Parking in a handicapped spot....

GTcruzer

Re: Parking in a handicapped spot....

Postby GTcruzer » October 11th, 2012, 10:08 am

I think parking security of various businesses & malls should be allowed to clamp people if they parked badly & have to pay a fine to remove the clamp.

UWI does it but I think they've gotten soft in deciding what is a bad park over the past few years.

Postby Sky » October 11th, 2012, 10:12 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:there probably is more to this, i sure the man probably get orn like a real arse with the security.

that being said, if he did indeed move his vehicle, they should not have beat him..

Yup, that customer throw some heavy words I'm almost sure.
I hope the guard felt good doing it and it was worth his job.

Postby nervewrecker » October 11th, 2012, 10:32 am

but....but...but....the handicap park on the first level of gulf city car park is reserved for.....a Nissan GTR.

14lover

Postby 14lover » October 11th, 2012, 10:43 am

tr1ad wrote:
14lover wrote:It have a certain security van (4x4) what does be down point, and the occupants acting like them is police or sumn, ah get meh extreme lolz when police catch them in a roadblock and nobody in front seat was wearing seatbelt....

and that adds value to a discussion about parking in a handicap spot how again?

sigh....i was talking about SOME security guards' attitudes, in that they think that they are police sometimes and can do anything they want..the victim was wrong to park in a handicap park, i admit, but at the same time the guard had NO right to put his hands on the victim....the punishment does not suit the crime.

Postby tr1ad » October 11th, 2012, 10:47 am

14lover wrote:
tr1ad wrote:
14lover wrote:It have a certain security van (4x4) what does be down point, and the occupants acting like them is police or sumn, ah get meh extreme lolz when police catch them in a roadblock and nobody in front seat was wearing seatbelt....

and that adds value to a discussion about parking in a handicap spot how again?

sigh....i was talking about SOME security guards' attitudes, in that they think that they are police sometimes and can do anything they want..the victim was wrong to park in a handicap park, i admit, but at the same time the guard had NO right to put his hands on the victim....the punishment does not suit the crime.

understood, but you have passed judgement based on one side of a story?

Postby Hook » October 11th, 2012, 11:02 am

doesn't matter, lots in here have already passed judgement...ppl doh just trip and dispense hurry-han' jus so, clearly the guard was aggravated, possibly by the man "I apologized..." :roll: to who? a mall-cop? *steups*

I speculate that some harsh words were exchanged and the victim is trying to trivialize his involvement in the fracas

Postby Kenjo » October 11th, 2012, 11:41 am

The man must have thought stupidity was a handicap & hence the spot was reserved for him!

-- Sent from my Palm Pre using Forums

Postby dougla_boy » October 11th, 2012, 11:53 am

Postby SR » October 11th, 2012, 3:13 pm

but there is not enough parking for a grocery that size to start with............

Postby pugboy » October 11th, 2012, 3:23 pm

the guard should be given the trinity cross,
he has done the simple act of standing up for what is right and honourable
something no politician can lay claim to

Postby SR » October 11th, 2012, 3:23 pm

but there is not enough parking for a grocery that size to start with............

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 11th, 2012, 3:30 pm

SR wrote:but there is not enough parking for a grocery that size to start with............

Well he should have sent the friend in to get the items and sit and wait for a space to become available like other people do

Postby Bizzare » October 11th, 2012, 3:36 pm

Hook wrote:doesn't matter, lots in here have already passed judgement...ppl doh just trip and dispense hurry-han' jus so, clearly the guard was aggravated, possibly by the man "I apologized..." :roll: to who? a mall-cop? *steups*

I speculate that some harsh words were exchanged and the victim is trying to trivialize his involvement in the fracas

This is what I thought. I doubt he even got the beating he described.
But the part in red, u obviously don't reside in Trinidad

Postby Hook » October 11th, 2012, 3:40 pm

*beats up Bizzare jus so jus so*

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 11th, 2012, 3:41 pm

I go there a lot and very rare I would have 2 make a spin around to find a park. I guess the guy doh like 2 walk...

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » October 11th, 2012, 4:03 pm

ADONI wrote:I go there a lot and very rare I would have 2 make a spin around to find a park. I guess the guy doh like 2 walk...

depends on the time. during the day (before 4 pm) it's difficult to get a parking spot. it's easier once the bank closes. uncle collected his beating at 9:50 am

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 11th, 2012, 5:36 pm

ka-ching!!!!

