The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby pete » December 10th, 2011, 11:35 am

Bmobile has a special on now if you buy with a republic credit card or one card handset prices are:
Nexus s - $3529, orig price $4149
Galaxy s2 - $3849
Galaxy s - $2699
Galaxy tab 10.1.- $4249

Not bad prices but u need to be a new or existing post paid customer.

Postby S_2NR » December 10th, 2011, 1:39 pm

Lol @ bmobile "specials"

Postby M_2NR » December 10th, 2011, 2:42 pm

i cant get the dock to be in the longer side in ADW EX, like how it is in honeycomb :( oh well.. no dock. I like it though. Icons look cleaner in the app drawer(thats the open and close area ent?)

achillies

Postby achillies » December 10th, 2011, 8:04 pm

M_2NR wrote:i cant get the dock to be in the longer side in ADW EX, like how it is in honeycomb :( oh well.. no dock. I like it though. Icons look cleaner in the app drawer(thats the open and close area ent?)

Yes, it is

fallen18

Postby fallen18 » December 11th, 2011, 9:28 am

Cid

Postby Cid » December 11th, 2011, 10:19 am

My 10c collection so far...... For de price theres really no way u cld go wrong..... Android really is great yes........

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » December 11th, 2011, 11:27 am

pete wrote:Bmobile has a special on now if you buy with a republic credit card or one card handset prices are:
Nexus s - $3529, orig price $4149
Galaxy s2 - $3849
Galaxy s - $2699
Galaxy tab 10.1.- $4249

Not bad prices but u need to be a new or existing post paid customer.

Nexus S is $2600 in the kiosk outside Francis Fashions in West Mall. Comes with a Bmobile sim and $500 worth of credit. Bought one 2 weeks ago.

Anyone got the ICS update for the Nexus S as yet?

Postby pete » December 11th, 2011, 12:14 pm

They also had the Galaxy with the single core processor and 4.5" screen for 3900. Their prices are unpredictable. One Iphone 4 was 3800 and another was 5500.. Did the phone have at&t on it or any other US carrier?

Postby sharkman121 » December 12th, 2011, 4:21 pm

guys, looking to buy the sgs2 but im seeing a lot of different models, which model is the latest? Im seeing the I777, the D710 etc.

sicctt

Postby sicctt » December 12th, 2011, 4:26 pm

I running a nexus one rooted with rcads remiss 720hd recording love my nexus lol

Sent from my HTC Nexus One using Tapatalk

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » December 12th, 2011, 4:31 pm

Anyone else think that the cam on the galaxy s2 indoors especially for skype and stuff sucks.. Really bad? And has any fix for it?

sicctt

Postby sicctt » December 12th, 2011, 4:33 pm

Every android phone should have this www.cerberusapp.com once you pay the 3 euros the licence is for life enter number
You could be text when sim change record audio take picture etc it is the best I have seen thus far

Sent from my HTC Nexus One using Tapatalk

Postby M_2NR » December 12th, 2011, 5:51 pm

used an sgs ii yesterday all afternoon. i liked it :oops:
i mean android is ok but the screen size was actually bareable in terms of resolution. Compared with the iphone 4 it isnt so horrible. I hate the oversaturation though geez. videos look so ridiculous.

For such a big phone it feels so light and like nothing in your pocket. i'm impressed. The ball is honestly in apple's court now. i only hope they DONT use that oversaturated display in it.

wrt skype calls that could be skype's fault eh.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 12th, 2011, 6:28 pm

M_2NR wrote:used an sgs ii yesterday all afternoon. i liked it :oops:
i mean android is ok but the screen size was actually bareable in terms of resolution. Compared with the iphone 4 it isnt so horrible. I hate the oversaturation though geez. videos look so ridiculous.

For such a big phone it feels so light and like nothing in your pocket. i'm impressed. The ball is honestly in apple's court now. i only hope they DONT use that oversaturated display in it.

wrt skype calls that could be skype's fault eh.

ah man getting converted slowly but surely :lol:

awaits ur post when u get a chance to play around with ICS... :lol:

Postby M_2NR » December 12th, 2011, 7:49 pm

been using 2.3.7 on the touchpad a while now :lol: talk about fragmentation and lack of actual tablet apps. But it's nice. Can't wait for CM9 for it.

i seeing no one knows when it will drop for the SGS II :( and that really sucks.

