TTPOST - "Handling Fee"

spanish

TTPOST - "Handling Fee"

Postby spanish » June 26th, 2012, 9:42 pm

I really want to know who responsible for dis crap!

TTPOST now charging people a $25 "handling fee" for them to collect a parcel, and this is IN ADDITION to the usual VAT and import duty. Just imagine, after all shipping charges already paid, you have to GO and collect ... and pay them $25. My question is ... FOR WHAT??? Is just a regular parcel .. not skybox service or anything. Is weeks it take to reach!! The woman couldn't give me no explanation.

Is years now I collecting stuff at Lee's Pharmacy and paying just VAT and duty. Suddenly, the TTPOST outlet there disappear and parcels going to Charran's at Valpark, and this mysterious "handling fee" appear. I emailed their customer service ... NO RESPONSE. As for calling the Piarco Mail Centre ... even worse.

Parvin

Re: TTPOST - "Handling Fee"

Postby Parvin » June 26th, 2012, 9:45 pm

Real nonsense with that eh.

I received a few parcels from eBay normal and then recently this 'fee' appeared. And is only when you reach to collect then they inform you eh

firstchoicett

TTPOST - "Handling Fee"

Postby firstchoicett » June 26th, 2012, 10:01 pm

Fed up of handling fees but it's a way of them to substitute on not charging by volume .

TTPOST - "Handling Fee"

Postby S_2NR » June 26th, 2012, 10:30 pm

U have options. Use them and stop whining like a lil b!tch

spanish

Re: TTPOST -

Postby spanish » June 26th, 2012, 11:50 pm

S_2NR wrote:U have options. Use them and stop whining like a lil b!tch

Oh, is that so? Please enlighten me as to what "options" I have for the remaining parcels that are en route.

TTPOST - "Handling Fee"

Postby S_2NR » June 26th, 2012, 11:58 pm

Well who tell yu keep ordering stuff after knowing service is poor. Trinis always complaining about this and that and still running in to spend their money by the same people.

If u don't like their service, stop using them. It's that simple.

spanish

Postby spanish » June 27th, 2012, 12:19 am

S_2NR wrote:Well who tell yu keep ordering stuff after knowing service is poor. Trinis always complaining about this and that and still running in to spend their money by the same people.

You totally off point yes. TTPOST charging people to COLLECT A PARCEL. I never mention ordering anything. I talking parcels with gifts here ... nothing to do with buying anything. Is somebody SEND something for me to collect. What you talking bout not "using" their service, and "running to spend money by the same people"? I never request any service from TTPOST.

Besides, this "handling fee" is something new that appeared without warning. So, there is no other option for parcels already en route.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » June 27th, 2012, 1:01 am

YUP, did not know this and the fees cost more than the item almost twice as much!!!! If you send something to your address, ttpost has to handle it, not everybody has or want a skybox.

And they never warned people in truth, just bam, in your face. Their service is good, packages come without problem, but these fee's make no sense at all now.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 27th, 2012, 5:21 am

TTPOST fees have skyrocketed. Worse yet if you're a business with bulk mail collection from them...what used to cost $3000 a month is now $20,000 a month. Apparently they are no longer being subsidized by government? so they charging fees all over the place to avoid operating at a loss.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » June 27th, 2012, 6:35 am

2NR Smurf wrote:TTPOST fees have skyrocketed. Worse yet if you're a business with bulk mail collection from them...what used to cost $3000 a month is now $20,000 a month. Apparently they are no longer being subsidized by government? so they charging fees all over the place to avoid operating at a loss.
I think they are still subsidized by the government just some racket maybe going on inside there...

Postby S_2NR » June 27th, 2012, 7:20 am

spanish wrote:
S_2NR wrote:Well who tell yu keep ordering stuff after knowing service is poor. Trinis always complaining about this and that and still running in to spend their money by the same people.

You totally off point yes. TTPOST charging people to COLLECT A PARCEL. I never mention ordering anything. I talking parcels with gifts here ... nothing to do with buying anything. Is somebody SEND something for me to collect. What you talking bout not "using" their service, and "running to spend money by the same people"? I never request any service from TTPOST.

Besides, this "handling fee" is something new that appeared without warning. So, there is no other option for parcels already en route.

Do u have a skybox?
In future, tell people to send it to your skybox so you dont have to deal with this again.

Postby SmokeyGTi » June 27th, 2012, 8:00 am

spanish wrote:

buh wey de phoq...u getting free ting an u cyah spen a lil $25??

firstchoicett

TTPOST - "Handling Fee"

Postby firstchoicett » June 27th, 2012, 8:03 am

S_2NR wrote:
spanish wrote:

Do u have a skybox?
In future, tell people to send it to your skybox so you dont have to deal with this again.

Well said bro .

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 27th, 2012, 8:44 am

handling fees.......saw some skybox have something called courtesy fee.....and another have advancement fee......man WTF...wrong with them........just looking for a way to collect easy money

these fees cannot be justified....

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » June 27th, 2012, 9:16 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:handling fees.......saw some skybox have something called courtesy fee.....and another have advancement fee......man WTF...wrong with them........just looking for a way to collect easy money

these fees cannot be justified....

skybox adding on fees for u?? nah hoss...daz why we pay a yearly subscription fee...

well then, seems ttpost have a new motto "if we eh lorse it, u go pay it."

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 27th, 2012, 10:42 am

there is a skybox company advertising on tuner......Man saying he have the lowest charges......

but the courtesy fee just turned me off....

Postby maj. tom » June 27th, 2012, 2:08 pm

Since we pay tax which pays for TTPost, write to your Member of Parliament to investigate the handling fee.

