The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby M_2NR » January 28th, 2012, 11:06 am

Honestly, i rather have it how Duane described it. Google for my contacts etc. iCloud currently doing quite a sheit job at it. Plus for persons who have non-apple devices, iCloud isnt implemented as nicely as google and don't get me started on photostream.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 28th, 2012, 3:12 pm

Swisha wrote:same thing i'm thinking Duane. i am contemplating reasons on switching as well because imho Google's cloud services are as good as they come.

and at the same time i still need to use a Windows environment at work.

so is ether Strauss saying i should own 2 laptops or if i want to switch to Mac completely i should find ah new job :|

(and no, i dont want to use a work computer, they all suck)

I meant, you don't buy a Mac to run Windows.

I will use Windows for those few times I need to use something PC side like play a game. But if your primary use is for Access, you might spend most of your time in Windows? Then you will never experience the Mac-side.

Everyone loves Google's services (so do I). Thing is though, didn't Apple have this integration first since er... January 2000? The whole web, calendars, email, video, page, music, photos sharing, movie making, dvd-backup, word processing blah blah blah...

I'm not knocking Google. It's just for the past 12 years Mac users have been enjoying what you are experiencing now. I can't explain it to you, but it feels comfortable.

Bottom line : If going to spend all your time in Windows.. doh bother.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 28th, 2012, 3:21 pm

You know what?

Mac users take a lot of things for granted. You know that "you need to use one to understand" bit? Well there're just some things that we enjoy because of the way it's implemented. Then 5 or 10 years later some one comes up with the same idea and pushes it as something 'new'.

Best thing guys is to visit my office some time. I can answer almost everything you throw at me.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 28th, 2012, 3:47 pm

i never said i wanted to buy a Mac to use Windows primarily.

i said the only time i would need to use Windows is at work.

anyway, Windows 8 is looking more and more impressive and lots of Ultrabooks on the horizon. plenty time to judge for myself and make my own decision while being objective to both sides.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » January 28th, 2012, 4:03 pm

Need a case!
Currently I have the SPECK, one that looks like a tank.
I had it on my previous Iphones and Ipods, and they all survived..until of course I got fedup of the thickness..took it off..and my devices fell.

How good are the otterbox and Lifecase Series(yea..the $80 one)
? Any issue with overheating since it's completely sealed off?

rookie

Postby rookie » January 28th, 2012, 6:02 pm

One word for cases lifeproof I posted it earlier a couple pages back google it !

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 28th, 2012, 6:46 pm

Swisha wrote:i never said i wanted to buy a Mac to use Windows primarily.

i said the only time i would need to use Windows is at work.

anyway, Windows 8 is looking more and more impressive and lots of Ultrabooks on the horizon. plenty time to judge for myself and make my own decision while being objective to both sides.

I misunderstood.

Call me next week and come over.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 28th, 2012, 9:31 pm

I think I might take up your invitation

in early 2011 I built a new PC after pining over buying an iMac 27" or a Mac Pro

I ended up building a Windows 7 machine by buying the components and putting it together myself.
i7 2600K @4.7Ghz
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
120GB SSD + 320GB WD Velociraptor 10,000rpm
Workstation mainboard with USB 3
nVidia GTX460 SSC 1GB DDR5
24" Samsung SyncMaster monitor

I use mainly Adobe CS5 apps (Illustrator, Photoshop, Fireworks, Premiere Pro) and Lightroom
MS Office 2007 mostly Word and Excel
Other than that it's browsers, FF, Chrome, Safari and IE
and Filezilla
iTunes
PS3 Media Server and VLC

Everything there runs on a Mac, however if I had to buy a Sandy Bridge Mac with those specs it would cost alot more than the money I spent. Infact I don't think Apple released the Sandy Bridge i7 until very long after.

In defence of Apple, I know even a mac with lower specs would be able to compete with my machine. And if you see the epic build quality of a Mac Pro it would make my hand built PC look like... well a piece of wood.

however I needed to use that power especially in Adobe Lightroom, PS and Premiere Pro (even though I'm yet to edit a piece of video) and money wise, the PC build just made good $$$ sense.

mind you, I wanted a Mac so bad that this is the desktop on the PC I built :lol:

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » January 28th, 2012, 10:15 pm

Still having some issues with my digicel sim.

It sends text messages to Bmobile numbers fine, but to other digicel phones..message failed!

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 29th, 2012, 12:11 am

But Duane, you could have built a hackintosh

Postby M_2NR » January 29th, 2012, 12:44 am

Strauss wrote:But Duane, you could have built a hackintosh

oh dear... please stop using that word...

