Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

Re: Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Postby lighthammer » January 1st, 2013, 12:56 pm

Right now I'm running Granite Alloy 18x8 rims with Dick Cepeck FC-II 305/60/R18..... Equivalent to 33x12.5r18 on light ttruck flotatio size.
But to run this size tire, I lifted my truck 4".

The biggest size tyre u can probably run on the nav without a lift is 285/70/16 on stock rim.

trvs

Postby trvs » January 1st, 2013, 1:34 pm

Where did you get those wheels/tires LH? Looks good man.

I doubt I would need those tires tho :lol:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 2nd, 2013, 10:55 am

traded them...

but i plan to upgrade soon.... mwa ha ha ha!!

trvs

Postby trvs » January 2nd, 2013, 9:47 pm

Hey, anyone using Synthetic oil without issues in their D40?

I know a few posts back some of you said you use syntethic oil and change the oil filter earlier than the oil.

What oil would you guys reccomened for longer oil change intervals?

I raking up milegae too fast these past few months.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 3rd, 2013, 12:19 am

i use amsoil 15w40
no problems at all with it.

You can use it safely up to 10,000km (the local dealer says it rated up to 20,000km between OCI, but with our dirty diesel, I'd only push it to 10K) - but make sure to change your filter regularly (if not a lil sooner than 10K km!)

trvs

Postby trvs » January 6th, 2013, 6:15 pm

Got the amsoil from Big Z and the parts from Filterproz.

2 gallons of Amsoil 15w 40
Oil Filter
Air Filter
Water Trap fuel filter.

He didn't have the other fuel filter so N&M will supply that.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1357510226.179598.jpg

Keegz2130

Postby Keegz2130 » January 7th, 2013, 7:16 pm

k&n filter , where can i get this to buy ? More central till about trincity side n and price also !

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » January 8th, 2013, 12:16 pm

I use the amsoil Premium API CJ-4 Synthetic 15W-40 Diesel Oil change my oil every 20,000 km my navara runs a ready lift 69-4510 kit with 265/70 R 17 enkei St6's have a k&N filter and i'm changing all my intercooler hoses to hard pipe.

Light hammer, I've been using the 15-40 and have documented test that show the oil is good up to 20,000 km

Postby sliderz1 » January 10th, 2013, 12:46 pm

^^wait nah.....you aint the guy with the "Steve Irwin" stuck Navara vid?

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » January 18th, 2013, 11:35 am

sliderz1 wrote:^^wait nah.....you aint the guy with the "Steve Irwin" stuck Navara vid?

yeah i was the guy that did the vid and had a ranger at the time

rishad0611

Postby rishad0611 » January 18th, 2013, 8:47 pm

move n up to navara cant wait wife buy n 4 me friday reach fast

rishad0611

Postby rishad0611 » January 18th, 2013, 8:54 pm

never regret having a 720pickup d22 4wd frontierqd32 4wd navara next nissan die hard forever

Postby sliderz1 » January 18th, 2013, 9:16 pm

HondaHo de 1st wrote:
sliderz1 wrote:^^wait nah.....you aint the guy with the "Steve Irwin" stuck Navara vid?

yeah i was the guy that did the vid and had a ranger at the time

that vid had me rel laughing dan!
wonder if i can find it again..... :roll:

FilterProz

Postby FilterProz » January 20th, 2013, 9:40 pm

http://www.cbt.com.my/2012/09/12/nissan ... bishi-off/

Within South East Asia, pick-up truck based SUVs are big. In Thailand, the government makes a distinction between pick-up truck based SUVs (known as PPVs for passenger pick-up vehicles) and passenger car based SUVs.

PPVs are taxed at a lower 20 percent excise duty, while regular passenger car based SUVs are taxed from 30 percent upwards.

Because of their ladder frame construction, they are not only cheaper to build, but are also perceived to be tougher and more suitable poor road conditions in the interiors of south east Asia.

The three main players in the pick-up truck segment, Toyota, Mitsubishi and Isuzu have their own version of PPVs - the Fortuner, Pajero Sport and Mu-7 respectively.

The only pick-up truck brands that are not represented in the PPV segment are Nissan and Mazda. Nissan actually sells a Navara based SUV (Pathfinder) in the US and Australia, but for some odd reason, it was never introduced in ASEAN markets.

When the new Pathfinder was unveiled in the US earlier this year, it abandoned the previous model's Navara based ladder frame construction in favour of a passenger car like monocoque body.

Many thought that this effectively closed the doors for a Nissan PPV.

But according to a report by the Bangkok Post, a Nissan PPV is on the plans for the next generation Navara, likely to be due by 2014.

Bangkok Post quoted Takayuki Kimura, president of Nissan Motor (Thailand) saying "It was a mistake in our product planning. Thais like SUVs with good looks and big packages," in reference to Nissan's absence in the PPV segment.

Mr Kimura added it is only logical to build an SUV for the next generation Navara.

He added that earlier talks with Mitsubishi Motors to co-develop the new Navara and Triton have ceased and that Nissan will continue to independently develop its own pick-up truck models.

