TRAE wrote: i see nothing wrong with the Section 34, Steve and Ish are just byproducts
maj. tom wrote:^^
"In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the right to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury of the State and district wherein the crime shall have been committed, which district shall have been previously ascertained by law, and to be informed of the nature and cause of the accusation; to be confronted with the witnesses against him; to have compulsory process for obtaining witnesses in his favor, and to have the Assistance of Counsel for his defence."
-Sixth Amendment, United States Bill of Rights.
So it's the law there.
In Strunk v. United States, 412 U.S. 434 (1973), the Supreme Court ruled that if the reviewing court finds that a defendant's right to a speedy trial was violated, then the indictment must be dismissed and/or the conviction overturned.
rfari wrote:Can anyone list the current administration's positive achievements thus far? I'll start the list by being very generous.
1. Laptops for form 1 students
2. Relocation of parliament
3. Median barriers
What else?
bluefete wrote:TRAE wrote: i see nothing wrong with the Section 34, Steve and Ish are just byproducts
That is where you are wrong my friend. Sec. 34 was created specifically for Ish and Steve and the smartmen politicians on BOTH sides who passed it all HAVE COCOA IN THE SUN.
How come Ish and Steve lawyers had an application for dismissal in the court BEFORE Sec. 34 was proclaimed by the President?
Your statement is tantamount to saying that you see nothing wrong with traffic light breakers. Until the day comes when one of them kills a member of your family.
Then you will suddenly see something wrong with breaking the traffic light!
cinco wrote:rfari wrote:Can anyone list the current administration's positive achievements thus far? I'll start the list by being very generous.
3. Median barriers
What else?
4. makin rastas fly dey locks
star scream wrote:Come election time you will see, this govt has failed terribly.
rfari wrote:cinco wrote:rfari wrote:Can anyone list the current administration's positive achievements thus far? I'll start the list by being very generous.
3. Median barriers
What else?
Dais a dangerous game yuh playing dey eh bredrin
rfari wrote:Can anyone list the current administration's positive achievements thus far? I'll start the list by being very generous.
them shoulda never get laptops in the first place
Parliament "refurbishing" and "repairing" since i in start secondary school, almost a 2000-2001
3. Median barriers
cud pass with this one, granted Arrive Alive has been asking for this for the longest while tho
What else?
rfari wrote:Toyota2nr, u think that maybe certain sections of the population were looking forward to the PP and had hopes of improved governance and that's why people are coming down hard on them?
TRAE wrote:bluefete wrote:TRAE wrote: i see nothing wrong with the Section 34, Steve and Ish are just byproducts
That is where you are wrong my friend. Sec. 34 was created specifically for Ish and Steve and the smartmen politicians on BOTH sides who passed it all HAVE COCOA IN THE SUN.
How come Ish and Steve lawyers had an application for dismissal in the court BEFORE Sec. 34 was proclaimed by the President?
Your statement is tantamount to saying that you see nothing wrong with traffic light breakers. Until the day comes when one of them kills a member of your family.
Then you will suddenly see something wrong with breaking the traffic light!
So you're saying that its right to sit in Jail for years awaiting a trial to prove if you're guilty then, 10 -15 yrs down the road you still sitting in jail awaiting a sentence? Soulya yuh done serving time...
I dont get your comparison there, maybe its because you're not familiar with the rights of every citizen. But traffic breakers break the law, it is wrong--- so in imprisoning a citizen for years, awaiting trial and sentencing, not knowing if this person is guilty of a crime, not taking into account that the richer criminals can buy themselves outta Jail for this duration.
Lastly you can't say that this was made for Steve and Ish without credible evidence, a bill that was passed with support by the opposition as well. Section 34 only received this Hype due to PNM propaganda used with media trying to make headlines. If it were so devastating and damaging to our democracy then why did PNM sign off on it only to b!tch bout it after?
cinco wrote:rfari wrote:cinco wrote:rfari wrote:Can anyone list the current administration's positive achievements thus far? I'll start the list by being very generous.
3. Median barriers
What else?
Dais a dangerous game yuh playing dey eh bredrin
i still doh understand why people botherin to raise these questions on 2nr
nothing comes out of it but butt hurt
the same sheeps gonna vote fuh pp again
dougla_boy wrote:rfari wrote:Can anyone list the current administration's positive achievements thus far? I'll start the list by being very generous.
Agreed. Upgrade the schools' already existing computer laboratories and build where there aren't any. How about they stop messing with the syllabus so much and stop trying to dumb down the schools in the East-West Corridor?
Parliament "refurbishing" and "repairing" since i in start secondary school, almost a 2000-2001
Parliament "refurbishing" and "repairing" since the 90's before it started coming outta my pocket.
3. Median barriers
cud pass with this one, granted Arrive Alive has been asking for this for the longest while tho
How about increased police presence and enforcement of road traffic laws, better public awareness campaigns and stricter policies pertaining to tyre importation and vehicle inspection as well?
What else?
rasta, das a sh!t forkin list eh
AllTrac wrote:so rfari yuh wont maintain ah lil parsad and kurta top with uml and dem in de nagar boy?
Hook wrote:dougla_boy wrote:rfari wrote:Can anyone list the current administration's positive achievements thus far? I'll start the list by being very generous.
Agreed. Upgrade the schools' already existing computer laboratories and build where there aren't any. How about they stop messing with the syllabus so much and stop trying to dumb down the schools in the East-West Corridor?
Parliament "refurbishing" and "repairing" since the 90's before it started coming outta my pocket.
3. Median barriers
How about increased police presence and enforcement of road traffic laws, better public awareness campaigns and stricter policies pertaining to tyre importation and vehicle inspection as well?
What else?
rasta, das a sh!t forkin list eh
He wasn't lying when he said he was being generous. In two years I not really seeing value for my money.