Build Project: Suzie!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
neckto

Re: Build Project: Suzie!!

Postby neckto » November 11th, 2012, 2:47 am

Update....

had a late start this evening so not too long finish installing the heat proofing, still contemplating weather to put some on the back seat hump too........

another supporter tonight

main flooring cmpleted

feeling to put some up here too....what u all think??

hole cut out for seat and seat belts etc

also ran the audio wiring tonight........

neckto

Postby neckto » November 11th, 2012, 8:41 pm

update,

no pics, cant find my datacable.

re-installed the heat proofing under the hood liner. i also cleaned the hood liner, sun was hot all day, as i done wash it rain start to fall so it still drying, keep bk production

was playing around with the R34 seats for the front. i have decided to not use them, it will take too much fabrication with how those brackets are designed, and will look ugly from the bk when u see the fab brackets. also the seat itself it too big, i placed it at the lowest point i could set it at and im still sitting too high and my legs rub the steering to get in and out so i have to shop around for seats again, too bad, the lumbar adjustment would have been nice for my back.

neckto

Postby neckto » November 11th, 2012, 9:03 pm

nervewrecker wrote:WOW! You have come a long way man!

Looking real good.

thanks bro............u finishing urs anytime soon man? lol

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » November 12th, 2012, 9:22 pm

nice to see u took my advice. Securing that wire in that fashion will make it easy to remove/troubleshoot any problem .

as for the seats u should loook for sentra/almera seats.. they work in almost any place.
will you be reupholstering the seats to match ? if so then u can redo the back area to be better for ur back

neckto

Postby neckto » November 13th, 2012, 8:07 am

MonsterPower wrote:nice to see u took my advice. Securing that wire in that fashion will make it easy to remove/troubleshoot any problem .

as for the seats u should loook for sentra/almera seats.. they work in almost any place.
will you be reupholstering the seats to match ? if so then u can redo the back area to be better for ur back

yes bro......thank again.......will be sure to let u knw when i ready to continue with that part. -

Update:

replaced the hood liner, sun visors, rear view mirror and A pillar upholstery yesterday.

Also, i took back the seats yesterday and got some other ones, the seller didn't know the type but they similar to the Almera in terms of brackets, my attempts to fit the last one helped, i knew what i wanted and what to look for this time around and these seats sit alot better and lower and will take less fabrication for the brackets. i already made one of the brackets. i got bk my data cable this morning when i came to wrk so i will upload some pics later tonight after i take out for whatever i get done later.

Shub Divali to all...............................

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » November 13th, 2012, 9:54 pm

goin good man goin good

Postby black start » November 14th, 2012, 10:12 am

where you got the heat proofing to buy and at what price?

neckto

Postby neckto » November 14th, 2012, 10:41 pm

nos_specialist wrote:goin good man goin good

thank yuh......bro

neckto

Postby neckto » November 14th, 2012, 10:45 pm

lost soul wrote:where you got the heat proofing to buy and at what price?

Radica Trading.....Cipero St......Sando

$30.00 per yard X 36" (approx) width

they also have thinner as in not as thick for around 20 (cant rem the exact price)..... depending on the application

neckto

Postby neckto » November 14th, 2012, 11:02 pm

update:

i sticking these days with pics

finished the seat brackets fabrication and welding. just have to paint them now

seats are much better fitting and kinda sporty looking too. they also kinda matching the new interoir color so i dont have to rush to do upholstry yet

still have to take pics of brackets n stuff

hold dat for now

spent alot of time to make sure the seats fitting n secured properly and level and not on a strain so it would slide bk n forth properly. the are also a little high but i dont think i would get any seats which would fit much lower.

also scrapped out all the doors today and serviced the locks and repaired one. serviced winders and other mechanisms. tom is power wash, and start prepping for painting of door inside halves

Postby Ted_v2 » November 15th, 2012, 7:12 am

seats look wayyyye better now

gundelero

Postby gundelero » November 15th, 2012, 8:05 am

great work man.

neckto

Postby neckto » November 15th, 2012, 4:26 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:seats look wayyyye better now

Yea i find so too, less headache than the last pair

neckto

Postby neckto » November 15th, 2012, 4:36 pm

gundelero wrote:great work man.

Thanks

neckto

Postby neckto » November 15th, 2012, 5:14 pm

Update:

Brackets:

welding wasn't the neatest lol, but it strong and the seat brackets were not cut up to weaken the seat. also, the brackets fit discreetly, no projections or bulking up on the floor to hit ppl toe or look unsightly. carpet will cover most of it.