Oleander

Postby Oleander » October 11th, 2012, 5:37 pm

It's simple you're not a handicap so you're not supposed to park in the handicap space.
Ramdag could have circled the carpark until he found a free space... It's a supermarket, people are in and out and I'm sure the box of Pinehill juice was not an emergency.
Also, he said there was a passenger in his van, if he couldn't get a park why didn't he ask his rider to go into the supermarket while he waited in the van scouting a free parking spot?
Regardless of how any side of the story goes Ramdag had options which could have avoided the entire situation.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » October 11th, 2012, 7:42 pm

is the express doing product placement now? I found it funny the writer chose to mention "Pinehill Dairy Juice" twice in the story :lol: or maybe the writer thinks that qualifies him as an investigative journalist 0X

afterburners

Postby afterburners » October 11th, 2012, 7:54 pm

seem like the kinda man who would park in front yuh gate and go in the bar down the road coz he thirsty

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 11th, 2012, 10:46 pm

^^ and when u ready to move, you go in the bar and u ask him he tell yuh jus now and sits back down to enjoy his beer...

Postby skylinechild » October 11th, 2012, 11:17 pm

two wrongs dont make a right...

1.the guy was wrong for parking there- that space is reserved for handicapped/ disabled persons.
2. the mall cop wrong - no right to get physical with gramps...even though gramps may cuss him out first.

why is it here trinis do this kind of stupidness....if gramps was to visit some first world country- you think he would park in a handicapped parking spot??

Postby Hook » October 11th, 2012, 11:26 pm

oh boy :roll: here we go with the "if he visited a first world country..." talk again.

C'mon man, other countries, first world or not, also have inconsiderate pricks, bad drivers and irate security guards. It's not just here.

Postby pugboy » October 12th, 2012, 12:02 am

yeah but those countries have legal rules about handicapped parking
ours is just a sham l

until there is are proper legal rules the unhandicapped public will continue to park in these spots

other countries only allow parking if you have a special parking sticker which is obtained via a doctor

Postby Hook » October 12th, 2012, 2:05 am

I agree that without a law specific to it, it can't make the crossover from being inconsiderate to being illegal, but do you really think these idiots will stop?

Too many times, I've seen drivers flaunt traffic restrictions just because they don't see anyone writing up tickets. I've much less faith in those drivers.

Fix the law so that pictures like this warrant a $2000 ticket in the mail and it'll have my support.

Postby skylinechild » October 12th, 2012, 2:42 am

Hook wrote:oh boy :roll: here we go with the "if he visited a first world country..." talk again.

C'mon man, other countries, first world or not, also have inconsiderate pricks, bad drivers and irate security guards. It's not just here.

not saying that those places dont have " inconsiderate pricks" but what happens to " inconsiderate pricks" when they do sheit like this..???

is only in Trinidad we do it cause we know we could get away with anything..including murder....
we cant fix the law cause the people we elected are too busy lining their pockets....

imagine in 2012 video evidence is STILL inadmissible in court....far less for pictures....

as i said before they both wrong...gramps and mall cop...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 12th, 2012, 2:45 am

Hook wrote:I agree that without a law specific to it, it can't make the crossover from being inconsiderate to being illegal, but do you really think these idiots will stop?

Too many times, I've seen drivers flaunt traffic restrictions just because they don't see anyone writing up tickets. I've much less faith in those drivers.

Fix the law so that pictures like this warrant a $2000 ticket in the mail and it'll have my support.

dont think a ticket can be issued for parking in a private carpark as this......

Postby Hook » October 12th, 2012, 8:22 am

Is Hi-Lo private or public? Is there a wheelchair ramp at the entrance? Have the turnstiles been removed?

In quite the same way buildings, public and private, are required to be wheelchair-accessible, make it so that vehicles without the handicapped stickers can be ticketed, with or without the presence of law enforcement, ie. CCTV footage, pictures etc.

Throw ah Express on d bonnet, take pic and submit to a police station and all!

Ppl will obey if there are real consequences and enforcement, moreso if regular citizens like you and I are given the power to report them or put them on blast for it.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » October 12th, 2012, 9:07 am

Postby X2 » October 12th, 2012, 10:08 am

Well the man want to play bad and parkup he van anywhere like he is a bauce....