NOMOSS wrote:d spike wrote:king bob wrote:well spike and moss ah knw allyuh go be proud lol
ah decide to open up d transmission 2 try an fix it and suprisingly i KINDA did jus waitin on a breadrin 2 come look at it b4 i mount it back up
Proud??!?!? Boy, you have my RESPECT.![]()
I have always been wary of automatic transmissions... scared shitless, you might say![]()
Just make sure that every part is perfectly clean (be paranoid about it)
I located a 2-litre Pinto and gearbox for you tonight. I will find out about the price on Tuesday and get back to you. Will PM details in a while.
He fixing transmissions and he fraid a little sissy 626 engine
king bob wrote: i deathly scared cus dise not meh project car so if i mess it up i'll be lost and distresses and back 2 travelling, so i'll take it one dinosaur at a time
king bob wrote: i'll take it one dinosaur at a time
nigie wrote:I located a 2-litre Pinto and gearbox for you tonight. I will find out about the price on Tuesday and get back to you. Will PM details in a while.
MG Man wrote:jus crack open the tranny and pour in some trackbite
king bob wrote:MG Man wrote:jus crack open the tranny and pour in some trackbite
O_o trackbite O_o
what's that??
btw, ALWAYS use some type of respirator... or at least a dust mask before grinding, sanding etc.king bob wrote:those pics gave me some new inspiration. i jus hav 2 wait till i get pay 2 buy some tools and stuff, cus ah swear meh nose full ah rust ans paste powder dat ah grind off d car ( with a wire bruss on meh grinder) thxx dude
My $0.02¢Sanctifier wrote:Another Safety Tip. This one will save your life...or save you from a HORRIBLE way of living![]()
This is what happened to one user... Link--> PHOSGENE Poisoning.
This is SERIOUS SH!T...Read ALL labels in your workshop BEFORE use.
Sanctifier wrote:If I was in your shoes, I would give Media Blasting a try.
It will save you a LOT of time doing the bodywork.bte ALWAYS use some type of respirator... or at least a dust mask before grinding, sanding etc.king bob wrote:those pics gave me some new inspiration. i jus hav 2 wait till i get pay 2 buy some tools and stuff, cus ah swear meh nose full ah rust ans paste powder dat ah grind off d car ( with a wire bruss on meh grinder) thxx dude
In particular, welding fumes will fcuk up your nervous system if you don't wear proper safety equipment...Sanctifier wrote:Another Safety Tip. This one will save your life...or save you from a HORRIBLE way of living![]()
This is what happened to one user...
Link--> PHOSGENE Poisoning.
This is SERIOUS SH!T...Read ALL labels in your workshop BEFORE use.
My $0.02¢
Use an anti-rust primer (red oxide / zinc chromate yellow) after the welding is done.MP @ Anvil Fire.com wrote:Welding galvanized metal and in some cases over heating brass along with brass grinding/sanding dust can also poison you. To be safe soak the part in muriatic acid overnight (to remove the zinc) and then then rinse with water. You may want to neutralize the acid with baking soda, then treat it as any other part.
Sanctifier wrote:^ ^ ^ HOLY SH!T... Yuh going to pay a "Fred in de shed"... or try DIY bodywork too?
That is a HUGE bite to take for your 1st attempt @ bodywork.
If ever I saw a project in need of Electrolysis or at least Media Blasting.... this is it. (Click on the links for more info.)
I'm going for both options for my projects... and it's a lot of work.
Much respect if you try either one... and good luck.![]()
My $0.02¢
No probs... Glad it helped.roadracer7 wrote:...looked at both processes. after media blasting the frame internals still had rust buildup. on the electrolysis dip the internal & external metal would have been treated,. great post thanks for the info.