Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby 16 cycles » January 3rd, 2012, 1:12 pm

crazybalhead wrote:PS3 for Christmas. Watching Blu rays and hearing DTS HD O_O

http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/movies.php?genre=Music

cornfused

Postby cornfused » January 3rd, 2012, 3:09 pm

casper wrote:I'll check u on msn a lil later Pios...real reason I went with a 2.1 rather than 5.1 is cuz my room really small and my bed taking up most of the space I literally have no space available to put more speakers other than to hang the monitors on the wall but my issue is wiring...don't want wires running through my room it dun hard to keep tidy as is...if u was living close I wudda like u to hear how the logitech sounding...the bass sounding nice, low and really full not sure if it's the acoustics of my small room but it sounds really powerful for a self powered 2.1 budget unit..

i bought two 2.1 logitech systems LS2 for a home , one for my own room . This is quite enough sound to feel the action of any movie , for a music budget of a few hundred they do the job well . The grandiose systems given here are more than overkill for a small room if you don't want complaints from a few houses away.

This system has greatly enhanced the stock system while not attracting any unwanted attention.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » January 3rd, 2012, 3:52 pm

Not sure if this is the correct thread, but it's HT related so here goes.

Switched from blink to FLOW, and I'm trying to configure my Linksys router to use usvideo.org by changing the DNS settings in the router administration page, but I'm not able to open the site 192.168.1.1 - getting a message "Page cannot be displayed" or "unable to establish a connection to the server at 192.168.1.1".

Is this related to the browser, or FLOW's firewall? How do I get around this problem? :?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » January 3rd, 2012, 4:31 pm

^strange. u tried unplugging the router for a couple seconds? worked for me last time i had that problem.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » January 3rd, 2012, 8:06 pm

dredman try looking at the router ip adress start # .. if its 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.2.1
u might have had the 192.168.2.1 if u had blink modem b4

at least this is how i hav emy router setup

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » January 3rd, 2012, 8:27 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:^strange. u tried unplugging the router for a couple seconds? worked for me last time i had that problem.
Yep. Even tried leaving it unplugged overnight to be sure. Same problem.

MonsterPower wrote:dredman try looking at the router ip adress start # .. if its 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.2.1

Where I finding the router ip adress start #? I didn't have the linksys with the blink - got it for the FLOW modem as it's wired only (they had no wireless modems when I signed up).

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 3rd, 2012, 8:27 pm

cornfused wrote:
casper wrote:I'll check u on msn a lil later Pios...real reason I went with a 2.1 rather than 5.1 is cuz my room really small and my bed taking up most of the space I literally have no space available to put more speakers other than to hang the monitors on the wall but my issue is wiring...don't want wires running through my room it dun hard to keep tidy as is...if u was living close I wudda like u to hear how the logitech sounding...the bass sounding nice, low and really full not sure if it's the acoustics of my small room but it sounds really powerful for a self powered 2.1 budget unit..

i bought two 2.1 logitech systems LS2 for a home , one for my own room . This is quite enough sound to feel the action of any movie , for a music budget of a few hundred they do the job well . The grandiose systems given here are more than overkill for a small room if you don't want complaints from a few houses away.

This system has greatly enhanced the stock system while not attracting any unwanted attention.
the "grandiose systems" are not so much about loudness or quantity, but rather accurately reproducing the 5.1 and 7.1 mixes that the movie director intended. 2.1 can't do that.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » January 3rd, 2012, 8:34 pm

where can i buy the Logitech Surround Sound Speakers Z506
wifey done saying she gettin me a pair of headphones cuz i play the tv to loud
just want a true 5.1 system without having to beg the minister of finance

Postby pioneer » January 3rd, 2012, 9:08 pm

sucks that women does control allyuh money so yes

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » January 3rd, 2012, 9:09 pm

one day yuh go get marrid/shack up den i go hear yuh crowing
just working on a home i/we could be proud of

so whey can i get the logi unit to buy ?

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 3rd, 2012, 9:11 pm

wey, is bess I live like devrat yes

Postby pioneer » January 3rd, 2012, 9:14 pm

MonsterPower wrote:one day yuh go get marrid/shack up den i go hear yuh crowing

1pat

circuitzone

supertech

wizz? (dem still operating?)

diamond systems

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 3rd, 2012, 9:40 pm

Yeah wizz have them for about $2700 thereabouts.

Lil too pricey for that level of sound quality (ie. low/fail/omg horrible etc :mrgreen: ).

Postby pioneer » January 3rd, 2012, 10:25 pm

bess you tell your wife stay in the kitchen and spend YOUR money how you want

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » January 3rd, 2012, 11:31 pm

pioneer wrote:bess you tell your wife stay in the kitchen and spend YOUR money how you want

Postby crazybalhead » January 4th, 2012, 10:56 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ told you so

you running 5.1 or 7.1?

5.1 still. Not going 7.1. No more speakers on stands for the tornado/octopus, who is now starting to walk to throw it down.

Will use the exra channels to Bi-amp the fronts WHEN I get them.

:drinking: :drinking: :drinking:

Postby crazybalhead » January 4th, 2012, 11:02 am

HCCA wrote:

Yeah wizz have them for about $2700 thereabouts.

Lil too pricey for that level of sound quality (ie. low/fail/omg horrible etc :mrgreen: ).

You can get a pair of paradigm atoms for that price. For a little bit more, you can even get a pair of POWERED atoms.

