Drag + TimeAttack Shootout - 27th Nov. PICS!!!

ray d saint

Re: *Preview* Drag + Wind 4....

Postby ray d saint » November 28th, 2011, 8:20 am

Excellent shots....

Aaron 2NR wrote:yeh he went into the corner too fast.....

^^^ Approach with caution and leave with speed... :mrgreen:

Re: so the mine's r35...

Postby cinco » November 28th, 2011, 8:34 am

sorry to hear this
but to be honest i am relieved this happened on a track where u were using the dam car and not just cruisin down the highway and run off

djaggs

Re: Drag + TimeAttack Shootout - 27th Nov. @ ARC

Postby djaggs » November 28th, 2011, 8:43 am

Devi, i have the video of you stopping in the starting grid...yuh know ah cyah let yuh get away wid that one.....it coming.. :D

ServicemanJohn

Postby ServicemanJohn » November 28th, 2011, 8:51 am

Shiv yuh no jody ran off in the same place later in the evening, but hope yuh ok, it was good to see you out an walk as soon as it happened, money could never buy yuh life...God bless man

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 28th, 2011, 8:52 am

hahaha i was looking on like why the time eh come up...wtf going on

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » November 28th, 2011, 8:55 am

Tsuchiya wrote:
kes_vtec wrote:I would like to thank all the new drivers for turning out, and I hope to see you all there for the next event. If you like I will be happy to sit with you.

u just wanted to go ride with the girl u nasty man :lol: :lol:

there was a new girl there.. where.... :)

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » November 28th, 2011, 8:59 am

crazybalhead wrote:Shiv, hard luck there boy. Excuse for upgrades. Fires and watahs doh mix.

Postby honda hoe » November 28th, 2011, 9:00 am

Rensh wrote:Quite a bit of water you guys were in:

wtf? that is real sh!t

2 cars lost control and got damaged because racing was allowed to continue even though there was substantial water on the course surface. u cannot control a car if it is hydroplaning.

if this exact thing had happened in camden everybody would be quick to jump up and cyak dat TTASA don't care about safety of spectators or racers and only interested in depositing money in car trunk blah blah

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » November 28th, 2011, 9:12 am

devrat wrote:Kudos to you papa....the car was built for that and I envy the exhilaration you must have felt pushing the beast to the limit.....crash and all. Glad all is well.

PCP 666 gave me a bligh by the BBQ place in Duncan Village on Friday afternoon......wow!!!!!! car looking sweet bro.

thanks bro.
So I stopped for the famous devrat then!?
Nice! haha

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » November 28th, 2011, 9:13 am

honda hoe wrote:

wtf? that is real sh!t

2 cars lost control and got damaged because racing was allowed to continue even though there was substantial water on the course surface. u cannot control a car if it is hydroplaning.

if this exact thing had happened in camden everybody would be quick to jump up and cyak dat TTASA don't care about safety of spectators or racers and only interested in depositing money in car trunk blah blah

^^ Funny you bring that perspective, as all persons here thus far only concerned abt the car and driver....

no consideration to the conditions in which the situation happened or was as a result of...

interesting!!!!

Postby X2 » November 28th, 2011, 9:14 am

Professional driver ? Whas dat ? FIA license ? I has one of that. I R professional. Without going to the 'other' thread... you want professional level track prep, marshalling, etc... pay for it and enforce it (Mind you... might need a large, well run, well connected organision to run things...err... and a properly designed and built track.) This event is a godsend in the meantime and those willing to risk thier machines, IMO, are worthy of praise. It takes both skill and cojones to drive fast and it takes experience to learn how to do so properly. Yet still, for safety's sake...that's why no one supposed to be standing at the end of the straight. You can do it better ? Throw your hat in the ring.

With that said... I was disappointed to have gotten knocked out in the semi-finals when my opponent apparently knocked over 2 cones on thier run with no time penalty. No one in the timing tent seemed to bother with my protests. 0_o

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » November 28th, 2011, 9:18 am

honda hoe wrote:

wtf? that is real sh!t

that is really a lot of water.
a racing surface should not have that much settled water.

