Re: trini people web ideas limited ? so many same sites

Postby black start » March 4th, 2012, 12:16 am

ah wonder why? :lol: :lol: :lol:

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » March 4th, 2012, 2:32 am

I recently launched a local car audio specific forum. My intention was never to move anyone away from the tuner forums as i'm sure many people take part in multiple forums both locally and internationally. Ive been supporting this site in ways I can since I can remember myself.

Trinituner is a general automotive forum and as groups/sections get bigger its not suprising to see seperate forums. One of the main reasons I launched the site was to give back to the community that supported me throughout the years. Unfortauntely to develop and maintain a site - one must look for an advertisment here or there or try to bring in traffic. Its understandable that some may think of it as riding a band wagon but I agree with Duane and its that same attitude that is associated with the success of tuner.
I guess haters gonna hate...

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » March 4th, 2012, 2:44 pm

I think it's fear of originality that's the case here. As Duane said, advertisers want to know that they are reaching their target market in a timely fashion so that there is no doubt about getting value for their money.

As a result, people tend to have the same formats for web pages because the mindset is probably "Well if it lookin so on dem web page I could jus do the same thing and it go work."

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 5th, 2012, 4:46 pm

so mediahouse not answering the questions?

mediahouse wrote:can any one guess the most popular websites ah trini like to make and hope 2 be the next big thing?

car sales sites and classifieds sites.

Evey week or so you are sure to see some new car site and classifieds site.

Most of they have same features like their competitor and nothing new and fresh.

For once i would like to see a trini come up with a good idea 4 ah site.

every one wah beat trinicarsforsale.com lol

or if you making a car site or classifieds make sure it up to standard technology and has good features....
ok but define "popular website", "new and fresh" and "standard technology"

Postby Bizzare » March 5th, 2012, 10:07 pm

pick an idea for a site and I gonna make it happen within the next 4 weeks. and trust me, I'm broke.

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » March 5th, 2012, 11:06 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:so mediahouse not answering the questions?

mediahouse wrote:can any one guess the most popular websites ah trini like to make and hope 2 be the next big thing?

car sales sites and classifieds sites.

Evey week or so you are sure to see some new car site and classifieds site.

Most of they have same features like their competitor and nothing new and fresh.

For once i would like to see a trini come up with a good idea 4 ah site.

every one wah beat trinicarsforsale.com lol

or if you making a car site or classifieds make sure it up to standard technology and has good features....
ok but define "popular website", "new and fresh" and "standard technology"

well there are so many web technologies every one loading up a cms like joomla and hoping for the best. there are no ajax driven sites or so in trini or fancy flash sites.

look at all the car classifieds sites coming up recently they seem to be joomla driven and all have same layout type , its like no one cant think different and make better layout or ideas?

and we did own trinirides once we didnt follow trinicars layout its different and have an ajax slider for easier views...

as the topic says , trinis running out of ideas just load up a cms and hope 4 the best , no creative bone whatsover

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 6th, 2012, 12:39 am

mediahouse wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:ok but define "popular website", "new and fresh" and "standard technology"

well there are so many web technologies every one loading up a cms like joomla and hoping for the best. there are no ajax driven sites or so in trini or fancy flash sites.

look at all the car classifieds sites coming up recently they seem to be joomla driven and all have same layout type , its like no one cant think different and make better layout or ideas?

and we did own trinirides once we didnt follow trinicars layout its different and have an ajax slider for easier views...

as the topic says , trinis running out of ideas just load up a cms and hope 4 the best , no creative bone whatsover
so it's bad when everyone uses Joomla, but good if everyone used Ajax?

why do you feel a site has to be a fancy flash site to be a good site?
a website can still be very useful, current and relevant - it depends on what the site is about. You use the technology where it's needed, not because it's new or stay away from it because everyone else is using it. It's not a fashion show :idea:

what happened to your trinirides.com website with the ajax slider?

