Old School Projects

NOMOSS

Re: Old School Projects

Postby NOMOSS » December 15th, 2011, 11:00 pm

NOMOSS wrote:why not a 2jz ,or 2jzgte ,bolts right in with almost no modification you stay toyota and you all the benefits of japanese reliability.

u said it was sacrilege, now u talking about practicality............why is it sacrilege to fit a V8 in an old Super Saloon[/quote

Ever go to a jewellery store and notice that the price is not posted on some items

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 15th, 2011, 11:05 pm

d spike wrote:
NOMOSS wrote:why not a 2jz ,or 2jzgte ,bolts right in with almost no modification you stay toyota and you all the benefits of japanese reliability.

u said it was sacrilege, now u talking about practicality............why is it sacrilege to fit a V8 in an old Super Saloon

We all have opinions...

If one has to ask!
Last edited by NOMOSS on December 15th, 2011, 11:58 pm, edited 2 times in total.

king bob

Postby king bob » December 15th, 2011, 11:21 pm

i takin ur advice spike. thxx

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 15th, 2011, 11:51 pm

i got a 1976 buick 3.8 litre v6 engine & 350 TH transmission for sale with holley 500 cfm 2 bbl carb, D.U.I. hei distributor with an ignition solutions Plasma Booster. engine & trans is currently in a "76"buick skylark & drives nearly everyday.need to upgrade drivetrain & looking to sell, 6 g's

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 15th, 2011, 11:53 pm

1 gas turbine royal saloon.

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 16th, 2011, 12:28 am

Car Restomods are works of art.When you see a good restoration and engine installation and it jumps out at you and grabs your attention,what is doing that is the thought and energy that went into producing that quality work.
You look at the thing in the rough feel its energy ,and listen to what it is telling you and run with it. Visualize the final product in your mind ,Install the engine ,start it, run it see how it works in the car and what problems come up.You put things together that are in harmony with each other .Certain aspects of western and eastern design and engineering just don't harmonize with each other .
You either have this ability and understanding or you don't.And only those who have actually welded the metal ,scraped,sanded ,busted your knuckles and pulled muscles working on projects like these for long days into long ungodly hours in the night will understand.
Its like going into a jewellery store and asking the price for the items whose prices were deliberately not posted.
Dont was time asking ,its out of your reach.

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 16th, 2011, 1:01 am

every piece of scrap metal has a thing of beauty hidden within. it takes a visionary to unfurl it's true image and function.

nigie

Postby nigie » December 16th, 2011, 7:40 am

d spike wrote:
NOMOSS wrote: did you know Holden did a Kingswood with a rotary as an option .I was called the Mazda Roadpacer

:shock: :crazyeyes: :faint: :pics:

Yep and many many years ago when i suggested do this right here....putting a 13b into a holden people said thats a foolish idea...trini peeps fail 2 realise that the kingswood is just a tad over 3000 lbs ....guess its our concept of a BIGGGG car...

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 16th, 2011, 7:57 am

nigie wrote:
d spike wrote:
NOMOSS wrote: did you know Holden did a Kingswood with a rotary as an option .I was called the Mazda Roadpacer

:shock: :crazyeyes: :faint: :pics:

Yep and many many years ago when i suggested do this right here....putting a 13b into a holden people said thats a foolish idea...trini peeps fail 2 realise that the kingswood is just a tad over 3000 lbs ....guess its our concept of a BIGGGG car...

Its an optical illusion created by angles and curves.A nissan 280c and a b14 are almost the same length the difference is a few inches on the bumpers .I had both in our yard parked side by side and could not believe it at first.A suzuki swift is bigger than an escort .and way heavier.A kingswood only looks huge,but its almost the same size as a Cefiro .Guess which is longer and wider?

nigie

Postby nigie » December 16th, 2011, 9:05 am

Yep a guy didnt believe ...(i won d bet).. :lol: untill he looked it up ..that his nissan 300zx was heavier than a kingswood...

