Evo 7 GTA

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Re: Evo 7 GTA

Postby Dave » November 22nd, 2012, 10:34 am

dai de aye why cee tingy ent

yeah mine fall out

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » December 6th, 2012, 11:22 pm

crazybalhead wrote:EXACTLY!!!

"especially if ur not used to it or expecting it"

The bamsee gives a lil side to side wiggle.

Man this happened to me the other day going around a wet corner self (it's always raining in Vancouver). Going around a on ramp. Very delicate on the throttle and felt the back end "wiggle"...just like said. I came off the throttle slightly and corrected a little and I could feel the car want to react in the opposite direction all of a sudden and then reverted to back ligtly back on throttle while continuing to turn in. It was a mind trip and I didn't like it at all.

I started researching suspension components to correct this as I assumed it was something to do with the feedback coming from the suspension through the steering and read up about the Perrin psrs http://www.perrinperformance.com/p/111

I'm waiting for an autoX event so I can learn the car, because after that I don't feel comfortable pushing the car around corners at all. Feel like it's going between loose and grippy back and forth over a period of a split second. You think to yourself should I counter slightly? Should I come off the throttle? Should I hold steady?

Postby honda hoe » December 7th, 2012, 8:57 am

nah man :? :?

dat don't sound safe at all

go hadda take a tush wit cbh and see for myself <3

Postby crazybalhead » December 7th, 2012, 9:42 am

Lol@Rmutt. It's not the suspension, it's the AYC. Hold her steady sir! Make small corrections with the steering.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » December 7th, 2012, 12:47 pm

was scary the first time i pushed the car hard into a slide.... no wiggle....

the car tail slapped the fcuk out of me three or four times hard as i over corrected

then i unplugged that mudder crunt :lol:

Postby Ted_v2 » December 8th, 2012, 10:06 am

system could be switchable?

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » December 9th, 2012, 6:32 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Lol@Rmutt. It's not the suspension, it's the AYC. Hold her steady sir! Make small corrections with the steering.

USDM Evo's did not come with AYC...only ACD

Postby Razkal » January 15th, 2013, 11:17 am

Ignorant Ignis wrote:was scary the first time i pushed the car hard into a slide.... no wiggle....

the car tail slapped the fcuk out of me three or four times hard as i over corrected

then i unplugged that mudder crunt :lol:

i experienced it the first and only time i got to drive an evo spirited, with tuner: hmph's 9 at dex...

aside from that ayc interference, the car is mind boggling with the levels of grip available....anywhere!
i went into the first corner top of second gear (i remember it was a gentle hairpin after the starting straight) and reflex action ( from the rx's horrible snap oversteer) was to lift off quickly for turn in and prepare for a possible countersteer. the evo had other plans and started 'correcting' before i even shake the steering wheel...

in my inexperienced opinion, the cars have amazing grip without this very intrusive system active.

for the record, on that fun lap, i clocked a 2sec better time driving the 9 for the first time, than four competition laps in my car i've owned 8yrs :|

FML

Postby crazybalhead » January 15th, 2013, 1:43 pm

it is not intrusive once yuh spinout once or twice. :D

fraggle

Postby fraggle » January 21st, 2013, 7:53 pm

i experience AYC the hard way on my vr4......went around a corner at speed the road was wet......i felt the wiggle and lifted...the back of the car steped out in one direction and then violently snaped back in the other direction and sent me down a gully.......best ride of my life.....thank god i was fine and the car only had minor damages..

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 22nd, 2013, 1:45 am

I took a "S" corner once going in about 120K (just got the car)... prior to it was taking some sweeping corners coming from Les Coteaux and the back end would edge out slightly but was in check once you keep the foot on the gas and steer in the direction as if you driving FWD: point the wheels and just plant it.

But then came the "S"...

back end started sliding out as I entered the point and the trouble was i couldn't keep my foot on the gas else I'd have ended up on the bank of the hill in front of me... so had to let off the gas and that bastard just snapped out; planted my foot down and realised it still sliding out...

"Ohhhhhh SHEEET..."

