Xmas Ghetto Install

neckto

Re: WHAT MATERIALS DO I NEED..........HELP PLZ

Postby neckto » November 9th, 2012, 6:53 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:Looking good so far man.

so that run good as is?

I ain't forget the block eh, it's just time boy, I only home one day for the week so things gets hectic fast lol.

np..lol

neckto

Postby neckto » November 11th, 2012, 3:10 am

i finished running most of the wiring today

rand the 4 AWG AMP power and remote wire along the right side (where the battery is) tie strapped them together at 12" markings.

tie strapped RCAs together in similar manner and ran them along the left side and to area in dash for deck.

door speaker wires run as well and kept away from the power wires as much as possible

rear left

everything labelled

\Image

left side front/back door doors runs

only have the front right door speaker wire to run now, i am thinking to run it along the length of the left, across the dashboard and into the right front foot to it wouldn't be passing along the power wires and all the wiring will have a more singular run pattern.what y'all thank?

question: are speakers wires from an amplified source considered signal or power (due to higher wattage etc) and if yes, is it OK to run those speaker wires along with your RCA signal wires?

much thanks to all those who provided assistance thus far,

Thanks
Last edited by neckto on November 13th, 2012, 12:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » November 11th, 2012, 11:18 am

VERY NEAT!

I will send you a link later with how to pass the wires into the doors and how to solder up those ring terminals.

Keep it up though. Epic build is epic.

Edit, forgot to mention that you could have run the 4awg down the center. Speaker wires can run with the rest of wires under the dash and stuff.

I ran my my left speaker wire together with my power cable so you safe to do so.

neckto

Postby neckto » November 11th, 2012, 8:24 pm

nervewrecker wrote:VERY NEAT! .....thanks, when the carpet is going on i will do the final neatening to fix them in place

I will send you a link later with how to pass the wires into the doors and how to solder up those ring terminals. .....looking fwd

Keep it up though. Epic build is epic.

Edit, forgot to mention that you could have run the 4awg down the center.

- i was thinking to do that but the last owner made on hole on the right by the harness so i utilized that and from there its actually shorter run to come straight down on the right cause i dont want to run any wires on top the back seat hump

Speaker wires can run with the rest of wires under the dash and stuff. great, glad i went correct there, was worried about it affecting the signal wire

I ran my my left speaker wire together with my power cable so you safe to do so.
This...... wish i had known that sooner, i used longer routes to avoid doing so and ended up falling short with the last run so i have to buy bk more speaker wire for the front right, :( too bad i already cut it up

stupid question, can speaker wire be joined?....i mean i know it can but wouldn't be proper or safe, is there a special connector sold to join wires?

big-up to monster power for assistance, i never even knew there were 12" indicators on the 4AWG wire

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 11th, 2012, 8:47 pm

nothing really wrong with joining speaker wires by twisting & soldering it , use some heat shrink on it instead of electrical tape which comes off eventually

cud also use butt connectors but i prefer above ^^^ ...

Postby nervewrecker » November 11th, 2012, 8:52 pm

I can spare a pice of this for him if he wants to join:

already pm-ed him about it.

But for the sake of everyone else who might want to know about soldering ring terminals:

There is a thread in here already about another way, I think its jeff that posted it.

neckto

Postby neckto » November 11th, 2012, 9:58 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:nothing really wrong with joining speaker wires by twisting & soldering it , use some heat shrink on it instead of electrical tape which comes off eventually

cud also use butt connectors but i prefer above ^^^ ...

great........thanks alot, i'll save some money there

and thanks again nervewrecker. glad this thread is going this way im sure lot of tuners will benefit as well

neckto

Postby neckto » November 29th, 2012, 9:32 am

fellas

ghetto Santa dropped of the rest of my audio goodies last night lol

so this is going to be my temp Xmas ghetto install until i save up and acquire the proper equipment

AMP to be used

Deck to be used - already installed - basic cd deck with one pair of pre-outs

pair of 80W "custom cut" door speakers lol - i think they are from an old TV lol (this is waht the van came with)

PRE-AMP - all the adjuster knob were seized up, managed to open it up and service it to get them moving again

Equalizer

an isolator/transformer!!??????????

hooked up the deck and the two speakers to see if they working (when i get a battery) using the original harness wires

forgot to take pics of the sub and enclosure...........will do that later

so lets discuss on how to best use these devices and connect them to maximize their potential in the mean time

neckto

Ghetto Xmas install

Postby neckto » December 1st, 2012, 8:10 am

battery installed, deck working, speakers working (harness wires not working, had to wire directly to deck

kavaninho

Re: Xmas Ghetto Install

Postby kavaninho » December 1st, 2012, 11:24 am

lol coooolll
more processing than dem nowadays system lol..