ROTARY_FATEFULL

Postby ROTARY_FATEFULL » November 28th, 2011, 9:22 am

honda hoe wrote:

wtf? that is real sh!t

i think that was very irresponsible of the organizers to allow racing to continue with that amount of water on the track...
but the competitors should not have been racing with all that water if they value their safety (but it was their choice too)...

Postby Ignorant Ignis » November 28th, 2011, 9:24 am

is two car length sean collect there ? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby crazybalhead » November 28th, 2011, 9:35 am

ROTARY_FATEFULL wrote:
honda hoe wrote:

wtf? that is real sh!t

i think that was very irresponsible of the organizers to allow racing to continue with that amount of water on the track...
but the competitors should not have been racing with all that water if they value their safety (but it was their choice too)...

Indeed.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » November 28th, 2011, 9:37 am

djaggs wrote:
RoTaRyBoYz wrote:
djaggs wrote:Also, I dont think the man crashing his car was good sportsmanship. It was a very bad call by the stewards to not stop the racing when the track was covered with water. It became very dangerous and instead the drivers were goaded on to continue racing. That was ridiculous, my car began to hydroplane at the top corner and i immediately pulled into the pits. Somebody needs to make the call when track conditions become dangerous. That was unecessary. Everywhere in the world where I see racing, when the track becomes too wet the race is stopped. I hope next time it is done differently.
I disagree with your opinion on stopping the event..
Not sure what part of the world you saw that, but racing is usually stopped when their are storms in the area ie. lightening, torrential rain, flooding etc. When you driving on the highway and rain start to fall, do the other drivers stop and wait for it to stop? OR do you guys use commonsense and drive within you & your car's ability to perform on wet roads?

These types of events are meant to educate the driver on different road conditions that he will encounter on a daily basis. It teaches you things like the cornering & braking limits of your car just in case a maxi cut u off on the main road, or that little boy jump out in front of your car to get a ball. Not only that, but it builds the driver's reflexes and shows him how to plan his next move rather than panic when get cut off by ah taxi or when he pickup ah unexpected skid around by the statue in Claxton Bay.

Racing is not stopped when there are storms in the area but when there is too much water on the track that will cause hydroplaning. You cannot control your car when it floating on water. There was a layer of water on the track on that corner. Racing is not like driving on the road.Racing a 400plus hp car on a layer of water is unsafe. Not even Jackie Stewart would do that.

There is nothing wrong with racing in the wet, but there is a point where it becomes dangerous. There was a professional driver from BMW here last weekend at the stadium. Heavy Rain began to fall just like on Sunday and there was a layer of water on the surface and he stopped everything because there was too much water, he is a professional and knows when it becomes dangerous. We had no professionals there on Sunday. In wallerfield, in the old days when circuit racing was popular, when rain became excessive the racing was stopped. If it was stopped, the man would not have crashed his car, he hydroplaned into that post.

racing should be stopped when there is that amount of settled water on the surface.
Highways and Public roads, along with race circuit's tracks, are built with drainage in mind.
So the surface could be wet , and racing would continue.
However, this is not just a wet surface. This is pools of water all over the course. A recipe for disaster.
No public road should have pools of water like this either.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » November 28th, 2011, 9:39 am

I really loved working on this car! its hard to know that I would not be working on it for a while. The Saturday before the race i gave her a flawless detailing job. Its hard to know that the damage can't "Buff out".

I hope she will be back up soon.

Shiv here are some pics to cheer you up!

And before she goes under cover

Postby honda hoe » November 28th, 2011, 9:44 am

crazybalhead wrote:
ROTARY_FATEFULL wrote:
honda hoe wrote:

wtf? that is real sh!t

Indeed.

seriously??

so the safety of the racers is not regulated by the organisers anymore?

so then whats the purpose of getting scrutineered? or wearing a helmet? or not driving in slippers, short pants.. or any other rule that is enforced to prevent somebody from racing their own car? if i fail scrutineering cuz my tires smooth, i could still run my car cuz it MY choice? no i can't. nice try to absolve the organisers for failing at their responsibility

:roll: :roll:

Postby X2 » November 28th, 2011, 9:45 am

I think the nay sayers shouldn't judge by that (awesome) picture... particularly if they never driven at ARC or in that type of condition before. (right click, set as desktop)

It's not like they were driving a couple Tiidas on 13's in the rain. There were multiple runs done during the rainy portion of the day... plus Jodi in the 666 later ran off the same way when the track was not even wet.