Ask your MP where that money is going, or if someone in there pocketing it. I did not see any public notices posted about this extra fee for a service the taxpayer is mostly paying for, that just appeared overnight. The postage is already paid for and that included handling fees under international postage agreements by the Universal Postal Union, unless the rules have changed.

I do know however, that Canada Post charges $8.50 CAD per dutiable or taxable item entering the country to recover costs as it is with most countries, but I have never had to pay anything extra for anything under 2lbs. Small packages usually passed clear through and delivered to my door with signature required and nothing for me to pay, but a bigger item required a handling fee. Then again, Canada Post delivered it to my door.

kual

Postby kual » June 27th, 2012, 2:12 pm

I have been trying to call ttpost but to no avail.

Postby maj. tom » June 27th, 2012, 2:12 pm

Other services like UPS and Fedex charged me a brokerage fee (C.O.D) for ground shipments from USA to Canada, and it usually came up to more than the item's cost. It just involved the company declaring the value of items to Customs which was already marked on the CN22 form at the border for me and some paperwork.

spanish

Postby spanish » June 27th, 2012, 3:10 pm

firstchoicett wrote:
S_2NR wrote:Do u have a skybox?

Well said bro .

I agree. Quite succinct, indeed. [insert applause here]

Unfortunately though, meh time machine in de shop right now. So, I aint able to travel back in time and tell people to send things to meh skybox. I was specifically referring to parcels already en route.

spanish

Postby spanish » June 27th, 2012, 3:17 pm

maj. tom wrote:Since we pay tax which pays for TTPost, write to your Member of Parliament to investigate the handling fee.

Ask your MP where that money is going, or if someone in there pocketing it. I did not see any public notices posted about this extra fee for a service the taxpayer is mostly paying for, that just appeared overnight. The postage is already paid for and that included handling fees under international postage agreements by the Universal Postal Union, unless the rules have changed.

I do know however, that Canada Post charges $8.50 CAD per dutiable or taxable item entering the country to recover costs as it is with most countries, but I have never had to pay anything extra for anything under 2lbs. Small packages usually passed clear through and delivered to my door with signature required and nothing for me to pay, but a bigger item required a handling fee. Then again, Canada Post delivered it to my door.

That was the same point I raised with the TTPOST employee. Why must the receiver pay extra money, but not get any extra service? The parcel isn't delivered to my door. TTPOST is supposed to be the State mail carrier; therefore, all the receiver should be liable for is duty and VAT. Of course, all I got was a blank stare ...

Postby maj. tom » June 27th, 2012, 3:44 pm

Call TTPOST toll free 800-Post (7678) and wait for customer service.

But really, what can they do to help you? This is something that requires investigation into the International Postal Agreement and what the law says about mail and fees.

Personally I feel cheated that this came without warning or justification, especially when I am buying things in Singapore/Hong Kong/China and paying for postage there and then paying more here to receive which are not Customs taxes. And they're not even delivering it to my door!

Postby sharkman121 » June 27th, 2012, 3:58 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:
spanish wrote:

buh wey de phoq...u getting free ting an u cyah spen a lil $25??

^ this is besides the point, Trinis should not sit down an accept sheit. Oppose it and find out the reason why or just boycott it.

I rather she whine like a lil b!tch and oppose the new charges than sit down and take it like a yes man/woman
Last edited by sharkman121 on June 27th, 2012, 3:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kemraj

Postby kemraj » June 27th, 2012, 3:58 pm

When i first saw this i was wtf, and i called ttpost and they did not even know why they are charging this fee. This is crap.

crysys

Postby crysys » June 27th, 2012, 5:56 pm

an yuh have ah attitude to deal with wen u go to collect yuh parcel ...

kemraj

Postby kemraj » June 27th, 2012, 5:58 pm

I don't have a problem with paying the extra handling fee but at least tell us whats the fee for, mention it somewhere. It ridiculous when your paying for something you don't know anything about.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 27th, 2012, 6:10 pm

firstchoicett wrote:
2NR Smurf wrote:TTPOST fees have skyrocketed. Worse yet if you're a business with bulk mail collection from them...what used to cost $3000 a month is now $20,000 a month. Apparently they are no longer being subsidized by government? so they charging fees all over the place to avoid operating at a loss.
I think they are still subsidized by the government just some racket maybe going on inside there...

They have told their bulk mail clients they are no longer being subsidized by govt. Not sure if it has already gone into effect or is going to soon. Its really ridiculous. Even if you go to the mail centre in piarco to drop off your bulk mail, they charging you a fee...and you have to offload it yourself eh...

spanish

Postby spanish » June 27th, 2012, 7:13 pm

2NR Smurf wrote: They have told their bulk mail clients they are no longer being subsidized by govt. Not sure if it has already gone into effect or is going to soon. Its really ridiculous. Even if you go to the mail centre in piarco to drop off your bulk mail, they charging you a fee...and you have to offload it yourself eh...

By chance, was this info regarding no governmental subsidy communicated in writing? Is the source credible?

But I agree, they getting really ridiculous. You dropping off your own mail and still getting charged a fee? They charging for the ambience or what?

spanish

Postby spanish » June 28th, 2012, 3:13 pm

Found some interesting information at http://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/Laws2/Al ... /47.02.pdf

TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO
POSTAL CORPORATION ACT
– updated to December 31st, 2009

63. (1) The Board may make Regulations for the following
matters:

(a) the terms and conditions in relation to the receipt,
carriage or delivery of postal articles by Trinidad
and Tobago Post;

(b) the renting or leasing of letter boxes;

(c) fees for non-reserved services and other charges
relating to postal services provided by Trinidad
and Tobago Post.