Seriously, who would buy that sheit logitech when so much better is available? Full five year mnufacture warranty on paradigm.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » January 4th, 2012, 11:43 am

dredman1 wrote:
2NR Smurf wrote:^strange. u tried unplugging the router for a couple seconds? worked for me last time i had that problem.
Yep. Even tried leaving it unplugged overnight to be sure. Same problem.

MonsterPower wrote:dredman try looking at the router ip adress start # .. if its 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.2.1

Where I finding the router ip adress start #? I didn't have the linksys with the blink - got it for the FLOW modem as it's wired only (they had no wireless modems when I signed up).

reset the router
by default you should get access to 192.168.1.1 as the main page

if you dont get access disconnect the connection to the modem and try it

you should be able to get access, just add the 3 DNS Servers and you should be good

sometimes u may need to poweroff the flow modem and remove the battery for a couple seconds for it to see the router

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » January 4th, 2012, 11:50 am

finally got around to installing netflix in the bedroom tv, via PS3 - didnt find any other player that was easy to navigate with and within a reasonable price range

its a sony 32" HD led, the tv remote controls the PS3 and netflix via HDMI too, so thats cool

now i went better sound,
anybody have good reviews/experience on a good sound bar?
i want something simple and clean with no clutter, doesn't need to be 5.1
just better sound than the built in tv speakers

Postby crazybalhead » January 4th, 2012, 12:33 pm

review of the daytons posted earlier.

http://www.soundandvisionmag.com/blog/2 ... r?page=0,0

Postby X_Factor » January 4th, 2012, 12:50 pm

Whats allyuh opinion on burnt blu ray discs?
i came across a place with a decent collection of them, they go for 20$ a pop
which isnt bad.....

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » January 4th, 2012, 12:54 pm

copper_shot wrote:reset the router

you should be able to get access, just add the 3 DNS Servers and you should be good

sometimes u may need to poweroff the flow modem and remove the battery for a couple seconds for it to see the router
Thanks - will try it when I get home :)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 4th, 2012, 3:25 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ told you so

you running 5.1 or 7.1?

5.1 still. Not going 7.1. No more speakers on stands for the tornado/octopus, who is now starting to walk to throw it down.

Will use the exra channels to Bi-amp the fronts WHEN I get them.

:drinking: :drinking: :drinking:
good plan - very few blu-ray movies are done in 7.1, most are in 5.1. Once you running DTS-HD or Dobly TrueHD then you good. On a 5.1 system with a good reciever, if the movie is 7.1 or 6.1 (like the Star Wars blu-ray movies) the receiver will do the work of upmixing so the sounds stay where they are supposed to be coming from.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 4th, 2012, 3:32 pm

copper_shot wrote:finally got around to installing netflix in the bedroom tv, via PS3 - didnt find any other player that was easy to navigate with and within a reasonable price range

its a sony 32" HD led, the tv remote controls the PS3 and netflix via HDMI too, so thats cool

now i went better sound,
anybody have good reviews/experience on a good sound bar?
i want something simple and clean with no clutter, doesn't need to be 5.1
just better sound than the built in tv speakers
a powered soundbar might be a good option for the bedroom. Unless you plan to have the clutter of a receiver etc etc in your bedroom, you would need to get self powered speakers.

For the bedroom, unless you watching actual blu-ray discs, I'd just go with a US$94 Apple TV. It's cheap, tiny, will still work with the universal IR part of your TV remote (though the apple TV remote is slick), no fan noise or heating issues and it plays Netflix, movies, music and is excellent at youtube right out of the box. Yes the Apple Tv is only 720p but with a 32" TV you wont be able to tell anyway.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » January 4th, 2012, 3:40 pm

X_Factor wrote:Whats allyuh opinion on burnt blu ray discs?
which isnt bad.....

is it straight digital copy? meaning do you get full menus special features and 5.1 audio etc?

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » January 4th, 2012, 4:12 pm

X_Factor wrote:Whats allyuh opinion on burnt blu ray discs?
which isnt bad.....

piracy :|

originalbling

Postby originalbling » January 4th, 2012, 4:54 pm

I am looking at options right now to get cable TV to another room with a PC.

I know the easiest thing is to get a TV but what type of tv card (usb or PCI) would i need to install to get FLOW digital cable on the PC?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 4th, 2012, 8:08 pm

originalbling wrote:I am looking at options right now to get cable TV to another room with a PC.

I know the easiest thing is to get a TV but what type of tv card (usb or PCI) would i need to install to get FLOW digital cable on the PC?
you would still need to get another cable box for that room.

if it's just to watch TV on the computer monitor, most modern monitors have multiple inputs and you can plug the cable box into the monitor directly using the component video jack. Audio might be an issue since monitors dont usually have built in speakers.

If you want to record cable TV shows on your PC then any good video capture card will work.

Either way you will still need another cable box as your PC cannot do what the cable box does - which is authorise viewing via your subscription.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » January 4th, 2012, 9:10 pm

copper_shot wrote:reset the router

Tried all the suggestions, and none of them allowed me to configure the router , so I just took the linksys down to check it, and it's a WAP54G, with only 1 ethernet port. The flow modem is a wired modem with, yep, one ethernet port as well.

So I'm able to get the linksys to see the modem by connecting the 2 via the ethernet cable, and my laptop can see the linksys and connect to the internet wirelessly, but the connection is obviously unsecured.

I'm guessing this means there's no way I can configure the linksys to secure it and give it another SSID?

originalbling

Postby originalbling » January 4th, 2012, 9:21 pm

yea Duane, I know i will need an extra cable box.

the monitor is an older flat screen with vga connection only.