Instinct set in and start countersteering... now almost sideways...glanced the speedo and realised it was saying "62 MPH) about 100kmh

(Upgrade "SHEET" to "FIRETRUCK")

come off gas and two feet on the brakes... gully in front: hillside in back.

("well was good while it lasted")

car slide to stop and checked both ways to make sure nobody was coming (or worse see me and post it on FB :lol:) and I took my sweet time back to Crown Point.

it gives it a bnefit as said but you have to learn it.

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » January 31st, 2013, 12:09 pm

I feel like the AYC wiggle is a rite of passage for all new Evo owners -
At the end you're either left with great faith and trust in the system or a crashed Evo lol

Floor it and point the steering wheel like Clarkson says!

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » February 26th, 2013, 7:50 am

crazybalhead wrote:Not exactly hondahoe. let me see if i can describe it. Going around a corner, fast, the car will, grip, understeer. then as you push harder, the backside starts to wiggle. This is the point that you know the car is working to keep you going around that corner. At this point, intuition tells you to coun tersteer and back off the throttle.

If you do that, the car will violently go to one side, and then spin the bakcside around and spin out.

I've done this a few times in solodex.

If you encounter this on the road, especially when wet, I don't even want to imagine what the consequences would be.

So what you do when you get that wiggle is add a little more power, and give SLIGHT corrections with both hands on the steering. You will get mild oversteer, unreal cornering and a rewarding driving experience. it is a handful at the limit, even with the gadgets. it does not feel electronic, or gimmicky in any wya whatso ever. it is noisy, and tactile. Especially the telepathic steering wheel.

This is great advice for first time owners like me!!!!

BagoChurchBoy

Postby BagoChurchBoy » February 26th, 2013, 9:22 pm

MISHI wrote:I took a "S" corner once going in about 120K (just got the car)... prior to it was taking some sweeping corners coming from Les Coteaux and the back end would edge out slightly but was in check once you keep the foot on the gas and steer in the direction as if you driving FWD: point the wheels and just plant it.

But then came the "S"...

back end started sliding out as I entered the point and the trouble was i couldn't keep my foot on the gas else I'd have ended up on the bank of the hill in front of me... so had to let off the gas and that bastard just snapped out; planted my foot down and realised it still sliding out...

"Ohhhhhh SHEEET..."

Instinct set in and start countersteering... now almost sideways...glanced the speedo and realised it was saying "62 MPH) about 100kmh

(Upgrade "SHEET" to "FIRETRUCK")

come off gas and two feet on the brakes... gully in front: hillside in back.

("well was good while it lasted")

car slide to stop and checked both ways to make sure nobody was coming (or worse see me and post it on FB :lol:) and I took my sweet time back to Crown Point.

it gives it a bnefit as said but you have to learn it.

:shock: If its the same "S" I believe you talking about. Wow!

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » February 26th, 2013, 10:38 pm

Not too far from Elvis...

Postby nervewrecker » February 26th, 2013, 10:58 pm

A pic popped up on Facebook of a red 8 or a 9 I think registered pcx. Was wondering if it legit

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 2nd, 2013, 10:55 am

nervewrecker wrote:A pic popped up on Facebook of a red 8 or a 9 I think registered pcx. Was wondering if it legit

All Evos, WRX STis, RX-7s, Skylines, and Supras are legal no matter what the registration plate. Haven't you learned that yet? What kind of pleb are you to ask a question like that?

Postby Rooki3 » March 2nd, 2013, 11:30 am

nervewrecker wrote:A pic popped up on Facebook of a red 8 or a 9 I think registered pcx. Was wondering if it legit

think e9 last y.o.m is 06, pcx is 2012m so dais within d 6yrs allowed

Postby nervewrecker » March 2nd, 2013, 8:43 pm

Sorry for the old talk in here but its registered PCY.

I know PCX is within the limits, saw nissan frontiers with TCX plates.

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Rooki3 » March 2nd, 2013, 9:19 pm

frontiers are still being sold brand new in the dealership

evo.cud be legal, once duties, mvt & vat was paid when imported, car can be licensed anytime the owner wishes.

if u look in the classifieds you'll see a hawk eye sti for sale, its unlicenced, guys said it wud be licenced upon sale. so yh, these things possible, sometimes ppl wait for a specific # they may have missed in the previous series

Postby 16 cycles » March 4th, 2013, 4:18 pm

Last year of production for the evo 9 is 2007....but not many were produced off the factory line..

http://ags.aucmint.com/japaneseusedcars ... o=06090157

http://ags.aucmint.com/japaneseusedcars ... o=27390026

^see above for 2 examples....