I don't think i can handle an unjailbroken iPhone though... I will go nuts.

Postby sharkman121 » December 12th, 2011, 10:20 pm

sharkman121 wrote:guys, looking to buy the sgs2 but im seeing a lot of different models, which model is the latest? Im seeing the I777, the D710 etc.

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » December 12th, 2011, 10:31 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:guys, looking to buy the sgs2 but im seeing a lot of different models, which model is the latest? Im seeing the I777, the D710 etc.

http://pdadb.net/index.php?m=pdacomparer&id1=3212&id2=3126&id3=2894&id4=2869&id5=2779

Thats not all but thats most of the compatible models.....

i9100 is the international model and the most common one locally.

You can also load your own list... I only loaded the 16gb models in there i think.

Postby sharkman121 » December 13th, 2011, 1:00 am

thanks man lucian

achillies

Postby achillies » December 13th, 2011, 2:21 am

M_2NR wrote:been using 2.3.7 on the touchpad a while now :lol: talk about fragmentation and lack of actual tablet apps. But it's nice. Can't wait for CM9 for it.

i seeing no one knows when it will drop for the SGS II :( and that really sucks.

Tablet apps on 2.3.7 :shock:

The first version of Android made for tablets was 3.0 Honeycomb, I don't think the market will allow you to see all the tablet apps if your build.prop says 2.3.7

Can someone please correct me if I am wrong

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 13th, 2011, 9:42 am

achillies wrote:
M_2NR wrote:been using 2.3.7 on the touchpad a while now :lol: talk about fragmentation and lack of actual tablet apps. But it's nice. Can't wait for CM9 for it.

Tablet apps on 2.3.7 :shock:

The first version of Android made for tablets was 3.0 Honeycomb, I don't think the market will allow you to see all the tablet apps if your build.prop says 2.3.7

Can someone please correct me if I am wrong

Android tablet apps are growing faster. There are nearly 100 good apps now.

X-Axis

Stolen Samsung Galaxy S2 recovered

Postby X-Axis » December 13th, 2011, 4:18 pm

So last night around 7:20pm my sgs2 was stolen out my backpack while I was in the line at KFC Independence Square. Was pissed, sad and thought that was it for the best phone I've ever owned.

Then at 1:33am I got this message from my phone:

So I logged on to Samsung Dive and attempted to track the phone. Luckily for me the guy had some sort of data connection and I was able to do so.

So I forwarded the information along with the thief's phone number to some po po friends of mine. And by 2pm today I had my phone back in my hand.

So Samsung Dive wukkin, and I got my baby back...

Tired Accord

Re: Stolen Samsung Galaxy S2 recovered

Postby Tired Accord » December 13th, 2011, 4:20 pm

Great story! Next time don't have your S2 so accessible.....

Postby Trini Hookah » December 13th, 2011, 4:20 pm

Whoa! That's good news there man, still reassuring that we can still recover stolen property! :D

Postby ismithx » December 13th, 2011, 4:20 pm

good story man! nice to hear

Postby nemisis » December 13th, 2011, 4:28 pm

Hard luck if you don't have popo friends was the take home message right?

Postby Rainman » December 13th, 2011, 4:28 pm

I gotz yo number now!!!!!! :|

X-Axis

Postby X-Axis » December 13th, 2011, 4:28 pm

Really it was my fault for having it in my backpack. I accept that. But it was really great to see that the technology worked.

X-Axis

Postby X-Axis » December 13th, 2011, 4:31 pm

Rainman wrote:I gotz yo number now!!!!!! :|

You gotz the bandit's number. The phone used the bandit's sim card and credit to inform me of the sim change via my presaved security number.

Postby Stephon. » December 13th, 2011, 4:41 pm

This is awesome tbh!

Postby foss » December 13th, 2011, 4:58 pm

WTK: po po looking for friendship.

But really... thats awesome ! 8-)