neckto

Postby neckto » December 2nd, 2012, 1:06 pm

kavaninho wrote:lol coooolll
more processing than dem nowadays system lol..

lol yea

so any ideas on how to hook up all this to maximize usage or equipment?

also, what's the transformer for?

ward one

Postby ward one » December 2nd, 2012, 1:43 pm

neckto wrote:also, what's the transformer for?

the transformer thingy. lol is a ground loop isolator. see this link for more info
http://www.bcae1.com/glisoltr.htm

basically it helps with signal noises.

Postby black start » December 2nd, 2012, 11:32 pm

Padna, those speakers will most likely not sound too well. Even thought the deck is old, it will play a decent pair of coaxial 6.5'' speakers real nice. So my suggestion, try and get a pair of 6.5'' coaxials or 6x9''

neckto

Postby neckto » December 3rd, 2012, 10:07 am

lost soul wrote:Padna, those speakers will most likely not sound too well. Even thought the deck is old, it will play a decent pair of coaxial 6.5'' speakers real nice. So my suggestion, try and get a pair of 6.5'' coaxials or 6x9''

yea bro i just showing what door spekers i got with the pickup, just used them to check if the deck working. they no good, real flapping.

what i wanna know is how to hookup and use the other stuff

Anton

Postby Anton » December 3rd, 2012, 8:12 pm

I would run the co-axials off the deck, then pre-out from the deck straight to the amp for the sub (assuming either the deck or amp has a low pass filter and forget the eq and pre.

Postby nervewrecker » December 3rd, 2012, 9:20 pm

I not really familiar with those nuh.

Postby black start » December 3rd, 2012, 9:26 pm

That deck only has one set of pre outs. So most likely it has almost zero processing abilities. I believe it will just have like a three band eq and thats about it. So he'll have to use a pre-amp or something sso.....

Anton

Postby Anton » December 4th, 2012, 7:42 am

As far as I can make out, the amp is a 2 channel and would only be used on the sub stage, and how much equalization you really need on the sub? If it is that you want to use the eq and pre amp, you can go deck to preamp via pre amp outputs. High pass from pre to eq to coaxials (assuming it has amplified speaker outputs) and low pass from pre amp to amp to sub. If it was me I'd omit the pre and eq from the signal chain to avoid any issues that may accompany such older eqpt ( noise etc)

Hope this helps.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » December 4th, 2012, 4:22 pm

ditch the eq and use the pre amp only .. reason is because later on u will want to experiment and upgrade.. with the eq its 50wx2 i believe ..
the pre amp will give u more options in terms of adding 2 seperate amps .
ditch the noise supressor, i believe u have quality cables so u should be good in terms of noise.. if there is any its due to the amp.

neckto

Postby neckto » December 5th, 2012, 11:16 pm

hey guys thanks for all the help and recommendations, i hope to get chance to messing around with this stuff soon so i can learn a little before attempting anything on new equipment

neckto

Postby neckto » January 8th, 2013, 6:14 pm

happy new year tunerz

time to get back on the attack with these projects.

update: i installed all the "bess" equipment i posted earlier lol and played around with to see whats up.
i ended up getting rid of the pair of sharps n bought a pair of low end kenwood KFC G1620 2 ways 6 inch, ran those on the doors directly off the deck and used the deck sub out directly to the amp that was bridged to play one 10 IMPP. i used all the tuning features of the deck to assist and the end result wasnt that bad.

last of the ghetto install pics lol

kenwoods

had to mount them over the OEM grille covers and leave them exposed as i din want to alter the upholstery for temporary speakers

finally remember to take pics of the sub n the thing it enclosed in lmao

neckto

Postby neckto » January 8th, 2013, 7:23 pm

Temp install concluded.

time to get bk to business

installed inline fuse and holder (100A). using 4AWG so depending on what equipment is installed i might change to a 125A - which should be this systems max current draw

connected the 4AWG to the battery terminal via crimped ring gauge

i wanna change the battery terminal tho - who sells good terminal connectors that have a connector point for the 4AWG?

