TriP wrote:So sad, but So True..
cinco wrote:bess yuh doh go to school nah
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-china-20723910
A man with a knife has wounded 22 children - at least two of them seriously - and an adult at a primary school in central China.
AllTrac wrote:this comment more of less sums it up for me as for the motive for other tragedy like this one in the past
"You want to know why. This may sound cynical, but here's why.
It's because of the way the media reports it. Flip on the news and watch how we treat the Batman theater shooter and the Oregon mall shooter like celebrities. Dylan Klebold and Eric Harris are household names, but do you know the name of a single victim of Columbine? Disturbed
people who would otherwise just off themselves in their basements see the news and want to top it by doing something worse, and going out in a memorable way. Why a grade school? Why children? Because he'll be remembered as a horrible monster, instead of a sad nobody.
CNN's article says that if the body count "holds up", this will rank as the second deadliest shooting behind Virginia Tech, as if statistics somehow make one shooting worse than another. Then they post a video interview of third-graders for all the details of what they saw and heard while the shootings were happening. Fox News has plastered the killer's face on all their reports for hours. Any articles or news stories yet that focus on the victims and ignore the killer's identity? None that I've seen yet. Because they don't sell. So congratulations, sensationalist media, you've just lit the fire for someone to top this and knock off a day care center or a maternity ward next.
You can help by forgetting you ever read this man's name, and remembering the name of at least one victim. You can help by donating to mental health research instead of pointing to gun control as the problem. You can help by turning off the news."
DVSTT wrote:
WOW, really heart breaking. Imagine how hard it must be for him to explain this to her siblings who are 3 and 4.
nemisis wrote:^^^ it's really simple the people you would like to see acting up about those muslims deaths don't care![]()
So you come here to beat up about the fact the world at large don't care about these Muslim deaths?
thermaltake wrote:i didn't see ah ched created for the thousands of middle eat innocent children being murdered as we speak..
Dizzy28 wrote:thermaltake wrote:i didn't see ah ched created for the thousands of middle eat innocent children being murdered as we speak..
Well start one nah!!
thermaltake wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:thermaltake wrote:i didn't see ah ched created for the thousands of middle eat innocent children being murdered as we speak..
Well start one nah!!
no sir.. if i do start one i will start one for the americans too.. cuz i'm not blind like some tuners on here.. i prefer to start none or two.
nemisis wrote:thermaltake wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:thermaltake wrote:i didn't see ah ched created for the thousands of middle eat innocent children being murdered as we speak..
Well start one nah!!
no sir.. if i do start one i will start one for the americans too.. cuz i'm not blind like some tuners on here.. i prefer to start none or two.
why do you care that the Americans don't care??
Bizzare wrote:nemisis wrote:thermaltake wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:thermaltake wrote:i didn't see ah ched created for the thousands of middle eat innocent children being murdered as we speak..
Well start one nah!!
why do you care that the Americans don't care??
why do you care that he cares that the Americans don't care??
Reporting bias in 'mentally ill' killers
Story Created: Dec 19, 2012 at 9:58 PM ECT
Story Updated: Dec 20, 2012 at 7:27 AM ECT
I have noticed a recent mass-media trend in light of the latest mass shooting in Connecticut, USA, that killed 27—20 of whom were children. I have noticed in most instances, that perpetrators were Caucasian males who were diagnosed by the mass media as "mentally ill".
Without undermining the severity or prevalence of mental and neurological disorders, it often makes me wonder "what if" the perpetrator were of another ethnicity or religious background, would the diagnosis be the same?
Recent perpetrators of mass human carnage, including the movie theatre shooting in Colorado in July or the Sikh temple shooting near Massachusetts in August, all carried the same mass-media rhetoric.
I am not specifically talking about the fact that if you perpetrate such an act, you have to be mentally ill (some may doubt this) but rather the "who" perpetrates it; would they also be deemed so? It then begs the question that if the perpetrator's background were Middle Eastern or of the Islamic faith, would they now be considered mentally ill or a terrorist?
The reason being that there are crimes of similar brutality that take place all the time by ethnic minorities in the inner cities of developed countries to the ghettoes, slums and villages of developing countries—yet the perpetrators of these crimes are said to have "no regard for the law or human life". It is almost as if the mass media diagnoses first then gathers information to "support" the symptoms rather than use the symptoms to diagnose afterwards.
One example that sheds light on this observation was the sniper shootings that took place ten years ago in Washington DC, Maryland and Virginia where co-conspirator John Allen Muhhumad, a Muslim and former sniper in the US Army, was branded a terrorist, or of that nature, in some mass media outlets, with no allusion to possible mental illness, yet it is not uncommon for veterans to return from wars socially and psychologically withdrawn, suicidal, mentally ill or unstable. I noticed a careful reference to his military background only in highlighting his expertise with firearms and target accuracy.
The omnipresent and homologous news frames used by the mass media when reporting such tragedies should provoke discussions such as these more often.
Kevin Powell
Valsayn
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/letters/ ... 95351.html
sharkmouth wrote:Good...they will increase inflation rapidly and the us dollar will have less value...excellent