Postby X2 » November 28th, 2011, 9:51 am

[sarcasm]Especially since r888 tires really just don't do well in the wet [/sarcasm]

If you weren't there... don't talk nah. The generalization on race track conditions is basically bench racing and going nowhere because we ALL know that ARC is not a prepped race track and (if you actually show up to race there), you know the dangers involved.

Waivers signed right ?... right !

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 28th, 2011, 9:58 am

^ROFL

Postby black start » November 28th, 2011, 10:15 am

yumm :lol: :lol: :lol:

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » November 28th, 2011, 10:18 am

X2 wrote:I think the nay sayers shouldn't judge by that (awesome) picture... particularly if they never driven at ARC or in that type of condition before. (right click, set as desktop)

It's not like they were driving a couple Tiidas on 13's in the rain. There were multiple runs done during the rainy portion of the day... plus Jodi in the 666 later ran off the same way when the track was not even wet.

u trying to sabotage ppl driving capabilities here bai... wha is dat one.... :shock: :shock: :shock:

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » November 28th, 2011, 10:46 am

ROTARY_FATEFULL wrote:
honda hoe wrote:

wtf? that is real sh!t

I agree 100% with the above! Given that this make-shift track is a car park at the end of the day, organizers and drivers should have assessed the track conditions to make a determination on whether to continue or pause the racing until the conditions improved. I truly hope we all can learn from these incidents (Mines R35 and Subaru666) in an effort to make the event safer and fun at the same time. On another note, I applaud you Mr. Paparazzi for showing us that owning an expensive exotic car is not just for show! But in my opinion, you should have shown better judgement during wet conditions, but that's just my opinion. You have balls of steel man, hope you are okay and the car is repaired to its original glory or even better :twisted: . Hint: use the damage as an excuse for an upgrade? :wink: :evilbat:

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » November 28th, 2011, 10:57 am

hard luck i hope its fixed quickly, was looking forward to racing against this car. it does not look too bad

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » November 28th, 2011, 11:24 am

cinco wrote:
honda hoe wrote:
jeevdude199 wrote:wha gwan on in d 1st pic dey?

2 incidents at the same event?

yup
too much poooowaaaa
the two highest powered cars were involved (notice i eh say fastest eh)

correction- one was the fastest- 50.5

Postby cinco » November 28th, 2011, 11:32 am

my bad must have missed that run

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » November 28th, 2011, 12:00 pm

First things first, I've just been up to see the car and we got the bonnet open.

The short story is the car has no major damage and most of the work is bolt on bolt off. Its just going to be tedious because the entire front interior (airbags popped) and front end has to be scrapped down. The firewall got some damage but it is indeed fixable with no compromise to the design and intergrity of the car. If the car couldn't be fixed back 100% I wouldn't undertake it in the first place. My philisophy is not to do a half assed fix.

What gave me the most relief is that the Mine's Type II bonnet was not damaged badly. That woulda really hurt me.

The right wheel absorbed most of the engery in the collision and the lower control arm sheared off like its supposed to. The engine, intercoolers, piping, radiator etc are completely intact with no damage. I was extremely lucky, 1 foot more to the left and I woulda been telling a different story.

I doh plan on going backwards so its carbon fibre fenders, 2012 front end and 2012 suspension IDMC.

I can't say when I'll be back on the track again but I intend to be, because someone has to show you all how to go around that course in under 50s Just gonna take my time and fix the car properly. In the meantime I've asked Faisal to borrow his own for the next Drag & Wind but he doesn't seem to be returning my txts so far... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

On the issue of the condition of the track.....we're all big boys, we know what we were doing. I knew full well there was water on the track and I was on r888s. I pushed it on the 3rd time round in the name of competition and well....cause and effect.

I'll live to race another day and so will my GTR.
Last edited by paparazzi on November 28th, 2011, 12:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » November 28th, 2011, 12:03 pm

well lookie at dat car gonna be brand new..err any new pics of damage? jus curious nah...

Rx

Postby Rx » November 28th, 2011, 12:10 pm

Good pics Bro.