kurpal_v2 wrote:Looking good so far man.
so that run good as is?
I ain't forget the block eh, it's just time boy, I only home one day for the week so things gets hectic fast lol.
This...... wish i had known that sooner, i used longer routes to avoid doing so and ended up falling short with the last run so i have to buy bk more speaker wire for the front right,nervewrecker wrote:VERY NEAT! .....thanks, when the carpet is going on i will do the final neatening to fix them in place
I will send you a link later with how to pass the wires into the doors and how to solder up those ring terminals. .....looking fwd
Keep it up though. Epic build is epic.
Edit, forgot to mention that you could have run the 4awg down the center.
- i was thinking to do that but the last owner made on hole on the right by the harness so i utilized that and from there its actually shorter run to come straight down on the right cause i dont want to run any wires on top the back seat hump
Speaker wires can run with the rest of wires under the dash and stuff. great, glad i went correct there, was worried about it affecting the signal wire
I ran my my left speaker wire together with my power cable so you safe to do so.
(...Rovin...) wrote:nothing really wrong with joining speaker wires by twisting & soldering it , use some heat shrink on it instead of electrical tape which comes off eventually
cud also use butt connectors but i prefer above ^^^ ...
kavaninho wrote:lol coooolll
more processing than dem nowadays system lol..
neckto wrote:also, what's the transformer for?
lost soul wrote:Padna, those speakers will most likely not sound too well. Even thought the deck is old, it will play a decent pair of coaxial 6.5'' speakers real nice. So my suggestion, try and get a pair of 6.5'' coaxials or 6x9''
MonsterPower wrote:nice deck
best way to connect that deck os to find the wires off the original harness only for the reason to be able to turn off the system with the turn of a switch and not forget to turn it off anf risk draining the battery .
If that is not possible or u want to keep it on even with the switch off then you can run a direct to the battery using 16ga speaker wire. I know some might disagree with me on the size ,while you are not using the onboard amp the deck itself will not draw as much power as if you were using the speaker connections.
As for connecting to the 4ga i'd advise against splicing the power wire anywhere. Best and shortest run is fron the back of the deck to the battery . Just rember to terminate and loom all wires int the engine bay .Heat from the engine bay tends to break down insulation over time.
nervewrecker wrote:i'll pull the manual just now.
that the box you using? I have a spare part of a box, you will need a face for it.
If you working thursday leme know, I taking a day off and in the vicinity of your workplace, can solder up that ring terminal like a bawse for you.
nervewrecker wrote:If you tapping off the battery as a b+ fuse that wire, 14awg should be fine.
Ign can be tapped off anything that goes live when the ignition is turned on or do like I did and tap it off the b+ and put a switch on it.
gnd is gnd and illumination you might have to tap off something that goes live when you put on the park lights.