got a distro block 4AWG in to 8AWG out in case we end up using more than one amps

i don't like it quality wise tho seems kinda flimsy. so i might change it if i find one i like more

so we starting with a new head unit. 80PRS, to ensure sound quality and hopefully eliminate the need for any other equipment besides amps and speakers and subs

cant wait to install this head unit

so gimme some tips and advice on proper deck installation........... like what gauge power wire to use and if i should run power direct from battery or from the 4AWG and if from 4AWG how to best make that connection?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » January 8th, 2013, 7:43 pm

nice deck
best way to connect that deck os to find the wires off the original harness only for the reason to be able to turn off the system with the turn of a switch and not forget to turn it off anf risk draining the battery .
If that is not possible or u want to keep it on even with the switch off then you can run a direct to the battery using 16ga speaker wire. I know some might disagree with me on the size ,while you are not using the onboard amp the deck itself will not draw as much power as if you were using the speaker connections.
As for connecting to the 4ga i'd advise against splicing the power wire anywhere. Best and shortest run is fron the back of the deck to the battery . Just rember to terminate and loom all wires int the engine bay .Heat from the engine bay tends to break down insulation over time.

Postby nervewrecker » January 8th, 2013, 8:39 pm

i'll pull the manual just now.

that the box you using? I have a spare part of a box, you will need a face for it.

If you working thursday leme know, I taking a day off and in the vicinity of your workplace, can solder up that ring terminal like a bawse for you.

neckto

Postby neckto » January 8th, 2013, 9:02 pm

MonsterPower wrote:nice deck
best way to connect that deck os to find the wires off the original harness only for the reason to be able to turn off the system with the turn of a switch and not forget to turn it off anf risk draining the battery .
If that is not possible or u want to keep it on even with the switch off then you can run a direct to the battery using 16ga speaker wire. I know some might disagree with me on the size ,while you are not using the onboard amp the deck itself will not draw as much power as if you were using the speaker connections.
As for connecting to the 4ga i'd advise against splicing the power wire anywhere. Best and shortest run is fron the back of the deck to the battery . Just rember to terminate and loom all wires int the engine bay .Heat from the engine bay tends to break down insulation over time.

ok great.

harness wiring real shady
i already ran a wire from the ACC switch for the power-on (red) which i using on the current deck so i will run another one from the battery for the main power (yellow).

That should work the same way as the oem harness connections right?

correct, on board amp would not be in use, so i'll just tape off the deck speaker wires........?!

i agree with not splicing the 4AWG but i saw it done on a car which was "professionally" installed by some shop in central so i wanted to make sure it wasnt on the 4AWG for any specific purpose

loom - where i getting that?> any audio shop? should i loom the 4AWG in the engine bay area as well?

Postby nervewrecker » January 8th, 2013, 9:15 pm

If you tapping off the battery as a b+ fuse that wire, 14awg should be fine.

Ign can be tapped off anything that goes live when the ignition is turned on or do like I did and tap it off the b+ and put a switch on it.

gnd is gnd and illumination you might have to tap off something that goes live when you put on the park lights.

neckto

Postby neckto » January 8th, 2013, 9:24 pm

nervewrecker wrote:i'll pull the manual just now.

that the box you using? I have a spare part of a box, you will need a face for it.

If you working thursday leme know, I taking a day off and in the vicinity of your workplace, can solder up that ring terminal like a bawse for you.

well i have a manual so i got the do's n doe do's from the deck side. will try to get a 12V fuse n holder tom and some 14 or 16 AWG wire.

just to get those queries confirmed and i'll wire it up.

yea that the box lol, goes good with suzie current look ent.

Thurs i should be free in the evening but better to link up somewhere else cause by work may not be a good idea, my manager is a epic douche bag

Postby nervewrecker » January 8th, 2013, 9:31 pm

try to stick to 14awg, too thin is not a good thing. I think R&K on the coffee has the inline fuse holders and fuses for those kinda wires.

i'll call you tomorrow and we will organize to meet somewhere then.

neckto

Postby neckto » January 8th, 2013, 9:35 pm

nervewrecker wrote:If you tapping off the battery as a b+ fuse that wire, 14awg should be fine.

Ign can be tapped off anything that goes live when the ignition is turned on or do like I did and tap it off the b+ and put a switch on it.

gnd is gnd and illumination you might have to tap off something that goes live when you put on the park lights.

ok yea illumination, i was wondering about that too lol

aye stop posting wen i posting nah lmao i hadda change my posts lol

ok call me tom

Postby nervewrecker » January 8th, 2013, 9:48 pm

gave you a 5 minutes grace period to post :p

check pm though.