The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 29th, 2012, 1:12 am

Strauss wrote:But Duane, you could have built a hackintosh

nah not the same

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 30th, 2012, 8:37 pm

ok been out of the iPhone business for a while...

Q: if i jailbreak a 4S, is it as simple as restoring in itunes to get back to stock and get rid of the jailbreak?

scruff76

Postby scruff76 » January 30th, 2012, 9:02 pm

that is correct

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 30th, 2012, 9:10 pm

no need for blobs and all that drama right?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » January 30th, 2012, 9:42 pm

no blobs, it's a straightforward restore

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 31st, 2012, 11:48 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I think I might take up your invitation

in early 2011 I built a new PC after pining over buying an iMac 27" or a Mac Pro

I ended up building a Windows 7 machine by buying the components and putting it together myself.
i7 2600K @4.7Ghz
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
120GB SSD + 320GB WD Velociraptor 10,000rpm
Workstation mainboard with USB 3
nVidia GTX460 SSC 1GB DDR5
24" Samsung SyncMaster monitor

I use mainly Adobe CS5 apps (Illustrator, Photoshop, Fireworks, Premiere Pro) and Lightroom
MS Office 2007 mostly Word and Excel
Other than that it's browsers, FF, Chrome, Safari and IE
and Filezilla
iTunes
PS3 Media Server and VLC

Everything there runs on a Mac, however if I had to buy a Sandy Bridge Mac with those specs it would cost alot more than the money I spent. Infact I don't think Apple released the Sandy Bridge i7 until very long after.

In defence of Apple, I know even a mac with lower specs would be able to compete with my machine. And if you see the epic build quality of a Mac Pro it would make my hand built PC look like... well a piece of wood.

however I needed to use that power especially in Adobe Lightroom, PS and Premiere Pro (even though I'm yet to edit a piece of video) and money wise, the PC build just made good $$$ sense.

mind you, I wanted a Mac so bad that this is the desktop on the PC I built :lol:

lol...my laptop have more specs than that...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 31st, 2012, 12:06 pm

^ your laptop has a 24" screen? wow that must be alot to lug around :|

casper

Postby casper » January 31st, 2012, 1:15 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ your laptop has a 24" screen? wow that must be alot to lug around :|

ent???

src1983

The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby src1983 » January 31st, 2012, 2:38 pm

Lol!!!!

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » January 31st, 2012, 2:43 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ your laptop has a 24" screen? wow that must be alot to lug around :|

:pwned:

Postby M_2NR » January 31st, 2012, 2:53 pm

ouch.

Swisha wrote:no need for blobs and all that drama right?

na boy. blobs only useful for those who want to downgrade or restore a f/w that apple isnt signing.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 31st, 2012, 4:33 pm

Swisha wrote:ok been out of the iPhone business for a while...

Q: if i jailbreak a 4S, is it as simple as restoring in itunes to get back to stock and get rid of the jailbreak?

Careful with other phones as you can sometimes take the 'one way baseband trip' and never be able to [unlock] again.
Last edited by Strauss on January 31st, 2012, 6:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

scruff76

Postby scruff76 » January 31st, 2012, 4:51 pm

Strauss wrote:

Careful with other phones as you can sometimes take the 'one way baseband trip' and never be able to jailbreak again.

i think u mean he will not b able to unlock if he takes the basband trip.. if necessary u may hav to cook an ipsw to preserve ur baseband

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 31st, 2012, 4:54 pm

nah not interested in unlocking, just jailbreaking.

i know not to update the firmware if i want to keep the jailbreak...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 31st, 2012, 6:05 pm

no but with any hdmi cable it can be any size and with my 60" LED home, works wonders...can u take yours anywhere??? lol

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 31st, 2012, 6:22 pm

scruff76 wrote:
Strauss wrote:

Careful with other phones as you can sometimes take the 'one way baseband trip' and never be able to jailbreak again.

i think u mean he will not b able to unlock if he takes the basband trip.. if necessary u may hav to cook an ipsw to preserve ur baseband

Yea that's what I meant. Fingers working faster than brain today.
Edited my post

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 31st, 2012, 6:29 pm

ryan99tt wrote:

no but with any hdmi cable it can be any size and with my 60" LED home, works wonders...can u take yours anywhere??? lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 31st, 2012, 7:15 pm

ryan99tt wrote:

no further than you take your 60" LED TV

doh beatup, go enjoy your laptop 8-)

Parvin

Postby Parvin » January 31st, 2012, 7:22 pm

ryan99tt wrote:

no further than you take your 60" LED TV

doh beatup, go enjoy your laptop 8-)

:pwned: :pwned: :pwned: