students using gate are screwed

Re: students using gate are screwed

Postby cinco » October 3rd, 2012, 11:05 am

Trini Hookah wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Nah they should keep gate. "People that can afford to go to collage, don't need a college education" -Lady GaGa

center bit of that looks like a peen

Postby Stephon. » October 3rd, 2012, 11:12 am

Trini Hookah wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Nah they should keep gate. "People that can afford to go to collage, don't need a college education" -Lady GaGa

Auto fcuking correct!

Postby rollingstock » October 3rd, 2012, 11:23 am

I worked and paid my own to get my degree, everyone else should. You appreciate what hard work is. No wonder the new workforce is as it is. They expect free handouts, the world doesn't operate that way.

aidan

Postby aidan » October 3rd, 2012, 12:59 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Image

Afaik that's what was said about gate in the budget.

How is this going to affect post graduate? I don't have a problem paying my 50%, but 100%, I'll need a loan!!

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » October 3rd, 2012, 1:04 pm

Everyone's contribution to this thread is so negative and contrite.

Judging others and pontificating...steups. No wonder we got the type of Government and opposition we have if the pool is from people like you all :roll:

Take a hint from Michelle Obama who said that you shouldn't close the Gate on ppl after you have passed through yourself. This regresseive, elitist, exclusionary, knife and fork injun government is practising just that.

BTW....fack all ah allyuh anywayz. Yard fowl ah kick up 0X

Postby nervewrecker » October 3rd, 2012, 1:23 pm

Crackpot, I still in school and as soon as I finish I going to start another school....you see me complaining? The $$$ coming out my pocket.

It came out my pocket in the beginning and I worked like jacka$$ for $$$ to pay for school. God bless the day gate was introduced cuz I had plenty $$$ left back to buy car and stuff.

Take a look around you, take a look at the students and see if they appreciate what they getting. Ask them if they know the value of it, ask them if they know what it is like to earn a dollar to pay for it.

Its not the end of the world my friend, all them 'workers wanted' signs hang up in store windows downtown will be taken down now and them guyanese will have to go elsewhere to get work.

If they really want it, they will work for it, too much thing coming easy round here. Groom them into it from the time they finish school or they will enter into the job market expecting money for nothing.

altec

Postby altec » October 3rd, 2012, 7:34 pm

Can't make a blanket statement like that. I used gate and came out with magna cum laude while working 6am to 5pm and handling family duties. However, there were students who wanted the easy way. That is why government need to raise the grade /gpa requirements so that the money is well spent rather than producing weak degrees.

Postby DVSTT » October 3rd, 2012, 8:02 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:As someone who never benefited from Gate or Dollar for Dollar for my undergrad degree(yes I'm an old fart) a selfish side of me would be glad.

As someone who benefitting from it, I am also gald if they remove it or part of it self.

Too much people in school who dont deserve to be there.

So true, even at secondary school you see this, expulsion should come back.

Postby redmanjp » October 3rd, 2012, 8:48 pm

rollingstock wrote:I worked and paid my own to get my degree, everyone else should. You appreciate what hard work is. No wonder the new workforce is as it is. They expect free handouts, the world doesn't operate that way.

can everyone AFFORD to do that? why should the lower income bracket be cut off bcuz they doh have the money to pay tuition fees? if they need to cut back, cut back on ppl who could afford it or who parents have money to shell out- as well as those who are not diligent in their studies.

not to long ago i was only earning $3000/mth- with that i couldn't afford the cost of tuiton fees if it wasn't for Gate

Postby nervewrecker » October 3rd, 2012, 8:53 pm

redmanjp wrote:
rollingstock wrote:I worked and paid my own to get my degree, everyone else should. You appreciate what hard work is. No wonder the new workforce is as it is. They expect free handouts, the world doesn't operate that way.

can everyone AFFORD to do that? why should the lower income bracket be cut off bcuz they doh have the money to pay tuition fees? if they need to cut back, cut back on ppl who could afford it or who parents have money to shell out- as well as those who are not diligent in their studies.

not to long ago i was only earning $3000/mth- with that i couldn't afford the cost of tuiton fees if it wasn't for Gate

With the dollar for dollar I think if you can prove you genuinely poor and cant afford it they pay the 100% for you.

@ $3k / month you earning $9k / semester. A semester is approx $3k, you can pay it, no worries 8-)

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » October 3rd, 2012, 9:02 pm

hah enough schols and bursareez to go around

Postby Monk BANzai » October 3rd, 2012, 11:27 pm

on another note....there's an increasing trend of SEA students in the East/West Corridor not having access to critical books for the Exam that Central/South students have access to.

This is fact.

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » October 3rd, 2012, 11:35 pm

What about students that are genuinely trying and can't afford the money to pay for tuition?

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » October 3rd, 2012, 11:43 pm

redmanjp wrote:

With the dollar for dollar I think if you can prove you genuinely poor and cant afford it they pay the 100% for you.

@ $3k / month you earning $9k / semester. A semester is approx $3k, you can pay it, no worries 8-)

You are assuming that people who are making 3k a month if this was not bad enough don't have
ah lil ole car to maintain or a courts bill to pay :roll:

You tuners are really naive and by your input I am lead to assume alot of you are typing from inside mommy and daddy house and deciding who could pay for what :roll:

I wish you guys could take this government and move to some other backward place if ya'll like these policies so much :|

Postby rollingstock » October 4th, 2012, 1:06 am

Crackpot wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

You are assuming that people who are making 3k a month if this was not bad enough don't have
ah lil ole car to maintain or a courts bill to pay :roll:

You tuners are really naive and by your input I am lead to assume alot of you are typing from inside mommy and daddy house and deciding who could pay for what :roll:

I wish you guys could take this government and move to some other backward place if ya'll like these policies so much :|

Wow! Who's loving the government policies? This actually makes sense.
I see products/systems like these being abused daily, when i did my degree there wasn't anything like this available, i did the next best thing I worked hard, forget lime, car etc and paid my tuition, and seeing persons now being hand fed what i was never afforded and they sheit on it, and it's my tax paying dollars paying for them to do it, fcuk no!

drlancer

Postby drlancer » October 4th, 2012, 6:24 am

nervewrecker u for real?????????? have u EVER given thought to the fact that there are a lot of persons who are earning that same $3000 a month and have to maintain a family with it. u must still be living in mommy and daddy house, eating from their groceries and getting help too.

Postby Trini Hookah » October 4th, 2012, 8:04 am

drlancer wrote:nervewrecker u for real?????????? have u EVER given thought to the fact that there are a lot of persons who are earning that same $3000 a month and have to maintain a family with it. u must still be living in mommy and daddy house, eating from their groceries and getting help too.

He feel all courses are 3k a semester like his.

Postby Les Bain » October 4th, 2012, 8:05 am

Michael Knight... wrote:What about students that are genuinely trying and can't afford the money to pay for tuition?

That would be a genuinely raw deal, but that's it.

There are students that have used GATE for the blessing that it is/was, but it also gave rise to the "this place turning into a Junior Sec" comments; people using the tertiary education experience as a extension of high school or a social scene.

Postby nervewrecker » October 4th, 2012, 9:10 am

drlancer wrote:nervewrecker u for real?????????? have u EVER given thought to the fact that there are a lot of persons who are earning that same $3000 a month and have to maintain a family with it. u must still be living in mommy and daddy house, eating from their groceries and getting help too.

I think rollingstock said it best but just so you know:

I am almost 30 and now finishing off one of my bachelors degree.
Why so old? Because my mommy and daddy eh spend a red cent to send me to school. I work my arse off like jack arse for donkey years for small $$$ after I finish school for $$$ to pay for my tuition. I start back school late.
I know about working 2 jobs, I know about working 7 days a week.
I know about coming home nearly 10:00pm from work and have school work to do that hour and be up 6:00am the next morning.
I know about having absolutly no social life.
I know about being stranded in san fernando 1:00am waiting for transport to go home (from school).
I know bout banning my belly and going to school hungry.

$3k a month is far more than I was getting.

Yea I live with my parents but ask how often I see them nah? Education free and I still making the best of it, still leaving home in the night and coming back home in the night. people from the village aint see me in years. Bout 2 years ago a man ask me when I come back (from abroad)?
If you think I dont have bills to pay you lie. If you think I dont have expenses to pay, you lie again. I sure you gonna pull the card bout how I x amount of dollars in music, truth be told I take up small jobs sometimes on a weekend so I dont have to touch my salary.

Try allyuh best and dont come round me with allyuh bullsh!t eh. :fist:

Postby nervewrecker » October 4th, 2012, 9:42 am

Trini Hookah wrote:

He feel all courses are 3k a semester like his.

Well now you know to open a book and not troll tuner cuz if you fail this time you have to foot the bill and you know its not $3k a semester. :mrgreen:
For the record, I never fail anything :drinking:

Postby S_2NR » October 4th, 2012, 9:42 am

plenty cool stories in hurr

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 4th, 2012, 10:41 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:on another note....there's an increasing trend of SEA students in the East/West Corridor not having access to critical books for the Exam that Central/South students have access to.

This is fact.

Not sure how that was relevant but I must ask, is that not a fault of the principal for not pressing the ministry?

Idk that's just how I remember it being from my experience :|

spillcanvas

Postby spillcanvas » October 6th, 2012, 12:52 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:on another note....there's an increasing trend of SEA students in the East/West Corridor not having access to critical books for the Exam that Central/South students have access to.

This is fact.

I not saying that you wrong or anything eh, but saying 'This is fact' doesnt make it fact....

Here's something to note:
Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.

And i agree with kurpal_v2, thats how i remember it. The principals that pressed the ministry got the books, those that didnt, just didnt get the books.

Azrael

Postby Azrael » October 11th, 2012, 7:36 pm

I agree that gate should be managed better and yeah a lot of people don't deserve it if all dey doin is signing up for courses, not going to dem and liming on d compound whole day.

The requirement for accessing gate should be nothing less than a 2.5-3.0 gpa. Basing it on income is ballz bcuz as some next man say earlier it'll have lazy ppl who go say dey doh have no job gimme. It should stay available for all if you don't wanna end up pulling money outta yuh ass to pay for it in addition to yuh regular expenses like gas money, yuh grocery list, d wife, d children, unexpected accident, yuh get robbed and need new sheit etc.

Just beat d books.