Postby Rooki3 » March 4th, 2013, 4:57 pm

cool, didnt kno that

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » April 17th, 2013, 5:08 am

edited. :)

crazybalhead wrote:Not exactly hondahoe. let me see if i can describe it. Going around a corner, fast, the car will, grip, understeer. then as you push harder, the backside starts to wiggle. This is the point that you know the car is working to keep you going around that corner. At this point, intuition tells you to coun tersteer and back off the throttle.

If you do that, the car will violently go to one side, and then spin the bakcside around and spin out.

If you encounter this on the road, especially when wet, I don't even want to imagine what the consequences would be.

So what you do when you get that wiggle is add a little more power, disconnect the ayc and drive like a real man. You will get moderate-aggressive progressive oversteer, unreal cornering and a rewarding driving experience. it is a handful at the limit, even with the gadgets. With AYC off it does not feel electronic, or gimmicky in any way whatso ever. it is noisy, and tactile. Especially the telepathic steering wheel.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » April 17th, 2013, 5:13 am

so now u understand when we were making the " lap of 500" with broomes in the back seat why and how i had to push the car thru the S bend.

Also, note the difference from the traffic light launch in 2010 when i got sideways off the line into 2nd. much more progressive and controlled - sorta - lol. this was ayc off.

R. Mutt wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:EXACTLY!!!

"especially if ur not used to it or expecting it"

The bamsee gives a lil side to side wiggle.

Man this happened to me the other day going around a wet corner self (it's always raining in Vancouver). Going around a on ramp. Very delicate on the throttle and felt the back end "wiggle"...just like said. I came off the throttle slightly and corrected a little and I could feel the car want to react in the opposite direction all of a sudden and then reverted to back ligtly back on throttle while continuing to turn in. It was a mind trip and I didn't like it at all.

I started researching suspension components to correct this as I assumed it was something to do with the feedback coming from the suspension through the steering and read up about the Perrin psrs http://www.perrinperformance.com/p/111

I'm waiting for an autoX event so I can learn the car, because after that I don't feel comfortable pushing the car around corners at all. Feel like it's going between loose and grippy back and forth over a period of a split second. You think to yourself should I counter slightly? Should I come off the throttle? Should I hold steady?

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » April 17th, 2013, 8:10 am

Hoss now you driving an open diff evo, blasphemy! Just get the mechanical LSD and done this talk

Postby honda hoe » April 17th, 2013, 8:35 am

Silvermike wrote:edited. :)

So what you do when you get that wiggle is add a little more power, disconnect the ayc and drive like a real man. You will get moderate-aggressive progressive oversteer, unreal cornering and a rewarding driving experience. it is a handful at the limit, even with the gadgets. With AYC off it does not feel electronic, or gimmicky in any way whatso ever. it is noisy, and tactile. Especially the telepathic steering wheel.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » April 17th, 2013, 1:19 pm

eh, dont let me have to co...

* slips on some oil *

... honda men again.

Jimbo wrote:Hoss now you driving an open diff evo, blasphemy! Just get the mechanical LSD and done this talk

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » April 17th, 2013, 2:01 pm

Silvermike wrote:eh, dont let me have to co...

* slips on some oil *

... honda men again.

Jimbo wrote:Hoss now you driving an open diff evo, blasphemy! Just get the mechanical LSD and done this talk

Haha don't go there, thats weight reduction stage 2

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 20th, 2013, 10:20 am

first time it happened to me was at dex, got the car from the old owner a Friday and sunday was at dex..

came round the left hand corner drove it like a fwd back wiggled. clarskson came to mind.. POWERRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

powerslide the car for a good 50 feet.. best feeling ever. never had the back wiggle and decided to back off on the street. my default is always keep power on and counter with steering wheel. the car has so much grip on the street plus with 140 TW tires I have never had the car lose the back end except at dex.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”