Postby sMASH » March 6th, 2012, 1:52 am

chuna and cars for sale does what i want , how i want it. only problem with carsfor sale are the many addys which is the only thing i get to see if i view it at work, cause the net real slow.

sometimes i venture onto other international forums, and the layouts are quite bewildering. chuna's layout is clutterless, and easy on the eyes, and brain.

i joined mk's forum and can't even remember my password.( and they not sending the reset to meh email, guess they're ok without me there)

i get a lot of the stuff i am interested in on chuna. for another forum to attract me, they need to offer sumting i want, in a package i can tolerate.

so, if u starting a website, don't let ur main focus be attracting traffic. if so, u would do all kinds of mad things under the sun, or just be copy cat.
think about what u want to offer, and how. see if that lines up with the needs of the market ur interested in. so, like steveselectronics, i always check their site cause its laid out easily and offer stuff i am interested in. their main focus is not just pulling traffic, but offering a service. the usage of the service, is what generates their traffic.

as for me, the white stuff here is just rite...

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » March 6th, 2012, 8:18 am

i aint saying joomla is bad or drupal or any cms , what i saying is people are not creative they just load up a cms and template and hope for the best , i can list so many car sites that pop up recently and they all look the same.

if i have 2 do over a car site or classifieds site this time around it will be totally different in some features and layout compared to the rest of sites.

Postby r3iXmann » March 6th, 2012, 8:22 am

mediahouse wrote:i aint saying joomla is bad or drupal or any cms , what i saying is people are not creative they just load up a cms and template and hope for the best , i can list so many car sites that pop up recently and they all look the same.

if i have 2 do over a car site or classifieds site this time around it will be totally different in some features and layout compared to the rest of sites.

i understand what you're saying in this particular instance

i use joomla and i modify all of my templates extensively

however, there is an alarming number of web 'designers' (even on this forum) that simply load up a template and call it a day. some of them dont even bother to change the joomla favicon :lol:

Postby crazybalhead » March 6th, 2012, 8:26 am

What manner of devilry is all this joomla and drupal you speak of???

Postby r3iXmann » March 6th, 2012, 10:12 am

crazybalhead wrote:What manner of devilry is all this joomla and drupal you speak of???

tools used for summoning the dark lord :shock:

Mobile-Authority

Postby Mobile-Authority » March 6th, 2012, 11:03 am

I dont understand the point of this thread.. :S

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » March 6th, 2012, 2:32 pm

you have no web background thats why,

its ok you are pardon

Mobile-Authority

Postby Mobile-Authority » March 6th, 2012, 9:28 pm

Pardon Accepted Mr. Aleem
Srry.. but after reading the entire thread sounds like yuh totin ?
i recently launched a forum on my website..
i dont hope to "steal" any1 from trinituner. just get a lil more traffic on my site would be nice.. After all there is no profit to be made.

But on another note mabe u should really do as Duane said an use technology where necessary.
what ever happened to Trinirides.com, TriniFinder.com and Trini-ads.com tho ?

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » March 7th, 2012, 1:46 pm

Mobile-Authority wrote:Pardon Accepted Mr. Aleem
i dont hope to "steal" any1 from trinituner. just get a lil more traffic on my site would be nice.. After all there is no profit to be made.

But on another note mabe u should really do as Duane said an use technology where necessary.

lol you real keeping tabs on my domain yes lol and my personal details lol

trinirides sold, trini-ads in reserve , trinifinder upgraded to another social site which will be revealed in time :)

Plus those domains are over 3 yrs old and had old technology , so we taken them down to update with standard technology , ajax , etc....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 7th, 2012, 11:21 pm

mediahouse wrote:
Mobile-Authority wrote:Pardon Accepted Mr. Aleem

lol you real keeping tabs on my domain yes lol and my personal details lol

trinirides sold, trini-ads in reserve , trinifinder upgraded to another social site which will be revealed in time :)

Plus those domains are over 3 yrs old and had old technology , so we taken them down to update with standard technology , ajax , etc....
what is standard technology?

Postby Bizzare » March 8th, 2012, 12:01 am

why does he keep mentioning ajax as some kinda new fascinating technology? :?
ajax is over 10 yrs old... the term "ajax" is probably recent though.