin' about cows

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » November 25th, 2011, 10:03 am

Wow...just wow!!!

I never knew we had weapons of Mass Distraction in Trinidad too :?

Problem = Unions threatening most massive protest ever :skurry:
Known divisive leader appearing too have significant support by Gov't.
Crime occurring at will, whether rape, murder or robbery after lifting of curfew.
Final day for State appeal against Ish and Steve extradition is Today.
Major Flooding after Jack Warner said flooding will be a thing of the past.
Debate to extend the S.O.E coming up. Therefore if is a debate the Gov't is
coming to defend the pro's of keeping the S.o.E. Reason to extend needed
etc........

Solution = Threat to our sovereignty appears. Plot uncovered :shocked!:
Second set of threats to PM uncovered :deadhorse: First before election
no evidence provided, now after election and status quo remains.
S.o.E stays just no curfew to hamper business interests. 0X

Postby Ted_v2 » November 25th, 2011, 10:13 am

pioneer wrote:The Army new digital camo kit is wickeddd

digital camo *2thumbs up

Strauss

Postby Strauss » November 25th, 2011, 10:35 am

pioneer wrote:The security presence in POS this morning was amazing and pleasing.

And do we need an SoE and all that for people to obey the law?
Trinidadians have things nice.... TOO NICE... that when people try to make them behave like how they SUPPOSED to.. is a problem.