A police constable was granted $100,000 bail yesterday for allegedly tendering 15 forged medical certificates over a two-year period. Jamraj Lall, 41, appeared in the Chaguanas court before Magistrate Avason Quinlan charged with 15 counts of misbehaviour in public office.
It is alleged that he submitted false medical certificates after taking 102 days’ sick leave at different intervals between May 2010 and February 2012. Lall, who has 23 years’ service and was last attached to the Chaguanas Police Station, was arrested at his home in Felicity yesterday morning by officers of the Professional Standards Bureau in Port-of-Spain.
He was taken to the Chaguanas Police Station, where he was charged by acting Sgt Deodath Seepersad. Hours later, he appeared before Quinlan, who read the charges to him. Each charge claimed that he submitted a forged medical certificate purportedly signed by District Medical Officer Dr Birjah.
Sick leave certificates were tendered to various police stations, including Chaguanas, Longdenville, Cunupia and Freeport. In a bail application, Lall’s lawyer Dereck Seecharan described his client as a commendable and outstanding officer, adding that he was not a flight risk.
He said Lall was a single father and sole provider for his 13-year-old daughter and nine-year-old son. He asked that bail be set at a reasonable amount. Court prosecutor acting Inspector Joey Samaroo confirmed Lall had no previous convictions or pending matters. He did not object to bail. The matter was transferred to the First Court and adjourned to May 29.
crossdrilled wrote:Is 40-60 dollars to get a legitimate one (whether you badly off or not) and he wanna forge it? Good for he.
rfari wrote:Nothing new here
speedmelter wrote:23 years in the force and has a constable rank.. explains the stupidity of his actions
geometron wrote:pm RS for further details...
rollingstock wrote:geometron wrote:pm RS for further details...
I won't be home tonight son, can you do me a favor?
After you leave school, when you reach home tell your mother next time she packs my lunch don't forget to put a fcuking spoon, stupid forkin hoe!
rollingstock wrote:^
rollingstock wrote:^ And i'm ah finish eet...........
yuh mooma!