The Official Car Care Thread

Re: The Official Car Care Thread

Postby equipped2ripp » December 3rd, 2012, 3:03 pm

r3iXmann wrote:got this in hand today...will give it a try and post review

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001B0 ... 06_s00_i02

That works really well...
The tire brush to that is a waste of time though, a scrubbing brush would do the same job.
Then there's the undercarriage/fender brush that also works well.

Pios... ent you have windshield coverage? Just buss the glass and done nah boy.

Postby DVSTT » December 3rd, 2012, 4:47 pm

I use a broom without a handle to clean tire and fender and inside the rim. It fits through the spokes on some of the cars and reaches the disk and caliper too.

Postby DVSTT » December 3rd, 2012, 4:49 pm

Something like this would be ideal though
http://www.amazon.com/EZ-Air-1001-SA-De ... heel+brush

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 3rd, 2012, 5:55 pm

Yeah, I got one of those EZ brushes as well. Detailed my engine bay weekend with it, it's very handy.

Anyone knows what's a good set of tape to get to mask edges? Is the Meguiar's good vs the 3M? I saw 3M got bad reviews on autogeek, but the Meguair's don't have any reviews yet.
Or can I just use normal masking tape?

Postby pioneer » December 3rd, 2012, 6:07 pm

blue painters tape...3M

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 4th, 2012, 7:17 am

Washed my engine bay last night.....

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1354619745.752085.jpg

Postby Chimera » December 4th, 2012, 7:19 am

i need a engine wash bad yes

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » December 4th, 2012, 10:07 am

I've been going through old posts here...(reached bout 30 pages back), and loving the info. However, i didnt see anything bout cleaning Fabric seats. What do you all recommend to use? My seats are grey with minor stains (mostly food stains). thnx

Postby pioneer » December 4th, 2012, 10:20 am

Xtrail seats are a pure pain...any lil thing shows up...I have one of this to pick up by Raptor

Postby Chimera » December 4th, 2012, 10:23 am

how much raptor selling that for?

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 4th, 2012, 10:27 am

looks like something i shud invest into...

Postby pioneer » December 4th, 2012, 10:31 am

By order I think, only one he brought in for me.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » December 4th, 2012, 10:37 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:how much raptor selling that for?

$1400.00

Postby pioneer » December 4th, 2012, 10:47 am

That coming with the two extra bottles of stuff?

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » December 4th, 2012, 10:48 am

pioneer wrote:That coming with the two extra bottles of stuff?

yes

same as yours

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 4th, 2012, 5:53 pm

Pios, I raptored one of those last month too.

Btw, Autogeek has a 12 deals of Christmas special on now.
http://www.autogeek.net/promospecials.html

They have great service, I got an order and they sent a pink LC CCS pad instead of a gray pad and they sent a gray to me at no charge, and I get to keep the pink one as well.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » December 4th, 2012, 5:55 pm

silent_riot wrote:Pios, I raptored one of those last month too.

Btw, Autogeek has a 12 deals of Christmas special on now.
http://www.autogeek.net/promospecials.html

They have great service, I got an order and they sent a pink LC CCS pad instead of a gray pad and they sent a gray to me at no charge, and I get to keep the pink one as well.

I once paid 50Usd for overnight delivery...they emailed me and refunded it as the facility to my shipper only takes 1 day anyway :O

Postby pioneer » December 4th, 2012, 6:21 pm

Yeah if you read the shipping page it says florida orders don't need to pay overnight delivery.

How does it work silent_riot?

Postby r3iXmann » December 4th, 2012, 6:26 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:got this in hand today...will give it a try and post review

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001B0 ... 06_s00_i02

That works really well...
The tire brush to that is a waste of time though, a scrubbing brush would do the same job.
Then there's the undercarriage/fender brush that also works well.

Pios... ent you have windshield coverage? Just buss the glass and done nah boy.

works great...slides in and out of the spokes with ease..i used it to brush the sidewall of the tyre too

Postby pioneer » December 4th, 2012, 6:45 pm

It gonna break though reix, I had one they dont last long.

Postby shogun » December 4th, 2012, 6:48 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:Washed my engine bay last night.....

Nice job. Could eat off of that yo....

Postby DVSTT » December 4th, 2012, 7:12 pm

shogun wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:Washed my engine bay last night.....

Nice job. Could eat off of that yo....

No you'd get it dirty again :lol:

nemesis

Postby nemesis » December 5th, 2012, 12:57 pm

Well done on the engine Aaron. Good to see people taking the chance and doing it themselves. I'm sure you'd take more care than if you carried it to have an engine wash done anyway.

Silent : I've been using the 3M tape and have had no problems. You can get them in different widths too. While you may use the 1" most times, the wider ones do come in handy in a few events.
Do not use normal masking tape, it will leave residue on your car and may be more difficult to remove than the painters tape.

Postby Chimera » December 5th, 2012, 1:03 pm

see that freaking normal masking tape

when Double z installed a windscreen in my black car a few months ago....they run lengths of masking tape from the windscreen to about halfway across the top of the car

that residue real hard to get out

not even sure i get all out up to now

Postby pioneer » December 5th, 2012, 1:11 pm

yeah cuz those places don't give ah damn and they will tell you "dai ear nun dan" :roll:

Postby Chimera » December 5th, 2012, 1:18 pm

and they clean up on the insurance too eh :|

only realized after that they charge the insurance $14,000 for a windscreen they sell to the walk-in customer for $11,000.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 5th, 2012, 6:15 pm

nemesis, is this the same 3M you use? http://www.autogeek.net/3m-auto-masking-tapes.html

Based on their reviews, I was looking at this instead: http://www.autogeek.net/meguiars-masking-tapes.html or just the 1 1/2inch Meguiar's.

Pios, I haven't used the vacuum yet.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » December 5th, 2012, 6:40 pm

Actually no. I using normal painter's tape.
http://www.amazon.com/Scotch-2090-1A-Sc ... nters+tape

Works fine. I usually get it to conform to the surfaces well enough for what it needs to do, and I can buy it locally. One less thing that I need to bring all the time.

I'm sure the Meg's will be ok too. Don't really know why people had bad reviews of that 3M tape, but never tried it to tell.

Postby r3iXmann » December 5th, 2012, 7:40 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:see that freaking normal masking tape

when Double z installed a windscreen in my black car a few months ago....they run lengths of masking tape from the windscreen to about halfway across the top of the car

that residue real hard to get out

not even sure i get all out up to now

Wd40 and a micro fiber cloth . Works like a charm and doesn't damage the paint

Postby Chimera » December 5th, 2012, 8:57 pm

wd40....u not freaking with me right... :| ?