Image.

you can see the seat a little better here in the light

finally rem to take pics of the cleaned and reinstalled hood liner, i didn't take a before pic but seeing the condition of everything else im sure u know how it was lol

and the doors, scrapped out, power wash, repairs and prep work begins

very dirty

cleaned

scrapped out

DIY handle repair

start prep to filler and paint

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » November 15th, 2012, 11:55 pm

Wheyyyy sah. Suzie looking more than good enough to marry.
Now come across this build and I read the entire thing from start to finish. Well done sir. When you finish this project, open up a shop and I sure people gonna flood you with offers.
Job well done!

droppa

Postby droppa » November 16th, 2012, 5:20 am

yuh real wukking fast boi neckto, yuh literally building over every single part in this van......

Postby black start » November 16th, 2012, 5:48 am

project coming along real nice....

neckto

Postby neckto » November 16th, 2012, 4:28 pm

DooMRR wrote:Wheyyyy sah. Suzie looking more than good enough to marry.
Now come across this build and I read the entire thing from start to finish. Well done sir. When you finish this project, open up a shop and I sure people gonna flood you with offers.
Job well done!

lol thanks bro.......keep yuh dirty beast away from my innocent suzie eh :mrgreen:

opening a shop sounds good, but i doubt if Trinis would want to pay proper for that kinda labour...n i would definitely need training on painting and finishing before i even think about it

neckto

Postby neckto » November 16th, 2012, 4:34 pm

droppa wrote:yuh real wukking fast boi neckto, yuh literally building over every single part in this van......

Glad u feel so, sometimes i does feel like time going n nothing getting finished

i hoping to at least be driving by end of month - 1st week in December cause from then, my sidekick/ dad busy till nex yr. Once we get bk the doors n bumper etc the pace might slow up a bit. It tough to keep progressing with only a few hrs a day with work etc but we hopeful. may not get everything to line up perfect either but is nothing to take them bk off and refit when we ready to do the main painting of the outer body.
Last edited by neckto on November 16th, 2012, 5:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

neckto

Postby neckto » November 16th, 2012, 5:33 pm

update:

finished sanding of the doors, taping off the door openings, front and rear windscreens and began sanding and pepping the door pillars and environs where the doors seat. the idea is to paint thee and the doors inside and edges so the doors can go bk on to complete the cabin. the outside and rest of cab paint will be done with the main outer body paint job.

sanding is another real monotonous job yes, will take pics of all this and post tom.

for now......just when i thought Suzie didn't have any more surprises...........she din fail to show me another first........while removing the rubbers around the windscreen.........ANTS.....a whole nest of RED ANTS living in there.......

a few mins and half can of BOP later i think have the problem rectified....really hope so.

also found a tire pressure chart stuck to the van but last owner didn't tape it and it covered with paint over spray. i hope to be able to clean it up without removing the writing so i can get some useful information and maybe even place it back on van

neckto

Postby neckto » November 17th, 2012, 5:33 pm

update:

finished prep and prime the doors, pillars and back of cab, real pace to get the primer on today, from the time i wake up, ended up getting to work late too....sigh

On d operating table......

doors primed

Pillars

Postby 1UZFE » November 18th, 2012, 7:14 pm

looking good bro... cant wait to see the finished product...

Cooper

Postby Cooper » November 19th, 2012, 9:02 am

Progress looking great so far!

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 19th, 2012, 12:35 pm

yuh wukkin !!!

what color d van going in - same white in d engine bay ? ...

neckto

Postby neckto » November 19th, 2012, 3:09 pm

1UZFE wrote:looking good bro... cant wait to see the finished product...

me too.......it will mean the wukk done lol

neckto

Postby neckto » November 19th, 2012, 3:13 pm

Cooper wrote:Progress looking great so far!

thanks

neckto

Postby neckto » November 19th, 2012, 3:15 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:yuh wukkin !!!

what color d van going in - same white in d engine bay ? ...

similar as engine bay (industrial enamel).....same as inside of cabin (2K enamel) same blue iceberg pearl as in both areas

any suggestions?

neckto

Postby neckto » November 19th, 2012, 4:12 pm

update:

yesterday: applied putty, and rubbed to lessen the bends and dings -

after rubbing -

had some real stress with the spray gun (which was clogged) afterwards on putting on the primer re-coat - did not come out good at all. some places were too thin, other places had runs.

did the finish rub this morning. i think i might do over all the primer, or, just paint the doors and pillars in white (where the hinges go) and put bk on the doors and get them lined up properly and finish priming/ painting them on the van

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 22nd, 2012, 10:11 am

De grass lookin neat bai, like de yardman pass through orrr?.

Aye look a bbq pit! like yuh ready to fire up de grill when de wuk finally done!

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”