Presently, a portion of Navara's production in Thailand is done at Mitsubishi Motor's Laem Chabang plant but Kimura said the decision will be reversed in the future.

The existing agreement was for Mitsubishi to produce the Navara for three years, starting from 2012.

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » January 23rd, 2013, 9:48 pm

bought a navara and should be getting it in the mrnin will let you how it goes....i never rode in one or do i know any thing about it

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » January 24th, 2013, 10:16 am

sliderz1 here you go

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » January 24th, 2013, 9:12 pm

Anyone happen to know the nissan fuel pump number for the navara and whether it is different for the SE and LE models? more specifically is it either;
16700-AW402
16700-AW403
Problem is related to loss of power.

trvs

Postby trvs » January 25th, 2013, 2:14 pm

^ Check Filter Proz

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » January 25th, 2013, 11:27 pm

Any one ever changed their AC filter ?????

eyeballz

Postby eyeballz » January 26th, 2013, 7:31 am

Hey guys, I have a little problem here and I need your advice/help. I had to do a minor surgery and haven't driven or seen my van since Wednesday. Is it normal that I'm missing it the way that I am?I mean I miss the power..I miss the orange dashboard lights...shifting into third, forth, fifth...omg sexy sixth...unfortunately meh gyul say even though I'm being discharged today, she doesn't want me driving and is sending transport. How do I solve this issue. I checked the manual, there's nothing in there to resolve this issue. Plz help.

trvs

Postby trvs » January 26th, 2013, 8:23 am

When you get home, start her up, turn on the ac and chill for a while. Lol

I never changed my ac cabin filter. I think I will soon.

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » January 26th, 2013, 9:05 am

trvs wrote:When you get home, start her up, turn on the ac and chill for a while. Lol

I never changed my ac cabin filter. I think I will soon.

My van is just over a year and for some reason the ac blower has lost some of its power its not pushing out air like its use to an its not cold either actual in 12 o clock hot sun the AC is almost non existent at on max I removed the clove compartment and saw the evaporator but i have not seen any compartment for the ac filter . I was told i need to remove the surrounding frame of the glove compartment but its seems i need to remove the side interior door trim to do that . I will try that a bit later hopefully i will take some pics

If any one has done this before a little advice would be nice

trvs

Postby trvs » January 26th, 2013, 10:03 am

Take a look at this.
http://youtu.be/fdk1zmJCDtg

It supposed to be similar

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » January 28th, 2013, 5:48 am

trvs wrote:Take a look at this.
http://youtu.be/fdk1zmJCDtg

It supposed to be similar

the procedure was a bit different and there is no screw to be removed on the filter cover in the evaporator just clips . All in all the filter was replaced and its working very well

trvs

Postby trvs » January 28th, 2013, 7:30 am

Excellent, AC Performance improved? Post Part# lol.

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » January 28th, 2013, 1:44 pm

The Cabin filter (AC filter ) was bought at ROC $175 easy fix mine was pretty dirty i vacumed it out and its was very much workable but i still replaced it

I am looking for a Rear Bumper any one know where i can get one ROC does not have the original right now.

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » January 28th, 2013, 3:51 pm

G-DUB wrote:sliderz1 here you go

it is with GREAT REGRET that I submit the following............... my first las cuevas run with "beulah"

I took the wrong line........... got stuck.............. but was able to come out and then it was bumpy sailing straight to the beach

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 29th, 2013, 6:34 pm

eyeballz wrote:Hey guys, I have a little problem here and I need your advice/help. I had to do a minor surgery and haven't driven or seen my van since Wednesday. Is it normal that I'm missing it the way that I am?I mean I miss the power..I miss the orange dashboard lights...shifting into third, forth, fifth...omg sexy sixth...unfortunately meh gyul say even though I'm being discharged today, she doesn't want me driving and is sending transport. How do I solve this issue. I checked the manual, there's nothing in there to resolve this issue. Plz help.

Here, this will help you in your time of need...

[youtube]
wQjeZivnP84[/youtube]

And here's some more stuff to help soothe your illness and help you to recover....

hope that helps to calm your soul as you heal and rest....

Enjoy!!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » January 29th, 2013, 6:42 pm

[quote="HondaHo de 1st"

it is with GREAT REGRET that I submit the following............... my first las cuevas run with "beulah"

I took the wrong line........... got stuck.............. but was able to come out and then it was bumpy sailing straight to the beach

Image[/quote]

Definitely the wrong line!
When did u go cuevas?

Side B was there on sunday.

Passed through lopinot

Well, I see your "stuck in cuevas" pic, and I raise you one better....

me stuck in Mahawal, Santa Flora..... went through a mud puddle, got hung up on a large underwater log that I didn't see.... and that's with 5" lift on the van too!

And this was the aftermath...

FilterProz

Postby FilterProz » January 30th, 2013, 10:51 am

Supra GT-FOUR wrote:Anyone happen to know the nissan fuel pump number for the navara and whether it is different for the SE and LE models? more specifically is it either;
16700-AW402
16700-AW403
Problem is related to loss of power.

Pm your chassis its the only way i can confirm.. the part number

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”