Swisha wrote:same thing i'm thinking Duane. i am contemplating reasons on switching as well because imho Google's cloud services are as good as they come.
and at the same time i still need to use a Windows environment at work.
so is ether Strauss saying i should own 2 laptops or if i want to switch to Mac completely i should find ah new job
(and no, i dont want to use a work computer, they all suck)
Swisha wrote:i never said i wanted to buy a Mac to use Windows primarily.
i said the only time i would need to use Windows is at work.
anyway, Windows 8 is looking more and more impressive and lots of Ultrabooks on the horizon. plenty time to judge for myself and make my own decision while being objective to both sides.
Strauss wrote:But Duane, you could have built a hackintosh
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I think I might take up your invitation
in early 2011 I built a new PC after pining over buying an iMac 27" or a Mac Pro
I ended up building a Windows 7 machine by buying the components and putting it together myself.
i7 2600K @4.7Ghz
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
120GB SSD + 320GB WD Velociraptor 10,000rpm
Workstation mainboard with USB 3
nVidia GTX460 SSC 1GB DDR5
24" Samsung SyncMaster monitor
I use mainly Adobe CS5 apps (Illustrator, Photoshop, Fireworks, Premiere Pro) and Lightroom
MS Office 2007 mostly Word and Excel
Other than that it's browsers, FF, Chrome, Safari and IE
and Filezilla
iTunes
PS3 Media Server and VLC
Everything there runs on a Mac, however if I had to buy a Sandy Bridge Mac with those specs it would cost alot more than the money I spent. Infact I don't think Apple released the Sandy Bridge i7 until very long after.
In defence of Apple, I know even a mac with lower specs would be able to compete with my machine. And if you see the epic build quality of a Mac Pro it would make my hand built PC look like... well a piece of wood.
however I needed to use that power especially in Adobe Lightroom, PS and Premiere Pro (even though I'm yet to edit a piece of video) and money wise, the PC build just made good $$$ sense.
mind you, I wanted a Mac so bad that this is the desktop on the PC I built
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ your laptop has a 24" screen? wow that must be alot to lug around
Swisha wrote:no need for blobs and all that drama right?
Swisha wrote:ok been out of the iPhone business for a while...
Q: if i jailbreak a 4S, is it as simple as restoring in itunes to get back to stock and get rid of the jailbreak?
Strauss wrote:Swisha wrote:ok been out of the iPhone business for a while...
Q: if i jailbreak a 4S, is it as simple as restoring in itunes to get back to stock and get rid of the jailbreak?
Careful with other phones as you can sometimes take the 'one way baseband trip' and never be able to jailbreak again.
scruff76 wrote:Strauss wrote:Swisha wrote:ok been out of the iPhone business for a while...
Careful with other phones as you can sometimes take the 'one way baseband trip' and never be able to jailbreak again.
i think u mean he will not b able to unlock if he takes the basband trip.. if necessary u may hav to cook an ipsw to preserve ur baseband
ryan99tt wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ your laptop has a 24" screen? wow that must be alot to lug around
no but with any hdmi cable it can be any size and with my 60" LED home, works wonders...can u take yours anywhere??? lol
no further than you take your 60" LED TVryan99tt wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ your laptop has a 24" screen? wow that must be alot to lug around
no but with any hdmi cable it can be any size and with my 60" LED home, works wonders...can u take yours anywhere??? lol
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:no further than you take your 60" LED TVryan99tt wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ your laptop has a 24" screen? wow that must be alot to lug around
doh beatup, go enjoy your laptop