SubyDude

Postby SubyDude » December 16th, 2011, 11:18 am

anyone knows where i can get windscreen rubbers for the hillman hunter.. front and rear

Postby MG Man » December 16th, 2011, 11:35 am

Douglas & Douglas?

king bob

Postby king bob » December 16th, 2011, 4:37 pm

SubyDude wrote:anyone knows where i can get windscreen rubbers for the hillman hunter.. front and rear

check gaia's2 d top of cipero street

Postby wagonrunner » December 17th, 2011, 12:42 am

king bob wrote:
SubyDude wrote:anyone knows where i can get windscreen rubbers for the hillman hunter.. front and rear

is captain planet orrrr? :lol: :lol:
it's Gayah's

king bob

Postby king bob » December 17th, 2011, 6:29 am

king bob wrote:

it's Gayah's

:lol: i forgot how 2 spell d man name

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 17th, 2011, 6:38 am

king bob wrote:

it's Gayah's

:lol: i forgot how 2 spell d man name
if gayah's dont have you will have to substitute with thw Douglas and Douglas rubber they have two types you may have to carry the old one

king bob

Postby king bob » December 17th, 2011, 7:16 am

after we fix our hillman's we should totally have a rally. a national rally

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 17th, 2011, 8:13 pm

king bob wrote:after we fix our hillman's we should totally have a rally. a national rally

"The old car posse" plans to show the cars as a group you welcomed no matter the state of the car ,once it can get to whatever shows we stormin.

king bob

Postby king bob » December 17th, 2011, 11:21 pm

totally

nigie

Postby nigie » December 18th, 2011, 12:23 am

DATSUN DATSUN....
2 years work 2 bring her back..

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 18th, 2011, 12:35 am

that looking real clean from here. looks like outside mack today. any more pics

SubyDude

Postby SubyDude » December 18th, 2011, 1:49 am

thanks guys where is this douglas and douglas located... its the only thing im waiting on to send the car in to do body work...

roadracer7

Postby roadracer7 » December 18th, 2011, 2:09 am

east from morvant junction left hand side cant miss it

Postby wagonrunner » December 18th, 2011, 2:23 am

nigie wrote:DATSUN DATSUN....
2 years work 2 bring her back..

Looks well done. It is a head turner.

king bob

Postby king bob » December 18th, 2011, 11:29 am

well fellow tuners, d bob now come home an i goin a ntake down d hunter tranny an caress she problems away ( or atleast try 2 ) post pics 2nite

king bob

Postby king bob » December 18th, 2011, 4:12 pm

well spike and moss ah knw allyuh go be proud lol
ah decide to open up d transmission 2 try an fix it and suprisingly i KINDA did jus waitin on a breadrin 2 come look at it b4 i mount it back up
111218-151735-0o.jpg
a guy charged me 500 just to lift the parking gear (green) from blockin the shifter (blue)
111218-151735.jpg
111218-151720.jpg
111218-151706.jpg
111218-151645.jpg
111218-151644.jpg

d spike

Postby d spike » December 18th, 2011, 9:13 pm

king bob wrote:well spike and moss ah knw allyuh go be proud lol
ah decide to open up d transmission 2 try an fix it and suprisingly i KINDA did jus waitin on a breadrin 2 come look at it b4 i mount it back up

Proud??!?!? Boy, you have my RESPECT. :D
I have always been wary of automatic transmissions... scared shitless, you might say :oops:
Just make sure that every part is perfectly clean (be paranoid about it :lol: )

I located a 2-litre Pinto and gearbox for you tonight. I will find out about the price on Tuesday and get back to you. Will PM details in a while.

Postby cinco » December 18th, 2011, 9:45 pm

d spike wrote:

I have always been wary of automatic transmissions... scared shitless, you might say :oops:

I located a 2-litre Pinto and gearbox for you tonight. I will find out about the price on Tuesday and get back to you. Will PM details in a while.

boy
HAHAHAHAHA
my bamcee puckering just watching that make sure u keep every single one ah dem shittin ball bearings that come out and make sure they all go back where they supposed to
i bow down to you bob if you do that repair then an engine job is easy peasy

NOMOSS

Postby NOMOSS » December 18th, 2011, 10:14 pm

d spike wrote:

He fixing transmissions and he fraid a little sissy 626 engine

king bob

Postby king bob » December 19th, 2011, 12:31 am

d spike wrote:

i was scared shitless 2 when i took off d oil pan and saw like a million bolts, bt then i said wth i have nun 2 lose it's a old tranny, i then undid all the bolts being sure not to take any of them out d hole and then the whole hydraulic system just lifted out normel normel and i did what i had to do.